HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel 31

2 star Hotel | 120 East 31st Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10016

82.7% Overall Rating

899 out of 942 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2014)

Amanda Felzmann thinks…

"The location is what matters most to me in NYC. I knew that it was hostel style living quarters. Our room was a full bed in a small room with a TV, AC, sink, vanity, safe and telephone. The hotel has…"

Read all Hotel 31 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Prices DO NOT include 13.38% tax and $3.50 per day occupancy charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 17
74.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.6% 457 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Chelsea Inn
74.50 USD

Hostel 77.3% 333 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
36.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.0% 11 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
78.54 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
49.00 USD

Hostel 63.7% 172 reviews
New York Guesthouse
49.00 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 15 reviews
Hotel 309
46.33 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 77.5% 170 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
82.7%

Overall Rating

899 out of 942 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel 31'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
89.6%
Facilities
72.8%
Cleanliness
89.6%
Staff
76.8%
Value
87.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 615 of 688 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katarzyna Gorol

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2014 Katarzyna would recommend this property

Liked: good location, nice staff, small, but clean and nice room

Disliked: everything was fine

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amanda Felzmann

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2014 Amanda would recommend this property

Liked: The location is what matters most to me in NYC. I knew that it was hostel style living quarters. Our room was a full bed in a small room with a TV, AC, sink, vanity, safe and telephone. The hotel has shared bathrooms, 2 per floor. I personally do not mind sharing a bathroom because for the cheapest price in NYC with a great location.. How often are you really even in your hotel room when you visit the city that never sleeps! The building and style isn't modern, it's an older style. Great for a weekend stay! Street parking and the 6 on 33rd st is a block away

Disliked: The guy at the main desk overnight was creepy and rude.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

25 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, near subway, restaurants & pubs, quite, clean, & would book again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ashley Beamer

With my spouse / partner

City break

16 June 2014 Ashley would recommend this property

Liked: This is a hotel with a historical feel in a great location. It includes towels and soaps in the room, free wifi, a safe, clean bedding, quality dark wood cabinets and wardrobe, vanity area and sink, and air conditioning. The staff were friendly and helpful. It's more than a hostel - a very reasonably priced basic clean hotel.

Disliked: Ashley left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and a convenient location

Disliked: Nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

andrew sinclair

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2014 andrew would recommend this property

Liked: good location very clean and fresh exellent value for money. no complaints

Disliked: view about only thing letting it down. looked directly onto bricks

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals

14 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's very small, clean, safe, quiet and in a good location. The room I had this time was better than the last time I was there.

Disliked: It would be great to have a small machine int the room for morning coffee.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Quiet location, close to subway and other facilities. Rooms were clean and comfortable.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Simon Cooper

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2014 Simon would recommend this property

Liked: It was very old world American, which gave a great atmosphere to our stay, especially the lift.

Disliked: The bathrooms are shared between the other rooms on your floor.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Charissa Seward

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 Charissa would recommend this property

Liked: The location for the price you pay is awesome. I found the beds fine. A lot of the negative reviews I read didn't hold up for me, people will complain about anything!!. The place is fine. Especially for the price you pay.

Disliked: Aircon was a bit rubbish. It is very loud. We stayed in Dec but NY was unusually warm and the room was roasting due to heaters. But this was a very small issue.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

05 December 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is in a great location in midtown Manhattan, just a short walk from the Empire State Building, Macy's, Koreatown and a lot of other attractions and with a subway station just around the corner (33rd Street Green line). If you're located on the West side of the building, you should even have a view of the Empire State Building! It also has a bunch of cafes and fast food places around the corner -ideal for grabbing something for breakfast in the mornings - and an awesome sushi place right next door. The staff are friendly and happy to help. The cleaning staff are also very efficient and kept both the room and shared bathroom very clean. The room itself was small but perfectly ok for the two of us (we booked a private double), with a decent selection of TV channels for chilling out after a hard day's shopping and sight-seeing.

Disliked: The room was a little bit chilly (we were there in late November), and the heating unit could be a little noisy during the night. The wi-fi was also a little patchy sometimes.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 November 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cozy room with essentials for comfort, covenient location.

Disliked: Shower was small

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alexander Svartbäck Klang

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2013 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: Mycket bra läge för pengarna, bra AC och kändes säkert.

Disliked: Dålig WiFi uppkoppling. Inte hela världen dock.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Toa Thredgold

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2013 Toa would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness was outstanding

Disliked: terrible WiFi connection

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice atmosphere + very clean. Great location.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The shared bathrooms were always clean and the maid service was great.

Disliked: Lack of facilities and small bedroom, but then New York is known for its small spaces.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

27 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hotel in a fantastic location right in the middle of manhattan!

Disliked: The staff were friendly enough, but the service wasn't anything special.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and good central location.

Disliked: Room was a bit cold.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 April 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: i really liked the location and security of the hotel.i would stay here again but would choose the private bathroom facility.

Disliked: no restaurant or tea coffee facilty was annoying

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Sun Oh

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2013 Sun would recommend this property

Liked: i like freindly staff, and the location.

Disliked: Sun left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location and clean

Disliked: a bit cramped on the stairs and bathroom could use heating

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

25 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It is very comfotble and the transportation is very convenience nearby Manhattan.The staff is friendliness and helpfulness. I will recommend this property to other travellers.

Disliked: There is not coffeehot,I could not drink hot water.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Elisa Manninen

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2012 Elisa would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect!

Disliked: The wi-fi was not working properly.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was extremely close to everything we wanted to see in Manhatten. It was also close to the subway and bus routes, so things were asy to get to. It was also in a quiet neighborhood. We never heard our neighbors (in or out of the hotel). We never felt unsafe and it was easy to come and go as we pleased. When we had to change our reservations last minute, the staff was nice and didn't charge us for the night we couldn't stay. Check in and check out were very easy. The room was small, but very clean and had everything we needed. The property wasn't ever crowded and the shared bathroom wasn't an issue. It seemed a great value for the island.

Disliked: At first, the staff was very cagey about my wanting to speak to the manager about changing the reservations. I'm not sure why this is, but when I finally did speak to the manager, everything was fine. The mattresses and pillows were very hard. After a couple nights, we actually started to get a little sore. It also would have been nice to have access to a refrigerator to keep food in the room. I realize that this is a luxury and wouldn't preclude my staying there again, but when you're trying to do things on the cheap, it would have been nice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness and easy access to find property. I would definitely stay again when in NYC.

Disliked: Nothing