We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel 31

2 star Hotel | 120 East 31st Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10016

86.9% Overall Rating

911 out of 954 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/01/2015)

"Close to the Empire State Building! Our room was on the 8th floor and very quiet considering the traffic outside. The room was very clean and we appreciated being upgraded to a private bathroom."

Read all Hotel 31 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Prices DO NOT include 13.38% tax and $3.50 per day occupancy charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 17
74.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.6% 457 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Chelsea Inn
74.50 USD

Hostel 78.7% 336 reviews
Riff Hotel
15.81 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.6% 22 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
89.84 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Times Square House
55.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 216 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
45.00 USD

Hostel 58.9% 176 reviews
New York Guesthouse
45.00 USD

Guesthouse 64.8% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/05/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.9%

Overall Rating

911 out of 954 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel 31'

Atmosphere
79.2%
Location
96.0%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
96.0%
Staff
82.4%
Value
90.4%
Safety
89.6%
Refine your results Showing 621 of 700 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

ELISABETE SOUZA

Alone

Business / conference

23 April 2012 ELISABETE would recommend this property

Liked: Accommodations are ok for the price. Locations is also good.

Disliked: The staff didnt help me about the services / things that I asked, especially the Indian Sir that works at night. He is so unsupportive and unpolite. I didnt remember the name from guy that works in the morning, but he was more kind and supportive. However, the attendant from night shit has caused me the first bad impression and I couldn't change the feeling.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ilona Safonova

Alone

City break

13 April 2012 Ilona would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great - just 5 min walking from Empire State building, 10 min from Times Square, 25 min to Central Park, 3 min to subway. Room was cleaned every day and towels were changed as well. Bathroom on the floor was shared but it was never occupied and I had a feeling I live alone there :) Btw bathroom was always clean. Good value for money.

Disliked: In the shared bathroom on 7th floor it was quite chalenging to adjust hot/cold water and the pressure of water was very weak.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendly staff, nice rooms, very clean, excellent price for manhattan. nothing to complain about really.

Disliked: there are no breakfast rooms at the hotel. however, you can order it to your room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sabine spaltowski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Sabine would recommend this property

Liked: great stay. i would recommend this hotel to my friends and family. stuff was friendly and helpful. location is great, east-midtown, close to empire state building. room size was ok, enough for 2 persons, the room was clean. 2 bathrooms on each floor, is ok, if u are an early bird. but mostly clean. best price hotel in a great location in the middle of NEW YORK CITY.

Disliked: Sabine left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is really great, the staff very helpful, absolutely worth the money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, the view on the empire state building, the comfortable bed, the cleanliness of the room and shared bathroom

Disliked: everything was ok for the price

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jennifer Ter

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, nice and close to Times Square and a lot of different attractions.

Disliked: I don´t know

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

william stickley

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 william would recommend this property

Liked: Basic needs met at a really reasonable price. I recommend to everyone! Stay here!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For this price and location it's the best deal in Manhattan.

Disliked: No internet connection.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alysha Wilson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2012 Alysha would recommend this property

Liked: The character of the building! The elevator was hilarious, rooms were clean, great sushi next door, subway on Park Avenue :)

Disliked: It was a bit pricey, but it is Manhattan and everything else was even more expensive. The heater was clunky at night. Beds and pillows were pretty firm. (Nothing terrible though)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Xiao Geng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Xiao would recommend this property

Liked: For the location and for the price, it's a nice valued one

Disliked: Xiao left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: no private bathrooms, unfriendly staff, old building

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was really helpfull and gentle

Disliked: Furniture are a little bit old but the place is clean and nice

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Werner Kleine

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2011 Werner would recommend this property

Liked: central stituated

Disliked: air condition too noisy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel 31 is a great option for people who want a nice, clean, affordable hotel with no frills. The rooms are very small, but extremely clean and laid out to include all the necessities-- closet space, small desk, sink, small flat screen TV. The front desk staff were always nice and the location is great. Very close to a subway stop and many places are walkable. We had a room with a shared bathroom and I can't stress how CLEAN the bathrooms are there. They are honestly cleaned constantly throughout the day.

Disliked: I enjoyed everything about Hotel 31 and would definitely recommend it to friends and would book there again myself.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011

Liked: The quirky lift

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2011

Liked: It was located near the place i wanted to go. Near the subway station .

Disliked: The very small rooms- no view, no microwave, not enough toilet paper in the toilets and washroom considering it was common. No free coffee or tea or even a welcome water.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very cosy and clean and it is so close to nearlky all sights in NYC. The Subway is very close and you have a supermarket next door, something to have breakfast/lunch and dinner.

Disliked: ____________

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: shared bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MELIZA MATOS KOO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 MELIZA would recommend this property

Liked: great location, staff so nice, specially the senior adult who was so lovely helping and giving directions, wonderful ambiance of classic antique hotel.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthias Stuewe

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Places close to eat. Close to Empire State Building.

Disliked: Elevator, no breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erika Bosch

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location and even the bathrooms were shared, they were cleaned several times a day.

Disliked: Small rooms with view on a blind wall

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: everything looks old and dirty

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Begolo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The quality-price ratio was perfect! If your balance is limited, but you are looking for a clean private room, here you are!

Disliked: Hotel 31 is not terrifically amazing! It's simply a good, clean nonetheless cheap hotel!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011

Liked: It is close to 34th street, which is a great palce for shopping, and not that far away from Times Square, 20 blocks walking or just one subway stop away.

Disliked: The mess about the rooms was not a good way to start my vacation.