HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Izmir hostels

Reviews of vatan otel

3 star Hotel | Anafartalar Cad. No. 626, Izmir, Turkey 35240

62.6% Overall Rating

81 out of 112 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2014)

TANIA BORG thinks…

"All the staff were helpful, some of them could even speak English. They were always willing to help. Premises very clean. right in the centre of the bazaar"

Read all vatan otel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 23.47

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Izmir?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Izmir

HOTEL BAYLAN BASMANE
19.72 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.3% 13 reviews
Alican Hotel
22.54 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Guzel Izmir Oteli
16.58 USD

Hostel 82.3% 142 reviews
HOTEL BAYLAN YENISEHIR
18.78 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.1% 10 reviews
Nazan Country House
25.82 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Berksoy Hotel
82.88 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
62.6%

Overall Rating

81 out of 112 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'vatan otel'

Atmosphere
56.8%
Location
64.8%
Facilities
56.8%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
70.4%
Value
64.0%
Safety
65.6%
Refine your results Showing 83 of 107 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Dyah Setyana Noor

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 November 2011 Dyah Setyana would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is located in slum area, quite dirty outside but its location is quite good, near basmane train station and main street. The good thing is the staff are all helpful although some of them don't speak english well

Disliked: The room is too small, no place for putting luggage.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Adam Tindale

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

28 October 2011 Adam would recommend this property

Liked: Had a TV in the room with a few English news channels. Had air con

Disliked: Hot water took along time to kick in.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - central to everything but away in a side street which makes you feel less like a tourist. The staff were helpful and very friendly, they helped us as much as they could, by checking us in much earlier and allowing us to leave our bags for our final day after we checked out so we could explore the city and not have to carry our bags around.

Disliked: Nothing really - remember that it is a basic hotel, but I really believe you get what you pay for. Everything is clean enough, but don't expect royalty.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

11 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice little hotel, in a cheaper area so food etc. around the hotel were accessible and cheap. The room was nice a quiet. Walking distance to Konak and bazaars.

Disliked: Not a great spot to meet other travellers

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 October 2011

Liked: The bathroom is cleanç

Disliked: However, it takes 10 minutes to have 'warm' water. The floor is not flat. There are 'ant roads' on the breakfast table.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfast was great, stuff really helpful and friendly, also i think is worth to mention my minigalaxy was waiting me at the reception when i forgot it while leaving. room was comfortable, shower was warm and big enough, big plus is also a garden and all the comfy sofas around the hotel

Disliked: nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

03 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: -

Disliked: -

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: staff were exellent

Disliked: nothıng to dıslıke

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mary hession

With friends / other travellers

City break
Events / festivals
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

01 October 2011 mary would recommend this property

Liked: staff were very good nice friendly people

Disliked: nothing got what we paid for all was good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Margaret Boynton

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2011 Margaret would recommend this property

Liked: Great location in old authentic quarter of the city which is very vibrant. The staff were very friendly and helpful, offered a welcome drink on arrival, and couldn't do enough to help. The hotel had been completely modernised on the inside of an old building and was charmng and tasteful, beautiful dining room, everything lovely

Disliked: The bedroom was small but the quality was excellent

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

17 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are so helpful and accommodating. Very friendly.

Disliked: not much

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Sandra Mrkšic

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Sandra would recommend this property

Liked: it was clean and we had our privacy...and free coffee and tea all the time!

Disliked: the shower was leaking in our room

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

apostolos boutzikas

With friends / other travellers

City break

29 August 2011 apostolos would recommend this property

Liked: nothing

Disliked: warm water-internet con.- clean what is it? the breakfast what is it? GO AWAY GOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO CHOOSE ANOTHER HOTEL

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

29 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast

Disliked: dour staff

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

25 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly and the price was good - Breakfast was fantastic.

Disliked: Nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast, room and little garden

Disliked: Location in a dark street

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Monica Pla Puigvert

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Monica would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff but with poor english skills. Location is very good. Rooms are small, but private. Worthly for what u pay.

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I found this hostel on the net...at 15 Euros. It was not easy finding it and i got lost in the bazaar ! To me that was a privilege because I love to get lost ! It is situated in a neighborhood that I love. Breakfast is good. Hot water. Quiet at night but occasionally we could hear people talking so just ask them to shut up ! in all, i love this place !

Disliked: My door was not locked properly. No problem, I just have to slam the door hard & it's locked.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

03 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friedliness of the staff, facilities

Disliked: there s was a blackout (electricity and water) during a half day

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Bas Lavrijsen

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

26 July 2011 Bas would recommend this property

Liked: It was a fantastic place to stay, never been in a hotel with such an amazing value to money. The frienliness of the all the staff was super, they helped with every question and gave perfect advises. The location was super with all the hotspots in a few walking minutes! Tip: go to the Hamam (turkisch bathhouse) in the street, very relaxing! The last day we had to pick our plane very early, so they arranged a taxi and privat complete breakfast at 4:30! And the breakfast is very good and included evenso is the whole day coffee, thea and water! Don't look further take this, is our advise, cause its amazing for the price!

Disliked: The rooms are not super big like they say in the other reviews, but its not to small and the shower and bathroom are big and clean, so overall not a real dislike...

34.3%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Lannea Russell

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

21 July 2011

Liked: There wasn't a whole lot to like... the decor in the front lobby was impressive, in sort of a tacky way.

Disliked: The hotel was not in a safe location-- it was near the train station and a lot of bars in the "red light" district of Izmir. The rooms were not clean and the shower leaked into the bathroom. The entire hotel smelled like cigarettes and feet-- sorry, I know that's kind of dramatic but I don't know how else to describe it. The hotel staff had no idea that we had a reservation and it felt like a sketchy experience for two single female travelers as we saw only one other woman at the hotel.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Backpacking / gap year

19 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: hELPFUL STAFF

Disliked: room was so small

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Ok location on a "real" Turkish street. Good for crashing for the night before moving on the next day. Friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: If you approach the hotel from the other end of the street you will run into their old property which is boarded up and no longer in use, although the vatan otel sign is still present. Just keep walking and you'll see their new, and very much in business, hotel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

13 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Perfect location

Disliked: You get what you pay for; it's not the Hilton

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

amanda welfare

Alone

Work / volunteering

11 June 2011 amanda would recommend this property

Liked: i arrived late so got a taxi for 40 there, they were all very helpful with my bags and there were lots of guests sitting round socialising. the room was comfy, air con, nice shower. breakfast was substantial. they were realy helpful to me the next day helping arrange my next steps.

Disliked: it was a little loud during the night


See all Izmir hostels