HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Encore Express Hotel

2 star Hotel | 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94109

81.3% Overall Rating

152 out of 173 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

Martin Mucka thinks…

"Stayed here for 2 nights with my gf. Room clean, bathroom shared, but clean as well. Internet fast, bed was excelent. Will definitely stay here again, very friendly personal, they allowed us to leave…"

Read all Encore Express Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We would like to inform you that our Front Desk is only open from 9:30am to 11:00pm (Monday to Sunday). Guest will need to call or email us for special late check in or early check in instructions. You will find all the contact details on your booking confirmation email. Upon check-in at the photo identification and credit card is required. All special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. 15.5 % Tax is not included.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Music City Hotel
45.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Cable Car Court Hotel
36.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Mithila Hotel
28.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 69.6% 8 reviews
Luz Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 75.4% 10 reviews
Cova Hotel
130.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.7% 54 reviews
HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel
36.00 USD

Hostel 82.6% 74 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
44.00 USD

Hostel 93.0% 699 reviews
Nob Hill Motor Inn
42.25 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.3%

Overall Rating

152 out of 173 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Encore Express Hotel'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 141 of 169 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the center, cleaning facilities

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hostel, helpful staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Martin Mucka

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2014 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed here for 2 nights with my gf. Room clean, bathroom shared, but clean as well. Internet fast, bed was excelent. Will definitely stay here again, very friendly personal, they allowed us to leave there our luggage after check-out, so we had enough time to see another sightseeings schedueled in our city trip

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Domantas Gintauskas

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2014 Domantas would recommend this property

Liked: Nice to have a sink and a fridge in the room - that compensates the disadvantage of shared bathroom.

Disliked: A bit weird toilet like smell in the cooridor downstairs.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 September 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a good choice if you want value for money but still care about location and cleanliness. the rooms and beds were nice, the bathrooms were really nice and clean with good options of privacy. I stayed in both the private room and female dorm. And boh rooms were really good and cean.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

26 August 2014

Liked: gave towels. cleaned room everyday

Disliked: lacked atmosphere. Limited bathrooms for the number of patrons. Only 3 showers in total for the two floors. No notice about construction going on downstairs. Unhelpful staff with no empathy.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bindu Joseph

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2014 Bindu would recommend this property

Liked: Location and value for money.

Disliked: They did not have a suitable procedure for late check in.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean, every day we got fresh towels. The location is convenient, next to muni and cable cars.

Disliked: It was sometimes a little bit loud which i thought was ok. They offer free earplugs if anyone is in need of them.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and price. The bathrooms and showers are pretty clean and odor-free. The whole place is, for the most part, clean.

Disliked: The rooms are a tad too small and can get hot. The beds in my room were also incredibly squeaky. Parking can be tricky. If you need a place to park M-Sat the garage right next to the hotel is great. You can park overnight and leave before 9am for only $6. If you need a place Saturday night though, then don't waste your time looking for open garages. Instead, drive around the hotel's streets and look for an open meter spot (meters don't operate on Sundays - and yes the meter instructions saying otherwise are wrong. Parking laws changed very recently in SF)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Such good value for money, and in a great location

Disliked: We didn't dislike anything

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Arwel Williams

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 August 2014 Arwel would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient.

Disliked: Nothing really.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Chi Yung Choi

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 August 2014 Chi Yung would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really nice and helpful. I met some friendly roommates.

Disliked: At night, it wasna bit noisy outside

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xiao Han

Alone

City break

09 July 2014 Xiao would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient,cheap,nice.

Disliked: Xiao left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Soph Jones

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

02 July 2014 Soph would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely beds, super luxurious in comparison to other hostels I've been in. Hostel/hotel is defo the right description.

Disliked: It wasn't a party hostel at all. No common space to drink / meet people etc

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Nena Mobach

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2014 Nena would recommend this property

Liked: Great big and comfy bunkbeds. It was really good to have a full working kitchen in the room and the wifi was very strong. The cleaningladys are polite friendly and very good in their job.

Disliked: Its very close to tenderloin and the office staf is not very friendly or helpfull. They dont take cash and te oven needs to be cleaned because the fire alarm goes of every time we tutned it on

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 June 2014

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: Somebody left a shit in one of the few showers available. When staff were informed the laughed and did nothing about it.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Philipp Rosar

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 June 2014 Philipp would recommend this property

Liked: The property appears nice, there's a working fridge and sink in the room, the WIFI actually works!

Disliked: In the summer, it probably will be boiling hot inside the rooms, window could'nt be opened properly, also few restrooms and showers, expect 10 to 20 minutes waiting time during rush hour ;)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jim Twelves

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 June 2014 Jim would recommend this property

Liked: the room was great!

Disliked: There was not enough room in the office for office staff and guests.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: People are all friendly.

Disliked: It's connected with disko and the sound is a little bit annoying.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Wenhan Xiao

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2014 Wenhan would recommend this property

Liked: This place is clean, cozy and comfortable. Walking distance to China Town and Japanese Town, even Fisherman's Wharf. For this price and location, it serves quite well. Even a fridge in my room, that's a happy surprise. The shared restroom is clean. Free coffee and wifi.

Disliked: The wall doesn't serve well. I can hear other people's sounds. If someone walks through the lobby, you will hear it very clearly. Some minor drawbacks are 1. I got two room cards during my stay. Only one is working at one time. I mean, in the morning, only room card No.1 was working. When I came back at night, only room card No.2 was working. That's strange. 2. The restroom needs room card to open, which is good. But it seemed like even if you lock the door, other customers can still go in with their cards. As a result, there is a sign says "knock the door before you go in". It made me feel nervous when I was using the restroom. I can't help thinking what if someone come in directly. And I believe most people won't enjoy the door being knocked, when they are inside doing daily business.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

01 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great spot , lovely people, great value for money ! I'd stay longer if it wasn't booked up ! I would definitely stay here again when travelling in San Fran !

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Work / volunteering

15 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptionally clean place. They have a washing machine and dryer you can use, showers that work, big and comfortable beds, filtered water etc. One of the nicest hostels I've visited.

Disliked: Office hours aren't 24 hours, and latest checkin for dorms is 11pm.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

05 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really clean and comfortable beds!

Disliked: There is no common room, so if ur a solo traveller hard to meet others

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room we had was clean, bed was bigger than I pictured, and even though we had shared bath/showers, I never had to wait in line for either and they were both kept clean. We had clean towels everyday and our room was cleaned everyday. It was comfortable.

Disliked: Nothing really to dislike, especially for the price. The first night was a little rough due to the thin walls and people talking, but by night two, it didn't bother me. Our stay here was more than we expected.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Sabina Bullard

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 April 2014 Sabina would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic locale! It's such a cute old building, I think of quaint when I think of it. The staff helped out with any inquiries and always had a warm hello to give. It's more hotel than hostel especially since we were on a private room, but prices more reflect those of a hostel. The bathrooms were very up to date and for the most part in clean condition.

Disliked: The lack of parking was unfortunate because we were on a road trip and needed to leave the car somewhere. There's a parking garage right next door that we left our vehicle in all during our stay. Problem it's $20 per day so calculate that into your overall cost. There's no kitchen, one shared microwave and toaster. We did our breakfast here but are out after that. Also no common area but again more hotel then hostel.