HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hollywood Stars Inn

2 star Hotel | 5435 W. Sunset Blvd, Los Angeles, California, USA 90027 - 8521

75.2% Overall Rating

20 out of 24 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (31/05/2014)

rachel bland thinks…

"Location was great, staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and cosy. Was well worth the price."

Read all Hollywood Stars Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Wake-up calls
  • Television room

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Los Angeles?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Los Angeles

Hollywood Downtowner Inn
40.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 66.2% 6 reviews
Banana Bungalow Hollywood
38.64 USD

Hostel 83.0% 345 reviews
Hollywood Palms Inn & Suites
55.00 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
PodShare
50.00 USD

Hostel 95.8% 21 reviews
USA Hostels Hollywood
45.00 USD

Hostel 94.1% 562 reviews
Hollywood Youth Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 84.5% 372 reviews
Orange Drive Hostel
40.94 USD

Hostel 86.9% 163 reviews
Hollywood and Highland Hotel and Hostel
35.00 USD

Hostel 75.7% 115 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
75.2%

Overall Rating

20 out of 24 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hollywood Stars Inn'

Atmosphere
62.5%
Location
80.0%
Facilities
69.2%
Cleanliness
82.5%
Staff
75.8%
Value
80.0%
Safety
76.7%
Refine your results Showing 15 of 19 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kelly Morresey

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway

30 June 2014 Kelly would recommend this property

Liked: Clean and tidy

Disliked: Kelly left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

rachel bland

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 May 2014 rachel would recommend this property

Liked: Location was great, staff were friendly and helpful. Room was clean and cosy. Was well worth the price.

Disliked: rachel left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Santiago Moreno

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

11 January 2014 Santiago would recommend this property

Liked: The room is perfect. Big enough, clean and well equiped.

Disliked: The Internet is just for one computer.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

14 August 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms cleaned every day, and location is not bad - a large cheap supermarket across the road, a Walgreens on the same block, and a quick walk to the Metro. It's not really in the heart of Hollywood at all, but with LA, nothing is really ever close-by - and if you are driving, it's within 5-10 minutes of the central areas anyway. Beds, room and bathroom were all of a good size.

Disliked: The air conditioning unit in our room was a little lacklustre (the one on our previous stay was much better). Internet is quite patchy - fine for surfing, but a little unhelpful when booking things online. The staff are very variable - the woman was excellent, polite and courteous, but the men (plural) were less so - failing to explain themselves during check-in, and in general being very nonchalant and unhelpful. A simple request asking for a map (not the most crazy request for a tourist at a hotel to ask for) was met with a rather blunt "no"! If you can interact with the staff as little as possible, you'll be fine.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

charlene galea

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 April 2013 charlene would recommend this property

Liked: super friendly helpful staff, very clean, rooms had 2 small doubles in, a fridge, tv. Great could not fault it, was so impressed on the value for money n just a 5 min walk to metro and then 2 stops to hollywood

Disliked: charlene left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jacqueline Cooke

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 October 2012 Jacqueline would recommend this property

Liked: This is a good place to stay if you want to look around Hollywood. the rooms are huge and simply appointed. The staff are friendly and helpful, it is a nice place to stay.

Disliked: Jacqueline left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

kathy wainwright

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2012 kathy would recommend this property

Liked: the location was quite good, near the metro station and 2 stops from main strip, or you can walk it in about 15 mins. rooms are big, we were put in a smoking room so was a bit musty smelling, but bedding is nice and clean, and its cleaned each day. staff are friendly and helpful if you needed anything.

Disliked: I think the only thing i didnt like was they havent took the plastic of the new mattress's, so it makes it a bit hot and sweaty at night., otherwise all ok.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

James Lee

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Visiting friends or family

04 January 2012 James would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms are big and have everything you need for quite a small amount of money. Los Feliz (where the backpackers is located) has very shady characters walking the streets. However, it is opposite mcdonalds, groceries and pharmacies and restaurants. Just be careful street roaming at night. Staff chilled out and happy to help with any problems.

Disliked: The only problem is that it's too far away from the heart of Hollywood.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Eileen Edwards

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

27 March 2011 Eileen would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were a lovely large size and so clean. The staff were so helpful and allowed us to keep our luggage in our room until we left for our evening flight. Also, book with the hotel for a taxi to the airport rather than order yourself. They arrange a far cheaper service. Thank you!

Disliked: Perhaps a longer walk than we would have liked from the main area, but it was worth it.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

05 February 2011

Liked: The rooms were large and fairly clean. There was a kingsize bed and a seperate ensuite.

Disliked: I was extremely concerned for my safety. I was awoken at midnight (the alarm was set for this time) and then again at 5am when the whole floor seemed to come alive with "suspicious characters" going from room to room. I literally thought someone would break into our room. We left by 8am and when our shuttle picked us up, we got picked up down the street. Would NEVER recommend.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

20 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: big rooms, 15 minute walk to hot spot on hollywood boulevard, good service, clean, would book again! highly recommend

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Scott Britza

19 December 2008 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Scott left no negative feedback.

34.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

22 October 2008

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Bonnici

02 October 2008 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: Very spacious rooms and very clean. location was fine and close to lots of places to eat and transportation.

Disliked: Daniel left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Huub Groothuis

11 September 2008 Huub would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap, good location for visiting Universal Studios, Warner Studios en Hollywood.

Disliked: Huub left no negative feedback.