We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Palacio Hotel

Hotel | Bartolomé Mitre 1364, Montevideo, Uruguay 11000

87.0% Overall Rating

190 out of 195 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (21/02/2014)

Jackie Goldsmith thinks…

"Location is fantastic. Loved balcony room on 6th floor. Staff very helpful - really good. Safe and secure."

Read all Palacio Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Montevideo?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Montevideo

Montevideo Port Hostel & Suites
18.00 USD

Hostel 74.8% 21 reviews
Montevideo Chic Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Splendido Hotel
19.00 USD

Hostel 82.1% 169 reviews
Ciudad Vieja Hostel
15.00 USD

Hostel 83.9% 54 reviews
Boulevard Sarandi Hostel
11.87 USD

Hostel 41.9% 3 reviews
Hispano Hotel
22.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 77.4% 36 reviews
New Arapey Hotel
18.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 57.3% 81 reviews
Los jardines colgantes de Babilonia Hostel
20.00 USD

Hostel 94.6% 16 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
87.0%

Overall Rating

190 out of 195 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Palacio Hotel'

Atmosphere
85.6%
Location
91.2%
Facilities
74.4%
Cleanliness
93.6%
Staff
91.2%
Value
88.0%
Safety
84.8%
Refine your results Showing 129 of 167 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ray Adams

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

27 April 2011 Ray would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean - it had achieved an award from hostelbooker for cleanliness. Staff very helpful. Great location, just off the two main squares. Very quiet and traditional. Great value for money.

Disliked: suspect it would not be suitable for those looking for a really lively or fun/social atmosphere.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Daniel Sauers

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 April 2011 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The Hotel Palacio is an absolute gem! Perfect location, atmospheric, period furniture, clean, super friendly staff (can I just say the Uruguayans are the nicest people on the planet and I am not a people person), great price. You can´t beat this one! I loved everything about it and plan on staying there again at the end of my trip. Stay here, you will not be disappointed... If you are sensitive to noise, however, get a room in the back (you can still get a balcony), particularly on weekends as the locals party all night long. This is not a party hostel (for one thing it´s a hotel), extrovert twenty somethings would probably hate it, which is fine by the rest of us. If you like good visuals and character and faded charm, this is your place.

Disliked: Nothing. I´d like to live there....

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a superb location, just of Independencia Plaza. You can walk to pretty much everything you want to see in Montevideo and the bus station is only a short local bus ride away, and the bus stops are very close to the hotel. The rooms are pretty big and very clean, as was the ensuite bathroom. Our room even had a little fridge and balcony. The lift in the hotel is beautiful and the staff were extremely helpful, even though our Spanish wasn't great. There was free wifi that worked in our room (third floor). I would totally recommend the Palacio Hotel to anyone who wanted a quiet place to relax for a bit. We loved it.

Disliked: Nothing.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 April 2011

Liked: That it was in the heart of the area visited. That if you are weak in Spanish, this stay will make you learn to speak the language.

Disliked: When coming in late at night because of the partying of young people on a Saturday night / Sunday morning, taxi drivers are not able to take you directly to the hotel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mads Christoffersen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2011 Mads would recommend this property

Liked: Very, very friendly staff and clean rooms. Very good location.

Disliked: The hotel descibed their rooms as spacious on the web page, but we had a very small, cramped and a bit gloomy room.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent small hotel with character Very helpful staff (mainly speaking spanish) Position excellent for city centre and old town

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location , nice , spacious rooms with the character, what we suppose to be old colonial Montevideo, As cause of Small confusion with my reservation on the begining it looked like being bad decision, but then it turned to be great stay in my opinion.

Disliked: Only spanish speaking, credit cards with additional charge. No breakfast, but actually , you are close to almost everthing and can get breakfast in many places around

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Big rooms, lucky to have the 6th floor room with huge balcony, unfortunately that meant the wifi didn't work unless you were in the reception area. May have worked on some floors. Ladies who ran the place very nice, my lack of spanish was a challenge at times, but overall good value place.

Disliked: Wifi didn't work

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Dear

As a family with children

Family Holiday

29 January 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: staff was extremely friendly and helpful, location is good - on a main tourist route not far from either old town or centre - it is kind of just behind the independence square. Nice place in old building but well maintained. We had a nice room on a second floor with nice balcony. Really good value for the price!

Disliked: -

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

23 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The cleaner who spoke no English (no one here speaks English) yet was able to point on a map and sort of explain the best things to do and how to get there

Disliked: They say they accept mastercard but it´s a really old manual inprint machine so they can´t accept modern cards and that machine is the easy way to lose your bank account info!

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Convenient to old town. Could use the free internet.

Disliked: Far from the new section of town and bus terminal.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: das hotel ist sehr sehr schön, alles sehr antik, aber liebevoll gepflegt, sehr freundliches personal. das hotel liegt mitten im zentrum und trotzdem ruhig. es gibt einen computer mit internetzugang. wir mußten beim auschecken um 10 uhr morgens die zimmer verlassen, aber konnten unser gepäck in einen raum einschließen lassen, bis zur abreise am nachmittag! ich würde immer wieder dieses hotel buchen wenn ich nach motnevideo reisen würde!!!!

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

23 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: very clean, large room, very comfortable bed, helpful staff, excellent shower.

Disliked: Slightly expensive for my budget but actually a perfectly reasonable price considering the quality of the hotel.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sarah hall

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping
Work / volunteering
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife

04 November 2010 sarah would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly staff, clean and authentic rooms, lovely balcony area and great location.

Disliked: sarah left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

03 November 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice old place with a warm and welcoming couple behind the counter.

Disliked: All good. Unfortunately no breakfast available.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Richad Haines

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

31 October 2010 Richad would recommend this property

Liked: the location was great and tons of atmosphere

Disliked: not a place for a solo traveller, but plenty of bars cafes etc nearby

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

John O'Brien

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

14 September 2010 John would recommend this property

Liked: It is a hotel for less than the cost of a hostel! What more could you want?! Staff very helpful and location is simply ideal! It is very clean, room cleaned each day and new towels too. wifi is very good and en suite v nice. very well kept hotel. lovely place to relax, a great cheap alternative to the hostel lifestyle.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donna Jessop

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2010 Donna would recommend this property

Liked: Friendly staff

Disliked: Pleasant, but decor could be up-dated

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Serkan Yalin

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

25 August 2010 Serkan would recommend this property

Liked: Staff! They are so nice and helpful. It is an antique building at a perfect location within the old city, but also a few step away from the shopping center, bus stops, etc... It has great value for the price it offers. Breakfast is not included, but who cares anyway, we all know what a breakfast is at budget hostels! Well, this is an hotel actually. from outside it looks old and dirty for some I imagine, but inside the hotel feels you are satisfied.There is only one computer for common use and it could be busy at all times if you were there in the tourism season (sumer). There is wi-fi but no repeater. So if you are staying 4th floor and above, you don't get any signal. However they would have fixed it with a single repeater.There is a common area for internet use for the ones who stay 4th floor and above.Bathroom is clean, but the water pressure wasn't too strong. Rooms have huge, private balcony.

Disliked: Serkan left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely old-fashioned hotel right in the center of things. Like stepping back into the 1950s, with an old fashioned lift and furniture, loads of character. The room was very spacious, clean and well maintained (old fashioned in style but not shabby at all). Bathroom was all new with a good shower, nice white towels and soap. The staff were really welcoming and kind when we arrived late at night and they helped us with a map and information about where we could find a meal late on a Sunday night. This was very much a hotel, not a hostel, and really good value.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Montgomery

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

12 August 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Cosy, warm, clean. Very helpful staff. Great location. Would highly reccommend for couples.

Disliked: Michael left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sonia figueiredo

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

07 August 2010 sonia would recommend this property

Liked: Very warm and friendly staff.

Disliked: The breakfast was not included.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

02 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

15 May 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! extended my stay .

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jennifer Wauson

12 May 2010 Jennifer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location right off the major square...literally within view of all the fancy hotels like the Radisson but without the high price. This hotel is charming and has a historic feel. Extremely clean and comfortable...probably one of the best places we stayed in South America. Price of a hostel but you are getting a real hotel with a nice bathroom, tv, fridge, etc.. Check in was easy and the staff very friendly and willing to give advice on the area. Room had a nice balcony with a view of the square. Breakfast is not included but the value for money was still great and there are stores and cafes close by.

Disliked: Jennifer left no negative feedback.