We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Palacio Hotel

Hotel | Bartolomé Mitre 1364, Montevideo, Uruguay 11000

87.0% Overall Rating

190 out of 195 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/02/2014)

Jackie Goldsmith thinks…

"Location is fantastic. Loved balcony room on 6th floor. Staff very helpful - really good. Safe and secure."

Read all Palacio Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montevideo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montevideo

Montevideo Port Hostel & Suites
18.00 USD

Hostel 74.8% 21 reviews
Montevideo Chic Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Splendido Hotel
19.00 USD

Hostel 82.1% 169 reviews
Ciudad Vieja Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 83.9% 54 reviews
Boulevard Sarandi Hostel
13.06 USD

Hostel 41.9% 3 reviews
Hispano Hotel
22.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 36 reviews
New Arapey Hotel
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 57.3% 81 reviews
Los jardines colgantes de Babilonia Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 94.6% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

190 out of 195 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palacio Hotel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 129 of 167 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

05 March 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, price, safety

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Jackie Goldsmith

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

21 February 2014 Jackie would recommend this property

Liked: Location is fantastic. Loved balcony room on 6th floor. Staff very helpful - really good. Safe and secure.

Disliked: Everything was great. No negatives.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing character and decor, the hotel looks like it's from an old haunted movie. Great staff (though they didn't speak any English), great location (though supposedly dangerouos at night) and very clean. Great value!

Disliked: No complaints.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday

07 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: excellent location

Disliked: old and narrow bed

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. For a two start hotel; this is a very good value

Disliked: Bed very hard, and noise from construction (not fault of hotel). needs updating

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

melissa brookes

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 May 2012 melissa would recommend this property

Liked: The double room was extremely spacious with a large bathrrom. Staff were friendly and helpful. For £30 a night you can't get better value.

Disliked: Due to the location near the old town, it wasn't very safe to walk round of an evening.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nathalia Catherine Afonso

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

26 April 2012 Nathalia Catherine would recommend this property

Liked: I liked almost everything! The hotel was a great experience! The staff is very friendly and really worth the price. Everyday my bedroom was clean after I leavin' to explore the city. Nothing to complain!

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff friendly even though they had little English and we had little Spanish/ old fashioned lift - property in good location

Disliked: -

62.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: affordable double rooms

Disliked: no atmosphere, no kitchen, no breakfast

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jose Vicente Franco de Almeida

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping

21 March 2012 Jose Vicente would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly , the rooms are old but very clean , the bathroom is ok , good shower , location is excellent , I would stay there again .

Disliked: Jose Vicente left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff,location.

Disliked: Everything was excellent.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its an old house

Disliked: the view

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, Location, Location

Disliked: Noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Stephen Jaffe

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 February 2012 Stephen would recommend this property

Liked: The building is an old colonial estabishment, with a lovely marble staircase and cage lift! The furnishing in the bedroom dates back to the 1920s and is totally charming. The hotel is spotlessly clean, centrally situated and has a unique old-world ambience.

Disliked: Nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

VIKTORIA HUSZTI

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2012 VIKTORIA would recommend this property

Liked: Staff is very friendly and helpful. Bathroom was very spacious.

Disliked: they do not have breakfast facility

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lucia Almeida

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2012 Lucia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is very friendly. The location is excellent. The hotel is not expensive.

Disliked: No breakfast.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

adam popowicz

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 December 2011 adam would recommend this property

Liked: location is spot on, its very good value for money for a double room ensuite, esp for us who have been in hostels for a while!very clean, great shower, good basic hotel and cheap.

Disliked: didnt really dislike anything, staff spoke no english but they gave us a map etc of city, not sure if there was breakfast as we werent told but as far as we know there wasnt any.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice building with spacious rooms. Large and clean bathroom. Central located.

Disliked: No breakfast included

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There was a computer to use, My bag was late and when t arrived it was delivered to my door.

Disliked: they did not seem to have a record of my reservation or my deposit,, I had to show them on the computer proof of payment.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice hotel which was clean and comfortable.

Disliked: The staff speak no English but they did try and help the best they could.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Anderson Lisboa Neves

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

02 September 2011 Anderson would recommend this property

Liked: Large rooms.

Disliked: No breakfast and it is located in a dangerous place at night.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Danielle Calladine

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

03 August 2011 Danielle would recommend this property

Liked: Most comfortable bed I´ve had in five months of travelling. Central location right next to Surandi St and the Plaza de la Independencia, with spacious rooms and very helpful staff 24 hours a day. Would highly reccommend.

Disliked: Could have turned the heating up slightly but they provide plenty of blankets so it´s not a major problem!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Edmundo Almeida

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

14 July 2011 Edmundo would recommend this property

Liked: Pessoal

Disliked: A segurança. A noite fica uma senhora na portaria somente

85.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: cheap and comfortable hotel accomodation

Disliked: It is a hotel not a hostel so did not meet any fellow travellers

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This hotel is very clean and well decorated and well cared for. The staff are so friendly and helpful. It has a great character with nice original features such as the old lift and windows with shutters. The location couldn´t be better - on a small street but very close to the central plaza. The bathroom and shower were lovely, and the hotel felt very secure, I would really reccomend a stay in this hotel.

Disliked: It is not great it you want to meet people, as it is a hotel rather than a hostel, but it is excellent value for money if you wnt a nice shower, a comfortable bed and a clean room and a bit of quiet!