HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Chelsea Highline Hotel

Hotel | 184 11th Avenue @ 23rd Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10011

62.7% Overall Rating

158 out of 233 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/06/2014)

Douglas Lang thinks…

"Along waterfront after long row on 23rd of art Galleries with cutting edge shows. Minutes from the highline, a landscape innovation, well worth the walk."

Read all The Chelsea Highline Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Must cancel 24 hours in advance; Please call the hotel directly or email to cancel your reservation. No Show Policy: In case of a No-Show, guest will be charged 1 night stay plus sales and hotel taxes. The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 309
44.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 169 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
46.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 9 reviews
Hotel Pennsylvania
162.50 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
Chelsea Inn
69.50 USD

Hostel 78.1% 332 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
49.00 USD

Hostel 63.1% 170 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
72.89 USD

Hostel 54.7% 7 reviews
Times Square Hostel
39.00 USD

Hostel 46.9% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.7%

Overall Rating

158 out of 233 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Chelsea Highline Hotel'

Atmosphere
51.2%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
48.0%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
71.2%
Value
60.0%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 226 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

14 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet, clean, excellent location

Disliked: Not much common area to hang out and socialize

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

erez linn

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

04 July 2014 erez would recommend this property

Liked: it was great

Disliked: erez left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Xian Ma

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Xian would recommend this property

Liked: distance, atmosphere, cleanness

Disliked: rest room

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and value.

Disliked: The only problem is the check-in time that is too late to a person that come and want to leave his back in a safe place, take a shower, etc.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Douglas Lang

Alone

Business / conference

05 June 2014 Douglas would recommend this property

Liked: Along waterfront after long row on 23rd of art Galleries with cutting edge shows. Minutes from the highline, a landscape innovation, well worth the walk.

Disliked: Bathrooms get dirty quickly until re-cleaned in the afternoon . Long walk down from subway but you can grab crosstown bus.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

04 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and friendly staff. free breakfast included. only two beds per room

Disliked: mattresses were quite bad

51.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 June 2014

Liked: good location, friendly staff and free wifi

Disliked: dirty towels and linen.And the surprise to pay extra (taxes),that wasn´t included in the price.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Octavia Quintal

Alone

Work / volunteering

25 May 2014 Octavia would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the location, it was pretty centrel and close to the beautiful highline park. I manage to walk everywhere. The breakfast was included and had bagels :)

Disliked: It could have a lift to carry the luggage to the upper floors, the lobby coulb be bigger and there should be internet in the bedrooms

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matteo Dubini

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife

19 May 2014

Liked: Location only if u consider the price.

Disliked: Everything.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

12 May 2014

Liked: Ø

Disliked: No hot water (due to the rain) Expensive No wifi in rooms (only in the lobby) Not a nice atmosphere

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

11 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked I could have a twin share

Disliked: I disliked that WIFI didn't reach beyond Foyer. Had to query the amount due else would have been overcharged $10

60.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

28 April 2014

Liked: Room had modern electronic door locks; I felt comfortable leaving my bags there when I ventured out in the evening. Window mounted A/C unit was functional.

Disliked: Hallways were very narrow; flooring appeared to be stick-on vinyl for easy cleaning. Room can best be described as a nine foot cube, with a double bed (from IKEA), a stool, a child-size table, and a small sink. Overhead light was functional, but desk lamp had no bulb. No TV, no eating allowed in the room.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Restrooms Are clean. Private showers

Disliked: No kitchen

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jonathon Kay

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 April 2014

Liked: Great location

Disliked: Not a great atmosphere, rooms too hot, beds dirty.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Rafael Martínez Valera

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 April 2014 Rafael would recommend this property

Liked: localitation

Disliked: Rafael left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jacinta Garry

Alone

City break

01 April 2014

Liked: Good location, close to the Chelsea Highline and some great Chelsea attractions. The room I stayed in was nice and clean, comfortable bed

Disliked: There was no heating in my room at all. I was able to use a second unused blanket in the room but it was unwelcomingly chilly. There was also a crazy man who started each morning shouting abuse (I don't know who at). There was no hot water on my first nigt and and on my second night, it took almost 10 mintues for the water to warm up. We had a lot of rain on this weekend and the roof was leaking so the stair case was wet and slippery. The "breakfast" they provide is pretty average, even for a hostel. There's no butter for the bagels and only powdered milk for tea/coffee. There also seemed to be almost very little atmosphere. For $50/night, I would stay elsewhere.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Naresh Tiwari

Alone

Partying / nightlife

22 March 2014 Naresh would recommend this property

Liked: Its in manhattan area,so its easy to enjoy night life and cheap also.

Disliked: Wifi available only in lobby and no kitchen was there to cook our own food.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Olivia Roca

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 December 2013

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The staff was unpolite, unhelpfull and the bathrooms were pretty dirty since they clean them only once in a day and they are shared.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kyle Case

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 November 2013 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Overall, the hostel itself is average to slightly below, however, the location and price make it well worth the minor annoyances.

Disliked: Not the cleanest and I did seem to have constant issues with my room key not working.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

YOHAN JEONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013

Liked: there support some food in the morning and the staff is really friendly.

Disliked: They do not have any facilities such as refrige, microwave.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Binlin Xia

Alone

Shopping

24 November 2013 Binlin would recommend this property

Liked: good place!

Disliked: good place!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Chelsea Highline Hotel is overall good value for a safe bed in a great location.

Disliked: The facilities are not the most modern and the bed sheets did look like they could be replaced more often. The biggest problem is the very noisy road, so I would recommend bringing ear-plugs.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013

Liked: It was an ok distance from Time Square

Disliked: We were out of power for almost 12 hour, the room were freezing cold, our heating fan didn't work, the staff were not very helpful, the bed were uncomfortable and squeaky, the breakfast were low standard and there were not enough place to sit and eat.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013

Liked: Clean so so clean and front desk friendly, if visiting in winter ask for high floor numbers 3+. My original sparsely equipped room 220 was cold, bar heater broken plus major construction began 7:30 daily. They didn't replace heater so I changed rooms, loved the new room. Bathroom always clean.

Disliked: it's about 2 blocks from food, breakfast is totally skippable (bagel butter coffee) no trash cans in room. No seating in some rooms. Seems like half completed hostel posing as a "hotel". I am less impressed with the dropping of hostel standards by the Jazz group over time.