HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Hotel 17 Hotel

225 E. 17th Street, New York, USA

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 65%

Location 94%

Safety 88%

Staff 77%

Value 79%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cots available
  • Elevator
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Key Card Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities

Important Information

Please Note:
Prices DOES NOT include 14.76% New York City & State taxes and $3.50 per day occupancy charge.

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 73%

Cleanliness 86%

Facilities 65%

Location 94%

Safety 88%

Staff 77%

Value 79%

Showing 11-11 of 11 reviews

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 May 2013

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location is great, 4 blks from Union Square and subway. Even though it has shared bathrooms they were nearly always available when needed and were kept clean by housekeeping.

Disliked: Zero amenities at this hotel. Room was really tiny but I knew that from the descriptions ahead of time. My room was a single bed, very small and wasn't the most comfortable but adequate I suppose. Not sure value is that great at around $170/nite incl taxes.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Mar 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location.

Disliked: The rooms vary a lot. I stayed here before and was given a great and quite large room with a coffee maker but the second time I stayed the room was smaller and there was no coffee maker or way to boil hot water or store food.

Customer would recommend this property

63% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
63% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location of the hotel is the best part. It's in a very safe location, and is close to a supermarket, restaurants and cafes, and a few blocks from the subway. The hotel isn't super close to the main New York attractions (Times Square, Grand Central Station, all of the Uptown sites), but it's not far either and actually I think the hotel is cheaper since it isn't right next to the most touristic sites and the busiest areas. So we saved money, saw a lot more of the city by walking, and we avoided the overcrowded areas of the city.

Disliked: The most uncomfortable part of our stay was the heating. It was about 80 degrees Fahrenheit in our room the whole time we were there. We turned on the air conditioning (which sounded like a plane taking off) but then the heater would turn back on just as the room was cooling down. Besides the heat problem, the hotel staff was quite unfriendly and seemed indifferent to us being there. For example, as I was heading out one morning, I mentioned to the receptionist that our TV wasn't working, and when I got back late in the afternoon it still hadn't been looked at. Also, our second day there, our room wasn't cleaned, but we were never told that if you wanted the cleaning service you absolutely had to hang the "Clean the room" sign on the doorknob. Overall, I wouldn't stay here again. The hotel wasn't bad, but it wasn't so great either.

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: Nice location, helpful staff, very pleasant stay.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

74% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
74% Overall Rating

Anonymous
12 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Location

Disliked: Room too cold.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: It has a convenient subway and 24 hour reception.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
As a family with children

Trip Type:
Family Holiday

Liked: Its clean in a good area.

Disliked: The beds are really small! the bed is for 2 regular person 2 small.

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 40%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Jun 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: good central locationclean

Disliked: unfriendly staff

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 60%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Work / volunteering

Liked: Good location...convenience to subway and union square activities.

Disliked: Rooms were pretty small. And no private bathrooms.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
21 May 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Visiting friends or family

Liked: easy access to near by attractions. clean room and neat setup.

Disliked: Share restroom may need to add airfreshner to keep smell nice. Restroom was clean n nice but too strong smell was strong.

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability