HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Hotel 31 Hotel

120 East 31st Street, New York, USA

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 80%

Location 95%

Safety 94%

Staff 81%

Value 93%

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Breakfast Not Included
  • Cots available
  • Elevator
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Important Information

Please Note:
Prices DO NOT include 13.38% tax and $3.50 per day occupancy charge

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 12:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Non Smoking
  • Taxes Not Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 81%

Cleanliness 96%

Facilities 80%

Location 95%

Safety 94%

Staff 81%

Value 93%

Showing 31-22 of 22 reviews

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was perfect!

Disliked: The wi-fi was not working properly.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
01 Dec 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: I liked the cleanliness and easy access to find property. I would definitely stay again when in NYC.

Disliked: Nothing

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
28 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This property was extremely close to everything we wanted to see in Manhatten. It was also close to the subway and bus routes, so things were asy to get to. It was also in a quiet neighborhood. We never heard our neighbors (in or out of the hotel). We never felt unsafe and it was easy to come and go as we pleased. When we had to change our reservations last minute, the staff was nice and didn't charge us for the night we couldn't stay. Check in and check out were very easy. The room was small, but very clean and had everything we needed. The property wasn't ever crowded and the shared bathroom wasn't an issue. It seemed a great value for the island.

Disliked: At first, the staff was very cagey about my wanting to speak to the manager about changing the reservations. I'm not sure why this is, but when I finally did speak to the manager, everything was fine.The mattresses and pillows were very hard. After a couple nights, we actually started to get a little sore.It also would have been nice to have access to a refrigerator to keep food in the room. I realize that this is a luxury and wouldn't preclude my staying there again, but when you're trying to do things on the cheap, it would have been nice.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Business / conference

Liked: The staff were excellent. I had come to the country to exhibit my art work, and the shipment was held by customs meaning that I had no exhibition. I was devastated, especially when I lost my passport! I was worried about being able to afford the hotel following having to pay a fee to get an emergency passport, so I explained my fears to the poor man at reception (I was a blubbing mess at this point) I asked to check out a day early, simply because I couldn't afford it. They only charged me for 3 and a half days instead of the 5. My faith in humanity is restored. Thank you hotel 31 :) I would definitely use you again (with a fuller purse :)

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
09 Nov 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: The location was great! We walked to Central Park in 30 minutes and Penn Station in about 10. The hotel staff was very helpful and nice. We stayed after the hurricane and the manager gave us $40.00 off even though we had booked it well in advance and we were staying no matter what. It had plenty of storage for our gear and a good sized safe.

Disliked: My only dislike is that there are no hooks in the bathroom so the towels just had to go on the floor.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Oct 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: This hotel is great! It's conveniently situation in the Murray Hill area of Manhattan, 10 minutes walk away from The Empire State Building and Macy's with 33rd St subway just round the corner. The staff were really helpful and there's free wi-fi to help you plan your travels and update your friends back home. Rooms were kept clean and there was a baggage storage for us on our last day that was free of charge so we could fit in one more day's worth of sight seeing without having to carry our bags around.When we went to leave, the chap on the desk even arranged a yellow taxi for us too. That's service!Highly recommended!

Disliked: The bathroom/shower room is shared so you'll have to wait if it's busy. If you aim to go early you'll miss the rush, or else enjoy a lie-in and go later!Also - the wi-fi drops out a lot. You have to keep reconnecting. It's worth the hassle though as you'd be paying £20 for 24 hours at a chain hotel.

Customer would recommend this property

57% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 20%
  • Value - 80%
57% Overall Rating

Anonymous
08 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Shopping, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: The location was close to subways, local cafes and restaurants. It was easy enough to catch a subway on 33rd to Time Square (via Grand Central Shuttle).

Disliked: Facilities were reasonable (shared bathrooms - they were mostly clean), however the service we received was rather terrible. We found the staff rather unhelpful.

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Events / festivals, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: For New York this property was the best we could find the the price range we had. It's location is great, right near a subway and there is a cheap laundry across the road. It was clean. We had a shared bathroom, there were 2 on our level and we never had to wait. Nothing great but when in New York you only need a hotel to sleep nothing else!

Disliked: It was fine for the price

Customer would recommend this property

80% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
80% Overall Rating

Anonymous
03 Sep 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
City break, Events / festivals, Romantic getaway, Shopping, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: The great location, the cleanliness of the rooms and bathrooms, the staff were friendly and available and willing to listen to you, we were able to swap rooms with no hassle.

Disliked: We were concerned about bedbug problems and requested to change rooms because the plastic mattress protector was ripped and we found signs of a bedbug problem. However, to management's credit, we were able to swap rooms easily and had no further problems. Also, there just aren't enough toilets and bathrooms available - very annoying when there are many people in the morning waiting to use the facilities!

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
24 Aug 2012

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Size of the room, TV, they have someone who looks after your luggage even after you check out when your plane leaves late

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability