HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Chelsea Highline Hotel

Hotel | 184 11th Avenue @ 23rd Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10011

69.7% Overall Rating

169 out of 246 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/09/2014)

"Good location in South west o Manhattan, 5mins from Metro, 25-30min walk to 9/11 memorial/Wall St/southern ferry port. Good breakfast of bagels and coffee although only jelly and butter - smoked salmon/creme freche…"

Read all The Chelsea Highline Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Must cancel 24 hours in advance; Please call the hotel directly or email to cancel your reservation. No Show Policy: In case of a No-Show, guest will be charged 1 night stay plus sales and hotel taxes. The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 309
59.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 77.5% 170 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
27.32 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.9% 13 reviews
Chelsea Inn
79.50 USD

Hostel 77.6% 335 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
49.00 USD

Hostel 61.5% 173 reviews
Times Square House
45.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 216 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
95.49 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Times Square Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 44.3% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.7%

Overall Rating

169 out of 246 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Chelsea Highline Hotel'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 177 of 239 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013

Liked: TV with Netflix in the Lobby

Disliked: - No opportunity to cook own food ( no kitchen) - During stay in January no heating in the room for three days and only cold water for one day - Dirty towls were not replaced - WiFi only in the lobby and not in the rooms available

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was cheap and not too far from times square

Disliked: There could have been more bathrooms? Had to wait once as all three on the floor were full...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Karina Stein

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 January 2013

Liked: Nothing. Even beds where terrible, we were supposed to stay for 3 nights but we had to leave one night before because we felt so uncomfortable, we preferred to sleep on the floor because the mattresses gave us back pain and neck pain.

Disliked: Everything. The staff didn't offer you any help. We waited 15 minutes for hot water so we went to the lobby to ask what was happening, they told us to wait for half an hour, we waited for a complete.hour and still there was no hot water in the showers. We went down again and they told us that there would be no hot water until the night (they already knee this but they didn't even bother to tell us before). We arrived at 10 pm that day and there was still no hot water.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Thomas Roberts

Alone

City break

06 January 2013

Liked: It was very clean and secure with key card access to each room.

Disliked: There was no heat or hot water on the 4th floor. They did not have enough heaters or extra blankets on both nights I was there so I slept with my jacket and 4 shirts, shorts, pants, and 2 pairs of socks, It was extremely comfortable and unpleasant.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break

06 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is friendly and the neighbourhood is safe. It's not that far from the Subway stop and from that subway you can get uptown and downtown fast. There is free internet, breakfast and there is a big tv in the common area. as well there are computers there in case you didn't bring one. Good price and was able to get a room 3 times last minute :)

Disliked: The breakfast is literally bagels with jam and butter. If you don't have a heater in your room it can get a bit cold and the rooms could be furnished more. with only a small effort this hostel could be really great but for the price and location it is actually a good deal.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

branden alba

Alone

Work / volunteering

26 December 2012 branden would recommend this property

Liked: I enjoyed my stay. The staff was curteous.

Disliked: n/a

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

23 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very pleasant for medical reasons I had to extend stay for additional night Housekeeping staff kept place very clean in hallways/room

Disliked: No kind of any kitchen for heating up food, refrigerator for storage of perishable (in my case a prescription for 5 days) Breakfast was very very limited....although bagels were offered.....toaster would have been nice, kettle for boiling water(hot water supplied WARM Microwave would be nice Common area got very crowded with departures/arrives to hostel and overtook the space Only hostel event posted was pub crawl Fridat/Saturdat night.......no way of getting to know other guests ROOM WAS VERY COLD ASKED FOR EXTRA BLANKET told no more blankets gave me a sheet.....note: blanket on bed full of holes!!!!!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Britta Muenz

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

17 December 2012

Liked: I liked the location and the stuff was friendly. It was also good that the breakfast was included and that they had wifi in the lobby.

Disliked: The hostel had problems with the heater and didn´t have hot water. Instead of giving the customers an discount they just anoucced their problem. Furthermore the beds were very insecure and i had trouble to get into the loft.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

arlette santoyo

Alone

Events / festivals
Shopping

04 December 2012 arlette would recommend this property

Liked: Nice property, good location, safe, lovely and helpfull staff, very clean I only suggest to start changing the mattress or buy pads... I have no complains. I will come back... :)

Disliked: Like I said the mattress...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rebecca Beauchette

Alone

City break

27 November 2012 Rebecca would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic value, Excellent Location and brilliant opportunity to meet random people!!

Disliked: Nothing really - its not 5 star luxery but it is great value and true to its description - the worst thing was the idiot guests who cannot work a shower curtain, flooded the bathroom and then left wet footprints everywhere - if your going please dry your feet before running down the corridors, its not difficult!!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

27 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are good enough, and the location is fantastic.

Disliked: The beds are not that comfortable.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shailesh Joshi

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife

23 November 2012 Shailesh would recommend this property

Liked: Overall worth for the money spent

Disliked: No Fans in room, or A/C. Need to fix that really fast

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were nice

Disliked: It was quite far from all the action

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in a double private with my girlfriend. The location and price were fantastic.

Disliked: The furniture was low and cheap, bathrooms were shared, and not terrifically clean (though far from unhygenic), the included breakfast was a cold bagel with jam if you got down in time, tea or what was supposed to be coffee. In general though, on account of the price, I was still decidedly pleased with the place! It's a bed, and if that's all you need then this place is perfect!

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 October 2012

Liked: -

Disliked: The first staff member was very unhelpful. For the price of this hostel, the bed was absolutely awful. I was honestly thinking of sleeping on the floor instead of the top bunk.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 October 2012

Liked: There is great location.its safe.

Disliked: The bathroom is dirty.and in nighttime is cold. I can't use wifi in my room,only living room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lauren Brooks

With friends / other travellers

City break

12 October 2012 Lauren would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and the room felt safe and secure

Disliked: The location was ok, but a bit of a walk from midtown

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Adriana Dobrin

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 October 2012 Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: Central location, 3 blocks from the subway. Rather clean rooms.

Disliked: Too few bathrooms, that were cleaned only once a day.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quite cheap for NY and good location. Common area overlooking the street, wifi in common area.Overall I would reccommend it.

Disliked: Bagels for breakfas, which is nice, but often not enough for all the guests. No milk for coffee. Quite impersonal.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location near the High Line is great. Safe area near the subway and walking distance of Port Authority. Clean, well equipped rooms with towels and sink. Staff are helpful and always there to lend a hand.

Disliked: There are queues for the bathrooms in the morning. It can take hours to get in one. There are only 2 bathroom/toilets for the whole floor and they get REALLY dirty because they are so over used.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

27 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the diversity of the people staying at the hostel. It seemed like absolutely everyone was from a different corner of the world.

Disliked: I disliked that several of the bathrooms were very messy. However, its tough to balance public bathrooms.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They played movies and have an internet cafe. Like the chalk board telling you where people came from

Disliked: The location out of the way, not that close to time square.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 September 2012

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very close to all places...near to subway stations

Disliked: only a few bathrooms for many rooms

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and accomodation just with one other roommate.

Disliked: the breakfast is very small, just beagl (bread) and butter, tea and coffee