We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Encore Express Hotel

2 star Hotel | 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94109

81.3% Overall Rating

152 out of 173 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/09/2014)

Martin Mucka thinks…

"Stayed here for 2 nights with my gf. Room clean, bathroom shared, but clean as well. Internet fast, bed was excelent. Will definitely stay here again, very friendly personal, they allowed us to leave…"

Read all Encore Express Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We would like to inform you that our Front Desk is only open from 9:30am to 11:00pm (Monday to Sunday). Guest will need to call or email us for special late check in or early check in instructions. You will find all the contact details on your booking confirmation email. Upon check-in at the photo identification and credit card is required. All special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. 15.5 % Tax is not included.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Music City Hotel
45.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Cable Car Court Hotel
36.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Mithila Hotel
27.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 69.6% 8 reviews
Luz Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 75.4% 10 reviews
Cova Hotel
55.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.2% 55 reviews
HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 82.6% 74 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
36.00 USD

Hostel 93.0% 699 reviews
Nob Hill Motor Inn
39.75 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.3%

Overall Rating

152 out of 173 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Encore Express Hotel'

Atmosphere
72.0%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
81.6%
Staff
88.0%
Value
84.0%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 141 of 169 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stylish room.

Disliked: No stuff help about car parking subtleties.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jose Pedro Urrestarazu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Jose Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, walking distance from everywhere. San Francisco is so expensive that this place even seemed cheap.

Disliked: There's a music studio in lower floor, so at night is like trying to sleep in a pub, with an amateur band playing the same song again and again. And they only accept the payment with credit card, which is ridicoulous, that was a problem to us since we needed the credit for other purchases.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gwen Colegem

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2013 Gwen would recommend this property

Liked: The ensuite dorm was excellent: three bunkbeds, kitchen and bathroom!

Disliked: Gwen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything

Disliked: Only one bathroom per floor

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location,free apples.

Disliked: Bad Smell in the hotel,sometimes the room was cold.....no microwave in the room....

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great access to local transport, friendly staff and very pleasant people in the dorm.

Disliked: The only problem I had was the lack of a secure storage locker large enough for my laptop. I should get a smaller laptop though...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phil Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Toilets were clean, stocked and queue free. The showers in the morning delivered unlimited hot water, once you worked out that the taps are very sensitive. Rooms were cleaned often with frequent linen and towels changed. Location is great, close to cable cars and buses. Friendly and efficient desk staff who always wanted to help.

Disliked: Not much. Others mention the music practice rooms on site, but we never felt it was intrusive or overly loud. One day, those guys might be famous :0)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Giuseppe Romanelli

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2012 Giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: nothing

Disliked: evrything in genenral

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic.

Disliked: The lighting in the rooms could be better, but really, that's nitpicking.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Katie Cozens

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2012 Jennifer Katie would recommend this property

Liked: This property was in an awesome location geographically. You can walk anywhere. The building has a lot of character. The place has a winding staircase throughout and high ceilings (no elevator and there are definitely a lot of stairs). The bathrooms are clean and I never had to wait to use the bathroom or shower. They were empty anytime I went for them. Water pressure and hot water availability no problem. I put up a 'do not disturb' sign on my door and the room was never entered during my stay. You use a swipe card to open the main door to the building at all times and use the same card for your room door. There is a lot of storage in the room (dressers), and a mini fridge. The windows can open. TV with remote in the room (only like 10 channels or less). A nice new sink and large amount of counter space in the room. I would definitely stay again. It's an amazing deal and totally worth not having a private bathroom. (there are rooms with private bathrooms though).

Disliked: There is a little bit of a bad smell when you first enter the building. I don't know if it's like a sewer a little bit or mildew possibly (the whole place is plushly carpeted, but I'm sure that's necessary for noise control). However, my room smelled clean. There is only one common room and it is squished in with the reception/office and it is very small. They need to get an electric kettle. They brew free coffee in the morning, but I drink tea and eat instant oatmeani in the a.m. so was boiling water in plastic cups in the provided common microwave.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dorms are very nice, good bed and nice kitchen! very good value for money.

Disliked: Music downstairs not too bad, garbage collecting is loud, but with earplugs no problem

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Matthew Lee

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012

Liked: Location - that is it.

Disliked: They rent out the floor below the hotel to musicians and bands who play ridiculously loud music up until 11pm at night!!!!!!!!!!!!! Not to mention the place stinks off chinese food all day and the room are dark, dingy and ours even had supporting joist running diagonally across the entire room!!!! All in all, we only booked it due to location and price, every other hotel in San Fran at the time were ridiculous prices, £200+ for a travel lodge per night!! Bad value for money on accommodation in San Fran but a great place to visit. Advice - Save for longer and book a ridiculously over priced hotel rather than a budget one like this!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: impressive quality of service for the price

Disliked: not much

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Well managed. Secure. Cheap.

Disliked: Our bed was really hard.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alanna Roach

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Alanna would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfrotable accommodation!! Our bathroom was in the corridor, and shared by other dorm rooms - it was always clean and fresh! This is not a hostel, It is a hotel with some private rooms and some dorm rooms- no common areas or kitchen etc. We booked a 4 bed dorm room because all of the private rooms were booked out.

Disliked: Location is good but not great. 15 min walk to Union Square. Tenderloin district just around the corner, and you do not want to be walking around that area ever! Some staff were friendly, others were not.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good. The room is nice (dorm for 6 with kitchen and bathroom)

Disliked: It s a little bit noisy, there's some kind of music rehearsal going on all the time.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Zehr

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 September 2012 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great place for the price. Central location, clean rooms.

Disliked: Nathan left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly and safe

Disliked: They lack a lounge or so wind of common space which means you need to either be out or in your room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked very helpfull staff, location was quite good as well, very close to downtown, shops, bars and restaurants.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that there was only two showers on the floor, but it wasn't so bad after all.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, my friend who lives in the city recommended the Polk area in comparison to other neighborhoods. I felt pretty safe. Was good to have a kitchen and bathroom in the room.

Disliked: I had a bed in a dorm, was very quite and not that sociable which suprised me. More to do with the people though. You have to buy your own lock for the lockers and they were quite small, I just managed to fit my laptop in with out the case.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

mee-mee frances phipps

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 mee-mee frances would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, and quiet.

Disliked: no common room. private rooms are without bathrooms. no kitchen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xiaoya Sun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012 Xiaoya would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen

Disliked: Xiaoya left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peiyu chen

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 peiyu would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe

Disliked: No

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katharina Goloborodko

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2012 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: The interior style, people on the reception, water dispenser on the first floor, the rooms, the shower, the water sink in the dorm room, location, that the cleaning ladies made our beds every day, really nice atmosphere, and the unbeatable price

Disliked: Katharina left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miriam Abrahams

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed for two nights in a double room with bathroom just down the hall. Both the bedroom & bathroom were really clean. Very comfortable stay, clean towels and bed linen was provided- definitely great value for money. Safe area too, would thoroughly recommend.

Disliked: Was slightly noisy in the evening but this seemed to stop both nights around 11pm so wasn't a problem.