HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Portland Downtowner

2 star Hotel | 415 S.W. Montgomery Street, Portland, Oregon, USA 97201

72.8% Overall Rating

38 out of 55 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Raymond Martinez thinks…

"I like that this place was very close to the downtown area. It was inexpensive and I had no problems with the staff."

Read all AAE Portland Downtowner reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Linen USD 2.65

What's Included

  • Towel

Important Information

Please note: All dorm guests must be under 30years of age and have an out of state I.D. Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Portland?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Portland

HI - Portland, Northwest
32.00 USD

Hostel 85.4% 126 reviews
HI - Portland Hawthorne Hostel
30.00 USD

Hostel 81.9% 117 reviews
Travelers House
41.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
AAE Portland Banfield
25.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.0% 11 reviews
Howard Johnson PDX
81.40 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.8%

Overall Rating

38 out of 55 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Portland Downtowner'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
88.0%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
73.6%
Value
77.6%
Safety
76.8%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 52 reviews Previous   1 | 2
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sarah Hadfield

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good and $2 slices of pizza from place next door are good. Room had kitchenette and was comfy enough.

Disliked: As other people have said, its a motel so you don't meet anyone. No activities. No breakfast. Crap tv, not that you should be watching tv anyway!

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Andre Oliveira

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 September 2011

Liked: My bed was comfortable enough. It was only a one night stop over so I didn't really have much time to get a feel of the place. It's not a hostel though, more like a motel. Free internet was helpful.

Disliked: The guy who checked me in was very weird and not at all helpful. Bathroom was a bit run down and the whole place isn't very clean. It's not terrible though, just depends on what you're looking for. It's not very expensive and fairly close to the city centre so if you're not looking for luxury this might be the place for you.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Paul Bosworth

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 September 2011

Liked: Private rooms are a very good size

Disliked: We stayed one night in a private and one night in a dorm and were charged the same price???

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

FRANCISCO APREA

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 FRANCISCO would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Room. Helpfull staff. Free parking. Microwave and refrigerator in the room.

Disliked: Its not a hostel, so it dont have a fun atmosphere if u go with friends.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthew Prousialkas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break

10 August 2011 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Air con/heating. Fridge. TV. Ensuite. Maid service. Good location. Cant fault them on anything really...

Disliked: Not a hostel. Do not stay here if you want to meet people.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Jane Neugebauer

Alone

Business / conference

25 July 2011

Liked: 24/7 reception desk

Disliked: weird smell, down run bathrooms

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jan De Bleser

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Jan would recommend this property

Liked: Nice bar nextdoor. Met a fun guy in my room. Location is pretty sweet;

Disliked: The people weren't super friendly, but a lot better than the other descriptions would allow you to think. There was no sheet between me and the blanket, so I don't know if they wash the blankets often, but still, I would have liked a sheet. They called the room at 10.30 to make sure we knew that we had to be out there by 11, which was kind of strange...

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Paul Barton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 November 2010 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: For a private room this is about as cheap a place we could find in Portland, it's a motel not a hostel but with free transport all over downtown this is a great place to explore the city from.

Disliked: Paul left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Romantic getaway

15 August 2010

Liked: Parking availability. Location.

Disliked: Staff was rude and dishonest. Room smelt like cat pee.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Rick Steenweg

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

10 August 2010 Rick would recommend this property

Liked: Location and the price were the determining factors

Disliked: Boring rooms and surly staff

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Katie Spencer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 July 2010

Liked: It was in a good location for everything we wanted to do in Portland, and the room was clean with a nice bathroom.

Disliked: It wasn't at all what I was expecting - not a hostel, not somewhere to meet people. The staff were very rude and uninterested, I wouldn't stay here again.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was a key part of why i stayed at this hostel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly and helpful all the time, whenever I needed their help, they did their best to help me out. When you get in the motel, you may feel like it looks little bit different than other hotels in terms of its design or organization. But it has a great location (right next to the max station, street bus etc),and people in the reception is really friendly. If you want to stay in a hotel room all day along instead of wondering around the city, then you book a 4-5-star hotel but if you want to pay less for hotel and spend your money on other fun stuff, this is a great place. some people complained about the cleanliness on the website, but I haven't had any problem such they had. I had a TV, refrigerator, a/c, clean linens, nicely-designed room. Thanks to stuff working there for their kindness and help.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, its a 7 Minute footwalk from Interesting spots in Downtown. The streetcar and busses are noisy in the morning.I read a lot about bedbugs in this hostel one night before i arrived there, but i had no problem with that.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Simon Reichau

13 September 2009 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: Nice

Disliked: Simon left no negative feedback.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

04 September 2009

Liked: Central downtown location next to Portland State University and public transport.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

19 August 2009

Liked: The location was ideal, but the property itself was undergoing construction and lacked appeal.I believe that the location advertised internet and breakfast which it did not have.If I were to ever need lodging in Portland again I would probably look elsewhere.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

01 August 2009

Liked: Location to downtown Portland was ideal.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.