HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel 31

2 star Hotel | 120 East 31st Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10016

78.4% Overall Rating

889 out of 932 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/02/2014)

"It's very small, clean, safe, quiet and in a good location. The room I had this time was better than the last time I was there."

Read all Hotel 31 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Prices DO NOT include 13.38% tax and $3.50 per day occupancy charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 17
77.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.6% 453 reviews
Hotel Pennsylvania
162.50 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
Equity Point New York @ Times Square
174.83 USD

Hostel 84.3% 190 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Chelsea Inn
79.50 USD

Hostel 79.0% 329 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
59.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 8 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
95.49 USD

Hostel 47.4% 5 reviews
Times Square Dream Apartments
45.00 USD

Apartment 83.2% 198 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

889 out of 932 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel 31'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
72.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 610 of 677 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and calm, good location, room was unfortunately a bit smelly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to some of the main highlights such as the Empire State Building.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Johan van den Berg

08 July 2009 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and well looked after.Bathrooms was also very clean and cleaned very often. Very quiet place and not much goin on there.Location is excellent, not right in the crazy city, but only 5min walk from Empire State building and 34th street for shopping etc. Good base for sleeping and enjoying NYC

Disliked: Johan left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend this hostel to my friends.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good clean and well located

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness and price are perfect. The only thing I didn't like about the hotel is that the evening we had to go to the airport they offered us a not very serious car service. As we didn't have cash they told us we could pay it with a credit card. However, once we were in the car the driver said to us he was not accepting our credit card (because he was earning less money that way), so we had to take out some money in an ATM (cash dispenser). When we had to pay him the service (68$), we gave him 80$ and he pretended not to have any change. We had to wait for some minutes till he gave the change to us.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was surprised.It was very clean, cozy and calm. The location is awesome. You can reach lots of interesting places by walking, Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza, Flatiron District, Diamond district and so on.As we had a private room, it was a little bit more expensive than an average hostel room. Compared to a hotel, though, it was cheap.I would recommend this place to anybody who is going to NYC.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and good service.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Price, view on the Empire State Building from my bed...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent but some little things people should know about.. Hotel 31 has very very narrow corridores. A bit difficult to move around with luggage. Room (twin) was also very small for 2 people with 4 pieces of luggage. Only 1 elevator was not a problem until one day it was out of order.. walking up the stairs 8 floors after a day of serious shopping was a bit unpleasant. The most important things were perfect: clean, safe, friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Susanne Metz

04 March 2009 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: A good place and location for the money!

Disliked: Susanne left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The shared bathroom was always clean and never really had to wait to use it. Rooms were made up regualy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

23 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tina Walmsley

18 February 2009 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price and hotel management

Disliked: Tina left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

10 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it`s very clean. Everz daz a new towel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 February 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the roooms are small as stated but the location was perfect - could walk almost everywhere and the subway one block away

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

23 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and not expensive

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

sirje tamm

20 January 2009 sirje would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: sirje left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

17 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is great!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

05 January 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, good location (near subway), no curfew

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Alison Forbes

03 January 2009 Alison would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent locationEase of check in and check outCleanlinessTemperature

Disliked: Alison left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 December 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the cleanliness and the liberty of coming and going. They have magnetic cards as keys, so you don´t need to be leaving the keys of your room every time you go out. I also like the people that was very friendly personally, by the phone I wouldn´t think that. I miss Wi Fi zones at the hotel. Next time I go to NY city I will definitely stay in this hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.