We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel 31

2 star Hotel | 120 East 31st Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10016

86.9% Overall Rating

911 out of 954 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/01/2015)

"Close to the Empire State Building! Our room was on the 8th floor and very quiet considering the traffic outside. The room was very clean and we appreciated being upgraded to a private bathroom."

Read all Hotel 31 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Prices DO NOT include 13.38% tax and $3.50 per day occupancy charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 17
70.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.1% 458 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Chelsea Inn
69.50 USD

Hostel 78.7% 336 reviews
Riff Hotel
25.56 USD

Hotel 3 star 81.5% 23 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
78.54 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
49.00 USD

Hostel 58.9% 176 reviews
New York Guesthouse
49.00 USD

Guesthouse 64.8% 16 reviews
East Village Guesthouse
39.00 USD

Hostel 51.9% 6 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/08/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

911 out of 954 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel 31'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 621 of 700 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Karen Damhuis

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: - Very good location - Clean hotel - Luggage room available

Disliked: - Very noisy airconditioning (bring earplugs!) - Two bathrooms per floor is sufficient, but one on our floor was out of service and the other only had very hot or cold water from the shower. We were advised to use bathrooms on the lower floor, but one of these did not have hot water at all.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Audrey Manchon

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 August 2011 Audrey would recommend this property

Liked: Since we were only in NYC for the weekend, the location was awesome! The staff was professional and the place felt secure since there is someone at the front desk 24/7.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly, beds were comfortable, great location, and good value!

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Tulip

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap with a great location for New York attractions

Disliked: It was very basic. But clean and secure. Ideal for those looking to spend the majority of their time out exploring New York, and not spend time in the hotel other than to sleep and shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

SERDAR ERKAN

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

10 July 2011 SERDAR would recommend this property

Liked: restroom

Disliked: no loby

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Liked que cleaness of the bathrom and the privace

Disliked: The bedroom was verry hot

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

30 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Good location

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Fabrizio Delfini

With friends / other travellers

City break

22 June 2011 Fabrizio would recommend this property

Liked: Great position! Excellent price/quality ratio

Disliked: Air conditioning too noisy

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alana Figueiredo

With friends / other travellers

Shopping

20 June 2011 Alana would recommend this property

Liked: ok

Disliked: anything

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Yvonne Hakkaart

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2011 Yvonne would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, quiet, good value for money

Disliked: no view (wall for window), but we only slept there so no problem

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - centrally located - clean

Disliked: - nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Sofie Sjolund

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

23 May 2011 Sofie would recommend this property

Liked: lokation

Disliked: That they did not have any breakfast

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

17 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great hostel, very clean, friendly staff, safe, an its location coudn't be better

Disliked: nothing, it was great

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Emily Green

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 May 2011 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: Actual hotel, lobby staff, great location, good price, neat, clean rooms and bathrooms

Disliked: Not much

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very, very clean!

Disliked: Old man at the reception was strange.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Not en suite.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

03 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleaness

Disliked: It's not a funny place, you can't meet people here. there aren't common areas

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Helen Atkin

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2011 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was helpful in swapping our room to a twin when we arrived. They were also helpful advising us on the transport options to get to the airport. It is closely located to a couple of cafes for breakfast and wifi.

Disliked: It's quite an old heating system that can be rather noisy, especially later in the evening.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and price for New York standards. Recently renovated.

Disliked: Having to move rooms once and therefore having to pack up all my things again!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

02 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean and good service.

Disliked: -

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location midtown is fine, cute kind of rooms, bathroom clean and nice, facilities fine, also they upgraded us to a room with 2 double beds and a bathroom as the elevator was out of order which was nice of them.

Disliked: Staff were grumpy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Svetoslav Bobev

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 December 2010 Svetoslav would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location, in the heart of the Big apple; clean and regularly maintained; worthy for the money paid; more than suitable for budget travelers who do not need luxury and simply enjoy their life

Disliked: waiting for the elevator is a challenge but a problem for the upper floors

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping

21 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It makes me feel like living in the college dorm. Nice place though.

Disliked: The hot water shower is too complicated to adjust.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Henry Williams

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Family Holiday

21 November 2010 Henry would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, helpful staff

Disliked: Struggling with luggage through heavy doors and the lift which is way too small.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel 31 was absolutely perfect for my friend and I spending 5 nights in the Big Apple. Location was fabulous for the price and our room was much bigger than any hotel room have been able to afford in NYC before! Loved the cute elevator and staff were extremely helpful, room very clean, and although we had an ensuite I did check out the bathroom on our floor for other guests and it was spotless.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.