HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Chelsea Highline Hotel

Hotel | 184 11th Avenue @ 23rd Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10011

65.1% Overall Rating

148 out of 214 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/04/2014)

Jacinta Garry thinks…

"Good location, close to the Chelsea Highline and some great Chelsea attractions. The room I stayed in was nice and clean, comfortable bed"

Read all The Chelsea Highline Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Must cancel 24 hours in advance; Please call the hotel directly or email to cancel your reservation. No Show Policy: In case of a No-Show, guest will be charged 1 night stay plus sales and hotel taxes. The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 309
25.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.4% 160 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
29.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 8 reviews
Hotel Pennsylvania
162.50 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
Chelsea Inn
74.50 USD

Hostel 79.0% 329 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Times Square Dream Apartments
45.00 USD

Apartment 83.8% 199 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
49.00 USD

Hostel 63.1% 170 reviews
Equity Point New York @ Times Square
68.25 USD

Hostel 86.9% 194 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.1%

Overall Rating

148 out of 214 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Chelsea Highline Hotel'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
76.0%
Facilities
52.8%
Cleanliness
64.8%
Staff
71.2%
Value
59.2%
Safety
76.0%
Refine your results Showing 153 of 208 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

26 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and accomodation just with one other roommate.

Disliked: the breakfast is very small, just beagl (bread) and butter, tea and coffee

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Malgorzata Kucharska

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2012 Malgorzata would recommend this property

Liked: The location is just perfect. If you like to walk, it's possible to reach lower and upper Manhattan (I preferred that, as I wanted to see as much as possible and to feel the spirit of the city, rather than using subway and wasting too much time of my short stay). If you want to reach your locations by train, the subway stations are just a few blocks away. You get good value for money, The morning breakfast, although it was just a bagel and muffin plus hot bevarages, was a plus. I would stay there again. There were conditioners in the rooms, sink and a mirror, lockers (you need your own padlock).

Disliked: It does not look welcoming from the outside. The lobby is a bit small,during the breakfast time there were not enough seats available. Some also complained on the noise in the lobby which was the only place with wi fi.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: straight forward, nice quiet place to stay for a few days. Recommended

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Work / volunteering

26 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean and modern rooms

Disliked: shared bathrooms often busy and could be more services on offer/ 'free included' breakfast should last longer!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Jacob Sajinyan

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 July 2012 Jacob would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the air conditioning.

Disliked: The location

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

21 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was great improvement over the last management when it was know as the Chelsea Inn, which was the worst place I have ever stayed.

Disliked: The hot water went out for over a day. The electricity was scheduled to go out in the middle of the day on the day I was checking out.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Allison Rea

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

16 July 2012 Allison would recommend this property

Liked: conveniently located, helpful staff for late night check in

Disliked: room was too cold, can't stay past noon

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Elizabeth Kommritz

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife

02 July 2012 Elizabeth would recommend this property

Liked: The AC in the rooms was ice cold, and great for the 90+ weather in New York. The location was good too, lots of things nearby. If it got too hot for you there was also a water park across the street.

Disliked: The rooms were very bare, 1 Bed, a lamp, and some hooks. The hallways were boring, and it didn't seem like a lively place. I know you shouldn't expect a lot from a hostel, but I thought they could put some more effort into it.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: La situation, le personnel, la proprete

Disliked: Ce nest pas lambiance dune auberge de jeunesse, pas vraiment dendroit pour faire des rencontres.. Attention aux taxes de 14% a ajouter par rapport au prix affiché.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Natalia Isaza Caldas

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2012 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Es muy limpio y tranquilo, y esta ubicado en un muy buen lugar de la ciudad, sin ninguna duda me volvería a quedar acá

Disliked: Natalia left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Yanisa Charoendinthai

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2012

Liked: the room is clean. I like the way they're clean the room and beds everyday.

Disliked: The hotel is quite far from subway and nothing can be noticed that this place is a hotel I booked. There's only one restroom at each wing (2 wings) and very dirty.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Samantha Emmons

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 June 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Good atomosphere and character

Disliked: No food or drink in the rooms, also no shared kitchen or anything

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Davide Salvo

Alone

City break

19 June 2012 Davide would recommend this property

Liked: Good location...close to the night-life in Chelsea. The staff was ok.

Disliked: The bed in the two bed dorm was uncomfortable...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were basic but clean.

Disliked: There was only one toilet with shower per 4-5 rooms which is far from ideal. The staff on checkin were extermely unhelpful & unfriendly.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

David Incertis Jarillo

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2012

Liked: Only the location

Disliked: Uncomfortable. Beds in bunks were too narrow and bunks were very noisy with any tiny movement (really bothering squeaking sounds). Poorly maintained in general. In the hall there was a ventilator switched on very noisy and poweful that made quite uncomfortable to stay in. Bathrooms don't have any element and product to be minimally cleaned after each use (bucket and mop, some detergent), so we ofently found the bathrooms (bathtub and toilte) in quite nasty conditions. On the other side, we reserved a private room with a 2 bed bunk and whe we arrived they said that it wasn't available and that for the first night we have to sleep in separate 6-bed rooms. We complained in that moment requesting the devolution of the prepaid amount, and explaining that we were just married and we never would accept to be separated in our trip and suddenly appeared an empty room as we requested.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

cedric lasry

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 June 2012 cedric would recommend this property

Liked: this place is great, its a five minute walk to the subway and there are plenty of great restaurants around. the staff was helpfull and the recreation area was very nice

Disliked: our visit was during a heat wave and the lobby was a little too hot during the day. the AC in the room is powerfull enough but very noisy. the beds are very noisy

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Lacie Buckwalter

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2012 Lacie would recommend this property

Liked: clean

Disliked: boring, small.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Sarah Slater

Alone

Business / conference
Work / volunteering

01 June 2012

Liked: Nothing at all breakfast was a bagel only Internet in the lobby no kitchen to cook or store food. Worst hostel I've been to so far!

Disliked: Everything. Also there's a bug problem I woke up every morning wih bites on me

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean

Disliked: A bit of a walk to the closest subway station

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic, but clean, well located, safe, and staff were helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Common room/loby and rooms would be hot in summer - we stayed in Spring and was very pleasant.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, breakfast, relatively cheap (consider it's new york) and good location. Close to highline park which makes for a nice walk.

Disliked: have no complains really.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location.

Disliked: shared bathrooms are a little bit dirty.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good room for the price, comes with a sink.

Disliked: no wifi in the rooms. towel came stained.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I likes the location near to the Highline

Disliked: The noise on the 4th floor up until the hours of 2am every night. I did not get a good nights sleep here. I asked a member of staff if the breakfast was free, he said no - on my 4th day I asked another and he said yes. I missed out on 3 free breakfasts.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Xin Emily Ding

With my spouse / partner

City break
Visiting friends or family

25 April 2012 Xin Emily would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel is in a good neighbourhood, with lots of restaurants for all kinds of budget. It's about 5-10 min walk to subway, and right beside the Chelsea Highline park, and across from the view of the water.

Disliked: The beds are not very comfortable, and carpet was kinda old.