We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Chelsea Highline Hotel

Hotel | 184 11th Avenue @ 23rd Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10011

69.7% Overall Rating

169 out of 246 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/09/2014)

"Good location in South west o Manhattan, 5mins from Metro, 25-30min walk to 9/11 memorial/Wall St/southern ferry port. Good breakfast of bagels and coffee although only jelly and butter - smoked salmon/creme freche…"

Read all The Chelsea Highline Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Must cancel 24 hours in advance; Please call the hotel directly or email to cancel your reservation. No Show Policy: In case of a No-Show, guest will be charged 1 night stay plus sales and hotel taxes. The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 309
59.67 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 77.5% 170 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
29.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.7% 14 reviews
Chelsea Inn
74.50 USD

Hostel 77.6% 335 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
39.00 USD

Hostel 61.5% 173 reviews
Times Square House
45.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 216 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
95.49 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Times Square Hostel
35.00 USD

Hostel 44.3% 20 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
69.7%

Overall Rating

169 out of 246 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Chelsea Highline Hotel'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
82.4%
Facilities
59.2%
Cleanliness
60.8%
Staff
75.2%
Value
74.4%
Safety
72.8%
Refine your results Showing 177 of 239 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8   Next
Reset filter
51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Jacinta Garry

Alone

City break

01 April 2014

Liked: Good location, close to the Chelsea Highline and some great Chelsea attractions. The room I stayed in was nice and clean, comfortable bed

Disliked: There was no heating in my room at all. I was able to use a second unused blanket in the room but it was unwelcomingly chilly. There was also a crazy man who started each morning shouting abuse (I don't know who at). There was no hot water on my first nigt and and on my second night, it took almost 10 mintues for the water to warm up. We had a lot of rain on this weekend and the roof was leaking so the stair case was wet and slippery. The "breakfast" they provide is pretty average, even for a hostel. There's no butter for the bagels and only powdered milk for tea/coffee. There also seemed to be almost very little atmosphere. For $50/night, I would stay elsewhere.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Naresh Tiwari

Alone

Partying / nightlife

22 March 2014 Naresh would recommend this property

Liked: Its in manhattan area,so its easy to enjoy night life and cheap also.

Disliked: Wifi available only in lobby and no kitchen was there to cook our own food.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Olivia Roca

With friends / other travellers

City break

02 December 2013

Liked: The location.

Disliked: The staff was unpolite, unhelpfull and the bathrooms were pretty dirty since they clean them only once in a day and they are shared.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

30 November 2013

Liked: Cheap

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Kyle Case

Alone

Visiting friends or family

28 November 2013 Kyle would recommend this property

Liked: Overall, the hostel itself is average to slightly below, however, the location and price make it well worth the minor annoyances.

Disliked: Not the cleanest and I did seem to have constant issues with my room key not working.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

YOHAN JEONG

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

25 November 2013

Liked: there support some food in the morning and the staff is really friendly.

Disliked: They do not have any facilities such as refrige, microwave.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Binlin Xia

Alone

Shopping

24 November 2013 Binlin would recommend this property

Liked: good place!

Disliked: good place!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break

22 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Chelsea Highline Hotel is overall good value for a safe bed in a great location.

Disliked: The facilities are not the most modern and the bed sheets did look like they could be replaced more often. The biggest problem is the very noisy road, so I would recommend bringing ear-plugs.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

19 November 2013

Liked: It was an ok distance from Time Square

Disliked: We were out of power for almost 12 hour, the room were freezing cold, our heating fan didn't work, the staff were not very helpful, the bed were uncomfortable and squeaky, the breakfast were low standard and there were not enough place to sit and eat.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

18 November 2013

Liked: Clean so so clean and front desk friendly, if visiting in winter ask for high floor numbers 3+. My original sparsely equipped room 220 was cold, bar heater broken plus major construction began 7:30 daily. They didn't replace heater so I changed rooms, loved the new room. Bathroom always clean.

Disliked: it's about 2 blocks from food, breakfast is totally skippable (bagel butter coffee) no trash cans in room. No seating in some rooms. Seems like half completed hostel posing as a "hotel". I am less impressed with the dropping of hostel standards by the Jazz group over time.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Inexpensive hotel / hostel rooms in NYC tend to be really cramped, but there was ample room for us to walk around beds and places to put our luggage, etc. It was very clean and the beds were comfortable. There were enough bathrooms that we didnt' have to wait long to get in.

Disliked: It's right on the West Side Hiway so it was pretty noisy all night long. I slept pretty well after the first night, but one of the other guys just couldn't get used to it. Rooms away from the front would have been much better. Food was not allowed in the rooms. While I understand it was to discourage rodents and bugs, we would have just kept our room clean.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. It is next to the Chelsea Highline. Close to the metro. It is in a very nice location.

Disliked: Only three bathrooms per a floor. Each floor has maybe 15 rooms, so in the morning I often had to wait for a free bathroom. Also due to high traffic in the bathroom, they were not also super clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 October 2013

Liked: I mostly liked the staff's behaviour. They were mostly very helpful.

Disliked: The building is simply too old. The rooms are very dismal. Don't expect your towels to be washed, or your room to be tidied up the next day. Also, they do NOT allow any food in the rooms, and would discard it if they can ever find it (as mentioned on a paper you'd receive right at the beginning). No water fountain or cold tap water; there is a machine in the lobby which sells water for 2 bucks a bottle (slightly more than 500 mls.)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

MARIA DOLORES GARCIA CEBRIAN

Alone

City break

14 October 2013 MARIA DOLORES would recommend this property

Liked: friendly people

Disliked: most of the members at the reception were very good and friendly but there was a lady who seemed to be upset all the time, unfriendly which doesn´t make you feel very welcome.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Stefan Valberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: It was one of the cheapest options in this expencive city. everything was fine but expencive for what you get.

Disliked: paying a 100usd for a private room with nothing in it exept 2 shitty beds.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013

Liked: Location but for the hostel quality that you get, there are other options

Disliked: Bed is rundown No wifi in rooms Breakfast is advertised as lasting 1.5 hours but if you're not there for the first 10 minutes, it's all gone and they won't refill Bathrooms dirty (even for a hostel) Management (manager and receptionist) attitude is not even helping the quality of this hostel Avoid if you can.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Luis Fernando Robledo Riaño

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

24 September 2013 Luis Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: It is pretty well located, walking distance from times square, 3 blocks away from subway. It is cheap for chelsea's. The staff is helpful on any questions and available 24 hours.

Disliked: Breakfast is buffet from 8 - 930 but only until supplies lasts. At 9 there's nothing to eat!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013

Liked: Cleanliness. Cheap.

Disliked: Staff helpfulness. No activities offered over the 5nights we stayed. Not a very social environment.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 September 2013

Liked: The property is clean, quiet and well located within walking distance of lower Manhattan.

Disliked: The bed must have been ridden with bugs because I kept scratching my feet and legs and the scratching ended when I put my jeans and socks back on.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very central.

Disliked: Very small rooms, very loud.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yüksel Coskun

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 August 2013 Yüksel would recommend this property

Liked: It must organize again.

Disliked: It was not a hotel, ıt just a average hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stephen Scott

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price for a central Manhattan location were great.

Disliked: Shared baths were often flooded.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 July 2013

Liked: Convenient location in Chelsea, close to parks and restaurants, as well as the Highline.

Disliked: Bathrooms were not extremely clean, even by hostel standards. Staff never smiled or seemed enthusiastic about anything. I guess dealing with hostel dwellers in NYC is one huge downer.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and safety.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Poor aesthetics