HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of The Sohotel

2.5 star Hotel | 341 Broome Street, New York City, New York, USA NY 10013

86.7% Overall Rating

140 out of 147 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (08/08/2013)

"This hotel was really nice. They were under construction, but it didn't affect our stay at all. We stayed in the largest room (for 5 people) and it was perfect for our one night stay in New York City. The location was…"

Read all The Sohotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Hotel and state tax is 14.75%. Service Fees of $0.50 per night will be charged for each Dorm bed and $3.50 per night per private room. SPECIAL TERMS for all New Years Eve 2013 reservations. Reservations that do not meet these requirements will not be honored. 1. December 31, 2013 will be a NO Check-In day. This means that any reservation made for check-in on December 31, 2012 will not be honored. 2. If you choose to stay on December 31, 2013 all reservations must hold a 5 Night Minimum stay 3. Upon reservation, all guests will be charged for the night of December 31, 2013 ONLY. The balance will be charged by November 15, 2013. 4. All reservations that carry December 31, 2013 are Non Refundable / Non-Cancellable. Please note that after you have made a booking on the website the property will do a pre-authorization on your bank card. This is not a charge, but a validity check on your card to guarantee your booking. The pre-authorization will then be removed from your card within a few days.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to New York City?

Contact us directly

See other properties in New York City

Broadway Lodge
30.00 USD

Apartment 74.2% 52 reviews
Manhattan Bowery Lodge Inc
38.00 USD

Hotel 57.5% 48 reviews
NYC Manhattan Guesthouse
65.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.9% 4 reviews
East Village Guesthouse
49.00 USD

Hostel 59.0% 3 reviews
Hotel 17
74.50 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.6% 457 reviews
Chelsea Inn
79.50 USD

Hostel 76.9% 334 reviews
Hotel 309
69.50 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 77.5% 170 reviews
Pacific Loft Apartments
35.00 USD

Apartment 67.0% 36 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
86.7%

Overall Rating

140 out of 147 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'The Sohotel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
89.6%
Value
82.4%
Safety
87.2%
Refine your results Showing 99 of 133 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Duncan Cumming

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2013 Duncan would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly & helpful staff, nice room

Disliked: Duncan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel was really nice. They were under construction, but it didn't affect our stay at all. We stayed in the largest room (for 5 people) and it was perfect for our one night stay in New York City. The location was centralized to where we needed to be, so it was easy for us to walk or use the subway. The staff was great and very helpful.

Disliked: N/A

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Kate O'Sullivan

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2013 Kate would recommend this property

Liked: Knowledgable staff - we were offered information about a wide variety of things to do. Room was clean and larger than we had expected - perfect for the 4 of us and our weekend luggage. Rooms are airconditoned which was a big plus given the weather (95ish both days).

Disliked: No elevator could have been a problem if we'd had significant baggage - narrow stairs could potentially have made getting everything to the room difficult. Some noise filtered in from the road - not a problem for most of us, but worth noting.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

27 May 2013

Liked: close to metro

Disliked: the facility is old and does not look clean; no elevator; room and bathroom was extremely crowded for a 5 ppl room; hairdryer was broken was simply not working at all; cold water while showering; noises when sleeping (there was even construction right in front of the hotel)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

YIHENG KUNG

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 May 2013 YIHENG would recommend this property

Liked: 1. The location is good. It is easy to go to JFK airport and other tourist spots. 2. Staffs are kind 3. The price is reasonable 4. They serve free coffee in the morning. And it taste good

Disliked: 1. There were some noise in the night. 2. If you do not put tip on the pillow, the staff won't clean your room anymore.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

malcolm ferguson

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping

23 April 2013 malcolm would recommend this property

Liked: I have topmarked all aspects because for the price it was much better than we expected.Very interesting area helped as well. Will return but will perhaps pay a bit more for a bigger room.

Disliked: No fridge in the room is all.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, room style and comfort.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nadia Cecilia Acosta Gómez

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 March 2013 Nadia Cecilia would recommend this property

Liked: It was a great place to stay and at a great price, considering you are staying in Manhattan. The rooms are small, but clean and pretty. they offer free coffee in the mornings, the subway is a few blocks away. you can walk to stores and restaurants. The staff is nice.

Disliked: their check in system is very inefficient. We were a large group and we spend more than one hour in this process. It was kind of frustrating.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

14 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are nice, especially Junior! He is awesome Rooms are far beyond the quality we expected

Disliked: Too few eletricity outlets in the room

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location, access to 3 metro stations, coffee and thee in the lobby, nice staff, luggage room

Disliked: the "total price" that is shown by hostelbookers is without 15% tax, room was a little bit small for 4 people and their luggage

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean and quiet and good location. would have been better if breakfast was included but coffee in lobby was great small room but comfortable and clean

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

james loveday

With my spouse / partner

City break

09 July 2012 james would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, nicely decked out.

Disliked: Stairs!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

29 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location/style

Disliked: shower water pressure

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break

27 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - close to subway station - very helpful and accommodating staff

Disliked: - a bit of noise from adjacent properties (restaurants / bars)

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathalie Lüdicke

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

25 June 2012 Nathalie would recommend this property

Liked: Clean rooms in a central hotel with friendly staff.

Disliked: No included parking or breakfast

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tetyana Rodina

With friends / other travellers

City break

25 May 2012 Tetyana would recommend this property

Liked: Everything!!!!

Disliked: Nothing/

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

eric peres

As a family with children

Shopping

08 May 2012 eric would recommend this property

Liked: tres bon accueil

Disliked: eric left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

24 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Stylish decor in communal areas, good location, free WiFi.

Disliked: Room was fairly small and noisy, expensive for a basic hotel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Central location. Excellent staff. Clean facilities.

Disliked: Coffee/tea in am but no bagels, etc.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Johan Bloem

With my spouse / partner

City break

12 April 2012 Johan would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff, good location and the room was clean.

Disliked: Tiny and noisy room

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

06 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The best thing about this hotel is that it is beautiful and charming! Every time we came back to our room, we repeated..." I cant believe how cute this place is". It's also awesome if you want to go out to bars or clubs because most of the good ones are in the lower east side area, and this hotel is nearby. We also stayed in another hostel more central in Manhattan, but we ended up partying every night in the lower east side, so we should have just stayed in the Sohotel our whole stay. It's right next to Little Italy and China town, and the subway is really close which is good.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jason Woolf

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

25 February 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Just what I was looking for, a place where my girlfriend and I could sleep and take shower within NYC that had easy metro access to the entire city

Disliked: More facilities, such as food, or even a phone within the room would've been nice, but with $100 a night, I didn't set my expectations high.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

01 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Charming place, nice room, well located

Disliked: It was WAY TOO HOT in the room, even the window open (on a cold January night), and we couldn't turn the heater off.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Justin Robichaud-Saunders

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 January 2012 Justin would recommend this property

Liked: yes

Disliked: no

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, clean room & bathroom, helpful staff.

Disliked: Our room was right by the lobby so it got a bit noisy in the mornings around 8ish. WiFi is a bit slow but useable