HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel 309

2 star Hotel | 309 West 14th Street, New York City, New York, USA 10014 - 5001

78.9% Overall Rating

151 out of 169 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/06/2014)

"Belle terrasse à l'arrière de l'hôtel. Viennoiseries diverses à disposition tous les matins"

Read all Hotel 309 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Hotel and state tax is 14.87%. Service Fees of $0.50 per night will be charged for each Dorm bed and $3.50 per night per private room. Please note: if you fail to cancel the reservation according to the 2 days cancellation policy the property apply a charge of the first night. no shows or cancellations less than 48 hours prior to arrival will result in a charge of the first night's stay excluding tax". “Please note that after you have made a booking via the website the hostel will do a pre-authorization on your bank card. This is not a charge, but a validity check on your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorization will then be removed from your card within a few days.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Chelsea Inn
69.50 USD

Hostel 78.1% 332 reviews
The Chelsea Highline Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 62.7% 233 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
46.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 9 reviews
Hotel Pennsylvania
162.50 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Hotel 17
74.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.8% 455 reviews
Hotel 31
54.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.7% 939 reviews
The Sohotel
45.80 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 87.1% 146 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.9%

Overall Rating

151 out of 169 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel 309'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 111 of 157 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good location

Disliked: some rooms are really noisy due to traffic on 14th st

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: wifi not included

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Adam Harvey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2010 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: good location for everything.

Disliked: Small and dirty. A few things went missing. Couldn't find the lounge area. No one on the front dest from about 10am onwards. Cockroaches in our room!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect beside 14th Street ACE line connecting to Timesquare in under 10mins.

Disliked: N/A

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Business / conference
Events / festivals

27 July 2010

Liked: The only thing was the location.

Disliked: The general attitude of the welcome was heartless and aloof - I was made to feel that I was disturbing them and that if I should have any questions that I could 'try' and find them and that they would 'try' and help if they 'could' (therefore, no promises of any kind to solve anything, just to see what they could do). This made me feel that the management had no interest in the comfort, security and enjoyment of my stay - especially for a single female traveler, this put me off in a number of ways. All my questions were initially only loosely answered, if I hadn't demanded more information - they would just shuffle me off. In the confirmation email, they told me that I would be sharing the bathroom with 3 other rooms - sure, this may have been true, but the bathroom was out in the open - for the entire building to use if they wanted - and therefore, not only shared with 3 other rooms. When advertised, sharing your bathroom with 3 other rooms, means that all the rooms that share that bathroom are in an enclosed area. Furthermore - there was only one well kept bathroom. The other one was disgusting. Run down, with no ventilation (none of the bathrooms had ventilation), with encrusted dust on the vent of what appeared to be a once functioning fan. The locks on the door of these other facilities were mangled and old, they looked like they had been banged into the door, of which the door's edge looked like it had been broken into a few times - just overall damaged and uncared for - even the walls of these other toilets and showers had layers of dirt.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location. Safe. Secure. Value for money? I guess so.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

24 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a great place to stay. Great Locataion!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Accessibility

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

05 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was nice

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kate Etteridge

13 April 2010 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Liked the apartment style rooms, all basic facilities catered for.

Disliked: Kate left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

13 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: For this price, one cannot expect to sleep in a palace... but the place is very well located, clean (not seen a single bed bug during a seven night stay), the staff available when youy need them... the right place for an imprentious stay in NYC.Three bathrooms were brand new after a few works.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

05 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: zimmer waren sauber und die lage unschlagbar - anbindung an die subway war wunderbar

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

16 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, no staff..., good value for money.Cleanliness could be better.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

18 November 2009

Liked: Excellently located, a good sized room and very good value for money.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 October 2009

Liked: good position, neat rooms but there was BED BUGS!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

19 October 2009

Liked: Good location, otherwise very basic.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

17 October 2009

Liked: Bedbugs!!! The place was infested with them. I saw them crawling along the walls and blankets. Also what's the deal with over heating the rooms duri g the day and leaving it to freeze at night??

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Raevennan Husbands

18 September 2009 Raevennan would recommend this property

Liked: We loved everything about Hotel 309. As we were planning on traveling around NYC, my friend and I thought it would be nice to stay in a different hostel/hotel and get to know the area. We ended up returning to Hotel 309 four times in 3 weeks! Although the staff don't appear to be around all of the time, they are there when you need them. It's a great place to stay on a budget! 30 seconds from 3 main subway lines, banks, diners and laundromats - it was truly ideal for our holiday in NYC. I would reccomend this hotel to all traveling to New York City. I'm returning to NY at Christmas time and I'm definitely booking a room here again. Thanks Hotel 309!Rae and KatieLondon, UK

Disliked: Raevennan left no negative feedback.

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

03 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was an ok hostel, wasnt that gd value for money, rooms were ok size, staff were hardly there so couldnt contact them very easily if u had ne questions.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 July 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was clean and tidy with a comfortable bed. Location is great and the staff is helpful although not visually present most of the time. All in all, a nice hostel for a good price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Front rooms are very noisy because 14th Street is very busy. I would recomend all visitors to book back rooms.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

24 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great neighbourhood!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ksenija Zagrajsek

28 April 2009 Ksenija would recommend this property

Liked: The best is location, location, location. It's basic, clean, calm and straightforward. They provide everything if you ask but if you don't need them, you will not see any staff member throughout your stay. For us (me and my husband) that was perfect.

Disliked: Ksenija left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

15 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location of the hotel was great, in a nice area. The room was of a decent size and the small kitchen facility was useful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.