HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Sentient SF

Hotel | 179 Julian Avenue, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94103

58.1% Overall Rating

3 out of 9 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (23/09/2013)

Monika Lazarova thinks…

"It is safe, clean , near to the center and the train station and they have an excellent personal"

Read all The Sentient SF reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Hotel Tropica
100.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 70.4% 16 reviews
El Capitan Hotel
49.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 46.3% 321 reviews
Travelodge Central
39.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.7% 29 reviews
Civic Center Motor Inn
39.75 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
AAE S.F. European Hostel
21.00 USD

Hostel 61.7% 92 reviews
Whitcomb Hotel
36.25 USD

Hotel 4 star 74.6% 8 reviews
Hostelling International-San Francisco City Center
38.00 USD

Hostel 84.7% 40 reviews
Winsor Hotel
30.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
58.1%

Overall Rating

3 out of 9 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Sentient SF'

Atmosphere
51.1%
Location
68.9%
Facilities
40.0%
Cleanliness
48.9%
Staff
66.7%
Value
62.2%
Safety
68.9%
Refine your results Showing 5 of 7 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monika Lazarova

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013 Monika would recommend this property

Liked: It is safe, clean , near to the center and the train station and they have an excellent personal

Disliked: Monika left no negative feedback.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Katelyn Doolan

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2013

Liked: nothing

Disliked: This place is absolutely horrible. When we arrived, there was a notice mentioning that the check in hours are limited to 3 hours per day, every other time must call and pay a 20$ fee to check in. Did it mention it's in a terrible neighborhood, filled with frightening individuals who look like they would like to kill you? Horrible, horrible! When we called, the patron responded, drunk as a skunk, that he would not be there for another 4 hours!!! He made no apologies for leaving us locked out and was very very rude. With evening quickly approaching, we got the hell out of there. It is NOT in a safe place and the people there are wretched. Do NOT stay here.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 August 2013

Liked: After this place, everywhere seems nice.

Disliked: We have stayed at a lot of cheap hotels and hostels and this was by far the worst. The toilets were dirty and never cleaned the entire time we stayed there. They had no toilet paper. The shower had no shower head or temperature control and was dirty. Our room didn't have curtains. The door looked as if it had been kicked in and didn't close all the way, so we felt that it was insecure. Avoid at all costs. Mission District is cool though!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mark Munday

Alone

City break

13 July 2013 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: clean, quite, helpful staff

Disliked: it was basic, but for the price that is to be expected

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Robert Holder

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 May 2013 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap private rooms and in a great location in mission district. New management were very helpful. Seem to have improved the hotel a lot since they took over a few months ago.

Disliked: Robert left no negative feedback.