We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Encore Express Hotel

2 star Hotel | 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94109

82.4% Overall Rating

150 out of 171 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

Martin Mucka thinks…

"Stayed here for 2 nights with my gf. Room clean, bathroom shared, but clean as well. Internet fast, bed was excelent. Will definitely stay here again, very friendly personal, they allowed us to leave…"

Read all Encore Express Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We would like to inform you that our Front Desk is only open from 9:30am to 11:00pm (Monday to Sunday). Guest will need to call or email us for special late check in or early check in instructions. You will find all the contact details on your booking confirmation email. Upon check-in at the photo identification and credit card is required. All special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. 15.5 % Tax is not included.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Music City Hotel
45.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Cable Car Court Hotel
36.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Mithila Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 69.6% 8 reviews
Luz Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 75.4% 10 reviews
Cova Hotel
80.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 82.9% 52 reviews
HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel
44.00 USD

Hostel 83.5% 72 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
55.00 USD

Hostel 93.1% 698 reviews
Nob Hill Motor Inn
64.75 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 16/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.4%

Overall Rating

150 out of 171 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Encore Express Hotel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
84.0%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 139 of 167 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Woojin Song

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012

Liked: I booked four female dorm but they gave me a six female dorm room because they dont have room anymore and said to me it is upgrade because it has bathroon in the room whatever I dont care i just dont like they say nothing and change my booking

Disliked: Woojin left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Flood

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 May 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value, good location and rooms had character, quite clean too!

Disliked: The wifi does not work, we had to join a different network and at that the one we used was extremely slow, the reception does not take cash, only credit cards. Also there was no lift which was quite problematic with all the luggage we had!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Juhyun Kim

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012 Juhyun would recommend this property

Liked: First, room was biggest among hostels i've ever been to...Bed was also comfortable, thick, and clean. I had alot of personal places. I wish hostel had a kitchen...that's one disadvantage. Overall, clean, free water, and wifi was really fast compared to other hostels, not so noisy

Disliked: absence of kitchen and music band on first floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marlon Kendrick

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 May 2012 Marlon would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and staff is on top of keeping it that way. The beds are comfortable. Its well worth the money spent. The staff are friendly and cordial as well.

Disliked: Nothing for me to dislike.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordability

Disliked: Wasnt in the best area

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kathryn Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Great facilities in the 6 bed female room, fully fitted kitchen, and ensuite bathroom. Soaps and towels included. Everything that we needed for the four days we were there.

Disliked: Would have been nice to have had a commnal area, but we knew that there wasn't one before we arrived, so it wasn't the end of the world. It was also a bit of a hassle getting into the building for the first time, but once you had your room key that works on the front door, it's fine.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to Polk street

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Rodriguez

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2012 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the vareity of rooms that were available. The bathrooms are private and there are a good amount of bathrooms and showers, didn't have to wait to use either bathroom or shower. The staff is very approachable and knowledgable. It was cool that they offer coffee ,tea, hot water, also there's a microwave and laundry room, which was especially nice for me becasuse I stayed for 4 nights.

Disliked: Joanna left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds - also pilow and duvet are very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: no common room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything Was Excellent

Disliked: Loved All

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A bit noisy, depends of the room, probably.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the comfort of quietness, cleanliness, & ambiance.

Disliked: nothing comes to mind. (maybe not enough cable channels?)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martin Brunner

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 December 2011 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for the money. Clean, quiet, except for the occasional band rehearsal downstairs. I didnt consider it a problem though.

Disliked: No receptionist after 11 pm. If you need something, you need to call the manager who lives somewhere else. Could be solved better.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anna turkiewicz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2011 anna would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: not secure, nobody at the desk

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Robert Minney

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms.

Disliked: THERE ARE BED BUGS - beware. Housekeeping does not always seem to do their job, in the dorms or in the bathrooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and price, rooms are clean.

Disliked: Rooms are smallish.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really close to everything and really safe even though it's right next to the somewhat seedier part of town (Tenderloin a couple blocks away but Bush street is relatively safe - or as safe as you can have in a big city like San Francisco). The staff was also very nice and they kept the shared bathrooms clean enough (for shared bathrooms)! I would (and will very soon) definitely stay there again! Value for money was awesome.

Disliked: Stayed there for almost a week in one room and I decided to endure the whole time with the bedbug colony in my bed... It wouldn't have made any sense to move to another room and thus transfer the bugs to yet another bed. I do hope they would do something about the bedbugs in (I guess at least some of) the rooms since otherwise it's an awesome hotel for the price. And I'm going to stay there again *even if they had* the occasional bedbug problem since I'm willing to bet money that ALL of the cheap stays in and around Union Square / Tenderloin have their own occasional bed bug problems as well...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Stokes

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

10 November 2011 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe and friendly. Really comfy beds. They've got a fun music-decor going (album covers and saxophones hanging on the wall.) Decent walking distance from everywhere. Amazing value, given what you're paying.

Disliked: It would have been nice to have a communal room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sigrun Seifert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2011 Sigrun would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Powellstation, shopping, restaurants. Helpful staff. Laundry. clean room, bathroom. I slept in a 4 bed (female only) room, with fridge

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander de Gast

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: The location is superb, because very centered to the various neighborboods of the city. Therefore everything within walking distance, if you're up for that. For the rest I like the facilities offered in my (single) room, such as fridge and TV,

Disliked: The hotel is kinda oldfashioned decorated. Further there is this (music)band that rehearses a couple of times a week somewhere in the building that you can hear very well.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nicola glover

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 nicola would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet, near food shops, bars and restaurants and staff where very helpful.

Disliked: no common room, but TV in room.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Anna Beesley

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 September 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: The bed wasn't very comfortable.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The interior was nice

Disliked: No elevator for the luggage. And the reception opens too late

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Florian Le Mounier

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: Nice welcome at 1 A.M.

Disliked: Stay too short to notice faults.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dominik Baumer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Dominik would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are very nice and clean, staff very Friendly and the location is also very central and easy to reach.

Disliked: No 24h Reception and no breakfast.