HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Layne Hotel

2.5 star Hotel | 545 Jones Street, San Francisco, California, USA 94102

66.1% Overall Rating

335 out of 432 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/10/2012)

christopher lang thinks…

"Friendly and helpful staff. Fresh painted and clean rooms. Classic and atmospheric elevator! (Worked well). Close to good eating and big range of shopping."

Read all Layne Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Fax
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 20.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

till june 30th total tax will be 15.50%. from July 1st to Dec 31st 2013 it will be 16% and from January 1st 2014 and further it will be 17.25%.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

USA Hostels San Francisco
55.00 USD

Hostel 93.1% 696 reviews
Fitzgerald Hotel
199.00 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Orange Village Hostel
38.00 USD

Hostel 72.3% 204 reviews
Taylor Hotel
54.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.5% 9 reviews
Post Hotel
165.99 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Luz Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 74.3% 8 reviews
AAE Amsterdam
30.00 USD

Hostel 76.3% 212 reviews
HI - San Francisco - Downtown Hostel
39.50 USD

Hostel 88.6% 573 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.1%

Overall Rating

335 out of 432 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Layne Hotel'

Atmosphere
61.6%
Location
79.2%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
70.4%
Staff
66.4%
Value
60.8%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 264 of 286 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Chiayi Liao

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

14 January 2013

Liked: It is relatively clean for a hotel of its price

Disliked: We stayed in Layne Hotel in December2012 and it was FREEZING in our room. We asked the front desk staffs to turn on the heat for 5 times and their answer was always "it will be turned on automatically when it's cold enough." We wore our jackets to sleep and were shivering. According to the regulation, hotel room temprature needs to be above 68 F. Since the problem was never solved, we had to call the government agency to complain. It was a VERY unpleasant experience.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Tomohisa Irino

Alone

Business / conference

08 December 2012 Tomohisa would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is old but cleanly renovated. I felt it comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location, friendly staff, clean rooms, safe and secure

Disliked: Small room and you had to pay extra to use the wireless network; also the added tax was high

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012

Liked: Near the centre of the city

Disliked: one manager was very rude. He made me felt like i beg him for my stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

christopher lang

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

04 October 2012 christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly and helpful staff. Fresh painted and clean rooms. Classic and atmospheric elevator! (Worked well). Close to good eating and big range of shopping.

Disliked: christopher left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

27 August 2012

Liked: Close to Union Square.

Disliked: Noise,street people[hookers,panhandlers,homeless]right outside the door.Hotel took out a $450 deposit from my Visa without telling me.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean (I've read bad things in reviews) and tidy. The staff was present to answer questions and also cautious about the not-so-good neighborhood south of the hotel. Toilets and showers were clean and good, although shared on the floor.

Disliked: WiFi wasn't available, at least not free. This is a standard even in cheap hostels today. As mentioned, he breakfast was none. The rooms are quite small and many of the rooms have no toilet or shower on the room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

22 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Cleanness

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 May 2012

Liked: Good central location.

Disliked: There is only one toilet and shower per floor. the hotel itself is pretty run down. wi-fi isn't free.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 April 2012

Liked: -

Disliked: The manager was rude. no elavator.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2012

Liked: nice old building

Disliked: - shared toilets were not cleaned during 48h of stay - breakfast which can only be called untasty sweet snack - run down rooms

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was great and location good.

Disliked: The elevator looked scary

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dominik otto

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2012 dominik would recommend this property

Liked: run by very friendly indian family - we had two fantastjc nights here. the elevator is more than 80 years old - the hotel is very cozy and charming - great value for your money!! breakfast is very basic..

Disliked: can't think of anything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Edward Seymour

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011 Edward would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap and cheerful; a little scruffy round the edges but you could clearly see a very characteristic building beyond this. Also very central.

Disliked: A little noisy. A very meagre "breakfast". Check in took 30 minutes due to over cautious proprietor.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elsa Westerlund

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 December 2011 Elsa would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good, although it is a little too close to The Tenderloin area, which can be a bit sketchy at night. Good value for the money you pay, and it's a good place to stay if you're just looking for a place to sleep for a few nights.

Disliked: The rooms have thin walls, so noices from other rooms (or the bathroom...) are easily heard through the walls. The breakfast was not very filling.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

19 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: walking distance to everything i wanted to get to

Disliked: bedcovers were either too old or just smelled and looked not clean,room almost claustrophobic,i guess they have to overcharge cos of the GREAT location despite all the homeless,alcoholics,panhandlers who make the sidewalks their homes!!!!!!

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break

31 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly staff. Good if you are just looking for somewhere basic and not too expensive to stay for a few days.

Disliked: Security deposit is 250 dollars and I am still waiting for it to go back on my card 4 weeks after checking out.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

javier emiliano sol copete

With friends / other travellers

City break

06 September 2011 javier emiliano would recommend this property

Liked: Is in the downtown

Disliked: There is not free wi-fi and a only a poor and old elevateur....I had to pay 250$ more and later 9dyas They return my money...

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: the shower

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Weisbecker

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 September 2011 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: great location and very friendly staff

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Weisbecker

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 September 2011 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: none

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Luis Morales

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 August 2011 Luis would recommend this property

Liked: Location and cleanliness

Disliked: breakfast

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

24 July 2011

Liked: Located in the city center.

Disliked: Unpleasant staff !!! Too much homeless people in the street. Inadequate cleanliness. Endless check in and out.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 July 2011

Liked: central location

Disliked: Unfriendliy personell, Check-In lasted over 30 minutes, Room was shabby

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location! Hotel is nice, staff as well

Disliked: Price depends on what room you get, but you pay for the location which is great!