We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Chelsea Highline Hotel

Hotel | 184 11th Avenue @ 23rd Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10011

70.1% Overall Rating

168 out of 244 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/09/2014)

Imogen Ni Ealai thinks…

"Very safe and secure. I had a room for 2 people and loved that only our hotel key could let us in! Very clean and aircon perfect in room. There was never a line for the shower/bathroom. Wifi…"

Read all The Chelsea Highline Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Must cancel 24 hours in advance; Please call the hotel directly or email to cancel your reservation. No Show Policy: In case of a No-Show, guest will be charged 1 night stay plus sales and hotel taxes. The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 309
86.33 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 77.5% 170 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
59.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.9% 13 reviews
Chelsea Inn
79.50 USD

Hostel 76.9% 334 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
49.00 USD

Hostel 61.5% 173 reviews
Times Square House
45.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 216 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
101.14 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Times Square Hostel
49.00 USD

Hostel 44.3% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 18/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
70.1%

Overall Rating

168 out of 244 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Chelsea Highline Hotel'

Atmosphere
65.6%
Location
81.6%
Facilities
60.0%
Cleanliness
62.4%
Staff
76.8%
Value
72.8%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 176 of 237 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, about 10 min from subway.

Disliked: Can be a problem getting to bathroom in morning, but that's expected at a hostel. Really thin walls - could hear a guest on other side of the building yelling all morning our second day there.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Tiny and no hot shower

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean, easy access to the rest of the city. Warm during a cold spell, sufficient bathrooms, decent showers.

Disliked: Only one community room with a TV on and everybody on their smart phones or computers. Not much conversation. Wifi downstairs only. They compute the nightly charges differently than Hostelbookers. I booked at a reduced rate of $2.50 a night but when I cancelled the last day I only got credit for $38. They said that Friday and Saturday were $50 and Monday Tuesday were $38 unlike the website which had $50 crossed out and $42.50 written in.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Willian Medeiros

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 March 2013 Willian would recommend this property

Liked: Good 2 bed room for whi travel toguether

Disliked: Wifi and bathroom

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 March 2013

Liked: It was in a good neighborhood.

Disliked: The rooms were way too small for the price we payed, was more like a cell in jail with carpet, then a hotel room.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Fernando Olivo

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2013 Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very nice. Very helpful and friednline people

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Value for the price! By far one of the best deals. The bathrooms were common, but very clean and well equipped. No signs of bedbugs, unlike many of the other offers at this price.

Disliked: Certainly not luxourious, very shabby looking. Also the room was extremly hot! One should not need to turn on the AC in March just so the temperature is bearable. Also the Ikea bed was not the most comfortable, but fine if you're not staying there for long.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Elio Lako

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 March 2013 Elio would recommend this property

Liked: That it had the heat on all the time

Disliked: The restroom maintenance should have been better

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 March 2013

Liked: Rooms were clean, towels and linnen provided. The hotel is 3 blocks away from the closest subway that brings you to any place in Manhattan. The neighborhood felt safe during the day and at nights.

Disliked: The staff was not customer oriented. They kept us waiting for an hour before a room was available. Wifi is not available: the staff tells everytime it will be fixed that day, but it was not. When reading other reviews on this page, it seems to be like this for at least a month now. Therefore payment could not be made my creditcard and we first needed to find a bank to get into the room. Breakfast consist of bagels, no kitchen facilities available to cook for yourself. The lobby is not a very cosy place to meet other travelers, everyones there during breakfast, but not like a lounge place to hang out.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2013

Liked: I liked that it was close to a leisure area, a park with a nice view, perfect for jogging and bicycle, but honestly it was the only good thing...

Disliked: Too noisy!!!!! Although I had a "Queen Bedroom", which was supposed to be better than the others, I had a noisy machine right outside my window that did not let me sleep for 3 nights!!! Besides you can hear everything that happens in the corridor (especially a metal door being open and slammed throughout the night.). A disgrace... Breakfast is really poor. Location is ok. But in general I was really disappointed....

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was quiet, and I had a comfy sleep!

Disliked: Maybe a bit too far away from downtown, but overall, good.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 March 2013

Liked: The location was good

Disliked: The mattresses are so unbelievably thin and uncomfortable. Thankfully we only had to stay for one night

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

06 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Large and clean rooms. Good location only 5 min walk from times square Good value for money

Disliked: No wifi. The mashine for creditcart was also broken, so you have to pay cash.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

27 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed in double room. It was huge for this money with even a small table and chairs. Bed was huge, linnen clean, showers brand new and clean, staff is very nice

Disliked: no wi-fi in the room, breakfast (bagel w jam) get only ones who come first :( showers r often being occupied

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Paul Mooney

Alone

Business / conference

26 February 2013

Liked: It's in NYC

Disliked: Run-down

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 February 2013

Liked: It was relatively cheap

Disliked: The wi-fi did not work, the blankets had holes in them,

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

22 February 2013

Liked: Only the location seems to be a plus, but even then, you can find other cheap places around.

Disliked: I was quite disappointed by this hostel. When I read about it on HostelBookers, I thought it was a great, friendly place to stay at. I didn't find any of these there. The staff was not nice or helpful in any kind of way. They also pretended that their WIFI was down due to some recent storms, but I suspect this has been going on for a while. So they should state this clearly on their ad. Very few showers/toilets, and if you go in after a few people have had their shower, you'll regret it. Problems with the heater. I've stayed at other hostels before and I wasn't expecting a 5 star place but this hostel could definitely improve. I paid for a private room which wasn't that cheap either. Being a cheap place doesn't mean that it doesn't need to provide a good service to its customers.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Jake Weigel

Alone

Business / conference
City break

19 February 2013 Jake would recommend this property

Liked: Really great location to the big galleries in Chelsea. Seemed like a safe enough neighborhood at night too.

Disliked: Walk from subway was about 6 blocks and the WI-FI was down the two days I stayed.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: bien situé

Disliked: peu de salle de bain par e^étage

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Marcelo Faria

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2013 Marcelo would recommend this property

Liked: Price was Ok!

Disliked: I stayed at the 4th floor. Without lift this is not a good place to stay.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Good location.

Disliked: -

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I really like the location of this hostel as it is not far away of the "sightseeing things" and I felt very safe at 10pm walking there alone by myself. CVS (24h opens) is nearby, the subway about 10 min by walk. Dunkin Donuts and some other shops are nearby as well. If you go the 23rd St straight you'll arrive Madison Square Garden in about 15 minutes or so and the Flatiron Building, which is one of my favorites. The people I've met were friendly and they didn't party the night or were loud. The room was clean. You get a towel and in the room are lockers (don't forget to bring your own lock) for medium things. The rooms are just for 2 persons.

Disliked: The staff were kinda unfriendly. How can I say? When I arrived it was like 'Oh no, a new guest. I have to work..' (I really don't expect a mexican wave when I enter the entrance) But they explained me everything when I had questions. The hostel looks unfriendly and not inviting. So the room. I was at the 2nd floor. It was very small (that was okay), the bed was pretty old (when I or my roommate turned to the right/left side, you heard and felt it), the mattress was hard, cold and very uncomfortable, the pillow was so thin you could omit it, that would be the same. And the blanket was a joke!! You just get a very very thin blanket and my one had a lot of holes. It was freezing cold the night and I was happy that I've just bought a wool sweater which I've wore the night! That is definetely something they have to change! Never had such a bad night of sleep!! Our roomdoor was broken or something. So if both of us were not in there you could have just open the door and take our stuff. Nothing happend but you feel very uncomfortable with that. The bathrooms weren't very clean as they are just three at the 2nd floor for about 40 people I think. I was there just for a night and would go there again with a better blanket but if it is just for one night or two. If you want to stay there more than 3 nights and also want to have good time in the hostel: Go and search for another one! Really!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mncedisi Jonase

Alone

Work / volunteering

20 January 2013 Mncedisi would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: Mncedisi left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

luke fameli

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2013 luke would recommend this property

Liked: good location for manhatten, clean bathrooms, safe good.

Disliked: In five days I had one hot shower, would of been warmer in the hudson. common area is a lobby/brakfast area/tv room/ waiting room/ reception. this is minor but the cleanrs kept taking my sheets off my bed and folding them which was reall annoying remaking a top bunk bed every day.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 January 2013

Liked: TV with Netflix in the Lobby

Disliked: - No opportunity to cook own food ( no kitchen) - During stay in January no heating in the room for three days and only cold water for one day - Dirty towls were not replaced - WiFi only in the lobby and not in the rooms available