We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Encore Express Hotel

2 star Hotel | 1353 Bush Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94109

80.7% Overall Rating

166 out of 188 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/03/2015)

"Close to all restaurants & bars , clean everyday, great location away from the Tenderloin & it's homeless ventures"

Read all Encore Express Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines
  • Reception (limited hours)

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

We would like to inform you that our Front Desk is only open from 9:30am to 11:00pm (Monday to Sunday). Guest will need to call or email us for special late check in or early check in instructions. You will find all the contact details on your booking confirmation email. Upon check-in at the photo identification and credit card is required. All special requests are subject to availability upon check-in. Special requests cannot be guaranteed and may incur additional charges. 15.5 % Tax is not included.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

Music City Hotel
40.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Mithila Hotel
38.75 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 71.2% 11 reviews
Luz Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 76.0% 13 reviews
Cova Hotel
220.00 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 83.8% 60 reviews
HI - San Francisco - City Center Hostel
50.00 USD

Hostel 80.5% 93 reviews
USA Hostels San Francisco
36.00 USD

Hostel 89.8% 735 reviews
Nob Hill Motor Inn
57.25 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Layne Hotel
37.25 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 66.1% 432 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
80.7%

Overall Rating

166 out of 188 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Encore Express Hotel'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
70.4%
Cleanliness
84.8%
Staff
86.4%
Value
82.4%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 153 of 184 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping

21 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for the money.

Disliked: No lift

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: More like a hotel located in knob hill. Close to many sights in San Fran, the area looks a little rough but is actually safe. Hostel is more like b grade hotel with communal showers but we got a private room for 50 a night. A cleaner came in everyday to tidy and change sheets. Staff were meh, neither friendly or unfriendly.

Disliked: No kitchen. But do have a microwave and kettle

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: No the typical hostel but very clean & secure

Disliked: no kitchen or bar lounge area

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly guests

Disliked: Ended up having to re locate to another hostel round the corner fir some reason

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yasuhiko Shitan

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2013 Yasuhiko would recommend this property

Liked: Clarks were kind. Nice atomosphere and taset of funitures.

Disliked: I just wanted preared rock for doom room.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Comfy beds, clean room (beds made and room cleaned each day by lovely housekeepers) Some of the staff were super friendly. Location was pretty good, think there are better in San Fran but it's not so big a place so was easy to get to everything each day.

Disliked: I asked a member of staff for some WD40 or something to that effect to stop the bathroom door from creaking everytime someone used it, especially in the middle of the night as it woke everyone up-I was even willing to o it myself but she couldn't comprehend me at first and then I think basically ignored me as it was too much hassle! Just a note to the hostel really-oil the door! It's next to some sort of music club, so if you don't like noise when trying to sleep then don't go here.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

14 August 2013

Liked: No kitchen or common room made me creative in the food department. I have to be because I've a tight budget. Worked ok with the microwave available, & besides fresh fruit is good. Not called a hostel so E E gets away with it. Lots of coffee available is good. Enjoyed my stay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2013

Liked: Dorm beds were comfortable. Never had to wait for the shower or bathroom.

Disliked: I accidentally walked up from market through the tenderloin district to this hostel and it was pretty scary.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

15 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, quiet.

Disliked: no complaints. price perhaps slightly high.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really clean place, beds are made every morning. Free towels. Showers are really clean too. Beds are super comfortable. Very safe, you get a magnetic card to access the property, however, it is close to a not so nice neiborghood. If you are looking for a more friendly or get together atmosphere: not the place. They don't have a common area or a kitchen to meet new friends. Overall, good experience if you are looking to rest and have a really clean place!

Disliked: No kitchen or common area.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

22 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff

Disliked: None

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

07 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and local amenities

Disliked: Our room faced Fern Street and in the early morning there are street cleaners and dust carts, which are noisy and need ear plugs to block out the noise.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stylish room.

Disliked: No stuff help about car parking subtleties.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jose Pedro Urrestarazu

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 Jose Pedro would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, walking distance from everywhere. San Francisco is so expensive that this place even seemed cheap.

Disliked: There's a music studio in lower floor, so at night is like trying to sleep in a pub, with an amateur band playing the same song again and again. And they only accept the payment with credit card, which is ridicoulous, that was a problem to us since we needed the credit for other purchases.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Gwen Colegem

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2013 Gwen would recommend this property

Liked: The ensuite dorm was excellent: three bunkbeds, kitchen and bathroom!

Disliked: Gwen left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Almost everything

Disliked: Only one bathroom per floor

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location,free apples.

Disliked: Bad Smell in the hotel,sometimes the room was cold.....no microwave in the room....

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great access to local transport, friendly staff and very pleasant people in the dorm.

Disliked: The only problem I had was the lack of a secure storage locker large enough for my laptop. I should get a smaller laptop though...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Phil Davies

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 December 2012 Phil would recommend this property

Liked: Toilets were clean, stocked and queue free. The showers in the morning delivered unlimited hot water, once you worked out that the taps are very sensitive. Rooms were cleaned often with frequent linen and towels changed. Location is great, close to cable cars and buses. Friendly and efficient desk staff who always wanted to help.

Disliked: Not much. Others mention the music practice rooms on site, but we never felt it was intrusive or overly loud. One day, those guys might be famous :0)

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Giuseppe Romanelli

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 November 2012 Giuseppe would recommend this property

Liked: nothing

Disliked: evrything in genenral

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was fantastic.

Disliked: The lighting in the rooms could be better, but really, that's nitpicking.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Katie Cozens

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 November 2012 Jennifer Katie would recommend this property

Liked: This property was in an awesome location geographically. You can walk anywhere. The building has a lot of character. The place has a winding staircase throughout and high ceilings (no elevator and there are definitely a lot of stairs). The bathrooms are clean and I never had to wait to use the bathroom or shower. They were empty anytime I went for them. Water pressure and hot water availability no problem. I put up a 'do not disturb' sign on my door and the room was never entered during my stay. You use a swipe card to open the main door to the building at all times and use the same card for your room door. There is a lot of storage in the room (dressers), and a mini fridge. The windows can open. TV with remote in the room (only like 10 channels or less). A nice new sink and large amount of counter space in the room. I would definitely stay again. It's an amazing deal and totally worth not having a private bathroom. (there are rooms with private bathrooms though).

Disliked: There is a little bit of a bad smell when you first enter the building. I don't know if it's like a sewer a little bit or mildew possibly (the whole place is plushly carpeted, but I'm sure that's necessary for noise control). However, my room smelled clean. There is only one common room and it is squished in with the reception/office and it is very small. They need to get an electric kettle. They brew free coffee in the morning, but I drink tea and eat instant oatmeani in the a.m. so was boiling water in plastic cups in the provided common microwave.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

08 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Dorms are very nice, good bed and nice kitchen! very good value for money.

Disliked: Music downstairs not too bad, garbage collecting is loud, but with earplugs no problem

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Matthew Lee

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 October 2012

Liked: Location - that is it.

Disliked: They rent out the floor below the hotel to musicians and bands who play ridiculously loud music up until 11pm at night!!!!!!!!!!!!! Not to mention the place stinks off chinese food all day and the room are dark, dingy and ours even had supporting joist running diagonally across the entire room!!!! All in all, we only booked it due to location and price, every other hotel in San Fran at the time were ridiculous prices, £200+ for a travel lodge per night!! Bad value for money on accommodation in San Fran but a great place to visit. Advice - Save for longer and book a ridiculously over priced hotel rather than a budget one like this!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

23 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: impressive quality of service for the price

Disliked: not much