We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel 31

2 star Hotel | 120 East 31st Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10016

84.3% Overall Rating

902 out of 945 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (30/06/2014)

Amanda Felzmann thinks…

"The location is what matters most to me in NYC. I knew that it was hostel style living quarters. Our room was a full bed in a small room with a TV, AC, sink, vanity, safe and telephone. The hotel has…"

Read all Hotel 31 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wake-up calls
  • Elevator / lift(s)
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Please Note: Prices DO NOT include 13.38% tax and $3.50 per day occupancy charge

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Hotel 17
69.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.6% 457 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Chelsea Inn
74.50 USD

Hostel 77.6% 335 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
29.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.7% 14 reviews
AWA New York Downtown Hostel
95.49 USD

Hostel 62.5% 9 reviews
Times Square House
45.00 USD

Guesthouse 93.3% 216 reviews
Boutiques Hostel
39.00 USD

Hostel 61.5% 173 reviews
New York Guesthouse
49.00 USD

Guesthouse 63.4% 15 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
84.3%

Overall Rating

902 out of 945 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel 31'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
91.2%
Staff
79.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 617 of 691 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 24 | 25   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This property was extremely close to everything we wanted to see in Manhatten. It was also close to the subway and bus routes, so things were asy to get to. It was also in a quiet neighborhood. We never heard our neighbors (in or out of the hotel). We never felt unsafe and it was easy to come and go as we pleased. When we had to change our reservations last minute, the staff was nice and didn't charge us for the night we couldn't stay. Check in and check out were very easy. The room was small, but very clean and had everything we needed. The property wasn't ever crowded and the shared bathroom wasn't an issue. It seemed a great value for the island.

Disliked: At first, the staff was very cagey about my wanting to speak to the manager about changing the reservations. I'm not sure why this is, but when I finally did speak to the manager, everything was fine. The mattresses and pillows were very hard. After a couple nights, we actually started to get a little sore. It also would have been nice to have access to a refrigerator to keep food in the room. I realize that this is a luxury and wouldn't preclude my staying there again, but when you're trying to do things on the cheap, it would have been nice.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

04 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I liked the cleanliness and easy access to find property. I would definitely stay again when in NYC.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathalie Lomas

Alone

Business / conference

20 November 2012 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were excellent. I had come to the country to exhibit my art work, and the shipment was held by customs meaning that I had no exhibition. I was devastated, especially when I lost my passport! I was worried about being able to afford the hotel following having to pay a fee to get an emergency passport, so I explained my fears to the poor man at reception (I was a blubbing mess at this point) I asked to check out a day early, simply because I couldn't afford it. They only charged me for 3 and a half days instead of the 5. My faith in humanity is restored. Thank you hotel 31 :) I would definitely use you again (with a fuller purse :)

Disliked: Nathalie left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was great! We walked to Central Park in 30 minutes and Penn Station in about 10. The hotel staff was very helpful and nice. We stayed after the hurricane and the manager gave us $40.00 off even though we had booked it well in advance and we were staying no matter what. It had plenty of storage for our gear and a good sized safe.

Disliked: My only dislike is that there are no hooks in the bathroom so the towels just had to go on the floor.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Victoria Jakes

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012 Victoria would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is great! It's conveniently situation in the Murray Hill area of Manhattan, 10 minutes walk away from The Empire State Building and Macy's with 33rd St subway just round the corner. The staff were really helpful and there's free wi-fi to help you plan your travels and update your friends back home. Rooms were kept clean and there was a baggage storage for us on our last day that was free of charge so we could fit in one more day's worth of sight seeing without having to carry our bags around. When we went to leave, the chap on the desk even arranged a yellow taxi for us too. That's service! Highly recommended!

Disliked: The bathroom/shower room is shared so you'll have to wait if it's busy. If you aim to go early you'll miss the rush, or else enjoy a lie-in and go later! Also - the wi-fi drops out a lot. You have to keep reconnecting. It's worth the hassle though as you'd be paying £20 for 24 hours at a chain hotel.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

15 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the atmosphere in the hotel. It was very cosy and quiet. The service was good, we had to leave some things refrigerated which was no problem, nor was leaving our suitcases behind for an afternoon before catching the plane back home.

Disliked: The only think I disliked a little bit was the lack of private bathroom, but in the end, our room was located next to the shared bathroom so very convenient. The shared bathrooms were always neat and clean and we never had to wait for it to be free.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Tina Lin

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 September 2012 Tina would recommend this property

Liked: The great location, the cleanliness of the rooms and bathrooms, the staff were friendly and available and willing to listen to you, we were able to swap rooms with no hassle.

Disliked: We were concerned about bedbug problems and requested to change rooms because the plastic mattress protector was ripped and we found signs of a bedbug problem. However, to management's credit, we were able to swap rooms easily and had no further problems. Also, there just aren't enough toilets and bathrooms available - very annoying when there are many people in the morning waiting to use the facilities!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For New York this property was the best we could find the the price range we had. It's location is great, right near a subway and there is a cheap laundry across the road. It was clean. We had a shared bathroom, there were 2 on our level and we never had to wait. Nothing great but when in New York you only need a hotel to sleep nothing else!

Disliked: It was fine for the price

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location was close to subways, local cafes and restaurants. It was easy enough to catch a subway on 33rd to Time Square (via Grand Central Shuttle).

Disliked: Facilities were reasonable (shared bathrooms - they were mostly clean), however the service we received was rather terrible. We found the staff rather unhelpful.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Size of the room, TV, they have someone who looks after your luggage even after you check out when your plane leaves late

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2012

Liked: good location~

Disliked: Bad attitude of the staff in the reception desk!!!! Old facilities

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miranda rotz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 July 2012 Miranda would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is located in Manhattan, and in walking distance most attractions. It was clean and safe.. we didn't have to worry about leaving anything of value in our hotel room. The hotel has a very classic hotel charm.

Disliked: The only real concern we had about the hotel was that our floor smelled strange. A very strong scent that was used on our floor, and in our room. It was really strong, and I imagine if you had any allergy to perfume, it would have caused quite the reaction.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Lorna Bertles

With my spouse / partner

City break

24 July 2012 Lorna would recommend this property

Liked: The location was perfect - central so that everything was within walking distance and if you didn't feel like walking the subway was only a 3 min walk away.

Disliked: The air con was a bit loud but other than that there was no real issues.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife

24 July 2012

Liked: Good location

Disliked: Bugs

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great place. Extremely clean and charming hotel rooms. Great location. Staff lovely and helpful. Def value for money here.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tyler Burgess

Alone

Work / volunteering

16 May 2012 Tyler would recommend this property

Liked: This place has that true New York City feel. It is charming. I love the decor. Great air conditioner, too. Sink in the room with shampoo, towels. Nice place to stay on a budget. In a quiet neighborhood in a great location.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Steve Roadhouse

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Steve would recommend this property

Liked: Great location!

Disliked: Building is very old. Be prepared for this. Slow, small elevator.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jana Jandova

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2012 Jana would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice atmospheric hotel that offers good value for money.

Disliked: I missed breakfast or kitchen area, but there are shops around where you can buy breakfast cheap and dine well so not a big issue

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

07 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and price for Manhattan. Some great options nearby for food - Indian food a few blocks south and east, 2nd avenue Deli on 33rd, pizza next door, Shake Shack on 5th next to Flatiron building. Rooms and bathroom immaculately clean, and fresh towels/linen everyday.

Disliked: No lounge area, and wireless was very weak but, as many reviewers have said, plenty of Starbucks within a few blocks, and really, this is a great hotel for the price. Would definitely recommend to anyone on a budget.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Gisèle DECAUX

With a large group / tour

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2012 Gisèle would recommend this property

Liked: the location is excellent and the hotel is simple but clean

Disliked: Gisèle left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe.good location.

Disliked: Nothing. it was good

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

ELISABETE SOUZA

Alone

Business / conference

23 April 2012 ELISABETE would recommend this property

Liked: Accommodations are ok for the price. Locations is also good.

Disliked: The staff didnt help me about the services / things that I asked, especially the Indian Sir that works at night. He is so unsupportive and unpolite. I didnt remember the name from guy that works in the morning, but he was more kind and supportive. However, the attendant from night shit has caused me the first bad impression and I couldn't change the feeling.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ilona Safonova

Alone

City break

13 April 2012 Ilona would recommend this property

Liked: Location is great - just 5 min walking from Empire State building, 10 min from Times Square, 25 min to Central Park, 3 min to subway. Room was cleaned every day and towels were changed as well. Bathroom on the floor was shared but it was never occupied and I had a feeling I live alone there :) Btw bathroom was always clean. Good value for money.

Disliked: In the shared bathroom on 7th floor it was quite chalenging to adjust hot/cold water and the pressure of water was very weak.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break

11 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, friendly staff, nice rooms, very clean, excellent price for manhattan. nothing to complain about really.

Disliked: there are no breakfast rooms at the hotel. however, you can order it to your room.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sabine spaltowski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Sabine would recommend this property

Liked: great stay. i would recommend this hotel to my friends and family. stuff was friendly and helpful. location is great, east-midtown, close to empire state building. room size was ok, enough for 2 persons, the room was clean. 2 bathrooms on each floor, is ok, if u are an early bird. but mostly clean. best price hotel in a great location in the middle of NEW YORK CITY.

Disliked: Sabine left no negative feedback.