HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel 309

2 star Hotel | 309 West 14th Street, New York City, New York, USA 10014 - 5001

78.9% Overall Rating

151 out of 169 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (11/06/2014)

"Belle terrasse à l'arrière de l'hôtel. Viennoiseries diverses à disposition tous les matins"

Read all Hotel 309 reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Bicycle hire
  • Late check-out
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers
  • Cot / crib

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Hotel and state tax is 14.87%. Service Fees of $0.50 per night will be charged for each Dorm bed and $3.50 per night per private room. Please note: if you fail to cancel the reservation according to the 2 days cancellation policy the property apply a charge of the first night. no shows or cancellations less than 48 hours prior to arrival will result in a charge of the first night's stay excluding tax". “Please note that after you have made a booking via the website the hostel will do a pre-authorization on your bank card. This is not a charge, but a validity check on your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorization will then be removed from your card within a few days.”

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Chelsea Inn
69.50 USD

Hostel 78.1% 332 reviews
The Chelsea Highline Hotel
35.00 USD

Hotel 62.7% 233 reviews
Chelsea Star Hotel
46.94 USD

Hotel 3 star 82.9% 9 reviews
Hotel Pennsylvania
162.50 USD

Hotel 1.5 star Not yet rated
loftlan travel hostel
95.00 USD

Hostel 65.4% 9 reviews
Hotel 17
74.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.8% 455 reviews
Hotel 31
54.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 80.7% 939 reviews
The Sohotel
44.75 USD

Hotel 2.5 star 87.1% 146 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 31/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.9%

Overall Rating

151 out of 169 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel 309'

Atmosphere
68.8%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
71.2%
Cleanliness
72.0%
Staff
83.2%
Value
79.2%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 111 of 157 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Graciela Rios

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2012 Graciela would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was very nice and helpful. They offered to make reservations for us to go to the 9.11 memorial.

Disliked: Rooms don´t have their own bathrooms, but there´re 2 bathrooms per floor and they are very nice.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Iulia Cemirtan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 Iulia would recommend this property

Liked: It was great that is was located in Manhattan, good value for the money, the bed was comfortable and there was even a microwave in the room.

Disliked: They didn't have breakfast to offer and if you wanted to leave you backpack at the hotel after you checked out in order to pick it later in the afternoon you had to pay 10 dollars per bag: such a stupidity, I stayed in many hostels and hotels all over the globe and never heard of having to pay for this, and so much money!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

frank hunter

Alone

City break

15 December 2011 frank would recommend this property

Liked: Location is everything and this is i/2 block from the subway

Disliked: walking up three flights of stairs. You can't have everything.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

yejin hong

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 December 2011 yejin would recommend this property

Liked: location was perfect and i didnt expect to be a good hotel , but it was really good to enjoy my new york trip! it was clean and has full facilities in a room , i had wonderful sleep each night with warm atmosphere!

Disliked: it didnt have bathroom in the room. but it wasnt annoying to me! it could be bothersome to others.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Julie Young

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

02 December 2011 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: We looked for a 'cheap' place to stay (in comparison to othe NY venues) and this seemed like the perfect option. The hotel is in the 'trendy' area of the meatpacking district next to the high line, lots of bars and boutiques; a short subway ride to midtown / downtown although we walked most days. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and although we had a shared bathroom it was always clean. Loved the kitchen area in the room with coffee facility - new Yorkers really love their coffee! Although relatively small the rooms were clean, safe and had really comfy beds.

Disliked: The fact we had to share a bathroom is the only bad thing I can think of, and we were fully aware of that before we booked, and it wasn't at all an issue when we got there! Be aware that the price quoted on hostel bookers is not the full price - room tax is added on arrival on top of what hostel bookers charges. This wasn't completely clear and meant the overall price was more expensive than planned.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, location, location

Disliked: -

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

02 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It´s friendly

Disliked: It´s expensive

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Elaine McGuire

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 September 2011 Elaine would recommend this property

Liked: This hostel has a great location on 14th street, near the subway and within walking distance to Greenwich. The room was clean and had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker which was handy. Overall an enjoyable stay and perfect for young people looking for a safe and clean place to stay on a tighter budget.

Disliked: The air conditioning was rather loud.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has the perfect location, really clean and nice rooms.

Disliked: If you're looking for a hostel, this mught not be it. It's more of a hotel cuz there's no place to hang out with other guests. Except from that, and the fact that there is five floors and no elevator, this place has it all.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a great location and although fairly basic it had everything we needed. We were also delayed because of hurricane Irene and they took the two days we didn't stay at the hotel off the bill, without question.

Disliked: I would have preferred a small ensuite bathroom to the kitchenette.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mark Holmes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Our room was well eqipped and comfortable with a very useful kitchenette and storage cupboard with safe. The staff were helpful , when we saw them, and one voluntered to carry my heavy pac up to the fourth floor. Also so close to main subway line - ACE

Disliked: A shared bathroom was inconvenient, with only 2 per floor, stairs steep and no lift. reception area basic and no where to meet with other travellers.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

06 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great Location

Disliked: No elevator, only stairs.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I'm very glad I stayed at Hotel 309: the location was perfect, the room had its own bathroom, the cleaning was ok. Unluckily there is no elevator, but I already knew that I wouldn't have found it once there. Anyway, the staff helps you carrying your bags up and then down. Considering the prices in NY, this is an absolutely value for money!!!!!

Disliked: The air conditioning was really noisy and you have to pay for having the internet service.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the location was fantastic! it's a good neighborhood to go out at night. I have to share the bathroom with 6 rooms, but I've never found anybody! They cleaned the room every day, for this price I can conclude that it was very good!

Disliked: the rooms are really small, but there is all you need, there was also a little kitchen and a fridge. The air conditioning was very noisy. we slept in a room on the second floor, for the people that love living the night this is the best neighborhood but the problem is that if you want to sleep and your room is on the street side is very noisy.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Garrett Glidewell

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 August 2011 Garrett would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel 309 is in an awesome location. Practically seconds from subway and an enjoying walk to both Battery Park, Staten Island Ferry, Time Square and really everything we wanted to see.

Disliked: Dislikes is a tough question. I don't have any negative comments.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Pay for wifi, pay for leaving your bags at reception after you check out. no real kitchen avaliable.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good area and looked clean

Disliked: Not à lot of offers, deals or information about the city

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, feels like an apartment. Have aircondition! Clean!

Disliked: No commonroom or laundry room.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's a nice building and interest expirience

Disliked: They haven't elevator in tne five-storey house! It's realy hard to lift the laggage

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Johanna FERRAND

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 June 2011 Johanna would recommend this property

Liked: It's just next to the subway, the rooms are nice and the shared bathrooms are clean.

Disliked: Everything was fine

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alexander Towle

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2011 Alexander would recommend this property

Liked: this is more of a hotel/appartment than a hostel having a joint kitchenette in the rooms. The inside of the hotel is really nice with the rooms and bathroom decorated very modern and contemporary. The rooms also have a good size television! The location is also good being near the subway and in a very safe neighborhood. Although with all its positives it is relitiveley expensive if you are a traveller and used to stayin in cheaper hostels!

Disliked: Expensive

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Safe, nice room, no noise, clean

Disliked: The staff was not very friendly.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

10 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was legitimately the nicest, most modern hostel I've ever stayed in, in terms of the ammenities. I did not see another living soul there other than the person I shared a room with. I did smell pot in the hallway, but I never saw the person who was smoking.

Disliked: Meh,

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2011

Liked: Location

Disliked: Mice!! And you'd better not use credit cards, they got rejected every time and the staff did not let me try my card again even though it was their system failure.