HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Encore Express Hotel

2 star Hotel | 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94109

82.6% Overall Rating

121 out of 138 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/04/2014)

"This property is somewhere decent to stay if you're on a budget. No drills, but you get what you pay for, and San Francisco is generally expensive. Overall it was clean and quiet (when the rehearsals finished!), with…"

Read all Encore Express Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We would like to inform you that our Front Desk is only open from 9:30am to 11:00pm (Monday to Sunday). Guest will need to call or email us for special late check in or early check in instructions. You will find all the contact details on your booking confirmation email. Upon check-in at the photo identification and credit card is required. All special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. 15.5 % Tax is not included.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Music City Hotel
45.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Cable Car Court Hotel
36.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Mithila Hotel
21.25 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 74.9% 5 reviews
Luz Hotel
47.00 USD

Hotel 49.5% 3 reviews
Cova Hotel
75.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.3% 40 reviews
Hostelling International-San Francisco City Center
29.99 USD

Hostel 84.7% 41 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
42.00 USD

Hostel 93.7% 673 reviews
Nob Hill Motor Inn
49.75 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.6%

Overall Rating

121 out of 138 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Encore Express Hotel'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
81.6%
Value
85.6%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 116 of 135 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Florian Le Mounier

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Florian would recommend this property

Liked: Nice welcome at 1 A.M.

Disliked: Stay too short to notice faults.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dominik Baumer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Dominik would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms are very nice and clean, staff very Friendly and the location is also very central and easy to reach.

Disliked: No 24h Reception and no breakfast.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ronaldo gonzalez

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 April 2011 ronaldo would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and amazing staff. It is like a hotel.

Disliked: N/A

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachel Brewer

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 Rachel would recommend this property

Liked: The room was really nice, especially for the low price.

Disliked: There really wasn't much. My best friend and I payed for a private double and it was really nice. I don't know how the dorm rooms are.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kenneth Freese

Alone

Work / volunteering

15 March 2011 Kenneth would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, quiet and relaxing. Overall a good stay

Disliked: The cleaning lady would come in even when it said do not disturb on the doornob.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's essentially a hotel with bunks, so very clean, secure, well-maintained etc.

Disliked: Also like a hotel, there was little social aspect, no common area

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was so inexpensive and I was very please with the accommodations. It was very clean.

Disliked: I don't think people should have TVs in their rooms because some one at the end of the hall had theirs going very loudly which probably disturbed other customers.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel facilities at a hostel price and easy check-in and out

Disliked: more bathrooms might be helpful during busy time

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

07 January 2011

Liked: bathroom was clean and they have laundry machine.

Disliked: Stairs: I had a big and heavy suitcase but there was nobody and stairs were small, so difficult to carry. they have key for each rooms but no meaning!!! I can open the door without key from outside. place was not safe enough.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeremiah Wang

Alone

Events / festivals

01 January 2011 Jeremiah would recommend this property

Liked: Nicely furnished, VERY clean. Super easy check-in process, and walking distance to pretty much everything fun in this part of San Fran.

Disliked: No common room area to meet people.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

minhye kang

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010 minhye would recommend this property

Liked: dorm was pretty nice.

Disliked: not really..

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Shopping

01 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Self check-in! It takes one minute to check in and you can show up anytime.

Disliked: No control for heater in room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

25 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and friendly place. Rooms are very nice and newly remodeled.

Disliked: Only one thing, it was very cold the day I stayed there and there is no heat control in the room. I was cold all night, but it seemed warmer in the morning when I woke up.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

17 November 2010

Liked: Its a very central place. the rooms are quite clean and good sized.

Disliked: 1 night, i had a huge amount of bedbugs in my bed and i do not mean the small ones. got my room changed the next day. the next room was so hot do to a heater. there is not really any staff here. only for a couple hours a day! no aircondition. oh and its not a hostel, its a cheap stay hotel! DO NOT STAY HERE!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

16 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Easy to go in.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was ok, maybe the bathroom out of the room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

ABD RASHID MOHD YUSOFF

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Shopping

10 November 2010 ABD RASHID would recommend this property

Liked: just out from union square but one good thing about this hotel are;near to the fisherman's wharf, bus stops, internet, bars, indian restaurants.

Disliked: no drink water supply

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

08 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean. New microwaves and refrigerators.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Shopping

11 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: right price,good location:)

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Front desk person was really nice and helpful. The location is great, because it's close to everything. The hotel has great housekeepers, the room was nicely done when we arrived and made up.

Disliked: /

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it is not really an Hostel, is almost an hotel...room are not really big but very comfortable and clean, is quiete and in a good area

Disliked: there's no common room to meet people

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value.

Disliked: recording studio in the building can get a little loud.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

01 September 2010

Liked: difficult to say...maybe the price....

Disliked: the bathrooms were not clean

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really liked the value of this hostel. You get exactly what you pay for if you just need a place to stay while you are exploring the city. This hostel is definitely not the kind for meeting or socializing with people.

Disliked: Didn´t really have any dislikes. What the website says about them is pretty much accurate and honest. However it is worth pointing out that you no longer need to check in at the Nob Hill Hotel a couple of blocks away. One can check themselves in directly at the hostel. However be wary of choosing your check in times as I felt that I got lucky with having someone there at the time that I did want to check in. My best advice to avoid such inconveniences would be to call or email and make sure the times at which someone would be at the front desk. Other than that the hostel was great.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Encore express was extremely clean and a very safe place to stay. The area, near Polk street is fantastic, you are also very close to the down town area.

Disliked: There is no lobby or a common area to hang out

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisabeth Bezemer

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2010 Elisabeth would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and we get clean towels all the time!

Disliked: Elisabeth left no negative feedback.