We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Chelsea Highline Youth Hotel

Hotel | 184 11th Avenue @ 23rd Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10011

66.3% Overall Rating

175 out of 259 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/02/2015)

"Super friendly and helpful staff (males), cheap and worth the money for a weekend stay. Loved the vibe with all the international travelers at the lobby."

Read all Chelsea Highline Youth Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Dry cleaning
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Must cancel 24 hours in advance; Please call the hotel directly or email to cancel your reservation. No Show Policy: In case of a No-Show, guest will be charged 1 night stay plus sales and hotel taxes. The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Riff Hotel
25.56 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 18 reviews
Chelsea Inn
69.50 USD

Hostel 78.7% 336 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 60.5% 174 reviews
Times Square House
49.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 216 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
78.54 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Times Square Hostel
39.00 USD

Hostel 44.3% 20 reviews
Hotel 31
47.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.9% 951 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 27/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
66.3%

Overall Rating

175 out of 259 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Chelsea Highline Youth Hotel'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
55.2%
Cleanliness
56.0%
Staff
71.2%
Value
71.2%
Safety
72.0%
Refine your results Showing 186 of 251 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 May 2013

Liked: Good location - lots to check out in Chelsea and close to galleries and the High Line. Breakfast ok.

Disliked: Hands down the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever come across - same cheap and horrible mattress as affiliate Jazz on the Park Hostel uptown. Bathrooms may be newish, but totally gross - no drainage so there's always a puddle of skanky water, no hooks to hang your towel or clothes. This is pretty basic accommodation needs that they have failed in big time.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2013

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: I stayed in this hostel for 5 nights and I got one big thing to say, WASH THE BATHROOMS more often. It's like there is a lake in the bathroom with lots of hair and toilet paper floating. I think people are a bit dirt plus the bathrooms are not very handy. They should put at least a scrapper thus people could clean a little bit after their shower.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Facundo Exequiel Navarro Araya

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

11 May 2013 Facundo Exequiel would recommend this property

Liked: habia leido muchos comentarios negativos de este hostel, ya no sabia que esperarme. pero al llegar me sorprendio para bien, banos limpios y las habitaciones tambien. lo recomiendo, cerca del subte y del chelsea highline (nuevo parque) y caminando en 15 a madison square. ME GUSTO!

Disliked: wifi solo en el lobby, si quere tener en tu habitacion tenes que pagar extra.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013

Liked: It's basically you get what you pay for...

Disliked: One of the staff members couldn't give two shits that she kept messing up our reservation. Had to move us to another room, kept issuing us new keys EVERYDAY!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was lovely, it's in a great location and it's fantastic value for money.

Disliked: The bed was incredibly uncomfortable - you could feel the very hard springs in the mattress through the fabric. The toilets and the showers are in the same room, so if someone is in the bathroom, there aren't many other options.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2013

Liked: pretty good location

Disliked: really expensive and crowded, bad breakfast

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noisy

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only two people per room. Easy enough to find. Quite good location.

Disliked: No elevator! No heating system that could compensate for poor windows.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Battrick

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Don't listen to the negative comments, if you book a hostel you cannot expect luxury.... New York is very expensive and this hostel is very reasonable. I managed to get the wifi in my room and the fresh bagels and muffins were great! Good location and very easy to get around by boat or subway

Disliked: Scott left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Harvey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap rate for twin room. Very warm rooms. Even though it was not guaranteed I received WiFi reception in our room.

Disliked: Overpowering smell of disinfectant/cleaning solution throughout halls and room. No TV in room. WiFi was temperamental.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, about 10 min from subway.

Disliked: Can be a problem getting to bathroom in morning, but that's expected at a hostel. Really thin walls - could hear a guest on other side of the building yelling all morning our second day there.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Tiny and no hot shower

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean, easy access to the rest of the city. Warm during a cold spell, sufficient bathrooms, decent showers.

Disliked: Only one community room with a TV on and everybody on their smart phones or computers. Not much conversation. Wifi downstairs only. They compute the nightly charges differently than Hostelbookers. I booked at a reduced rate of $2.50 a night but when I cancelled the last day I only got credit for $38. They said that Friday and Saturday were $50 and Monday Tuesday were $38 unlike the website which had $50 crossed out and $42.50 written in.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Willian Medeiros

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 March 2013 Willian would recommend this property

Liked: Good 2 bed room for whi travel toguether

Disliked: Wifi and bathroom

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013

Liked: It was in a good neighborhood.

Disliked: The rooms were way too small for the price we payed, was more like a cell in jail with carpet, then a hotel room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Olivo

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice. Very helpful and friednline people

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for the price! By far one of the best deals. The bathrooms were common, but very clean and well equipped. No signs of bedbugs, unlike many of the other offers at this price.

Disliked: Certainly not luxourious, very shabby looking. Also the room was extremly hot! One should not need to turn on the AC in March just so the temperature is bearable. Also the Ikea bed was not the most comfortable, but fine if you're not staying there for long.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Elio Lako

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Elio would recommend this property

Liked: That it had the heat on all the time

Disliked: The restroom maintenance should have been better

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2013

Liked: Rooms were clean, towels and linnen provided. The hotel is 3 blocks away from the closest subway that brings you to any place in Manhattan. The neighborhood felt safe during the day and at nights.

Disliked: The staff was not customer oriented. They kept us waiting for an hour before a room was available. Wifi is not available: the staff tells everytime it will be fixed that day, but it was not. When reading other reviews on this page, it seems to be like this for at least a month now. Therefore payment could not be made my creditcard and we first needed to find a bank to get into the room. Breakfast consist of bagels, no kitchen facilities available to cook for yourself. The lobby is not a very cosy place to meet other travelers, everyones there during breakfast, but not like a lounge place to hang out.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013

Liked: I liked that it was close to a leisure area, a park with a nice view, perfect for jogging and bicycle, but honestly it was the only good thing...

Disliked: Too noisy!!!!! Although I had a "Queen Bedroom", which was supposed to be better than the others, I had a noisy machine right outside my window that did not let me sleep for 3 nights!!! Besides you can hear everything that happens in the corridor (especially a metal door being open and slammed throughout the night.). A disgrace... Breakfast is really poor. Location is ok. But in general I was really disappointed....

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet, and I had a comfy sleep!

Disliked: Maybe a bit too far away from downtown, but overall, good.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013

Liked: The location was good

Disliked: The mattresses are so unbelievably thin and uncomfortable. Thankfully we only had to stay for one night

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large and clean rooms. Good location only 5 min walk from times square Good value for money

Disliked: No wifi. The mashine for creditcart was also broken, so you have to pay cash.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in double room. It was huge for this money with even a small table and chairs. Bed was huge, linnen clean, showers brand new and clean, staff is very nice

Disliked: no wi-fi in the room, breakfast (bagel w jam) get only ones who come first :( showers r often being occupied

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Paul Mooney

Alone

Business / conference

26 February 2013

Liked: It's in NYC

Disliked: Run-down