HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Chelsea Highline Hotel

Hotel | 184 11th Avenue @ 23rd Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10011

62.7% Overall Rating

158 out of 233 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/06/2014)

Douglas Lang thinks…

"Along waterfront after long row on 23rd of art Galleries with cutting edge shows. Minutes from the highline, a landscape innovation, well worth the walk."

Read all The Chelsea Highline Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Must cancel 24 hours in advance; Please call the hotel directly or email to cancel your reservation. No Show Policy: In case of a No-Show, guest will be charged 1 night stay plus sales and hotel taxes. The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 309
44.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 169 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
39.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 9 reviews
Hotel Pennsylvania
162.50 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
Chelsea Inn
69.50 USD

Hostel 78.1% 332 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
49.00 USD

Hostel 63.1% 170 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
72.89 USD

Hostel 54.7% 7 reviews
Times Square Hostel
39.00 USD

Hostel 46.9% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 28/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.7%

Overall Rating

158 out of 233 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Chelsea Highline Hotel'

Atmosphere
51.2%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
48.0%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
71.2%
Value
60.0%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 226 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are good enough, and the location is fantastic.

Disliked: The beds are not that comfortable.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shailesh Joshi

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 November 2012 Shailesh would recommend this property

Liked: Overall worth for the money spent

Disliked: No Fans in room, or A/C. Need to fix that really fast

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were nice

Disliked: It was quite far from all the action

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a double private with my girlfriend. The location and price were fantastic.

Disliked: The furniture was low and cheap, bathrooms were shared, and not terrifically clean (though far from unhygenic), the included breakfast was a cold bagel with jam if you got down in time, tea or what was supposed to be coffee. In general though, on account of the price, I was still decidedly pleased with the place! It's a bed, and if that's all you need then this place is perfect!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 October 2012

Liked: -

Disliked: The first staff member was very unhelpful. For the price of this hostel, the bed was absolutely awful. I was honestly thinking of sleeping on the floor instead of the top bunk.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012

Liked: There is great location.its safe.

Disliked: The bathroom is dirty.and in nighttime is cold. I can't use wifi in my room,only living room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Brooks

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 October 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and the room felt safe and secure

Disliked: The location was ok, but a bit of a walk from midtown

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Adriana Dobrin

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, 3 blocks from the subway. Rather clean rooms.

Disliked: Too few bathrooms, that were cleaned only once a day.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite cheap for NY and good location. Common area overlooking the street, wifi in common area.Overall I would reccommend it.

Disliked: Bagels for breakfas, which is nice, but often not enough for all the guests. No milk for coffee. Quite impersonal.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location near the High Line is great. Safe area near the subway and walking distance of Port Authority. Clean, well equipped rooms with towels and sink. Staff are helpful and always there to lend a hand.

Disliked: There are queues for the bathrooms in the morning. It can take hours to get in one. There are only 2 bathroom/toilets for the whole floor and they get REALLY dirty because they are so over used.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the diversity of the people staying at the hostel. It seemed like absolutely everyone was from a different corner of the world.

Disliked: I disliked that several of the bathrooms were very messy. However, its tough to balance public bathrooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They played movies and have an internet cafe. Like the chalk board telling you where people came from

Disliked: The location out of the way, not that close to time square.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to all places...near to subway stations

Disliked: only a few bathrooms for many rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and accomodation just with one other roommate.

Disliked: the breakfast is very small, just beagl (bread) and butter, tea and coffee

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Malgorzata Kucharska

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Malgorzata would recommend this property

Liked: The location is just perfect. If you like to walk, it's possible to reach lower and upper Manhattan (I preferred that, as I wanted to see as much as possible and to feel the spirit of the city, rather than using subway and wasting too much time of my short stay). If you want to reach your locations by train, the subway stations are just a few blocks away. You get good value for money, The morning breakfast, although it was just a bagel and muffin plus hot bevarages, was a plus. I would stay there again. There were conditioners in the rooms, sink and a mirror, lockers (you need your own padlock).

Disliked: It does not look welcoming from the outside. The lobby is a bit small,during the breakfast time there were not enough seats available. Some also complained on the noise in the lobby which was the only place with wi fi.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: straight forward, nice quiet place to stay for a few days. Recommended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and modern rooms

Disliked: shared bathrooms often busy and could be more services on offer/ 'free included' breakfast should last longer!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jacob Sajinyan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2012 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the air conditioning.

Disliked: The location

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was great improvement over the last management when it was know as the Chelsea Inn, which was the worst place I have ever stayed.

Disliked: The hot water went out for over a day. The electricity was scheduled to go out in the middle of the day on the day I was checking out.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Allison Rea

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

16 July 2012 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: conveniently located, helpful staff for late night check in

Disliked: room was too cold, can't stay past noon

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Elizabeth Kommritz

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife

02 July 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The AC in the rooms was ice cold, and great for the 90+ weather in New York. The location was good too, lots of things nearby. If it got too hot for you there was also a water park across the street.

Disliked: The rooms were very bare, 1 Bed, a lamp, and some hooks. The hallways were boring, and it didn't seem like a lively place. I know you shouldn't expect a lot from a hostel, but I thought they could put some more effort into it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La situation, le personnel, la proprete

Disliked: Ce nest pas lambiance dune auberge de jeunesse, pas vraiment dendroit pour faire des rencontres.. Attention aux taxes de 14% a ajouter par rapport au prix affiché.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Natalia Isaza Caldas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Es muy limpio y tranquilo, y esta ubicado en un muy buen lugar de la ciudad, sin ninguna duda me volvería a quedar acá

Disliked: Natalia left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Yanisa Charoendinthai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012

Liked: the room is clean. I like the way they're clean the room and beds everyday.

Disliked: The hotel is quite far from subway and nothing can be noticed that this place is a hotel I booked. There's only one restroom at each wing (2 wings) and very dirty.