HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of AAE Universal Maingate

2 star Hotel | 5827 Caravan Court, Orlando, Florida, USA 32819

77.8% Overall Rating

47 out of 60 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (25/05/2014)

"Respecto de la habitación muy cómoda para estar yo sola (contaba con dos camas matrimoniales), el baño muy bien, con refrigerador y television. El hotel cuenta con una linda piscina y el desayuno en mi caso estaba…"

Read all AAE Universal Maingate reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellations made within 2 days prior to arrival will incur a charge of the first night’s stay.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Orlando?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Orlando

Days Inn Maingate To Universal
32.99 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.3% 3 reviews
La Quinta Inn - Universal Studios
32.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Holiday Inn & Suites Across from Universal Orlando
26.25 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Rodeway Inn Universal Area
12.25 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Monumental Movieland Hotel
24.50 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.5% 7 reviews
Rosen Inn Universal
21.25 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Near Universal
25.00 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Crowne Plaza Orlando Universal
69.75 USD

Hotel 4.5 star 87.9% 4 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
77.8%

Overall Rating

47 out of 60 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'AAE Universal Maingate'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
76.0%
Cleanliness
80.8%
Staff
82.4%
Value
85.6%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 45 of 57 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 September 2014

Liked: I liked the rooms and the cleaning

Disliked: Beware, they charge you a extra fee beside the money you are suposed to pay when you check-in. It was not cheap and was a surprise, not a good one. Luckly we had extra money. The staff was rude and didn't help at all, except for one guy. They were kind of grumpy. They charged for everything, even if you have something delivered in the hotel they charge a fee. I couldn't even get a regular cab (cheaper), because they said they couldn't call one for me. They just could call the really expensive one, double the regular price. I didn't have any wifi in my room. Only in the loby and it closes really early. Also, they weren't kind when they told us to leave. Breakfast was awful and kind of dirty. Even the name of the hotel is not AAE. It's Days Inn. Also, you have no options of restaurants near by. It's far away for everything, even from the outlet, which looks close, but it's like 15 dollars to go.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

25 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Respecto de la habitación muy cómoda para estar yo sola (contaba con dos camas matrimoniales), el baño muy bien, con refrigerador y television. El hotel cuenta con una linda piscina y el desayuno en mi caso estaba incluido y era variado (te, cafe, leche, jugos, cereales, tostadas y fruta). En general vale la pena este hotel dado que estando yo sola y sin auto pude reservar una habitacion single a un precio razonable muy cerca de Universal Orlando Resort, al que iba caminando.

Disliked: Lo único molesto era el ruido que hacía el aire acondicionado, pero se podía tolerar. Un microondas en la habitación hubiese sido muy útill. No me pareció bien que me cobraran extra (2.5 U$S/ noche) por una caja de seguridad que había en la habitacion y que no utilicé.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

26 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, clean rooms, Universal Main Gate is really close, great Price! I would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: The public Transportation is ok, bus stop is Close to the Motel, but next time I would definitely rent a car. It took us 1,5h by bus to get to the Premium Outlets on the other side of the Highway (you can even see it from the Motel)...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free shuttle transportation to theme parks, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: Wifi not available in all areas of the building.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

23 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for money

Disliked: Close to Universal, but expensive taxis to and from Disney if not driving.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Veronica Augusto

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 January 2014 Veronica would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, privacy, parking lot, tv in the rooms.

Disliked: A couple of days the cards to enter the rooms didn´t work, and we had to go all the way down to the reception to change them.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walk-able distance to the Universal Theme parks

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Clean rooms with big beds. Every day clean towels. 10 min walk to Universal studio.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

lim boon keat

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2013 lim would recommend this property

Liked: very near to Universal Studio.

Disliked: None

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

19 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Free shuttle to Studios, nice breakfast, good location if you wish to visit Studios, TV, fridge..

Disliked: Swimming pool closed in the early morning, some rooms are very close to highway so it is very noisy outside/inside. The hotel is wrongly named on hostelbookers.com so it is almost impossible to find it!!! The correct name is Days Inn.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Ozcan Islek

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2013 Ozcan would recommend this property

Liked: It has good value and cheap

Disliked: Ozcan left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

James Higham

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2013 James would recommend this property

Liked: Just near a bus which is helpful though orlando is awful in terms of layout for non drivers. Very helpful staff too. Big rooms and beds for the price too.

Disliked: No kettle/coffee machine.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alex Ryan

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 July 2013 Alex would recommend this property

Liked: Where to start, fridge in the room, two double beds very comfy, the AIRCON wow is brilliant in here room is nice and cold on the hot nights or if you have been away hrs in the heat nice to walk into, cant fualt the cost or the room. Would recommend to anyone on a budget to stay here.

Disliked: The distance from International drive is bit of a hassle without a car. Although there is a thing called an I-Ride its like a bus and stops close enough to the motel will bring you all the way down international drive for $13 for the week. Other then that just lack of internet in the room.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Sam Roberton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2013

Liked: The place was comfortable with decent-sized rooms, and the price was reasonable.

Disliked: The main thing that pissed me off was actually pretty minor in a way: the "safe fee", which is basically just an additional $2.25 charged for each day. It's listed on HostelBookers as a $2.50 "other charge" if you look carefully, but it's actually a daily additional charge, not a one-off thing, so the effect is just to increase the daily rate. We only stayed two days, so, y'know, it wasn't exactly a lot of money, but that sort of pretending that your rate is lower than it actually is just irritates me. Especially because the front desk's description of the "safe fee" was that it covers use of the safe (we had two in our room -- one had a sign saying not to use it, to use the other one instead, and the other required a key which wasn't present -- so we actually didn't have a working safe), the wifi (the wifi was barely functional, both in the rooms and elsewhere in the property such as near the front desk -- this was because their network is very badly set up, with multiple wifi access points on the same or neighbouring channels, and because their proxy server is slow), and the shuttle buses (which we didn't use, because there were only a couple a day, and they were at inconvenient times). If you're going to charge a resort fee, at least make sure the stuff you're justifying it with works and is useful. Like I say, in many ways it's minor -- but it left a bad taste, and I wouldn't stay here again or recommend it as a result.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shaunna Morey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2013 Shaunna would recommend this property

Liked: Just a 15 minute walk to universal studios.. Very convenient when you don't have a car! Rooms were large and clean. Pool was kept clean and there was a poolside tiki bar which served cheap cocktails!

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cezar Rabelo da silva

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

13 March 2013 Cezar would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and safe.

Disliked: The WiFi wasn't working in our room. Poor breakfast and difficult for making new friends.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

S B dwivedi

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2013 S B would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! specially the swimming pool and the bar and the shuttle service to every theme park , universal and disney.

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Erkan Arslan

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

13 February 2013 Erkan would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very helpful and the location very close to the Universal Studios (in walking distance). The pool is very nice and great for relaxing after a long day in Orlando. I will come again.

Disliked: wifi in the rooms would be upgrade the hotel to a 5* :)

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

13 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel was close to the theme parks and chain restaurants. It was clean and the staff were friendly.

Disliked: The pool was closed while we stayed - it was a hot day so would have been nice to use the pool.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Laura Adams

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

12 January 2013

Liked: The free continental breakfast offered something for everyone, and the location was a 10-15 minute walk from the Universal theme parks.

Disliked: The lady that checked us in was very rude, didn't seem to want to be there. The lady the second day was very helpful, as was the manager of the gift shop. The pool was open when we first arrived- we decided to visit the theme parks on a 2 day pass then use the pool on the 3rd day. By the time we got to the 3rd day there was a notice to say it was closed for cleaning and wouldn't reopen until we had checked ut. The notice time wasn't sufficient. If it was we would have used the pool on our 1st day and visited the parks on the 2nd and 3rd. We did complain about this.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

04 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the closest to Unverisal Studios

Disliked: It was hard to find

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Lins

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2012 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: Excelente local.. recomendo!!!

Disliked: Fernando left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

24 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful, clean and awesome place for the price especially.

Disliked: The name of the property is Days Inn, it was harder to find without knowing it.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were comfortable enough, came with fridge, air con and wifi.

Disliked: Very rude unhelpful front desk staff, breakfast was very average (badly bruised bananas, thin white bread), rubbish under our bed, walking directions given on website are not suitable for walking (expects you to walk along the edge of a motorway! for about 1 mile!!) and therefore difficult to get onto international drive safely. shuttle was good, but only runs twice in morning and twice in evening, and last shuttle is too early to see the night finale shows at disneyworld.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Astrid Pfisterer

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

19 May 2012 Astrid would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr nettes personal, gepflegte außenanlage, frūhstūck war fūr ein kontinentales frūhstūck sehr gut, es war nicht weit zu den universal studios.

Disliked: Shuttle fuhr nur 1 mal täglich hin und zurūck. Nur eine funktionierende Steckdose im Zimmer.