HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel 31

2 star Hotel | 120 East 31st Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10016

78.4% Overall Rating

889 out of 932 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (14/02/2014)

"It's very small, clean, safe, quiet and in a good location. The room I had this time was better than the last time I was there."

Read all Hotel 31 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Prices DO NOT include 13.38% tax and $3.50 per day occupancy charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 17
77.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.8% 455 reviews
Hotel Pennsylvania
162.50 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
Equity Point New York @ Times Square
68.25 USD

Hostel 86.9% 194 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Chelsea Inn
74.50 USD

Hostel 79.0% 329 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
29.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 8 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
101.14 USD

Hostel 47.4% 5 reviews
Times Square Dream Apartments
45.00 USD

Apartment 83.8% 199 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

889 out of 932 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel 31'

Atmosphere
73.6%
Location
84.8%
Facilities
68.8%
Cleanliness
83.2%
Staff
72.8%
Value
83.2%
Safety
82.4%
Refine your results Showing 610 of 678 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For New York this property was the best we could find the the price range we had. It's location is great, right near a subway and there is a cheap laundry across the road. It was clean. We had a shared bathroom, there were 2 on our level and we never had to wait. Nothing great but when in New York you only need a hotel to sleep nothing else!

Disliked: It was fine for the price

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was close to subways, local cafes and restaurants. It was easy enough to catch a subway on 33rd to Time Square (via Grand Central Shuttle).

Disliked: Facilities were reasonable (shared bathrooms - they were mostly clean), however the service we received was rather terrible. We found the staff rather unhelpful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Size of the room, TV, they have someone who looks after your luggage even after you check out when your plane leaves late

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012

Liked: good location~

Disliked: Bad attitude of the staff in the reception desk!!!! Old facilities

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miranda rotz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 Miranda would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is located in Manhattan, and in walking distance most attractions. It was clean and safe.. we didn't have to worry about leaving anything of value in our hotel room. The hotel has a very classic hotel charm.

Disliked: The only real concern we had about the hotel was that our floor smelled strange. A very strong scent that was used on our floor, and in our room. It was really strong, and I imagine if you had any allergy to perfume, it would have caused quite the reaction.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lorna Bertles

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 July 2012 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect - central so that everything was within walking distance and if you didn't feel like walking the subway was only a 3 min walk away.

Disliked: The air con was a bit loud but other than that there was no real issues.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 July 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Bugs

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Extremely clean and charming hotel rooms. Great location. Staff lovely and helpful. Def value for money here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tyler Burgess

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 May 2012 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: This place has that true New York City feel. It is charming. I love the decor. Great air conditioner, too. Sink in the room with shampoo, towels. Nice place to stay on a budget. In a quiet neighborhood in a great location.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Steve Roadhouse

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Building is very old. Be prepared for this. Slow, small elevator.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jana Jandova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmospheric hotel that offers good value for money.

Disliked: I missed breakfast or kitchen area, but there are shops around where you can buy breakfast cheap and dine well so not a big issue

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and price for Manhattan. Some great options nearby for food - Indian food a few blocks south and east, 2nd avenue Deli on 33rd, pizza next door, Shake Shack on 5th next to Flatiron building. Rooms and bathroom immaculately clean, and fresh towels/linen everyday.

Disliked: No lounge area, and wireless was very weak but, as many reviewers have said, plenty of Starbucks within a few blocks, and really, this is a great hotel for the price. Would definitely recommend to anyone on a budget.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gisèle DECAUX

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Gisèle would recommend this property

Liked: the location is excellent and the hotel is simple but clean

Disliked: Gisèle left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe.good location.

Disliked: Nothing. it was good

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

ELISABETE SOUZA

Alone

Business / conference

23 April 2012 ELISABETE would recommend this property

Liked: Accommodations are ok for the price. Locations is also good.

Disliked: The staff didnt help me about the services / things that I asked, especially the Indian Sir that works at night. He is so unsupportive and unpolite. I didnt remember the name from guy that works in the morning, but he was more kind and supportive. However, the attendant from night shit has caused me the first bad impression and I couldn't change the feeling.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ilona Safonova

Alone

City break

13 April 2012 Ilona would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great - just 5 min walking from Empire State building, 10 min from Times Square, 25 min to Central Park, 3 min to subway. Room was cleaned every day and towels were changed as well. Bathroom on the floor was shared but it was never occupied and I had a feeling I live alone there :) Btw bathroom was always clean. Good value for money.

Disliked: In the shared bathroom on 7th floor it was quite chalenging to adjust hot/cold water and the pressure of water was very weak.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendly staff, nice rooms, very clean, excellent price for manhattan. nothing to complain about really.

Disliked: there are no breakfast rooms at the hotel. however, you can order it to your room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sabine spaltowski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Sabine would recommend this property

Liked: great stay. i would recommend this hotel to my friends and family. stuff was friendly and helpful. location is great, east-midtown, close to empire state building. room size was ok, enough for 2 persons, the room was clean. 2 bathrooms on each floor, is ok, if u are an early bird. but mostly clean. best price hotel in a great location in the middle of NEW YORK CITY.

Disliked: Sabine left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

31 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location is really great, the staff very helpful, absolutely worth the money!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location, the view on the empire state building, the comfortable bed, the cleanliness of the room and shared bathroom

Disliked: everything was ok for the price

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jennifer Ter

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean, nice and close to Times Square and a lot of different attractions.

Disliked: I don´t know

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

william stickley

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 william would recommend this property

Liked: Basic needs met at a really reasonable price. I recommend to everyone! Stay here!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

27 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For this price and location it's the best deal in Manhattan.

Disliked: No internet connection.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Alysha Wilson

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

18 January 2012 Alysha would recommend this property

Liked: The character of the building! The elevator was hilarious, rooms were clean, great sushi next door, subway on Park Avenue :)

Disliked: It was a bit pricey, but it is Manhattan and everything else was even more expensive. The heater was clunky at night. Beds and pillows were pretty firm. (Nothing terrible though)

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Xiao Geng

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

17 January 2012 Xiao would recommend this property

Liked: For the location and for the price, it's a nice valued one

Disliked: Xiao left no negative feedback.