We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Iberia Montevideo

2 star Hotel | Maldonado 1097, Montevideo, Uruguay 11100

93.5% Overall Rating

61 out of 64 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (15/07/2014)

Pedro Paulo Altieri de Oliveira Hardt de Siqueira thinks…

"Nice place, very well maintained, great staff, very helpful and friendly. Great location, close to a lot of tourist places."

Read all Hotel Iberia Montevideo reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Breakfast USD 5.26

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montevideo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montevideo

Willy Fog Hostel
14.00 USD

Hostel 82.7% 55 reviews
Hostel Dolce Vita
15.83 USD

Hostel 85.1% 52 reviews
Red Hostel
16.00 USD

Hostel 74.3% 87 reviews
Hotel Aramaya
36.00 USD

Hotel 60.8% 40 reviews
Live MVD Hostel
12.00 USD

Hostel 80.9% 10 reviews
El Viajero Downtown Hostel & Suites
16.00 USD

Hostel 84.6% 36 reviews
Ukelele Hostel
18.50 USD

Hostel 87.8% 121 reviews
ContraLuz ArtHostel
19.13 USD

Hostel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 22/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
93.5%

Overall Rating

61 out of 64 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Iberia Montevideo'

Atmosphere
88.8%
Location
90.4%
Facilities
89.6%
Cleanliness
99.2%
Staff
96.0%
Value
93.6%
Safety
96.8%
Refine your results Showing 48 of 61 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Pedro Paulo Altieri de Oliveira Hardt de Siqueira

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Pedro Paulo would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, very well maintained, great staff, very helpful and friendly. Great location, close to a lot of tourist places.

Disliked: Nothing at all.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Loreta Bukauskiene

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Loreta would recommend this property

Liked: Good locatoin and safe,clean rooms

Disliked: Bath is need renovate

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

09 January 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: El hotel está genial, el personal super atento. Realmente nos hicieron sentir en casa.

Disliked: La localización del hotel no es muy segura. Hemos estado en una temporada en la que las calles estaban vacias; lamentablemente intentarón darnos un tirón, y la poca gente que había en la calle no movió un dedo para auxiliarnos. Por lo que nos dijeron luego, es algo común en el barrio. Una pena, porque el hotel realmente está genial.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

16 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so helpful and friendly, we really felt at home. Sylvia loves to practise her English by chatting and we had some good conversations.This is not a 5-star resort, but was tastefully decorated and had a homely feel. Sylvia allowed us to use the kitchen and living facilities as if it was our own Place. The hotel was clean, comfy and centrally located, making it great value for money. Absolutely recommended.

Disliked: If you are a light sleeper, you might choose to have some earplugs handy, although we personally found it fine.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

leland Hale

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2012 leland would recommend this property

Liked: The staff at Hotel Iberia are beyond incredible! Friendly, helpful, informed about their city and its sights, cheerful and no-pretense. I've stayed in my share of hotels, all over the world. Rarely do I find a hotel staff as good as this one. It didn't matter who, or when (like traipsing in past midnight), the staff make you feel like this is your second home. And it shows in pride of place -- immaculately clean, with impeccable interior design (hey, they've got a marble staircase!) and a great color palate. Highly recommended! Next time I'm in Montevideo, I'll definitely stay here again!

Disliked: This not a dislike as much as a caveat. There is not much English spoken here. If you have a tourist-level of Spanish, you'll do fine!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Visiting friends or family

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean and the atmosphere was nice. The staff was friendly and very willing to provide suggestions and recommendations. Location is very central.

Disliked: The front door is very noisy! On the first morning a buzzer went off every time someone opened the door. We had arrived extremely late the night and our room was near the stairwell leading to the reception area, so we were unable to get a lot of sleep.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room sãs confortable and clean, staff very helpfull

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff. Free Wi-Fi. Very good location. Cheap

Disliked: Nothing major. It's on a busy street so it can get a bit noisy. Only Spanish is spoken so it can be a bit awkward communicating if you don't speak it.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bernd Nebendahl

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

30 May 2011 Bernd would recommend this property

Liked: Nice stuff, clean, nice rooms, everything fine, best location during our trip, can recommend it to all travellers

Disliked: no breakfast, but not realy a problem

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location and security

Disliked: None

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

GREGORY Trahar

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa

26 May 2011 GREGORY would recommend this property

Liked: Stayed in the Superior double with a Jacuzzi. It was a real bargain at just an extra URU500. The hotel is well located just off the main Avenida 18 and a 10 minute walk to Indepedance Plaza. The room and hotel in general was spotlessly clean. We preferred the laminate flooring throughout as it made you appreciate how clean the hotel was. The décor throughout was crisp and fresh. The staff were very friendly and made our stay trouble free. They gladly looked after our luggage while we spent the last day sightseeing.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

02 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really friendly and helpful people, they helped us out on getting a cab when noone in the city was working. Brilliant service and an immaculate hotel.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2011

Liked: The proximity of the city centre.

Disliked: Only one woman from the staff speaks a few words english, the others don`t and make few or even no efforts to speak slowlier. One woman pretty unfriendly. Breakfast is a joke (no bread, only coffee, one medialuna, butter, jam, orange juice) and a very expensive joke, served very late in the morning. Street noise in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very clean and nicely decorated and the staff were very helpful and friendly. The standard of this property exceeded others I had stayed at on this trip.

Disliked: No breakfast and not a good place to meet fellow travellers.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel style...easy to relax

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Beth Walton

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

29 March 2011 Beth would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were so friendly and helpful - they really helped us make the best of our stay in montevideo. The rooms were relly nice too. My partner and i had a regular double room, and my parents paid a little more to stay in the "supierior" double room, but the only differences were that the more expensive room didn't look out onto a road, and so was quieter and it had a bigger bathroom, but really nothing else was different.

Disliked: The only disappointing thing was the breakfast - it wasn't included in the price (and also you have to request it the night before, which nobady told us) it was a regular south american breakfast - toastadas, cheese, ham jam and medialunas, but it was a bit crowded as there is only 2 tables.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph laxdal

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

25 March 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: It was very clean and spacious. It was also quiet

Disliked: n/a

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

RAMON PEREZ DE LA PAZ

With friends / other travellers

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 March 2011 RAMON would recommend this property

Liked: Great location and clean. The staf is very friendly.

Disliked: noise on the streets.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

16 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This Hotel it's just perfect! And really cheap!

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Yen Chuang

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

06 March 2011 Yen would recommend this property

Liked: Great value. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, wifi, ac, centrally located, and very safe, for a very reasonable price.

Disliked: Nothing major. Mostly just the lack of a place to put soap in the shower. Not a place to party or meet people, but a great place to crash in MV.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean rooms, air conditioning was great, quiet, well located in short walking distance to main attractions. they had computers available for internet for free. Booking was very reliable, they were aware of the reservation fee paid, they did their best to get us extra night´s stay on short notice, efficient and transparent relating to costs and administration.

Disliked: Wifi unreliable in bedrooms, some problems with hot water in shower, went cold after 4 mins. Breakfast was not included and they charge extra for parking, breakfast. All recommenations were in 3 star budget range, such as food/restaurant suggestions, not aware of budget options.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very comfortable room and well-located.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: As others have said in their reviews, very clean, nice rooms, private bathrooms with good hot water, cable tv with 5 or so english channels, good location and not noisy. Good value for a couple. Staff is friendly but only speaks spanish.

Disliked: Nothing. Keep in mind it is a hotel (not a hostel), and there aren't bulletin boards, a kitchen, tours being offered etc. You are on your own (unless you can speak spanish with the staff), which is more or less fine in this city anyways in my opinion (if you have a decent guidebook).

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice hotel, very friendly staff, clean rooms and very good location. We were very satisfied!

Disliked: Breakfast not included.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A good affordable option (for couples at least) close to many good restaurants and easy walk to all the key attractions. Air conditioning and TV with Spanish and English channels a plus.

Disliked: The foam based mattress was rather soft and unsupportive. First night sleep OK, second night less so. But not too big a drama.