HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Encore Express Hotel

2 star Hotel | 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94109

83.3% Overall Rating

139 out of 158 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (02/07/2014)

Soph Jones thinks…

"Lovely beds, super luxurious in comparison to other hostels I've been in. Hostel/hotel is defo the right description."

Read all Encore Express Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We would like to inform you that our Front Desk is only open from 9:30am to 11:00pm (Monday to Sunday). Guest will need to call or email us for special late check in or early check in instructions. You will find all the contact details on your booking confirmation email. Upon check-in at the photo identification and credit card is required. All special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. 15.5 % Tax is not included.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Music City Hotel
45.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Cable Car Court Hotel
36.00 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Mithila Hotel
55.50 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 71.4% 6 reviews
Luz Hotel
40.00 USD

Hotel 61.4% 4 reviews
Cova Hotel
80.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 82.4% 47 reviews
HI - San Francisco - City Center
44.00 USD

Hostel 87.5% 56 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
49.00 USD

Hostel 91.0% 688 reviews
Nob Hill Motor Inn
599.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.3%

Overall Rating

139 out of 158 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Encore Express Hotel'

Atmosphere
76.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
84.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 129 of 154 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: impressive quality of service for the price

Disliked: not much

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Well managed. Secure. Cheap.

Disliked: Our bed was really hard.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alanna Roach

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 October 2012 Alanna would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and comfrotable accommodation!! Our bathroom was in the corridor, and shared by other dorm rooms - it was always clean and fresh! This is not a hostel, It is a hotel with some private rooms and some dorm rooms- no common areas or kitchen etc. We booked a 4 bed dorm room because all of the private rooms were booked out.

Disliked: Location is good but not great. 15 min walk to Union Square. Tenderloin district just around the corner, and you do not want to be walking around that area ever! Some staff were friendly, others were not.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good. The room is nice (dorm for 6 with kitchen and bathroom)

Disliked: It s a little bit noisy, there's some kind of music rehearsal going on all the time.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathan Zehr

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

18 September 2012 Nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Great place for the price. Central location, clean rooms.

Disliked: Nathan left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly and safe

Disliked: They lack a lounge or so wind of common space which means you need to either be out or in your room.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked very helpfull staff, location was quite good as well, very close to downtown, shops, bars and restaurants.

Disliked: I didn't like the fact that there was only two showers on the floor, but it wasn't so bad after all.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

31 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was good, my friend who lives in the city recommended the Polk area in comparison to other neighborhoods. I felt pretty safe. Was good to have a kitchen and bathroom in the room.

Disliked: I had a bed in a dorm, was very quite and not that sociable which suprised me. More to do with the people though. You have to buy your own lock for the lockers and they were quite small, I just managed to fit my laptop in with out the case.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

mee-mee frances phipps

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2012 mee-mee frances would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness, and quiet.

Disliked: no common room. private rooms are without bathrooms. no kitchen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Xiaoya Sun

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 August 2012 Xiaoya would recommend this property

Liked: kitchen

Disliked: Xiaoya left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peiyu chen

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2012 peiyu would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe

Disliked: No

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katharina Goloborodko

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 July 2012 Katharina would recommend this property

Liked: The interior style, people on the reception, water dispenser on the first floor, the rooms, the shower, the water sink in the dorm room, location, that the cleaning ladies made our beds every day, really nice atmosphere, and the unbeatable price

Disliked: Katharina left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miriam Abrahams

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2012 Miriam would recommend this property

Liked: Only stayed for two nights in a double room with bathroom just down the hall. Both the bedroom & bathroom were really clean. Very comfortable stay, clean towels and bed linen was provided- definitely great value for money. Safe area too, would thoroughly recommend.

Disliked: Was slightly noisy in the evening but this seemed to stop both nights around 11pm so wasn't a problem.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was really convenient and the price was unbeatable for San Francisco.

Disliked: You get what you pay for! There was only one plug socket in the (4 bed female dorm) room, which meant sitting out in the corridor to charge my phone and I was in a top bunk, with the heavy metal and glass light fixture conveniently placed right above the ladder... without fail I banged my head on it every time I climbed in and out of bed! So, in summary - badly designed rooms but as somewhere to sleep and shower for $25 a night I was perfectly happy!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Carina Pfeiffer

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 June 2012

Liked: Clean and helpful receptionist

Disliked: No community room and kitchen. Does not have any hostelflair. If you travel alone and want to meet others dont go there.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Woojin Song

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 May 2012

Liked: I booked four female dorm but they gave me a six female dorm room because they dont have room anymore and said to me it is upgrade because it has bathroon in the room whatever I dont care i just dont like they say nothing and change my booking

Disliked: Woojin left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sarah Flood

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 May 2012 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very good value, good location and rooms had character, quite clean too!

Disliked: The wifi does not work, we had to join a different network and at that the one we used was extremely slow, the reception does not take cash, only credit cards. Also there was no lift which was quite problematic with all the luggage we had!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Juhyun Kim

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 May 2012 Juhyun would recommend this property

Liked: First, room was biggest among hostels i've ever been to...Bed was also comfortable, thick, and clean. I had alot of personal places. I wish hostel had a kitchen...that's one disadvantage. Overall, clean, free water, and wifi was really fast compared to other hostels, not so noisy

Disliked: absence of kitchen and music band on first floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marlon Kendrick

Alone

Visiting friends or family

25 May 2012 Marlon would recommend this property

Liked: It is very clean and staff is on top of keeping it that way. The beds are comfortable. Its well worth the money spent. The staff are friendly and cordial as well.

Disliked: Nothing for me to dislike.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Affordability

Disliked: Wasnt in the best area

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Kathryn Thompson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 May 2012 Kathryn would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Great facilities in the 6 bed female room, fully fitted kitchen, and ensuite bathroom. Soaps and towels included. Everything that we needed for the four days we were there.

Disliked: Would have been nice to have had a commnal area, but we knew that there wasn't one before we arrived, so it wasn't the end of the world. It was also a bit of a hassle getting into the building for the first time, but once you had your room key that works on the front door, it's fine.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to Polk street

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joanna Rodriguez

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

21 April 2012 Joanna would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the vareity of rooms that were available. The bathrooms are private and there are a good amount of bathrooms and showers, didn't have to wait to use either bathroom or shower. The staff is very approachable and knowledgable. It was cool that they offer coffee ,tea, hot water, also there's a microwave and laundry room, which was especially nice for me becasuse I stayed for 4 nights.

Disliked: Joanna left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good beds - also pilow and duvet are very comfortable. Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: no common room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Business / conference
City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything Was Excellent

Disliked: Loved All