We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Encore Express Hotel

2 star Hotel | 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94109

83.5% Overall Rating

157 out of 178 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/03/2015)

FACUNDO ESCUDERO SALINAS thinks…

"The hotel is very well located, close to Chinatown, Japantown, Pier 39, the ferry to Alcatraz, Financial District, The Fillmore, you can walk to all these places. The hotel is very clean and the…"

Read all Encore Express Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We would like to inform you that our Front Desk is only open from 9:30am to 11:00pm (Monday to Sunday). Guest will need to call or email us for special late check in or early check in instructions. You will find all the contact details on your booking confirmation email. Upon check-in at the photo identification and credit card is required. All special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. 15.5 % Tax is not included.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Music City Hotel
40.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Mithila Hotel
27.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 69.6% 8 reviews
Luz Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 75.4% 10 reviews
Cova Hotel
175.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.1% 56 reviews
HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel
36.00 USD

Hostel 79.5% 78 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
36.00 USD

Hostel 91.0% 714 reviews
Nob Hill Motor Inn
49.75 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Layne Hotel
34.75 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 05/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.5%

Overall Rating

157 out of 178 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Encore Express Hotel'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
91.2%
Value
86.4%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 174 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xiaoya Sun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012 Xiaoya would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen

Disliked: Xiaoya left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peiyu chen

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 peiyu would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe

Disliked: No

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katharina Goloborodko

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2012 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: The interior style, people on the reception, water dispenser on the first floor, the rooms, the shower, the water sink in the dorm room, location, that the cleaning ladies made our beds every day, really nice atmosphere, and the unbeatable price

Disliked: Katharina left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miriam Abrahams

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed for two nights in a double room with bathroom just down the hall. Both the bedroom & bathroom were really clean. Very comfortable stay, clean towels and bed linen was provided- definitely great value for money. Safe area too, would thoroughly recommend.

Disliked: Was slightly noisy in the evening but this seemed to stop both nights around 11pm so wasn't a problem.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really convenient and the price was unbeatable for San Francisco.

Disliked: You get what you pay for! There was only one plug socket in the (4 bed female dorm) room, which meant sitting out in the corridor to charge my phone and I was in a top bunk, with the heavy metal and glass light fixture conveniently placed right above the ladder... without fail I banged my head on it every time I climbed in and out of bed! So, in summary - badly designed rooms but as somewhere to sleep and shower for $25 a night I was perfectly happy!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Carina Pfeiffer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012

Liked: Clean and helpful receptionist

Disliked: No community room and kitchen. Does not have any hostelflair. If you travel alone and want to meet others dont go there.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Woojin Song

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012

Liked: I booked four female dorm but they gave me a six female dorm room because they dont have room anymore and said to me it is upgrade because it has bathroon in the room whatever I dont care i just dont like they say nothing and change my booking

Disliked: Woojin left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Flood

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 May 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value, good location and rooms had character, quite clean too!

Disliked: The wifi does not work, we had to join a different network and at that the one we used was extremely slow, the reception does not take cash, only credit cards. Also there was no lift which was quite problematic with all the luggage we had!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Juhyun Kim

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012 Juhyun would recommend this property

Liked: First, room was biggest among hostels i've ever been to...Bed was also comfortable, thick, and clean. I had alot of personal places. I wish hostel had a kitchen...that's one disadvantage. Overall, clean, free water, and wifi was really fast compared to other hostels, not so noisy

Disliked: absence of kitchen and music band on first floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marlon Kendrick

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 May 2012 Marlon would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and staff is on top of keeping it that way. The beds are comfortable. Its well worth the money spent. The staff are friendly and cordial as well.

Disliked: Nothing for me to dislike.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordability

Disliked: Wasnt in the best area

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kathryn Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Great facilities in the 6 bed female room, fully fitted kitchen, and ensuite bathroom. Soaps and towels included. Everything that we needed for the four days we were there.

Disliked: Would have been nice to have had a commnal area, but we knew that there wasn't one before we arrived, so it wasn't the end of the world. It was also a bit of a hassle getting into the building for the first time, but once you had your room key that works on the front door, it's fine.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to Polk street

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Rodriguez

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2012 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the vareity of rooms that were available. The bathrooms are private and there are a good amount of bathrooms and showers, didn't have to wait to use either bathroom or shower. The staff is very approachable and knowledgable. It was cool that they offer coffee ,tea, hot water, also there's a microwave and laundry room, which was especially nice for me becasuse I stayed for 4 nights.

Disliked: Joanna left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds - also pilow and duvet are very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: no common room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything Was Excellent

Disliked: Loved All

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

09 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A bit noisy, depends of the room, probably.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

20 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the comfort of quietness, cleanliness, & ambiance.

Disliked: nothing comes to mind. (maybe not enough cable channels?)

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martin Brunner

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 December 2011 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: Great value for the money. Clean, quiet, except for the occasional band rehearsal downstairs. I didnt consider it a problem though.

Disliked: No receptionist after 11 pm. If you need something, you need to call the manager who lives somewhere else. Could be solved better.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

anna turkiewicz

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2011 anna would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: not secure, nobody at the desk

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Robert Minney

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2011 Robert would recommend this property

Liked: Nice rooms.

Disliked: THERE ARE BED BUGS - beware. Housekeeping does not always seem to do their job, in the dorms or in the bathrooms.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and price, rooms are clean.

Disliked: Rooms are smallish.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

10 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was really close to everything and really safe even though it's right next to the somewhat seedier part of town (Tenderloin a couple blocks away but Bush street is relatively safe - or as safe as you can have in a big city like San Francisco). The staff was also very nice and they kept the shared bathrooms clean enough (for shared bathrooms)! I would (and will very soon) definitely stay there again! Value for money was awesome.

Disliked: Stayed there for almost a week in one room and I decided to endure the whole time with the bedbug colony in my bed... It wouldn't have made any sense to move to another room and thus transfer the bugs to yet another bed. I do hope they would do something about the bedbugs in (I guess at least some of) the rooms since otherwise it's an awesome hotel for the price. And I'm going to stay there again *even if they had* the occasional bedbug problem since I'm willing to bet money that ALL of the cheap stays in and around Union Square / Tenderloin have their own occasional bed bug problems as well...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Megan Stokes

Alone

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

10 November 2011 Megan would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe and friendly. Really comfy beds. They've got a fun music-decor going (album covers and saxophones hanging on the wall.) Decent walking distance from everywhere. Amazing value, given what you're paying.

Disliked: It would have been nice to have a communal room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sigrun Seifert

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 September 2011 Sigrun would recommend this property

Liked: Close to the Powellstation, shopping, restaurants. Helpful staff. Laundry. clean room, bathroom. I slept in a 4 bed (female only) room, with fridge

Disliked: Nothing