We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel 31

2 star Hotel | 120 East 31st Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10016

84.9% Overall Rating

908 out of 951 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/01/2015)

"Close to the Empire State Building! Our room was on the 8th floor and very quiet considering the traffic outside. The room was very clean and we appreciated being upgraded to a private bathroom."

Read all Hotel 31 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Prices DO NOT include 13.38% tax and $3.50 per day occupancy charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 17
69.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.6% 457 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Chelsea Inn
69.50 USD

Hostel 78.7% 336 reviews
Riff Hotel
25.56 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.3% 18 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
84.19 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Times Square House
45.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 216 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 60.5% 174 reviews
New York Guesthouse
45.00 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/03/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.9%

Overall Rating

908 out of 951 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel 31'

Atmosphere
78.4%
Location
93.6%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
79.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
88.0%
Refine your results Showing 620 of 697 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

13 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For this price, the best you can get in Manhattan.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

08 October 2009

Liked: location (!!!), the japanese restaurant next door

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel had an excellent location not far from the 33rd street subway stop and my room was clean and quiet. The desk staff were very helpful and polite. I wanted to stay for another couple of nights but it was full however they went out of their way to find me a place close by. I will use this hotel next time I'm in New York

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 October 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money in midtown of Manhattan

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

marie mcdermott

28 September 2009 marie would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and Manhatton easily accessed.

Disliked: marie left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it's really nice place

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Samarotto

31 August 2009 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Location, nice place, good looking, quiet, clean, good size of the room

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

29 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Great value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

27 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good location, great price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 August 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed at Hotel 31 for 11 days. We had a big ensuite room on the 8th floor and couldn't complain about anything.On the third day the air conditioning was leaking water and they fixed it immediately without us even telling them about the problem.My boyfriend also tried the shared bathroom and found it super clean.If you want to see NYC on a budget, this is the perfect place: Hotel 31 is in walking distance from the Empire State Building, with Times Square and Grand Central being oanly a ten minutes walk away.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and calm, good location, room was unfortunately a bit smelly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

09 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Walking distance to some of the main highlights such as the Empire State Building.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Johan van den Berg

08 July 2009 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and well looked after.Bathrooms was also very clean and cleaned very often. Very quiet place and not much goin on there.Location is excellent, not right in the crazy city, but only 5min walk from Empire State building and 34th street for shopping etc. Good base for sleeping and enjoying NYC

Disliked: Johan left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

03 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I would recommend this hostel to my friends.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

12 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

04 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good clean and well located

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness and price are perfect. The only thing I didn't like about the hotel is that the evening we had to go to the airport they offered us a not very serious car service. As we didn't have cash they told us we could pay it with a credit card. However, once we were in the car the driver said to us he was not accepting our credit card (because he was earning less money that way), so we had to take out some money in an ATM (cash dispenser). When we had to pay him the service (68$), we gave him 80$ and he pretended not to have any change. We had to wait for some minutes till he gave the change to us.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was surprised.It was very clean, cozy and calm. The location is awesome. You can reach lots of interesting places by walking, Times Square, Rockefeller Plaza, Flatiron District, Diamond district and so on.As we had a private room, it was a little bit more expensive than an average hostel room. Compared to a hotel, though, it was cheap.I would recommend this place to anybody who is going to NYC.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location, price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

20 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very good location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

18 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, clean and good service.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Price, view on the Empire State Building from my bed...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

18 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent but some little things people should know about.. Hotel 31 has very very narrow corridores. A bit difficult to move around with luggage. Room (twin) was also very small for 2 people with 4 pieces of luggage. Only 1 elevator was not a problem until one day it was out of order.. walking up the stairs 8 floors after a day of serious shopping was a bit unpleasant. The most important things were perfect: clean, safe, friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Susanne Metz

04 March 2009 Susanne would recommend this property

Liked: A good place and location for the money!

Disliked: Susanne left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 March 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The shared bathroom was always clean and never really had to wait to use it. Rooms were made up regualy

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.