We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel 31

2 star Hotel | 120 East 31st Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10016

87.3% Overall Rating

913 out of 956 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/08/2015)

"My fivth stay and I will return because: great location, extremly clean, very very helpful service and good value for money."

Read all Hotel 31 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Prices DO NOT include 13.38% tax and $3.50 per day occupancy charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 17
74.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 458 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Chelsea Inn
79.50 USD

Hostel 78.7% 336 reviews
Riff Hotel
21.66 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.5% 24 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
95.49 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 58.9% 176 reviews
New York Guesthouse
49.00 USD

Guesthouse 62.9% 17 reviews
Jazz on Columbus Circle
65.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 04/09/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.3%

Overall Rating

913 out of 956 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel 31'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
96.8%
Facilities
76.8%
Cleanliness
95.2%
Staff
81.6%
Value
90.4%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 622 of 702 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

30 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Thomas Grund

22 October 2009 Thomas would recommend this property

Liked: perfect location in the very manhattan. rooms are small and dark and without own toilet and stuff. but hey! you won't stay in your room when you are in n.y.c.

Disliked: Thomas left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For this price, the best you can get in Manhattan.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 October 2009

Liked: location (!!!), the japanese restaurant next door

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel had an excellent location not far from the 33rd street subway stop and my room was clean and quiet. The desk staff were very helpful and polite. I wanted to stay for another couple of nights but it was full however they went out of their way to find me a place close by. I will use this hotel next time I'm in New York

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money in midtown of Manhattan

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

marie mcdermott

28 September 2009 marie would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and Manhatton easily accessed.

Disliked: marie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's really nice place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Samarotto

31 August 2009 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Location, nice place, good looking, quiet, clean, good size of the room

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Great value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, great price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Hotel 31 for 11 days. We had a big ensuite room on the 8th floor and couldn't complain about anything.On the third day the air conditioning was leaking water and they fixed it immediately without us even telling them about the problem.My boyfriend also tried the shared bathroom and found it super clean.If you want to see NYC on a budget, this is the perfect place: Hotel 31 is in walking distance from the Empire State Building, with Times Square and Grand Central being oanly a ten minutes walk away.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and calm, good location, room was unfortunately a bit smelly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to some of the main highlights such as the Empire State Building.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Johan van den Berg

08 July 2009 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and well looked after.Bathrooms was also very clean and cleaned very often. Very quiet place and not much goin on there.Location is excellent, not right in the crazy city, but only 5min walk from Empire State building and 34th street for shopping etc. Good base for sleeping and enjoying NYC

Disliked: Johan left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend this hostel to my friends.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good clean and well located

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness and price are perfect. The only thing I didn't like about the hotel is that the evening we had to go to the airport they offered us a not very serious car service. As we didn't have cash they told us we could pay it with a credit card. However, once we were in the car the driver said to us he was not accepting our credit card (because he was earning less money that way), so we had to take out some money in an ATM (cash dispenser). When we had to pay him the service (68$), we gave him 80$ and he pretended not to have any change. We had to wait for some minutes till he gave the change to us.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was surprised.It was very clean, cozy and calm. The location is awesome. You can reach lots of interesting places by walking, Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza, Flatiron District, Diamond district and so on.As we had a private room, it was a little bit more expensive than an average hostel room. Compared to a hotel, though, it was cheap.I would recommend this place to anybody who is going to NYC.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and good service.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Price, view on the Empire State Building from my bed...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent but some little things people should know about.. Hotel 31 has very very narrow corridores. A bit difficult to move around with luggage. Room (twin) was also very small for 2 people with 4 pieces of luggage. Only 1 elevator was not a problem until one day it was out of order.. walking up the stairs 8 floors after a day of serious shopping was a bit unpleasant. The most important things were perfect: clean, safe, friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.