HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Chelsea Highline Hotel

Hotel | 184 11th Avenue @ 23rd Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10011

62.7% Overall Rating

158 out of 233 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (05/06/2014)

Douglas Lang thinks…

"Along waterfront after long row on 23rd of art Galleries with cutting edge shows. Minutes from the highline, a landscape innovation, well worth the walk."

Read all The Chelsea Highline Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Internet access in public areas

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Cancellation Policy: Must cancel 24 hours in advance; Please call the hotel directly or email to cancel your reservation. No Show Policy: In case of a No-Show, guest will be charged 1 night stay plus sales and hotel taxes. The NYS/NYC tax is 14.75% of the room rate plus $3.50 /per night service fee. This needs to be paid upon arrival. Sorry: No NYS and NYC residents.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 309
44.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 169 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
46.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 9 reviews
Hotel Pennsylvania
162.50 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
Chelsea Inn
69.50 USD

Hostel 78.1% 332 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
49.00 USD

Hostel 63.1% 170 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
72.89 USD

Hostel 54.7% 7 reviews
Times Square Hostel
39.00 USD

Hostel 46.9% 17 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.7%

Overall Rating

158 out of 233 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Chelsea Highline Hotel'

Atmosphere
51.2%
Location
77.6%
Facilities
48.0%
Cleanliness
61.6%
Staff
71.2%
Value
60.0%
Safety
69.6%
Refine your results Showing 167 of 226 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7   Next
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Inexpensive hotel / hostel rooms in NYC tend to be really cramped, but there was ample room for us to walk around beds and places to put our luggage, etc. It was very clean and the beds were comfortable. There were enough bathrooms that we didnt' have to wait long to get in.

Disliked: It's right on the West Side Hiway so it was pretty noisy all night long. I slept pretty well after the first night, but one of the other guys just couldn't get used to it. Rooms away from the front would have been much better. Food was not allowed in the rooms. While I understand it was to discourage rodents and bugs, we would have just kept our room clean.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. It is next to the Chelsea Highline. Close to the metro. It is in a very nice location.

Disliked: Only three bathrooms per a floor. Each floor has maybe 15 rooms, so in the morning I often had to wait for a free bathroom. Also due to high traffic in the bathroom, they were not also super clean.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

17 October 2013

Liked: I mostly liked the staff's behaviour. They were mostly very helpful.

Disliked: The building is simply too old. The rooms are very dismal. Don't expect your towels to be washed, or your room to be tidied up the next day. Also, they do NOT allow any food in the rooms, and would discard it if they can ever find it (as mentioned on a paper you'd receive right at the beginning). No water fountain or cold tap water; there is a machine in the lobby which sells water for 2 bucks a bottle (slightly more than 500 mls.)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

MARIA DOLORES GARCIA CEBRIAN

Alone

City break

14 October 2013 MARIA DOLORES would recommend this property

Liked: friendly people

Disliked: most of the members at the reception were very good and friendly but there was a lady who seemed to be upset all the time, unfriendly which doesn´t make you feel very welcome.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Stefan Valberg

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

05 October 2013 Stefan would recommend this property

Liked: It was one of the cheapest options in this expencive city. everything was fine but expencive for what you get.

Disliked: paying a 100usd for a private room with nothing in it exept 2 shitty beds.

28.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 October 2013

Liked: Location but for the hostel quality that you get, there are other options

Disliked: Bed is rundown No wifi in rooms Breakfast is advertised as lasting 1.5 hours but if you're not there for the first 10 minutes, it's all gone and they won't refill Bathrooms dirty (even for a hostel) Management (manager and receptionist) attitude is not even helping the quality of this hostel Avoid if you can.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Luis Fernando Robledo Riaño

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

24 September 2013 Luis Fernando would recommend this property

Liked: It is pretty well located, walking distance from times square, 3 blocks away from subway. It is cheap for chelsea's. The staff is helpful on any questions and available 24 hours.

Disliked: Breakfast is buffet from 8 - 930 but only until supplies lasts. At 9 there's nothing to eat!

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 September 2013

Liked: Cleanliness. Cheap.

Disliked: Staff helpfulness. No activities offered over the 5nights we stayed. Not a very social environment.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

18 September 2013

Liked: The property is clean, quiet and well located within walking distance of lower Manhattan.

Disliked: The bed must have been ridden with bugs because I kept scratching my feet and legs and the scratching ended when I put my jeans and socks back on.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was very central.

Disliked: Very small rooms, very loud.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Yüksel Coskun

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

22 August 2013 Yüksel would recommend this property

Liked: It must organize again.

Disliked: It was not a hotel, ıt just a average hostel.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Stephen Scott

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 July 2013 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: Location and price for a central Manhattan location were great.

Disliked: Shared baths were often flooded.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

25 July 2013

Liked: Convenient location in Chelsea, close to parks and restaurants, as well as the Highline.

Disliked: Bathrooms were not extremely clean, even by hostel standards. Staff never smiled or seemed enthusiastic about anything. I guess dealing with hostel dwellers in NYC is one huge downer.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and safety.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference

20 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Poor aesthetics

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff and good location in a safe neighborhood. Well priced for manhattan.

Disliked: WiFi was only available in common areas which were not particularly enjoyable (they weren't horrible either, just not really inviting to sit and spend time in at all). The sign on the door also doesnt match the name so when you look for it go by street numbers.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Safe environment in a nice area. Simple living space, good for people travelling that spend most of their time out and about. Friendly staff.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

11 July 2013

Liked: The location

Disliked: the quality of the bed.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Property was fairly priced with basic amenities. The hotel had air conditioning and free wifi in the lobby. All I needed was a place to sleep and take a shower. This place provided that in a clean, organized fashion.

Disliked: Security could have been a bit tighter. While there were security cameras and a lobby attendant 24/7, no one checked who was going into the property. Also, the lack of elevator made it had for my boyfriend with a broken leg to climb three flights of stairs to our room.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 June 2013

Liked: The location is brilliant, chelsea is the place to stay in NYC, free wifi in the lobby is good too.

Disliked: Room was beyond basic,was like a cell. Not very clean, air conditioning was dodgy, window didn't open. Bathroom not nice at all. But was almost the cheapest we could find. Covered in bites too.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Pena

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 June 2013 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: This place is kept spotless. I had a great experience in a two bunk bed room with shared bathroom. I never had a problem over a weekend with the bathrooms and not once did I have to wait to use them. They were kept spotless and I was really impressed by the overall cleanliness of the place. The location and price are amazing. Will definitely stay again.

Disliked: The mattresses are not the most comfortable, which I had expected, but I think next time I might try to remember to bring an extra blanket or something for cushion. And there was no mirror in the room for getting ready.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2013

Liked: location

Disliked: our stay was for 4 nights and 5 days. -from these 5 days only ONE (the third one) we had hot water. There was no compensation for showering in cold water. On the contrary the question about the time that it would be fixed was not replied in a friendly manner. One day after they "fixed" it we had cold water again! -from these 4 nights none(!) we had interned during the breakfast. I don't know if it was due to many people requesting ips at the same time... but I don't care. -the daily housekeeping means removing the room's garbage. -although its 2013 (ie no need for anyone to say that)... some rules could be in the toilets, and I mean written on a paper in the toilet. The toilet close to our room... had an open basket for garbage meaning the brown mass spectacle would welcome you when entering the toilet. During times that the hostels are full... they could consider to clean them twice a day. The other toilet in our floor did not have a bath (who would take a bath in a hostel) leading to lots of water in the toilet... -in our last day we asked if we could leave our luggage for some hours and they said yes... however when asked them back they said that after 14:00 we had to pay 4$. This was not mentioned when giving them initially. Finally we did not pay this fee... LUCKY US... we got cold water for free.... -for two people we ended up giving 125$ per night. The Hilton gives 219$ if booked two months in advance... so please consider all choices between these extremes (cheap-hostel with no service, bad behaviour vs all others).. I believe that with 20$ more per day we would have had the MINIMUM... now we were below that...

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

11 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Chelsea High is a good hostel. Everyone was very friendly and have no problems assisting you. I had an early check in so they took care of my luggage and then they also took care of my luggage after the check out, there is always someone at the reception.

Disliked: During the 2 nights that I stayed at the Chelsea there was no hot water nor WI-FI. I think that I'm kind of a trupper, but I did saw a lot of persons struggling due to those two issues.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nikolaos Papadopoulos

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 June 2013

Liked: the location

Disliked: The bed covers were very dirty.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Candy Sefil

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2013 Candy would recommend this property

Liked: Services were great. The receptionist were nice and helpful.

Disliked: I dont like the fact that lobby was pretty small. It gets full easily and no more people can sit.