HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Tropica

2.5 star Hotel | 663 Valencia Street, San Francisco, California, USA CA 94110 - 1150

70.4% Overall Rating

10 out of 16 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/08/2011)

Geoffrey Brown thinks…

"The location is the strongest aspect of this establishment. One will find bars great places to eat, drink and enjoy music in the area. The Mission neighbourhood is situated near: The Castro, Dolores…"

Read all Hotel Tropica reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Check in 2.00PM Check out 11.00AM

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to San Francisco?

Contact us directly

See other properties in San Francisco

The Sentient SF
23.00 USD

Hotel 58.1% 9 reviews
El Capitan Hotel
49.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 46.3% 321 reviews
Travelodge Central
39.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 63.7% 29 reviews
Civic Center Motor Inn
39.75 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
AAE S.F. European Hostel
21.00 USD

Hostel 62.5% 93 reviews
Whitcomb Hotel
36.25 USD

Hotel 4 star 74.6% 8 reviews
Hostelling International-San Francisco City Center
38.00 USD

Hostel 84.7% 40 reviews
Winsor Hotel
30.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.7% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.4%

Overall Rating

10 out of 16 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Tropica'

Atmosphere
73.8%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
65.0%
Cleanliness
80.0%
Staff
62.5%
Value
62.5%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 11 of 13 reviews
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Geoffrey Brown

Alone

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

17 August 2011

Liked: The location is the strongest aspect of this establishment. One will find bars great places to eat, drink and enjoy music in the area. The Mission neighbourhood is situated near: The Castro, Dolores Park, main bus routes and street cars and several BART terminals. The staff and management are pleasant and helpful.

Disliked: The shared bathroom on my floor was poorly maintained (broken shower tap, dirty floors and walls, and the toilet lacked a sink--more of a tiled port-a-potty. The rooms are tiny and loud.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Claire Hales

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2011

Liked: Nothing much.The coloured paper peeling off of the glass squres on the,"mosaic" mirror were hilarious.

Disliked: It wasn't the property,it was the staff/owners,I assume Husband and Wife-they were both EXTREMELY rude and ignorant.The hotel we are now staying in has such happy,friendly staff in comparison.I tried to hand in our door key to check out and the man was obviously annoyed and grunted at me-I must have disturbed his sleep at 11 a.m-not exactly the middle of the night!!I do not understand how the Hostel survives as I can't imagine any one recommending it_I certainly never would. Oh yes and we had to ask for toilet roll,the toilet spurted water out everytime you flushed and did I mention the staff being rude?!!!!!!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

05 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location and the bright decor. Everything was clean and good value for a room with private facilities in San Francisco.

Disliked: The staff were very helpful when they were around but there was noone easily available in the morning evening - to be fair, there was a notice saying to ask for assistance in the cafe downstairs but that wasn't open in the morning before checkout. Also, there were a few small problems - I could not get the shower head to work and the dead lock on my room didn't work (though the room had another lock and so was secure) - but nothing significant.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

10 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was excellent for buses and BART, and lots of restaurants nearby. At first I was a bit concerned by the number of people hanging about the streets but I can't say it was ever a problem. Room and bathroom were very clean and reasonably comfortable. Free wi-fi was good, also fridge and microwave, tho probably more useful to long term stayers as there were no dishes cutlery etc.

Disliked: I booked a room with two double beds. Owner seemed surprised and said we had to have one with a double and single. When we protested she pointed out that we were checking in four hours early. We then asked for a quiet room, which we got, but view was another bedroom window so curtains had to stay shut the 3 days we were there. I asked for a safe - there was none despite website offering one. We left our case on last day in the locked laundry, but when we came back to pick up the case the laundry was open and no one was around, a bit worrying. Our room was never cleaned or towels changed, and the towels are very thin and tiny.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

04 October 2010

Liked: Great location, far more fun and interesting spot to be than downtown. Comfortable bed. Friendly proprietor.

Disliked: Stifling hot room with poor ventilation (obviously no air con at this price). Too few towels provided. Constant smell of curry about the place.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location

Disliked: somewhat expensive given the room size and the simplicity of the services

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

04 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great in the best neighbourhood in town!

Disliked: When I arrived at 3pm, i was told that i arrived to late and therefore they couldn't provide me with the room i asked for - and so i was given a room with shared toilets and shower, even that i booked a room with private ones. that was very disappointing and not cool.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife

25 July 2010

Liked: Nice room, good location

Disliked: There was no real car parking, and the maanger was not realy on top.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 September 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great area, with lots of good restaurants, Mexican taquerias, and lovely clothing shops and second hand bookstores. The BART station is nearby. My ensuite room had a fridge and microwave, which was very handy and saved me some money eating out all the time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Sylvie Rouault

31 August 2008

Disliked: Sylvie left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

David Hansen

18 July 2008 David would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and big rooms

Disliked: David left no negative feedback.