We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Chelsea Highline Hotel

Hotel | 184 11th Avenue @ 23rd Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10011

67.5% Overall Rating

172 out of 254 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (24/12/2014)

"Location (e.g. 25 min walking distance from Times Square), really friendly staff (helped with non-working keys and gave us another room b/c of wind coming in through broken window frame)"

Read all The Chelsea Highline Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Dry cleaning
  • Wake-up calls
  • ATM / cash machine
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Must cancel 24 hours in advance; Please call the hotel directly or email to cancel your reservation. No Show Policy: In case of a No-Show, guest will be charged 1 night stay plus sales and hotel taxes. The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Chelsea Star Hotel
14.83 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.1% 15 reviews
Chelsea Inn
39.50 USD

Hostel 78.7% 336 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 61.5% 173 reviews
Times Square House
69.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 216 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
55.94 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Times Square Hostel
29.00 USD

Hostel 44.3% 20 reviews
Hotel 31
31.25 USD

Hotel 2 star 85.6% 949 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/01/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/01/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
67.5%

Overall Rating

172 out of 254 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Chelsea Highline Hotel'

Atmosphere
58.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
55.2%
Staff
74.4%
Value
70.4%
Safety
73.6%
Refine your results Showing 183 of 246 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very central.

Disliked: Very small rooms, very loud.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yüksel Coskun

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 August 2013 Yüksel would recommend this property

Liked: It must organize again.

Disliked: It was not a hotel, ıt just a average hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stephen Scott

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price for a central Manhattan location were great.

Disliked: Shared baths were often flooded.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 July 2013

Liked: Convenient location in Chelsea, close to parks and restaurants, as well as the Highline.

Disliked: Bathrooms were not extremely clean, even by hostel standards. Staff never smiled or seemed enthusiastic about anything. I guess dealing with hostel dwellers in NYC is one huge downer.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and safety.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Poor aesthetics

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good location in a safe neighborhood. Well priced for manhattan.

Disliked: WiFi was only available in common areas which were not particularly enjoyable (they weren't horrible either, just not really inviting to sit and spend time in at all). The sign on the door also doesnt match the name so when you look for it go by street numbers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Safe environment in a nice area. Simple living space, good for people travelling that spend most of their time out and about. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

11 July 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: the quality of the bed.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Property was fairly priced with basic amenities. The hotel had air conditioning and free wifi in the lobby. All I needed was a place to sleep and take a shower. This place provided that in a clean, organized fashion.

Disliked: Security could have been a bit tighter. While there were security cameras and a lobby attendant 24/7, no one checked who was going into the property. Also, the lack of elevator made it had for my boyfriend with a broken leg to climb three flights of stairs to our room.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013

Liked: The location is brilliant, chelsea is the place to stay in NYC, free wifi in the lobby is good too.

Disliked: Room was beyond basic,was like a cell. Not very clean, air conditioning was dodgy, window didn't open. Bathroom not nice at all. But was almost the cheapest we could find. Covered in bites too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Pena

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: This place is kept spotless. I had a great experience in a two bunk bed room with shared bathroom. I never had a problem over a weekend with the bathrooms and not once did I have to wait to use them. They were kept spotless and I was really impressed by the overall cleanliness of the place. The location and price are amazing. Will definitely stay again.

Disliked: The mattresses are not the most comfortable, which I had expected, but I think next time I might try to remember to bring an extra blanket or something for cushion. And there was no mirror in the room for getting ready.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: our stay was for 4 nights and 5 days. -from these 5 days only ONE (the third one) we had hot water. There was no compensation for showering in cold water. On the contrary the question about the time that it would be fixed was not replied in a friendly manner. One day after they "fixed" it we had cold water again! -from these 4 nights none(!) we had interned during the breakfast. I don't know if it was due to many people requesting ips at the same time... but I don't care. -the daily housekeeping means removing the room's garbage. -although its 2013 (ie no need for anyone to say that)... some rules could be in the toilets, and I mean written on a paper in the toilet. The toilet close to our room... had an open basket for garbage meaning the brown mass spectacle would welcome you when entering the toilet. During times that the hostels are full... they could consider to clean them twice a day. The other toilet in our floor did not have a bath (who would take a bath in a hostel) leading to lots of water in the toilet... -in our last day we asked if we could leave our luggage for some hours and they said yes... however when asked them back they said that after 14:00 we had to pay 4$. This was not mentioned when giving them initially. Finally we did not pay this fee... LUCKY US... we got cold water for free.... -for two people we ended up giving 125$ per night. The Hilton gives 219$ if booked two months in advance... so please consider all choices between these extremes (cheap-hostel with no service, bad behaviour vs all others).. I believe that with 20$ more per day we would have had the MINIMUM... now we were below that...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chelsea High is a good hostel. Everyone was very friendly and have no problems assisting you. I had an early check in so they took care of my luggage and then they also took care of my luggage after the check out, there is always someone at the reception.

Disliked: During the 2 nights that I stayed at the Chelsea there was no hot water nor WI-FI. I think that I'm kind of a trupper, but I did saw a lot of persons struggling due to those two issues.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nikolaos Papadopoulos

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013

Liked: the location

Disliked: The bed covers were very dirty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Candy Sefil

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Candy would recommend this property

Liked: Services were great. The receptionist were nice and helpful.

Disliked: I dont like the fact that lobby was pretty small. It gets full easily and no more people can sit.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sheryl Law

Alone

Events / festivals

01 June 2013 Sheryl would recommend this property

Liked: Plenty coffee, hot tea, lg muffins, bagels, butter/jam, toaster for breakfast, plus ok to have 2nds. Staff friendly, check in/out painless. Door card for main entrance & room worked perfectly every time. Bathrooms clean, never had to wait long. Also, on my floor one was bath while other was shower, a plus. Bed linens, blanket, towel provided. Lockers in room, also locked luggage room on floor. Map of city provided. Social events if wanted. NY less than $55 inc tx a night, outstanding!

Disliked: Name of hotel did not seem to be posted outside. Passed back & forth a couple of times before I located it, even w address. Wifi code didn't seem to work the whole time I was there, but since I never asked about it, you can tell it wasn't important for me (got own 3G). I didn't dislike, but note that these beds function for sleep when tired, so please don't expect comfort (remember this is a hostel, a place to safely sleep & bathe even if the large vertical sign outside above it reads HOTEL)

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2013

Liked: the location

Disliked: the room was not clean, my bed did not have clean sheets or a clean towel

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

24 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location and the cleanness. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Room too small. No water to drink in the room. Property a little old.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2013

Liked: It's near some tourist spots like Madison Square Garden, Empire State Building, Time Square, Central Park, etc.

Disliked: You have to pay $3 so you could use the wifi upstairs in your room. The wifi is only free at the lobby. The rooms doesn't have its own bathroom. They only have a common bathroom.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

michael glasser

Alone

City break

24 May 2013 michael would recommend this property

Liked: The Location and cleanliness were excellent, like the Hostel amenities and I need an affordable rate for Manhattan, the YMCA hotel on was dirtier and more expensive at about $130 for the cheapest room.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

22 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location / Neighborhood / Price

Disliked: Noise / Restrooms

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 May 2013

Liked: Good location - lots to check out in Chelsea and close to galleries and the High Line. Breakfast ok.

Disliked: Hands down the most uncomfortable mattress I have ever come across - same cheap and horrible mattress as affiliate Jazz on the Park Hostel uptown. Bathrooms may be newish, but totally gross - no drainage so there's always a puddle of skanky water, no hooks to hang your towel or clothes. This is pretty basic accommodation needs that they have failed in big time.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 May 2013

Liked: Free breakfast

Disliked: I stayed in this hostel for 5 nights and I got one big thing to say, WASH THE BATHROOMS more often. It's like there is a lake in the bathroom with lots of hair and toilet paper floating. I think people are a bit dirt plus the bathrooms are not very handy. They should put at least a scrapper thus people could clean a little bit after their shower.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Facundo Exequiel Navarro Araya

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa

11 May 2013 Facundo Exequiel would recommend this property

Liked: habia leido muchos comentarios negativos de este hostel, ya no sabia que esperarme. pero al llegar me sorprendio para bien, banos limpios y las habitaciones tambien. lo recomiendo, cerca del subte y del chelsea highline (nuevo parque) y caminando en 15 a madison square. ME GUSTO!

Disliked: wifi solo en el lobby, si quere tener en tu habitacion tenes que pagar extra.