HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Splendido Hotel

Hotel

Bartolome Mitre 1314, Montevideo, Uruguay

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 64%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 82%

Value 74%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bicycle Hire
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hair Dryers
  • Internet Access
  • Luggage Storage
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Telephone Fax Facilities
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 1.58USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 14:00

Latest Check-out: 11:00

Policies

  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montevideo?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 78%

Cleanliness 71%

Facilities 64%

Location 90%

Safety 82%

Staff 82%

Value 74%

Showing 21-6 of 6 reviews

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
02 Jan 2012

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
City break

Liked: I like the location. The building was charming and old fashion. The staff was very helpfull. Thanks to Leandro and Paulo.

Disliked: It's ok to sleep here for a couple av nights but nothing more. The room was to close the street and in spite of I was there monday and tuesday it came a lot of noise from there.

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 100%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
27 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff was very friendly and the location was central. Atmosphere feels warm and artsy.

Disliked: Half the rooms look out onto a very noisy alleyway filled with bars that open every night and stay open until dawn. One of the staff at the reception was unclear about the policies of Hostelbookers in regards to the 10% deposit, and ended up mixing up my laundry with that of other guests!

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
22 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: Location - literally 5 mins taxi from Buquebus, right in Ciudad vieja and a few minutes walk on the other side from 18 de Julio Avenue and the main drag. Very friendly and helpful staff.Cute kitsch use of the decaying decor - lots of bizarre, fun decoration (eg, an Evita portrait above a huge goldfish tank).Free WiFi worked flawlessly.

Disliked: tiny dorm-style bed; even tinier room; worn, grubby black velveteen throw on the bed; not dirty, but dusty room. at least, i did avoid the noise from the bars below on the other side.

Customer would recommend this property

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
20 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: des services gentils et empressés

Disliked: peut-être un peu trop vieillot et défraîchi.

Customer would recommend this property

51% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 40%
  • Cleanliness - 40%
  • Facilities - 40%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 40%
  • Staff - 60%
  • Value - 40%
51% Overall Rating

Anonymous
13 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Not much really!

Disliked: This is definitely a place to stay if you want an experience. But I was pretty freaked out by this property and expected to meet the headless horseman down the corridor. Breakfast was shocking, cold coffee and chocolate cake???? We were in a room down the road from a massive party that went on till 6am. We did not sleep!!


The property's response is

I don't understand why was you freaked out by the property. (headless horseman? Lol!)
- Breakfast has tea, coffee, milk, cereals, toasts, butter, marmalade, cake and some juice in summer.
Perhaps was out of breakfast time?
- About the massive party comment, yes, this street has many bars working and some rooms are over this side.
- I truly apologise if it wasn't a good experience to you and hope some day we can have a second chance to change that.
- I think your rate is unfair.
Regards

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
10 Dec 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Location, good breakfast and cleanliness

Disliked: next to a big street and to the main bar street, so it can get noisy

Customer would recommend this property

83% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
83% Overall Rating

Anonymous
05 Nov 2011

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Good location off the main plaza

Disliked: No bathroom with the matrimonial suite is disappointing

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hello!
Your original reservation was for a Twin without bathroom, at the check-in we show you this lovely matrimonial room without bathroom because you were a couple :)

Pitty we didn't have any with private bathroom that day.

Hope you come back and check our matrimonial rooms insuite.

Regards, Splendido Hotel

100% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
100% Overall Rating

Anonymous
17 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: Simple, but very attentively decorated, I would almost say artistic setup.Very, very friendly, helpful staff.

Disliked: Right above some bars, get's quite noisy at night.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 60%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Sep 2011

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Business / conference, Partying / nightlife, Sightseeing & culture, Visiting friends or family

Liked: The location is very central and the architecture and atmosphere of this old building is very nice, almost like a museum. Staff was very friedly.It is not a luxury place but pretty good value for the low price.

Disliked: There was WiFi in the rooms but connection was sometimes bad, esüpecially in the evening (peak time?). As far as I understood double rooms have private bathrooms, twin rooms don't. But the public showers/touilets were very clean. Breakfast was included, but very basic (two slices of toast, some butter & margarine, no cheese or ham; cornflakes and milk and coffee/tea were avcailbale, but no water or juice).

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Jun 2011

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: very old character building - rooms were in 1920's furniture.

Disliked: traffic noise

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability