We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chelsea Highline Youth Hotel

Hotel | 184 11th Avenue @ 23rd Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10011

66.3% Overall Rating

175 out of 259 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/02/2015)

"Super friendly and helpful staff (males), cheap and worth the money for a weekend stay. Loved the vibe with all the international travelers at the lobby."

Read all Chelsea Highline Youth Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Dry cleaning
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Must cancel 24 hours in advance; Please call the hotel directly or email to cancel your reservation. No Show Policy: In case of a No-Show, guest will be charged 1 night stay plus sales and hotel taxes. The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Riff Hotel
25.56 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 18 reviews
Chelsea Inn
69.50 USD

Hostel 78.7% 336 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 60.5% 174 reviews
Times Square House
49.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 216 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
78.54 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Times Square Hostel
39.00 USD

Hostel 44.3% 20 reviews
Hotel 31
47.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.9% 951 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.3%

Overall Rating

175 out of 259 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chelsea Highline Youth Hotel'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
71.2%
Value
71.2%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 186 of 251 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013

Liked: It was relatively cheap

Disliked: The wi-fi did not work, the blankets had holes in them,

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 February 2013

Liked: Only the location seems to be a plus, but even then, you can find other cheap places around.

Disliked: I was quite disappointed by this hostel. When I read about it on HostelBookers, I thought it was a great, friendly place to stay at. I didn't find any of these there. The staff was not nice or helpful in any kind of way. They also pretended that their WIFI was down due to some recent storms, but I suspect this has been going on for a while. So they should state this clearly on their ad. Very few showers/toilets, and if you go in after a few people have had their shower, you'll regret it. Problems with the heater. I've stayed at other hostels before and I wasn't expecting a 5 star place but this hostel could definitely improve. I paid for a private room which wasn't that cheap either. Being a cheap place doesn't mean that it doesn't need to provide a good service to its customers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jake Weigel

Alone

Business / conference
City break

19 February 2013 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location to the big galleries in Chelsea. Seemed like a safe enough neighborhood at night too.

Disliked: Walk from subway was about 6 blocks and the WI-FI was down the two days I stayed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bien situé

Disliked: peu de salle de bain par e^étage

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Marcelo Faria

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2013 Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: Price was Ok!

Disliked: I stayed at the 4th floor. Without lift this is not a good place to stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Good location.

Disliked: -

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the location of this hostel as it is not far away of the "sightseeing things" and I felt very safe at 10pm walking there alone by myself. CVS (24h opens) is nearby, the subway about 10 min by walk. Dunkin Donuts and some other shops are nearby as well. If you go the 23rd St straight you'll arrive Madison Square Garden in about 15 minutes or so and the Flatiron Building, which is one of my favorites. The people I've met were friendly and they didn't party the night or were loud. The room was clean. You get a towel and in the room are lockers (don't forget to bring your own lock) for medium things. The rooms are just for 2 persons.

Disliked: The staff were kinda unfriendly. How can I say? When I arrived it was like 'Oh no, a new guest. I have to work..' (I really don't expect a mexican wave when I enter the entrance) But they explained me everything when I had questions. The hostel looks unfriendly and not inviting. So the room. I was at the 2nd floor. It was very small (that was okay), the bed was pretty old (when I or my roommate turned to the right/left side, you heard and felt it), the mattress was hard, cold and very uncomfortable, the pillow was so thin you could omit it, that would be the same. And the blanket was a joke!! You just get a very very thin blanket and my one had a lot of holes. It was freezing cold the night and I was happy that I've just bought a wool sweater which I've wore the night! That is definetely something they have to change! Never had such a bad night of sleep!! Our roomdoor was broken or something. So if both of us were not in there you could have just open the door and take our stuff. Nothing happend but you feel very uncomfortable with that. The bathrooms weren't very clean as they are just three at the 2nd floor for about 40 people I think. I was there just for a night and would go there again with a better blanket but if it is just for one night or two. If you want to stay there more than 3 nights and also want to have good time in the hostel: Go and search for another one! Really!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mncedisi Jonase

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 January 2013 Mncedisi would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Mncedisi left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

luke fameli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 luke would recommend this property

Liked: good location for manhatten, clean bathrooms, safe good.

Disliked: In five days I had one hot shower, would of been warmer in the hudson. common area is a lobby/brakfast area/tv room/ waiting room/ reception. this is minor but the cleanrs kept taking my sheets off my bed and folding them which was reall annoying remaking a top bunk bed every day.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013

Liked: TV with Netflix in the Lobby

Disliked: - No opportunity to cook own food ( no kitchen) - During stay in January no heating in the room for three days and only cold water for one day - Dirty towls were not replaced - WiFi only in the lobby and not in the rooms available

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and not too far from times square

Disliked: There could have been more bathrooms? Had to wait once as all three on the floor were full...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Karina Stein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013

Liked: Nothing. Even beds where terrible, we were supposed to stay for 3 nights but we had to leave one night before because we felt so uncomfortable, we preferred to sleep on the floor because the mattresses gave us back pain and neck pain.

Disliked: Everything. The staff didn't offer you any help. We waited 15 minutes for hot water so we went to the lobby to ask what was happening, they told us to wait for half an hour, we waited for a complete.hour and still there was no hot water in the showers. We went down again and they told us that there would be no hot water until the night (they already knee this but they didn't even bother to tell us before). We arrived at 10 pm that day and there was still no hot water.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Thomas Roberts

Alone

City break

06 January 2013

Liked: It was very clean and secure with key card access to each room.

Disliked: There was no heat or hot water on the 4th floor. They did not have enough heaters or extra blankets on both nights I was there so I slept with my jacket and 4 shirts, shorts, pants, and 2 pairs of socks, It was extremely comfortable and unpleasant.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly and the neighbourhood is safe. It's not that far from the Subway stop and from that subway you can get uptown and downtown fast. There is free internet, breakfast and there is a big tv in the common area. as well there are computers there in case you didn't bring one. Good price and was able to get a room 3 times last minute :)

Disliked: The breakfast is literally bagels with jam and butter. If you don't have a heater in your room it can get a bit cold and the rooms could be furnished more. with only a small effort this hostel could be really great but for the price and location it is actually a good deal.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

branden alba

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 December 2012 branden would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay. The staff was curteous.

Disliked: n/a

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very pleasant for medical reasons I had to extend stay for additional night Housekeeping staff kept place very clean in hallways/room

Disliked: No kind of any kitchen for heating up food, refrigerator for storage of perishable (in my case a prescription for 5 days) Breakfast was very very limited....although bagels were offered.....toaster would have been nice, kettle for boiling water(hot water supplied WARM Microwave would be nice Common area got very crowded with departures/arrives to hostel and overtook the space Only hostel event posted was pub crawl Fridat/Saturdat night.......no way of getting to know other guests ROOM WAS VERY COLD ASKED FOR EXTRA BLANKET told no more blankets gave me a sheet.....note: blanket on bed full of holes!!!!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Britta Muenz

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 December 2012

Liked: I liked the location and the stuff was friendly. It was also good that the breakfast was included and that they had wifi in the lobby.

Disliked: The hostel had problems with the heater and didn´t have hot water. Instead of giving the customers an discount they just anoucced their problem. Furthermore the beds were very insecure and i had trouble to get into the loft.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

arlette santoyo

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping

04 December 2012 arlette would recommend this property

Liked: Nice property, good location, safe, lovely and helpfull staff, very clean I only suggest to start changing the mattress or buy pads... I have no complains. I will come back... :)

Disliked: Like I said the mattress...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Beauchette

Alone

City break

27 November 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic value, Excellent Location and brilliant opportunity to meet random people!!

Disliked: Nothing really - its not 5 star luxery but it is great value and true to its description - the worst thing was the idiot guests who cannot work a shower curtain, flooded the bathroom and then left wet footprints everywhere - if your going please dry your feet before running down the corridors, its not difficult!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are good enough, and the location is fantastic.

Disliked: The beds are not that comfortable.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shailesh Joshi

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 November 2012 Shailesh would recommend this property

Liked: Overall worth for the money spent

Disliked: No Fans in room, or A/C. Need to fix that really fast

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were nice

Disliked: It was quite far from all the action

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a double private with my girlfriend. The location and price were fantastic.

Disliked: The furniture was low and cheap, bathrooms were shared, and not terrifically clean (though far from unhygenic), the included breakfast was a cold bagel with jam if you got down in time, tea or what was supposed to be coffee. In general though, on account of the price, I was still decidedly pleased with the place! It's a bed, and if that's all you need then this place is perfect!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 October 2012

Liked: -

Disliked: The first staff member was very unhelpful. For the price of this hostel, the bed was absolutely awful. I was honestly thinking of sleeping on the floor instead of the top bunk.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012

Liked: There is great location.its safe.

Disliked: The bathroom is dirty.and in nighttime is cold. I can't use wifi in my room,only living room.