HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Encore Express Hotel

2 star Hotel | 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94109

83.3% Overall Rating

140 out of 159 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2014)

Soph Jones thinks…

"Lovely beds, super luxurious in comparison to other hostels I've been in. Hostel/hotel is defo the right description."

Read all Encore Express Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We would like to inform you that our Front Desk is only open from 9:30am to 11:00pm (Monday to Sunday). Guest will need to call or email us for special late check in or early check in instructions. You will find all the contact details on your booking confirmation email. Upon check-in at the photo identification and credit card is required. All special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. 15.5 % Tax is not included.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Music City Hotel
45.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Cable Car Court Hotel
36.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Mithila Hotel
42.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 71.4% 6 reviews
Luz Hotel
40.00 USD

Hotel 69.1% 5 reviews
Cova Hotel
80.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.4% 50 reviews
HI - San Francisco - City Center
44.00 USD

Hostel 87.4% 58 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
52.00 USD

Hostel 91.8% 690 reviews
Nob Hill Motor Inn
87.25 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

140 out of 159 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Encore Express Hotel'

Atmosphere
76.8%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
75.2%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
87.2%
Safety
86.4%
Refine your results Showing 129 of 155 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xiao Han

Alone

City break

09 July 2014 Xiao would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient,cheap,nice.

Disliked: Xiao left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Soph Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Soph would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely beds, super luxurious in comparison to other hostels I've been in. Hostel/hotel is defo the right description.

Disliked: It wasn't a party hostel at all. No common space to drink / meet people etc

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nena Mobach

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Nena would recommend this property

Liked: Great big and comfy bunkbeds. It was really good to have a full working kitchen in the room and the wifi was very strong. The cleaningladys are polite friendly and very good in their job.

Disliked: Its very close to tenderloin and the office staf is not very friendly or helpfull. They dont take cash and te oven needs to be cleaned because the fire alarm goes of every time we tutned it on

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Somebody left a shit in one of the few showers available. When staff were informed the laughed and did nothing about it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philipp Rosar

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 June 2014 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: The property appears nice, there's a working fridge and sink in the room, the WIFI actually works!

Disliked: In the summer, it probably will be boiling hot inside the rooms, window could'nt be opened properly, also few restrooms and showers, expect 10 to 20 minutes waiting time during rush hour ;)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jim Twelves

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 June 2014 Jim would recommend this property

Liked: the room was great!

Disliked: There was not enough room in the office for office staff and guests.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People are all friendly.

Disliked: It's connected with disko and the sound is a little bit annoying.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wenhan Xiao

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Wenhan would recommend this property

Liked: This place is clean, cozy and comfortable. Walking distance to China Town and Japanese Town, even Fisherman's Wharf. For this price and location, it serves quite well. Even a fridge in my room, that's a happy surprise. The shared restroom is clean. Free coffee and wifi.

Disliked: The wall doesn't serve well. I can hear other people's sounds. If someone walks through the lobby, you will hear it very clearly. Some minor drawbacks are 1. I got two room cards during my stay. Only one is working at one time. I mean, in the morning, only room card No.1 was working. When I came back at night, only room card No.2 was working. That's strange. 2. The restroom needs room card to open, which is good. But it seemed like even if you lock the door, other customers can still go in with their cards. As a result, there is a sign says "knock the door before you go in". It made me feel nervous when I was using the restroom. I can't help thinking what if someone come in directly. And I believe most people won't enjoy the door being knocked, when they are inside doing daily business.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great spot , lovely people, great value for money ! I'd stay longer if it wasn't booked up ! I would definitely stay here again when travelling in San Fran !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptionally clean place. They have a washing machine and dryer you can use, showers that work, big and comfortable beds, filtered water etc. One of the nicest hostels I've visited.

Disliked: Office hours aren't 24 hours, and latest checkin for dorms is 11pm.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and comfortable beds!

Disliked: There is no common room, so if ur a solo traveller hard to meet others

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room we had was clean, bed was bigger than I pictured, and even though we had shared bath/showers, I never had to wait in line for either and they were both kept clean. We had clean towels everyday and our room was cleaned everyday. It was comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing really to dislike, especially for the price. The first night was a little rough due to the thin walls and people talking, but by night two, it didn't bother me. Our stay here was more than we expected.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sabina Bullard

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic locale! It's such a cute old building, I think of quaint when I think of it. The staff helped out with any inquiries and always had a warm hello to give. It's more hotel than hostel especially since we were on a private room, but prices more reflect those of a hostel. The bathrooms were very up to date and for the most part in clean condition.

Disliked: The lack of parking was unfortunate because we were on a road trip and needed to leave the car somewhere. There's a parking garage right next door that we left our vehicle in all during our stay. Problem it's $20 per day so calculate that into your overall cost. There's no kitchen, one shared microwave and toaster. We did our breakfast here but are out after that. Also no common area but again more hotel then hostel.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room

Disliked: That the toilets are not in the room, and that there is no communal area for all guests, also no breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff and location

Disliked: Nothing. It is an excellent place to stay for the price

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property is somewhere decent to stay if you're on a budget. No drills, but you get what you pay for, and San Francisco is generally expensive. Overall it was clean and quiet (when the rehearsals finished!), with good security on the front foot and bedrooms.

Disliked: It was basic and we had to share a bathroom. Not really a problem as we didn't ever have to wait, but a bit inconvenient.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Caroline Giroud

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 March 2014 Caroline would recommend this property

Liked: Central Location, clean and quiet ( after 11pm)

Disliked: The lack of a common room to meet other travellers and a kitchen to cook your own food.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ulukbek Abdubaliev

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2014 Ulukbek would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place, good location, low price, big beds (like really big).

Disliked: No breakfast offered

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean hostel.

Disliked: No kitchen.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ana jacobsen

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2014 ana would recommend this property

Liked: The best things I like about this place are the cleanliness (they keep it amazingly clean and they change the sheets/towels everyday) and the location (it's really close to Polk street, which is a bohemian street of the city).

Disliked: They don't have a living room where people who are staying at the hostel can hang out and they don't have a kitchen.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mitchell Pollan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2014 Mitchell would recommend this property

Liked: EVERYTHING ! SHOWER FACILITIES WERE VERY STRONG.

Disliked: THAT I COULDN'T STAY LONGER THAN 14 DAYS!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Timothy Lord

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 February 2014 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, convenient location. Maybe not great for a single woman walking at night, but it was fine for me. Internet, when it worked (which was most of the time) was nice and fast.

Disliked: Bath down the hall isn't as nice as one in the room, but Hey -- an easy trade for the nice price. Electrical outlets were extremely loose. Had a few (but not very long) internet service outages.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice rooms actually - feels more like a hotel than a hostel. Staff very friendly and helpful on arrival.

Disliked: No communal facilities or cooking facilities. I know these weren't advertised, but it would have been nice.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jaetjeans Joseph

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Work / volunteering

06 January 2014 Jaetjeans would recommend this property

Liked: It is a great place for a crash pad in the the city at a good rate.

Disliked: Missing out on a common area and kitchen to cook meals.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Julia Arena

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2013

Liked: Good location, showers were cleaner than expected, room was ok

Disliked: No lounge, no kitchen, coffee only available from 9.30, no hostel atmosphere