HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel 17

2 star Hotel | 225 E. 17th Street, New York City, New York, USA 10003

81.8% Overall Rating

428 out of 455 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (28/01/2014)

"Location was great, helpful staff, tidy rooms, secure. It was everything I needed and nothing I didn't at great price. After my flights were cancelled, the staff quickly arranged to extend my stay."

Read all Hotel 17 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Concierge
  • Express check-in / out
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Prices DOES NOT include 14.76% New York City & State taxes and $3.50 per day occupancy charge.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 31
54.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.7% 939 reviews
Chelsea Inn
69.50 USD

Hostel 78.1% 332 reviews
East Village Guesthouse
39.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Hotel Pennsylvania
162.50 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
Broadway Lodge
40.00 USD

Apartment 74.5% 48 reviews
The Sohotel
45.80 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 87.1% 146 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 9 reviews
Hotel 309
49.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 78.9% 169 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
81.8%

Overall Rating

428 out of 455 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel 17'

Atmosphere
75.2%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
64.0%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
77.6%
Value
80.8%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 284 of 301 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

OI LING NG

20 June 2008 OI LING would recommend this property

Liked: Location is quite good and hostel is also very clean !!

Disliked: OI LING left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

wray serna

16 June 2008 wray would recommend this property

Liked: clean and safe, no curfew, privacy, excellent location

Disliked: wray left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

16 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good position

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I felt very comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rata Sophie

10 June 2008 Rata would recommend this property

Liked: It has a perfect location,good price and it is verry clean. We travelled with baby and stayed there a week no problems whatsoever.

Disliked: Rata left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kerstin Kuetemeier

09 June 2008 Kerstin would recommend this property

Liked: It was really good located! also it was very clean and everyone was friendly!

Disliked: Kerstin left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

01 June 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was really friendly. The location of this hotel is really good and the rooms and restrooms are really clean. Perfect!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Martin Ruck

30 May 2008 Martin would recommend this property

Liked: location and price

Disliked: Martin left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

24 May 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was pretty quiet and the bathrooms were very clean. also we couldnt check in till 3pm but they offered to take our luggage and hold them till that time...we were able to go out about the city and not have to carry any luggage. yes i would stay again here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

14 May 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

10 May 2008

Liked: Cute rooms, good neighborhoods.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 April 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location, good atmosphere

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 April 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and clean room

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 April 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 April 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Wonderful character, stripey wallpaper et al, great location on the edge of the east village, subway 3 blocks away, friendly staff and pretty quiet too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

henry zonabend

17 April 2008 henry would recommend this property

Liked: Good location nice character BUT you don't meet other people!

Disliked: henry left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

15 April 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is good and the hotel was clean. Even though we had a room without facilities, there were two bathrooms in the hall very close and we never had to queue.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Eva Schmidt

13 April 2008 Eva would recommend this property

Liked: pretty fast reaction on needs for the room.The room was incredible cold so we had to complain a couple times for the heater to work in our room and to get an extra heater. we got more blankets (quick and easy)

Disliked: Eva left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Stefanie Spiegelhalder

04 April 2008 Stefanie would recommend this property

Liked: x

Disliked: Stefanie left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 April 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The warm welcome, the "antique" interior, the calmness and the clean rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was interested to stay at this Hotel as Madonna stayed there way back when she was like 25yr! I was VERY impressed it's just off Union Sq so ideal location in Manhattan, it was very clean. I could have ate off the bathroom floor! Was cleaner than my bathroom. I was suprised how good this hotel was. I dont consider it a hostel more like a mini hotel. My single room was larger enough and also very clean. I have nothing to complain about and I would definitely go there again. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Anyone that wants to stay in the middle of Manhattan close enough to everything from Union sq, Broadway, East Village, Greenwich and trains to Grand Central this place is ideal. I've had horrible experiences in hostels in Manhattan but I would give Hotel 17 200% thumbs up MARKS!! I travel alot and for the value for money I was very impressed couldnt think of one bad thing to say. Except that my room had blinds and not curtains which didnt make my room dark enough for me but that is just a personal issue that I like to sleep in pitch black room other than that I'd recommend this place to anyone.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

14 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean 24/7 and the location was great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kylie Baker

25 February 2008 Kylie would recommend this property

Liked: The location was fantastic, and was great value for money. Shared facilities were always clean and never waited long to use them. It's not a hostel though, so not a place to go and meet other people. If you want a place where you have the privacy of your own room I cannot fault this.

Disliked: Kylie left no negative feedback.