HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel 31

2 star Hotel | 120 East 31st Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10016

84.3% Overall Rating

902 out of 945 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2014)

Amanda Felzmann thinks…

"The location is what matters most to me in NYC. I knew that it was hostel style living quarters. Our room was a full bed in a small room with a TV, AC, sink, vanity, safe and telephone. The hotel has…"

Read all Hotel 31 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Prices DO NOT include 13.38% tax and $3.50 per day occupancy charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 17
74.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.6% 457 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Chelsea Inn
79.50 USD

Hostel 77.6% 335 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
29.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 85.9% 13 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
101.14 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Times Square House
45.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 216 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
49.00 USD

Hostel 61.5% 173 reviews
New York Guesthouse
49.00 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

902 out of 945 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel 31'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 617 of 691 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is really great, the staff very helpful, absolutely worth the money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, the view on the empire state building, the comfortable bed, the cleanliness of the room and shared bathroom

Disliked: everything was ok for the price

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jennifer Ter

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, nice and close to Times Square and a lot of different attractions.

Disliked: I don´t know

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

william stickley

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 william would recommend this property

Liked: Basic needs met at a really reasonable price. I recommend to everyone! Stay here!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For this price and location it's the best deal in Manhattan.

Disliked: No internet connection.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alysha Wilson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2012 Alysha would recommend this property

Liked: The character of the building! The elevator was hilarious, rooms were clean, great sushi next door, subway on Park Avenue :)

Disliked: It was a bit pricey, but it is Manhattan and everything else was even more expensive. The heater was clunky at night. Beds and pillows were pretty firm. (Nothing terrible though)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Xiao Geng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Xiao would recommend this property

Liked: For the location and for the price, it's a nice valued one

Disliked: Xiao left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2012

Liked: Location

Disliked: no private bathrooms, unfriendly staff, old building

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping

11 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the staff was really helpfull and gentle

Disliked: Furniture are a little bit old but the place is clean and nice

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Werner Kleine

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 December 2011 Werner would recommend this property

Liked: central stituated

Disliked: air condition too noisy

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

21 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel 31 is a great option for people who want a nice, clean, affordable hotel with no frills. The rooms are very small, but extremely clean and laid out to include all the necessities-- closet space, small desk, sink, small flat screen TV. The front desk staff were always nice and the location is great. Very close to a subway stop and many places are walkable. We had a room with a shared bathroom and I can't stress how CLEAN the bathrooms are there. They are honestly cleaned constantly throughout the day.

Disliked: I enjoyed everything about Hotel 31 and would definitely recommend it to friends and would book there again myself.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011

Liked: The quirky lift

Disliked: Nothing

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Visiting friends or family

20 October 2011

Liked: It was located near the place i wanted to go. Near the subway station .

Disliked: The very small rooms- no view, no microwave, not enough toilet paper in the toilets and washroom considering it was common. No free coffee or tea or even a welcome water.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are very cosy and clean and it is so close to nearlky all sights in NYC. The Subway is very close and you have a supermarket next door, something to have breakfast/lunch and dinner.

Disliked: ____________

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

29 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: price

Disliked: shared bathroom

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MELIZA MATOS KOO

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 September 2011 MELIZA would recommend this property

Liked: great location, staff so nice, specially the senior adult who was so lovely helping and giving directions, wonderful ambiance of classic antique hotel.

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Matthias Stuewe

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Matthias would recommend this property

Liked: Good location. Places close to eat. Close to Empire State Building.

Disliked: Elevator, no breakfast

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Erika Bosch

As a family with children

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Erika would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location and even the bathrooms were shared, they were cleaned several times a day.

Disliked: Small rooms with view on a blind wall

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011

Liked: good location

Disliked: everything looks old and dirty

88.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Begolo

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

20 August 2011 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: The quality-price ratio was perfect! If your balance is limited, but you are looking for a clean private room, here you are!

Disliked: Hotel 31 is not terrifically amazing! It's simply a good, clean nonetheless cheap hotel!

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011

Liked: It is close to 34th street, which is a great palce for shopping, and not that far away from Times Square, 20 blocks walking or just one subway stop away.

Disliked: The mess about the rooms was not a good way to start my vacation.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Karen Damhuis

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Karen would recommend this property

Liked: - Very good location - Clean hotel - Luggage room available

Disliked: - Very noisy airconditioning (bring earplugs!) - Two bathrooms per floor is sufficient, but one on our floor was out of service and the other only had very hot or cold water from the shower. We were advised to use bathrooms on the lower floor, but one of these did not have hot water at all.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Audrey Manchon

With friends / other travellers

City break

01 August 2011 Audrey would recommend this property

Liked: Since we were only in NYC for the weekend, the location was awesome! The staff was professional and the place felt secure since there is someone at the front desk 24/7.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very friendly, beds were comfortable, great location, and good value!

Disliked: Nothing!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paul Tulip

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

13 July 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap with a great location for New York attractions

Disliked: It was very basic. But clean and secure. Ideal for those looking to spend the majority of their time out exploring New York, and not spend time in the hotel other than to sleep and shower.