We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Qupqugiaq Inn

4.5 star Hotel | 640 West 36th Avenue, Anchorage, Alaska, USA 99503

65.0% Overall Rating

26 out of 38 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/09/2012)

"Lovely Ambiance. Friendly staff. Good price. Nice breakfast (only $2 for waffles, cereal, toast etc)."

Read all Qupqugiaq Inn reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible
  • Late check-out
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café
  • Outside area
  • Cot / crib

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 2.00

What's Included

  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Anchorage?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Anchorage

Arctic Adventure Hostel
26.00 USD

Hostel 88.8% 119 reviews
Bent Prop Inn & Hostel of Alaska
30.00 USD

Hostel 71.8% 8 reviews
Jason's International Youth Hostel - Midtown
25.00 USD

Hostel 75.5% 48 reviews
Base Camp Anchorage
25.00 USD

Hostel 97.6% 7 reviews
Alaska Backpackers Inn
20.00 USD

Hostel 68.8% 91 reviews
Alaska Youth Hostel
25.00 USD

Hostel 67.8% 14 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
65.0%

Overall Rating

26 out of 38 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Qupqugiaq Inn'

Atmosphere
69.6%
Location
58.4%
Facilities
60.8%
Cleanliness
65.6%
Staff
70.4%
Value
69.6%
Safety
60.8%
Refine your results Showing 29 of 31 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

YA LI TSAI

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 April 2013 YA LI would recommend this property

Liked: great and comfortable!!

Disliked: YA LI left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely Ambiance. Friendly staff. Good price. Nice breakfast (only $2 for waffles, cereal, toast etc).

Disliked: Lots of homeless people (all very lovely people, but despite the nice common area I got the impression I was living in a shelter at times).

54.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 August 2012

Liked: Not much

Disliked: Bit out of town and quite expensive for what it is. Did not feel very safe as there were people getting drunk across the street until the early morning (2am) and our window on the ground floor was jammed open.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With a large group / tour

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It could accomodate our numbers - although the configuration of beds was not what was on the Hostel bookers site.

Disliked: The hostel's initial checking in process was a bit painful but second time round it was much easier. Price wasn't quite what was quoted on site although this could also be partly the cost of conversion from AUS to US - should have had the cost in US dollars on our receipt - this may have been an option but I don't remember if this was the case. But would recommend that the cost be shown in local money on receipts given.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Work / volunteering

08 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff was friendly and willing to answer any questions. The room was simple but clean. It's an easy walk to Wal-Mart and other shopping.

Disliked: Prices tend to fluctuate a bit.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Mathias Pion

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

31 March 2012

Liked: It's cheap, nothing to say about that...

Disliked: But dramaticaly dirty, and very wierd atmosphere. In addition comes the bad location...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Tzuhan huang

Alone

Shopping

13 November 2011 Tzuhan would recommend this property

Liked: it's very cheep

Disliked: the location is not very well

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

31 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Its cheap

Disliked: manager was very rude. Not sure if she realises how rude shes being. People live in the dorms and treat them like personal bedrooms making life uncomfortable. I had an elderly woman living above me who kept the light on till 12am and kept used cups and plates everywhere!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, if you're fine being by the main highway north into downtown, with good bus stops very close. Local info very easy to get from the friendly host.

Disliked: It didn't occur to the staff to put a duvet on my bed...or a towel... I had to ask for these and they obviously hadn't prepared the beds efficiently. Also the venue is not well seen from the road in terms of name signs, so look for the building in the hotel ad fotos to help.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Lolita Young

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

26 August 2011 Lolita would recommend this property

Liked: Distance to Downtown, restaurant below the Inn, staff Chino is very helpful, knowledgeable of his product and ser vices. Pleasant place to stay. Room has a good heater.

Disliked: N.A.

48.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Family Holiday

06 August 2011

Liked: Friendliness and helpfulness of the staff

Disliked: Location... Far away from the city center if you don't have your own wheels.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Changdong Weng

Alone

Work / volunteering

17 July 2011 Changdong would recommend this property

Liked: this is a good hostel,price is low,environment is nice, closed to WAL-MART.

Disliked: I can't lock my precious things,I should CARRY-ON

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

shinsuke morii

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2011 shinsuke would recommend this property

Liked: it's close to grocery stores

Disliked: it's kind of faraway from airport

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 June 2011

Liked: Leaving

Disliked: The management are rude - trying to rip you off all the time by charging over the top of what you book on Hostel bookers and during the night I had three attempts of someone trying to get into my room!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Paulo Freitas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: It's much better than a Hostel

Disliked: Location

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 June 2011

Liked: Nothing - checking out and finding a new hotel

Disliked: Everything - absolutely the worst place I have ever stayed and I traveled a lot.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

03 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's where Alaskans stay Location

Disliked: Facilities seem a little worn Too many chemicals used in cleaning the linens (ease up on the detergent)

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Russell Hopkins

Alone

Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

08 November 2010 Russell would recommend this property

Liked: Nice private room, close to airport and pretty cheap Mexican food.

Disliked: Clearer public transport options from airport on their hostelbookers ad. Wasn't a big issue though.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

02 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good place to cook

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Siobhan Talty

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2010

Liked: Quite clean with both free wifi and kiosks. Also has good kitchen facilities and is near to the airport.

Disliked: The staff and, in particular, the manager. We were booked in for two nights. On the afternoon of the second night I came back to my dorm to discover the door wide open and all of my belongings missing. I went to the reception desk to enquire as to what had happened and was told to calm down, my friend had moved my belongings. First of all, as someone who works in tourism I wasn't really upset as I knew there are in fact a number of reasons a guests belongings might need shifting, I found being told to 'calm down' quite patronising when I was in fact asking quite politely in a situation where I think I have a right to know where my valuables are (no lockers, so everything I had was missing). I knew my friend wasn't happy with where we where staying so I thought perhaps she had in fact moved my things and I went off to find her. The manager followed me and proceeded to tell me I had been moved to a mixed dorm next door due to an overbooking. In this dorm there was only one single bed available but she said my friend had agreed that we would share the tiny single bed in exchange for them waiving the charge on a $3 bowl of cereal the next morning (no offer for a refund of the second bed we'd paid for). I knew this was completely untrue as my friend hates even being in a dorm with other people, let alone sharing a bed, at which point I decided to ask for a refund and leave. I wasn't allowed a refund, as the manager decided I had in fact been undercharged the previous night. Upon checking my credit card statement, I also discovered I had another $10 taken off my card by the Inn for no apparent reason. I was also not allowed to have this refunded - the manager told me to go through Hostelbookers (not their fault as proven by the different names for withdrawals on my card) - and have had no answer to my attempts to contact them in the meantime. During this afternoon, I witnessed the manager argue and berate numberous other guests whose bookings had been messed around and, all in all, she handled the situation terribly. On other areas: Toilet and shower are in the same room, so you can't use the toilet if someone else is showering; people are not allowed in the common room after a certain time but are allowed to socialise in an outdoor area - this area is right by the dorm rooms and leads to sleepless nights for all. Luckily, after leaving the Inn, we found an absolutely lovely hostel (Spenard Hostel on 42nd) which cost us the same amount! And that place I couldn't recommend more highly!!!

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

03 July 2010

Liked: Not much. Just basic dorm bed but below the standard of the dorm stays I've been to at a low price. The Indian staff offered to lend me his bike to explore downtown.

Disliked: LOCATION: Not good, too far from downtown(36th Ave) especially when I had to arrive at the railway station(1st Ave) for my 6.45am ride the next morning. The local bus doesn't start until 6.45am and it comes hourly. Taking a cab would cost me $15. SYSTEMATIC & ORGANIZATION: As far as I noticed, there was only one staff (the Indian guy). As soon as I arrived, I wanted to pay my balance after the deduction of the 10% deposit, which would mean $18. He told me I've paid $10 and I needed to pay another $10. I was confused but since he said so, I was of course happy to pay only another $10, paid with my debit card and signed on $10. However, now that I check my account transaction, I realized, I've been charged $20 on that swipe. That would mean $20(actually stay price) + 10% deposit??? This staff showed me to the room. I reserved for myself a female dorm but apparently he said it's fully occupied. At the dorm I was placed, I've chosen my bed, put my things and set off biking to explore downtown. As I returned, I noticed somebody fast asleep on my bed and my things moved to the next bed. It seems that staff told this girl my bed's empty! Facilities: There's only one washroom (with sink inside) to be shared between 2 dorms of 8 beds each which is a little too inconvenient. The lever for the only flush was broken too.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Julien DESMARETS

29 July 2009 Julien would recommend this property

Liked: funny architecture inside, all in curves, very nice breakfast with a large choice of cereals and home-made delicacies like straight-from-the-oven muffins

Disliked: Julien left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mladen Lukic

24 June 2009 Mladen would recommend this property

Liked: MUSIC

Disliked: Mladen left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

19 June 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: restrooms are very clean,beds are uncomfartable

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Neville Leggett

07 September 2008 Neville would recommend this property

Liked: The hostel was excellent. Great place and great staff and traveller we met. Highly recommend this hostel.

Disliked: Neville left no negative feedback.