HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Chelsea Highline Hotel

Hotel | 184 11th Avenue @ 23rd Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10011

65.4% Overall Rating

164 out of 239 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/08/2014)

Alexandre Litty thinks…

"You can hardly find cheaper in Manhattan. It is basic, but at least it's no nesting place for bedbugs. Room had a sink and was pretty big for the location. Neighborhood is somewhat quiet and provided…"

Read all The Chelsea Highline Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Must cancel 24 hours in advance; Please call the hotel directly or email to cancel your reservation. No Show Policy: In case of a No-Show, guest will be charged 1 night stay plus sales and hotel taxes. The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 309
66.33 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 77.5% 170 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
49.25 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.6% 10 reviews
Hotel Pennsylvania
162.50 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
Chelsea Inn
74.50 USD

Hostel 77.3% 333 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
49.00 USD

Hostel 63.7% 172 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
89.84 USD

Hostel 54.7% 7 reviews
Times Square Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 46.9% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.4%

Overall Rating

164 out of 239 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Chelsea Highline Hotel'

Atmosphere
56.0%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
53.6%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
72.0%
Value
68.0%
Safety
68.8%
Refine your results Showing 172 of 232 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Pena

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: This place is kept spotless. I had a great experience in a two bunk bed room with shared bathroom. I never had a problem over a weekend with the bathrooms and not once did I have to wait to use them. They were kept spotless and I was really impressed by the overall cleanliness of the place. The location and price are amazing. Will definitely stay again.

Disliked: The mattresses are not the most comfortable, which I had expected, but I think next time I might try to remember to bring an extra blanket or something for cushion. And there was no mirror in the room for getting ready.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: our stay was for 4 nights and 5 days. -from these 5 days only ONE (the third one) we had hot water. There was no compensation for showering in cold water. On the contrary the question about the time that it would be fixed was not replied in a friendly manner. One day after they "fixed" it we had cold water again! -from these 4 nights none(!) we had interned during the breakfast. I don't know if it was due to many people requesting ips at the same time... but I don't care. -the daily housekeeping means removing the room's garbage. -although its 2013 (ie no need for anyone to say that)... some rules could be in the toilets, and I mean written on a paper in the toilet. The toilet close to our room... had an open basket for garbage meaning the brown mass spectacle would welcome you when entering the toilet. During times that the hostels are full... they could consider to clean them twice a day. The other toilet in our floor did not have a bath (who would take a bath in a hostel) leading to lots of water in the toilet... -in our last day we asked if we could leave our luggage for some hours and they said yes... however when asked them back they said that after 14:00 we had to pay 4$. This was not mentioned when giving them initially. Finally we did not pay this fee... LUCKY US... we got cold water for free.... -for two people we ended up giving 125$ per night. The Hilton gives 219$ if booked two months in advance... so please consider all choices between these extremes (cheap-hostel with no service, bad behaviour vs all others).. I believe that with 20$ more per day we would have had the MINIMUM... now we were below that...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chelsea High is a good hostel. Everyone was very friendly and have no problems assisting you. I had an early check in so they took care of my luggage and then they also took care of my luggage after the check out, there is always someone at the reception.

Disliked: During the 2 nights that I stayed at the Chelsea there was no hot water nor WI-FI. I think that I'm kind of a trupper, but I did saw a lot of persons struggling due to those two issues.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nikolaos Papadopoulos

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013

Liked: the location

Disliked: The bed covers were very dirty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Candy Sefil

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Candy would recommend this property

Liked: Services were great. The receptionist were nice and helpful.

Disliked: I dont like the fact that lobby was pretty small. It gets full easily and no more people can sit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheryl Law

Alone

Events / festivals

01 June 2013 Sheryl would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty coffee, hot tea, lg muffins, bagels, butter/jam, toaster for breakfast, plus ok to have 2nds. Staff friendly, check in/out painless. Door card for main entrance & room worked perfectly every time. Bathrooms clean, never had to wait long. Also, on my floor one was bath while other was shower, a plus. Bed linens, blanket, towel provided. Lockers in room, also locked luggage room on floor. Map of city provided. Social events if wanted. NY less than $55 inc tx a night, outstanding!

Disliked: Name of hotel did not seem to be posted outside. Passed back & forth a couple of times before I located it, even w address. Wifi code didn't seem to work the whole time I was there, but since I never asked about it, you can tell it wasn't important for me (got own 3G). I didn't dislike, but note that these beds function for sleep when tired, so please don't expect comfort (remember this is a hostel, a place to safely sleep & bathe even if the large vertical sign outside above it reads HOTEL)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013

Liked: the location

Disliked: the room was not clean, my bed did not have clean sheets or a clean towel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the cleanness. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Room too small. No water to drink in the room. Property a little old.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013

Liked: It's near some tourist spots like Madison Square Garden, Empire State Building, Time Square, Central Park, etc.

Disliked: You have to pay $3 so you could use the wifi upstairs in your room. The wifi is only free at the lobby. The rooms doesn't have its own bathroom. They only have a common bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael glasser

Alone

City break

24 May 2013 michael would recommend this property

Liked: The Location and cleanliness were excellent, like the Hostel amenities and I need an affordable rate for Manhattan, the YMCA hotel on was dirtier and more expensive at about $130 for the cheapest room.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location / Neighborhood / Price

Disliked: Noise / Restrooms

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 May 2013

Liked: Good location - lots to check out in Chelsea and close to galleries and the High Line. Breakfast ok.

Disliked: Hands down the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever come across - same cheap and horrible mattress as affiliate Jazz on the Park Hostel uptown. Bathrooms may be newish, but totally gross - no drainage so there's always a puddle of skanky water, no hooks to hang your towel or clothes. This is pretty basic accommodation needs that they have failed in big time.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2013

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: I stayed in this hostel for 5 nights and I got one big thing to say, WASH THE BATHROOMS more often. It's like there is a lake in the bathroom with lots of hair and toilet paper floating. I think people are a bit dirt plus the bathrooms are not very handy. They should put at least a scrapper thus people could clean a little bit after their shower.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Facundo Exequiel Navarro Araya

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

11 May 2013 Facundo Exequiel would recommend this property

Liked: habia leido muchos comentarios negativos de este hostel, ya no sabia que esperarme. pero al llegar me sorprendio para bien, banos limpios y las habitaciones tambien. lo recomiendo, cerca del subte y del chelsea highline (nuevo parque) y caminando en 15 a madison square. ME GUSTO!

Disliked: wifi solo en el lobby, si quere tener en tu habitacion tenes que pagar extra.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 May 2013

Liked: It's basically you get what you pay for...

Disliked: One of the staff members couldn't give two shits that she kept messing up our reservation. Had to move us to another room, kept issuing us new keys EVERYDAY!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everyone was lovely, it's in a great location and it's fantastic value for money.

Disliked: The bed was incredibly uncomfortable - you could feel the very hard springs in the mattress through the fabric. The toilets and the showers are in the same room, so if someone is in the bathroom, there aren't many other options.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

19 April 2013

Liked: pretty good location

Disliked: really expensive and crowded, bad breakfast

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Noisy

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only two people per room. Easy enough to find. Quite good location.

Disliked: No elevator! No heating system that could compensate for poor windows.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Scott Battrick

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 April 2013 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Don't listen to the negative comments, if you book a hostel you cannot expect luxury.... New York is very expensive and this hostel is very reasonable. I managed to get the wifi in my room and the fresh bagels and muffins were great! Good location and very easy to get around by boat or subway

Disliked: Scott left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Matthew Harvey

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2013 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap rate for twin room. Very warm rooms. Even though it was not guaranteed I received WiFi reception in our room.

Disliked: Overpowering smell of disinfectant/cleaning solution throughout halls and room. No TV in room. WiFi was temperamental.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

03 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location, about 10 min from subway.

Disliked: Can be a problem getting to bathroom in morning, but that's expected at a hostel. Really thin walls - could hear a guest on other side of the building yelling all morning our second day there.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Tiny and no hot shower

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

27 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, clean, easy access to the rest of the city. Warm during a cold spell, sufficient bathrooms, decent showers.

Disliked: Only one community room with a TV on and everybody on their smart phones or computers. Not much conversation. Wifi downstairs only. They compute the nightly charges differently than Hostelbookers. I booked at a reduced rate of $2.50 a night but when I cancelled the last day I only got credit for $38. They said that Friday and Saturday were $50 and Monday Tuesday were $38 unlike the website which had $50 crossed out and $42.50 written in.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Willian Medeiros

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 March 2013 Willian would recommend this property

Liked: Good 2 bed room for whi travel toguether

Disliked: Wifi and bathroom