HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel 31

2 star Hotel | 120 East 31st Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10016

78.4% Overall Rating

889 out of 932 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/02/2014)

"It's very small, clean, safe, quiet and in a good location. The room I had this time was better than the last time I was there."

Read all Hotel 31 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Prices DO NOT include 13.38% tax and $3.50 per day occupancy charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 17
77.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.6% 453 reviews
Hotel Pennsylvania
162.50 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
Equity Point New York @ Times Square
68.25 USD

Hostel 84.3% 190 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Chelsea Inn
74.50 USD

Hostel 79.0% 329 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
59.99 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 8 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
106.79 USD

Hostel 47.4% 5 reviews
Times Square Dream Apartments
45.00 USD

Apartment 83.2% 198 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 17/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

889 out of 932 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel 31'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
72.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 610 of 677 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sofie Sjolund

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

23 May 2011 Sofie would recommend this property

Liked: lokation

Disliked: That they did not have any breakfast

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel, very clean, friendly staff, safe, an its location coudn't be better

Disliked: nothing, it was great

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Green

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Actual hotel, lobby staff, great location, good price, neat, clean rooms and bathrooms

Disliked: Not much

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very, very clean!

Disliked: Old man at the reception was strange.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Not en suite.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleaness

Disliked: It's not a funny place, you can't meet people here. there aren't common areas

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Helen Atkin

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was helpful in swapping our room to a twin when we arrived. They were also helpful advising us on the transport options to get to the airport. It is closely located to a couple of cafes for breakfast and wifi.

Disliked: It's quite an old heating system that can be rather noisy, especially later in the evening.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and price for New York standards. Recently renovated.

Disliked: Having to move rooms once and therefore having to pack up all my things again!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean and good service.

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location midtown is fine, cute kind of rooms, bathroom clean and nice, facilities fine, also they upgraded us to a room with 2 double beds and a bathroom as the elevator was out of order which was nice of them.

Disliked: Staff were grumpy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Svetoslav Bobev

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010 Svetoslav would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, in the heart of the Big apple; clean and regularly maintained; worthy for the money paid; more than suitable for budget travelers who do not need luxury and simply enjoy their life

Disliked: waiting for the elevator is a challenge but a problem for the upper floors

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

21 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It makes me feel like living in the college dorm. Nice place though.

Disliked: The hot water shower is too complicated to adjust.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Williams

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Family Holiday

21 November 2010 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff

Disliked: Struggling with luggage through heavy doors and the lift which is way too small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel 31 was absolutely perfect for my friend and I spending 5 nights in the Big Apple. Location was fabulous for the price and our room was much bigger than any hotel room have been able to afford in NYC before! Loved the cute elevator and staff were extremely helpful, room very clean, and although we had an ensuite I did check out the bathroom on our floor for other guests and it was spotless.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway

04 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, plenty of eating options nearby if desired. Easy walking distance to most attractions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

30 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and nice, the subway was close..staffs are nice and helpful.

Disliked: kindda creepy...the elevator was exactly like the one in inception...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Flavio Grossniklaus

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 August 2010 Flavio would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean. I had the impression that the bath was being cleaned serveral times a day.It's located onely a few steps from the next subway station.Genaraly it was a very pleasant stay for a good price.

Disliked: Though it was realy clean, I must say that there was one little cockroach. The Wi-Fi signal was very weak. The air con extreamly loud.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Benjamins

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

31 July 2010 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, nice staff, clean rooms, clean shared bathrooms.

Disliked: Airco was a little smelly and made a lot of noise for less cooling.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

30 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best value for money in Manhattan. Basic hotel, but with a fantastic location. Rooms are a little small, but make you feel at home.

Disliked: None.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

28 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, near to Times Square

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

22 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location to explore Manhattan from at a reasonable price. Good option for travellers on a budget.

Disliked: Very basic rooms with only a bed and not much else.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

hyecheong kang

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Backpacking / gap year
City break

08 July 2010 hyecheong would recommend this property

Liked: good location. close to subway station and empire state building. enitirely clean and comfortabale. wi-fi works well

Disliked: hyecheong left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

06 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: room smelled

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Jamie Greenebaum

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

30 June 2010 Jamie would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, and room was relatively nice

Disliked: It was a little pricey for how small it was

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jean-Paul Sige

14 June 2010 Jean-Paul would recommend this property

Liked: It's very well situated. Close to 34th Street, metro stations, Grand Central, etc. The decoration is quite lousy, but so clean that I really didn't mind. It's noisy due to bad isolation, but in the same time, people are very respectuous and so you can bear it.

Disliked: Jean-Paul left no negative feedback.