HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel 309

2 star Hotel | 309 West 14th Street, New York City, New York, USA 10014 - 5001

78.4% Overall Rating

142 out of 160 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/11/2013)

Nancy Chua thinks…

"Very accessible to subway and convenient to all travellers since cvs pharmacyis very near."

Read all Hotel 309 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Hotel and state tax is 14.87%. Service Fees of $0.50 per night will be charged for each Dorm bed and $3.50 per night per private room. Please note: if you fail to cancel the reservation according to the 2 days cancellation policy the property apply a charge of the first night. no shows or cancellations less than 48 hours prior to arrival will result in a charge of the first night's stay excluding tax". “Please note that after you have made a booking via the website the hostel will do a pre-authorization on your bank card. This is not a charge, but a validity check on your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorization will then be removed from your card within a few days.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Chelsea Inn
74.50 USD

Hostel 79.0% 329 reviews
The Chelsea Highline Hotel
33.00 USD

Hotel 65.1% 214 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
31.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 8 reviews
Hotel Pennsylvania
162.50 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
Manhattan Bowery Lodge Inc
38.00 USD

Hotel 59.7% 11 reviews
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Hotel 17
77.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.6% 453 reviews
Times Square Dream Apartments
45.00 USD

Apartment 83.8% 199 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.4%

Overall Rating

142 out of 160 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel 309'

Atmosphere
71.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
79.2%
Value
80.8%
Safety
83.2%
Refine your results Showing 106 of 148 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Young

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: We looked for a 'cheap' place to stay (in comparison to othe NY venues) and this seemed like the perfect option. The hotel is in the 'trendy' area of the meatpacking district next to the high line, lots of bars and boutiques; a short subway ride to midtown / downtown although we walked most days. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and although we had a shared bathroom it was always clean. Loved the kitchen area in the room with coffee facility - new Yorkers really love their coffee! Although relatively small the rooms were clean, safe and had really comfy beds.

Disliked: The fact we had to share a bathroom is the only bad thing I can think of, and we were fully aware of that before we booked, and it wasn't at all an issue when we got there! Be aware that the price quoted on hostel bookers is not the full price - room tax is added on arrival on top of what hostel bookers charges. This wasn't completely clear and meant the overall price was more expensive than planned.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s friendly

Disliked: It´s expensive

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elaine McGuire

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2011 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a great location on 14th street, near the subway and within walking distance to Greenwich. The room was clean and had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker which was handy. Overall an enjoyable stay and perfect for young people looking for a safe and clean place to stay on a tighter budget.

Disliked: The air conditioning was rather loud.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has the perfect location, really clean and nice rooms.

Disliked: If you're looking for a hostel, this mught not be it. It's more of a hotel cuz there's no place to hang out with other guests. Except from that, and the fact that there is five floors and no elevator, this place has it all.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location and although fairly basic it had everything we needed. We were also delayed because of hurricane Irene and they took the two days we didn't stay at the hotel off the bill, without question.

Disliked: I would have preferred a small ensuite bathroom to the kitchenette.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mark Holmes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was well eqipped and comfortable with a very useful kitchenette and storage cupboard with safe. The staff were helpful , when we saw them, and one voluntered to carry my heavy pac up to the fourth floor. Also so close to main subway line - ACE

Disliked: A shared bathroom was inconvenient, with only 2 per floor, stairs steep and no lift. reception area basic and no where to meet with other travellers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: No elevator, only stairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I'm very glad I stayed at Hotel 309: the location was perfect, the room had its own bathroom, the cleaning was ok. Unluckily there is no elevator, but I already knew that I wouldn't have found it once there. Anyway, the staff helps you carrying your bags up and then down. Considering the prices in NY, this is an absolutely value for money!!!!!

Disliked: The air conditioning was really noisy and you have to pay for having the internet service.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was fantastic! it's a good neighborhood to go out at night. I have to share the bathroom with 6 rooms, but I've never found anybody! They cleaned the room every day, for this price I can conclude that it was very good!

Disliked: the rooms are really small, but there is all you need, there was also a little kitchen and a fridge. The air conditioning was very noisy. we slept in a room on the second floor, for the people that love living the night this is the best neighborhood but the problem is that if you want to sleep and your room is on the street side is very noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Garrett Glidewell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Garrett would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel 309 is in an awesome location. Practically seconds from subway and an enjoying walk to both Battery Park, Staten Island Ferry, Time Square and really everything we wanted to see.

Disliked: Dislikes is a tough question. I don't have any negative comments.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Pay for wifi, pay for leaving your bags at reception after you check out. no real kitchen avaliable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good area and looked clean

Disliked: Not à lot of offers, deals or information about the city

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, feels like an apartment. Have aircondition! Clean!

Disliked: No commonroom or laundry room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice building and interest expirience

Disliked: They haven't elevator in tne five-storey house! It's realy hard to lift the laggage

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Johanna FERRAND

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: It's just next to the subway, the rooms are nice and the shared bathrooms are clean.

Disliked: Everything was fine

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alexander Towle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: this is more of a hotel/appartment than a hostel having a joint kitchenette in the rooms. The inside of the hotel is really nice with the rooms and bathroom decorated very modern and contemporary. The rooms also have a good size television! The location is also good being near the subway and in a very safe neighborhood. Although with all its positives it is relitiveley expensive if you are a traveller and used to stayin in cheaper hostels!

Disliked: Expensive

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, nice room, no noise, clean

Disliked: The staff was not very friendly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was legitimately the nicest, most modern hostel I've ever stayed in, in terms of the ammenities. I did not see another living soul there other than the person I shared a room with. I did smell pot in the hallway, but I never saw the person who was smoking.

Disliked: Meh,

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Mice!! And you'd better not use credit cards, they got rejected every time and the staff did not let me try my card again even though it was their system failure.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

02 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: really good location

Disliked: some rooms are really noisy due to traffic on 14th st

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

20 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: wifi not included

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Adam Harvey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 September 2010 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: good location for everything.

Disliked: Small and dirty. A few things went missing. Couldn't find the lounge area. No one on the front dest from about 10am onwards. Cockroaches in our room!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

02 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect beside 14th Street ACE line connecting to Timesquare in under 10mins.

Disliked: N/A

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Business / conference
Events / festivals

27 July 2010

Liked: The only thing was the location.

Disliked: The general attitude of the welcome was heartless and aloof - I was made to feel that I was disturbing them and that if I should have any questions that I could 'try' and find them and that they would 'try' and help if they 'could' (therefore, no promises of any kind to solve anything, just to see what they could do). This made me feel that the management had no interest in the comfort, security and enjoyment of my stay - especially for a single female traveler, this put me off in a number of ways. All my questions were initially only loosely answered, if I hadn't demanded more information - they would just shuffle me off. In the confirmation email, they told me that I would be sharing the bathroom with 3 other rooms - sure, this may have been true, but the bathroom was out in the open - for the entire building to use if they wanted - and therefore, not only shared with 3 other rooms. When advertised, sharing your bathroom with 3 other rooms, means that all the rooms that share that bathroom are in an enclosed area. Furthermore - there was only one well kept bathroom. The other one was disgusting. Run down, with no ventilation (none of the bathrooms had ventilation), with encrusted dust on the vent of what appeared to be a once functioning fan. The locks on the door of these other facilities were mangled and old, they looked like they had been banged into the door, of which the door's edge looked like it had been broken into a few times - just overall damaged and uncared for - even the walls of these other toilets and showers had layers of dirt.