HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel 17

2 star Hotel | 225 E. 17th Street, New York City, New York, USA 10003

81.6% Overall Rating

430 out of 457 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/01/2014)

"Location was great, helpful staff, tidy rooms, secure. It was everything I needed and nothing I didn't at great price. After my flights were cancelled, the staff quickly arranged to extend my stay."

Read all Hotel 17 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Concierge
  • Express check-in / out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Prices DOES NOT include 14.76% New York City & State taxes and $3.50 per day occupancy charge.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 31
59.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 84.3% 945 reviews
Chelsea Inn
79.50 USD

Hostel 76.9% 334 reviews
East Village Guesthouse
39.00 USD

Hostel 59.0% 3 reviews
Broadway Lodge
35.00 USD

Apartment 74.2% 52 reviews
The Sohotel
39.80 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 86.7% 147 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
49.36 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.9% 13 reviews
Hotel 309
59.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 77.5% 170 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.6%

Overall Rating

430 out of 457 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel 17'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
95.2%
Facilities
65.6%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
80.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 286 of 303 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean and not too far from the subway

Disliked: Didn't like that we had shared bathrooms

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: 10 mins from the metro. Clean.

Disliked: Shared bathroom

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

23 April 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property itself, though the room was very small

Disliked: Some of the staff was not polite. Two or three people did not even answer to our hellos. The front desk and a Mexican cleaning man were very polite and kind.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Axel Hodapp

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

21 April 2014 Axel would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect!

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

28 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, helpful staff, tidy rooms, secure. It was everything I needed and nothing I didn't at great price. After my flights were cancelled, the staff quickly arranged to extend my stay.

Disliked: The street was quiet , but the heaters/ducting/something made a noise occasionally that I was unused to. Not a big deal, but I'd never heard it before.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 October 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Elegance , home feeling, fantastic for indipendent and single lady

Disliked: Entrance stair

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2013

Liked: Perfect location!

Disliked: Really small, uncomfortable room with bad, smoky smell and it's impossible to open the windows. Shared bathroom.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Carmichael

Alone

Business / conference

10 July 2013 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Lots of character and conveniently located.

Disliked: Nothing

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great, 4 blks from Union Square and subway. Even though it has shared bathrooms they were nearly always available when needed and were kept clean by housekeeping.

Disliked: Zero amenities at this hotel. Room was really tiny but I knew that from the descriptions ahead of time. My room was a single bed, very small and wasn't the most comfortable but adequate I suppose. Not sure value is that great at around $170/nite incl taxes.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: The rooms vary a lot. I stayed here before and was given a great and quite large room with a coffee maker but the second time I stayed the room was smaller and there was no coffee maker or way to boil hot water or store food.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 December 2012

Liked: The location of the hotel is the best part. It's in a very safe location, and is close to a supermarket, restaurants and cafes, and a few blocks from the subway. The hotel isn't super close to the main New York attractions (Times Square, Grand Central Station, all of the Uptown sites), but it's not far either and actually I think the hotel is cheaper since it isn't right next to the most touristic sites and the busiest areas. So we saved money, saw a lot more of the city by walking, and we avoided the overcrowded areas of the city.

Disliked: The most uncomfortable part of our stay was the heating. It was about 80 degrees Fahrenheit in our room the whole time we were there. We turned on the air conditioning (which sounded like a plane taking off) but then the heater would turn back on just as the room was cooling down. Besides the heat problem, the hotel staff was quite unfriendly and seemed indifferent to us being there. For example, as I was heading out one morning, I mentioned to the receptionist that our TV wasn't working, and when I got back late in the afternoon it still hadn't been looked at. Also, our second day there, our room wasn't cleaned, but we were never told that if you wanted the cleaning service you absolutely had to hang the "Clean the room" sign on the doorknob. Overall, I wouldn't stay here again. The hotel wasn't bad, but it wasn't so great either.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, helpful staff, very pleasant stay.

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sergio Torregrosa Pérez

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

21 October 2012 Sergio would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Room too cold.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a convenient subway and 24 hour reception.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Karima Haddad

As a family with children

Family Holiday

30 August 2012 Karima would recommend this property

Liked: Its clean in a good area.

Disliked: The beds are really small! the bed is for 2 regular person 2 small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

clair dowgill

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 June 2012 clair would recommend this property

Liked: good central location clean

Disliked: unfriendly staff

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

01 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location...convenience to subway and union square activities.

Disliked: Rooms were pretty small. And no private bathrooms.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

23 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient location to Grand Central Station, restaturants, and destinations

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Seungchul Lee

Alone

Visiting friends or family

23 May 2012 Seungchul would recommend this property

Liked: easy access to near by attractions. clean room and neat setup.

Disliked: Share restroom may need to add airfreshner to keep smell nice. Restroom was clean n nice but too strong smell was strong.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Paintin

Alone

Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

16 May 2012 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: I like the location of the hotel, really close to good 'old' New York, Union Square, it's never far from anywhere. The rooms are a good size, clean, very comfortable bed, always clean towels. This is the third time I have stayed at the hotel, so that speaks for itself.

Disliked: I dislike NOTHING about this hotel. All I can say if you want luxury and ensuite, this won't be the hotel for you.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

27 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere and location. Clean, affordable, decent size room for NYC.

Disliked: Manager came in our room one morning without knocking.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2012

Liked: It was cheap at $89 a night.

Disliked: Pretty much everything: the rudeness of the staff, the radiator being loud at night, not keeping up with wake up calls. The list can go on and on.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's quite a good hotel for this price, because prices are high in New York.

Disliked: There were shared bathroom and WC

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

14 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel 17 is great value for the comparable low price. It's got style, is clean. My room was very quiet. Staff was friendly. Furthermore the location is great. It's close to public transport, but lots of sights are walkable. Some good restaurants and bars are near. The area is very safe , which is important for a single female. I enjoyed my stay a lot and would come back again to Hotel 17.

Disliked: I don't like carpets in hotel rooms / hotels as they don't seem to be very hygienic. Still everything was clean and there were no smells.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Anastasia Antonova

Alone

City break

16 November 2011 Anastasia would recommend this property

Liked: Very good for travelling alone. Nice decorations, good location. I also liked that there was no line for the shared bathroom :)

Disliked: that's a shame they don't serve breakfast