We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Chelsea Highline Hotel

Hotel | 184 11th Avenue @ 23rd Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10011

67.5% Overall Rating

172 out of 254 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/12/2014)

"Location (e.g. 25 min walking distance from Times Square), really friendly staff (helped with non-working keys and gave us another room b/c of wind coming in through broken window frame)"

Read all The Chelsea Highline Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Dry cleaning
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Must cancel 24 hours in advance; Please call the hotel directly or email to cancel your reservation. No Show Policy: In case of a No-Show, guest will be charged 1 night stay plus sales and hotel taxes. The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Chelsea Star Hotel
14.83 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.1% 15 reviews
Chelsea Inn
39.50 USD

Hostel 78.7% 336 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 61.5% 173 reviews
Times Square House
69.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 216 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
55.94 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Times Square Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 44.3% 20 reviews
Hotel 31
31.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.6% 949 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.5%

Overall Rating

172 out of 254 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Chelsea Highline Hotel'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
55.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 183 of 246 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013

Liked: It's basically you get what you pay for...

Disliked: One of the staff members couldn't give two shits that she kept messing up our reservation. Had to move us to another room, kept issuing us new keys EVERYDAY!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was lovely, it's in a great location and it's fantastic value for money.

Disliked: The bed was incredibly uncomfortable - you could feel the very hard springs in the mattress through the fabric. The toilets and the showers are in the same room, so if someone is in the bathroom, there aren't many other options.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2013

Liked: pretty good location

Disliked: really expensive and crowded, bad breakfast

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noisy

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only two people per room. Easy enough to find. Quite good location.

Disliked: No elevator! No heating system that could compensate for poor windows.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Battrick

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Don't listen to the negative comments, if you book a hostel you cannot expect luxury.... New York is very expensive and this hostel is very reasonable. I managed to get the wifi in my room and the fresh bagels and muffins were great! Good location and very easy to get around by boat or subway

Disliked: Scott left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Harvey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap rate for twin room. Very warm rooms. Even though it was not guaranteed I received WiFi reception in our room.

Disliked: Overpowering smell of disinfectant/cleaning solution throughout halls and room. No TV in room. WiFi was temperamental.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, about 10 min from subway.

Disliked: Can be a problem getting to bathroom in morning, but that's expected at a hostel. Really thin walls - could hear a guest on other side of the building yelling all morning our second day there.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Tiny and no hot shower

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean, easy access to the rest of the city. Warm during a cold spell, sufficient bathrooms, decent showers.

Disliked: Only one community room with a TV on and everybody on their smart phones or computers. Not much conversation. Wifi downstairs only. They compute the nightly charges differently than Hostelbookers. I booked at a reduced rate of $2.50 a night but when I cancelled the last day I only got credit for $38. They said that Friday and Saturday were $50 and Monday Tuesday were $38 unlike the website which had $50 crossed out and $42.50 written in.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Willian Medeiros

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 March 2013 Willian would recommend this property

Liked: Good 2 bed room for whi travel toguether

Disliked: Wifi and bathroom

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013

Liked: It was in a good neighborhood.

Disliked: The rooms were way too small for the price we payed, was more like a cell in jail with carpet, then a hotel room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Olivo

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice. Very helpful and friednline people

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for the price! By far one of the best deals. The bathrooms were common, but very clean and well equipped. No signs of bedbugs, unlike many of the other offers at this price.

Disliked: Certainly not luxourious, very shabby looking. Also the room was extremly hot! One should not need to turn on the AC in March just so the temperature is bearable. Also the Ikea bed was not the most comfortable, but fine if you're not staying there for long.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Elio Lako

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Elio would recommend this property

Liked: That it had the heat on all the time

Disliked: The restroom maintenance should have been better

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2013

Liked: Rooms were clean, towels and linnen provided. The hotel is 3 blocks away from the closest subway that brings you to any place in Manhattan. The neighborhood felt safe during the day and at nights.

Disliked: The staff was not customer oriented. They kept us waiting for an hour before a room was available. Wifi is not available: the staff tells everytime it will be fixed that day, but it was not. When reading other reviews on this page, it seems to be like this for at least a month now. Therefore payment could not be made my creditcard and we first needed to find a bank to get into the room. Breakfast consist of bagels, no kitchen facilities available to cook for yourself. The lobby is not a very cosy place to meet other travelers, everyones there during breakfast, but not like a lounge place to hang out.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013

Liked: I liked that it was close to a leisure area, a park with a nice view, perfect for jogging and bicycle, but honestly it was the only good thing...

Disliked: Too noisy!!!!! Although I had a "Queen Bedroom", which was supposed to be better than the others, I had a noisy machine right outside my window that did not let me sleep for 3 nights!!! Besides you can hear everything that happens in the corridor (especially a metal door being open and slammed throughout the night.). A disgrace... Breakfast is really poor. Location is ok. But in general I was really disappointed....

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet, and I had a comfy sleep!

Disliked: Maybe a bit too far away from downtown, but overall, good.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013

Liked: The location was good

Disliked: The mattresses are so unbelievably thin and uncomfortable. Thankfully we only had to stay for one night

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large and clean rooms. Good location only 5 min walk from times square Good value for money

Disliked: No wifi. The mashine for creditcart was also broken, so you have to pay cash.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in double room. It was huge for this money with even a small table and chairs. Bed was huge, linnen clean, showers brand new and clean, staff is very nice

Disliked: no wi-fi in the room, breakfast (bagel w jam) get only ones who come first :( showers r often being occupied

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Paul Mooney

Alone

Business / conference

26 February 2013

Liked: It's in NYC

Disliked: Run-down

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013

Liked: It was relatively cheap

Disliked: The wi-fi did not work, the blankets had holes in them,

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 February 2013

Liked: Only the location seems to be a plus, but even then, you can find other cheap places around.

Disliked: I was quite disappointed by this hostel. When I read about it on HostelBookers, I thought it was a great, friendly place to stay at. I didn't find any of these there. The staff was not nice or helpful in any kind of way. They also pretended that their WIFI was down due to some recent storms, but I suspect this has been going on for a while. So they should state this clearly on their ad. Very few showers/toilets, and if you go in after a few people have had their shower, you'll regret it. Problems with the heater. I've stayed at other hostels before and I wasn't expecting a 5 star place but this hostel could definitely improve. I paid for a private room which wasn't that cheap either. Being a cheap place doesn't mean that it doesn't need to provide a good service to its customers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jake Weigel

Alone

Business / conference
City break

19 February 2013 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location to the big galleries in Chelsea. Seemed like a safe enough neighborhood at night too.

Disliked: Walk from subway was about 6 blocks and the WI-FI was down the two days I stayed.