HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Izmir hostels

Reviews of vatan otel

3 star Hotel | Anafartalar Cad. No. 626, Izmir, Turkey 35240

71.1% Overall Rating

91 out of 124 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/10/2014)

joe agnew thinks…

"Bit of a mix up, but got 1 double and 1 single room, opposed to 2 singles, so all happy. Staff very helpful. Good breakfast. Good location. Shower and TV's worked great. AC available too! Great…"

Read all vatan otel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 21.94

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Izmir?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Izmir

HOTEL BAYLAN BASMANE
18.43 USD

Hotel 3 star 91.9% 20 reviews
Guzel Izmir Oteli
15.18 USD

Hostel 80.8% 149 reviews
HOTEL BAYLAN YENISEHIR
17.55 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.1% 10 reviews
Nazan Country House
24.13 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Berksoy Hotel
75.90 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 23/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
71.1%

Overall Rating

91 out of 124 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'vatan otel'

Atmosphere
68.0%
Location
68.0%
Facilities
67.2%
Cleanliness
66.4%
Staff
79.2%
Value
77.6%
Safety
71.2%
Refine your results Showing 92 of 118 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

13 November 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly stuff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

On Kei Chan

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2012 On Kei would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs were helpful and nice.

Disliked: The facilities are a bit old

40.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Ismail Al Najadat

Alone

City break

30 October 2012

Liked: breakfast

Disliked: many things: The room is small, no facilities at all, the location of the hotel is bad as well and isolated in a narrow st..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und sehr hilfsbereit - Die Lage ist gut

Disliked: - Das Badezimmer ist sehr klein und heruntergekommen. Auch nicht wirklich sauber - es braucht lange, bis das Wasser morgens warm wird - es gibt kein Türkisches Bad im Hotel, die Beschreibung ist leicht irreführend

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Mykyta Grusha

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2012

Liked: cheap

Disliked: not very clean

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was extremely helpful- they helped me get my laundry done and told me about the area. Locatıon ıs down the street from the bıg bazaar. 15 mınutes from the town center. Rıght behınd on the hıll ıs the Agora ruıns(very ınterestıng!) and the castle (great vıew). Also the bus and traın statıon ıs just down the street. I stayed ın a sıngle room wıth AC and had everythıng I needed. Nıce and Clean facılıtıes

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Radek JUNEK

Alone

City break

05 September 2012 Radek would recommend this property

Liked: all is good

Disliked: Radek left no negative feedback.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 September 2012

Liked: The location is alright and the breakfast is pretty good.

Disliked: Ok. I would NEVER recommend staying here. I asked how much laundry would be (they don't have one at the hotel but said they could get it done elsewhere for me) and was quoted 6 lira. Later that night I was confronted with a bill of 67 lira! I didn't want my t-shirts and underwear ironed for God's sake! When I refused to pay the owner got very aggressive, refused to listen to me and threatened to call the police. I would not trust these people as far as I could throw them. Horrible place, horrible people. A very dishonest scam.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 20% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

DIANE SIGUA

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2012 DIANE would recommend this property

Liked: The reception area was very nice. The AC was quiet and got the room cooled down to our comfort. The area was pretty quiet at night.

Disliked: The actual room -- the bathroom in particular.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

ELEFTHERIOS MANOUSIS

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 ELEFTHERIOS would recommend this property

Liked: The young people in the reception were friendly and helpful

Disliked: The restaurant had a view in a small yard with a terribly dirty and old toilette

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dan Vasile Bompa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Dan Vasile would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Dan Vasile left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping

14 August 2012

Liked: maybe lodation, air conditioned

Disliked: not clean, wc had a curtain instead of door(!) , very small room, wc was not clean, dumps on the wall,.....

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

WAYVEN PIENAAR

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2012

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The directions on their website is really vague. It took me a long time to find the place from the directions i was given. Not fun trying to find the place in the blazing heat. If you take a taxi, they rip you off. No win situation. They should really direct people from all points of entry. The staff tried to be friendly but just couldn't be. They're not really people for the service industry. There was a massive roach at the breakfast table. I would never stay there again. The area was dodgy too.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hospitable and helpful staff that speaks good english, Vatan the Parrot himself, great turkish buffet breakfast, aircon that actually works, no noise in the room, felt safe, fully functional ensuite bathroom, cleaning service every morning (if you want it), excellent location (just outside the bazar area) 10 min walking distance to the seaside and clock square in an authentic and pictoresque street with shops and other hospitality busnisess that cater primarily for locals, a sight for itself... and yes, reliable wifi and could use the computer at reception. And finally, outstanding value for money. Would come back.

Disliked: Hot water did run out a few times, but it was summer and the staff remedied the condition asap and it was back and running. Also, directions on hostelbookers are a bit confusing, they unnecessarily lead you into side streets, whereas you could get there by following the main street. A map would be much clearer and a second draft of the directions.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012

Liked: it had a good internet conncetion..and freindly staff

Disliked: decor is tacky and out dated..my ectectiionic key dosnt work or stay on!!! Breakfast needs to be FRESH EVERY DAY...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull stuff, good value for money. After travelling a lot in hostels the place felt kind of luxurous (with a budget price). Vatan the parrot was a bit loud but fun :D

Disliked: WIFI didn´t work during my whole stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohamed Emhmed

Alone

Shopping

15 July 2012 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: ^good

Disliked: good

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alimohammad Shahri

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

09 July 2012 Alimohammad would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are great :)

Disliked: Internet Connection is not stable. Problem with Hot water. No refrigerator in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Stoltzman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the little market street where it was located, for me a food lover this was the best just walking and eating and drinking as you go, the staff were super helpful where they could be

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jose lomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012 jose would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for independent travellers. Excellent location close to Train station. The area is some basic, but safe.

Disliked: jose left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a budget hotel, but an excellent one at that. Heating/cooling worked like a charm, friendly staff, great breakfast, and a central location. Other budget hotels in the area look kind of seedy, but this one is in a pleasant part of the market and we felt perfectly safe. Free coffee and tea was much appreciated on a cold rainy afternoon. Would stay here again.

Disliked: No windows in our room, got a little stuffy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Patricia Soto Sellanes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: I just stayed 1 night. I have a private room with toilette. Breakfast included. So for few hours is ok

Disliked: Patricia left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012

Liked: The property was sort of cheap. Breakfast was great. Was greeted very warmly.

Disliked: Where do I begin...The location is impossible to find and in a sketchy back street. My taxi driver had to ask several other taxi drivers and locals until one knew of the "hotel". When I was shown my room the staff person couldn't get the pornography off of the television so he just turned the television off; I couldn't figure out how to turn the channel either. Air conditioning didn't work well and gave off a very sickening smell.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They were all very nice, showed me how everything worked, offered tea and coffee, told me where to go to catch the train for Selcuk. Warm bed. NIce spread for breakfast. Slightly better than basic accomodations (TV in room...) Very close to the metro station and train station and downtown.

Disliked: I couldn't get any hot water. I was too tired for travelling to inquire about it though, so it could have just been me. Also- could only get one channel on the TV. I think the 1000 channels are on the tv in the restaurant. Certainly not an issue since I don't speak Turkish anyway... Directions a little difficult to follow. I arrived at night and it seemed I was going down a back alley.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great ambience, friendly helpful staff, free coffee and tea, nice parrot and fish.

Disliked: Not a double bed, shower leaked on bathroom floor, windowless room/poor ventilation.


See all Izmir hostels