HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Izmir hostels

Reviews of vatan otel

3 star Hotel | Anafartalar Cad. No. 626, Izmir, Turkey 35240

63.4% Overall Rating

82 out of 113 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (07/01/2014)

TANIA BORG thinks…

"All the staff were helpful, some of them could even speak English. They were always willing to help. Premises very clean. right in the centre of the bazaar"

Read all vatan otel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 23.33

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Izmir?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Izmir

HOTEL BAYLAN BASMANE
19.60 USD

Hotel 2 star 90.3% 13 reviews
Alican Hotel
22.39 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Guzel Izmir Oteli
16.59 USD

Hostel 82.3% 142 reviews
HOTEL BAYLAN YENISEHIR
18.66 USD

Hotel 2 star 89.1% 10 reviews
Nazan Country House
25.66 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Berksoy Hotel
82.93 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
63.4%

Overall Rating

82 out of 113 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'vatan otel'

Atmosphere
57.6%
Location
65.6%
Facilities
57.6%
Cleanliness
60.0%
Staff
71.2%
Value
65.6%
Safety
66.4%
Refine your results Showing 83 of 108 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

ELEFTHERIOS MANOUSIS

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

28 August 2012 ELEFTHERIOS would recommend this property

Liked: The young people in the reception were friendly and helpful

Disliked: The restaurant had a view in a small yard with a terribly dirty and old toilette

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Dan Vasile Bompa

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

16 August 2012 Dan Vasile would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean

Disliked: Dan Vasile left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Shopping

14 August 2012

Liked: maybe lodation, air conditioned

Disliked: not clean, wc had a curtain instead of door(!) , very small room, wc was not clean, dumps on the wall,.....

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

WAYVEN PIENAAR

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

13 August 2012

Liked: Nothing.

Disliked: The directions on their website is really vague. It took me a long time to find the place from the directions i was given. Not fun trying to find the place in the blazing heat. If you take a taxi, they rip you off. No win situation. They should really direct people from all points of entry. The staff tried to be friendly but just couldn't be. They're not really people for the service industry. There was a massive roach at the breakfast table. I would never stay there again. The area was dodgy too.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hospitable and helpful staff that speaks good english, Vatan the Parrot himself, great turkish buffet breakfast, aircon that actually works, no noise in the room, felt safe, fully functional ensuite bathroom, cleaning service every morning (if you want it), excellent location (just outside the bazar area) 10 min walking distance to the seaside and clock square in an authentic and pictoresque street with shops and other hospitality busnisess that cater primarily for locals, a sight for itself... and yes, reliable wifi and could use the computer at reception. And finally, outstanding value for money. Would come back.

Disliked: Hot water did run out a few times, but it was summer and the staff remedied the condition asap and it was back and running. Also, directions on hostelbookers are a bit confusing, they unnecessarily lead you into side streets, whereas you could get there by following the main street. A map would be much clearer and a second draft of the directions.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2012

Liked: it had a good internet conncetion..and freindly staff

Disliked: decor is tacky and out dated..my ectectiionic key dosnt work or stay on!!! Breakfast needs to be FRESH EVERY DAY...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

05 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull stuff, good value for money. After travelling a lot in hostels the place felt kind of luxurous (with a budget price). Vatan the parrot was a bit loud but fun :D

Disliked: WIFI didn´t work during my whole stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mohamed Emhmed

Alone

Shopping

15 July 2012 Mohamed would recommend this property

Liked: ^good

Disliked: good

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Alimohammad Shahri

With my spouse / partner

Business / conference

09 July 2012 Alimohammad would recommend this property

Liked: Staff are great :)

Disliked: Internet Connection is not stable. Problem with Hot water. No refrigerator in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jonathan Stoltzman

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2012 Jonathan would recommend this property

Liked: i loved the little market street where it was located, for me a food lover this was the best just walking and eating and drinking as you go, the staff were super helpful where they could be

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

jose lomas

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 May 2012 jose would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for independent travellers. Excellent location close to Train station. The area is some basic, but safe.

Disliked: jose left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

20 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This is a budget hotel, but an excellent one at that. Heating/cooling worked like a charm, friendly staff, great breakfast, and a central location. Other budget hotels in the area look kind of seedy, but this one is in a pleasant part of the market and we felt perfectly safe. Free coffee and tea was much appreciated on a cold rainy afternoon. Would stay here again.

Disliked: No windows in our room, got a little stuffy.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Patricia Soto Sellanes

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

16 April 2012 Patricia would recommend this property

Liked: I just stayed 1 night. I have a private room with toilette. Breakfast included. So for few hours is ok

Disliked: Patricia left no negative feedback.

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

13 April 2012

Liked: The property was sort of cheap. Breakfast was great. Was greeted very warmly.

Disliked: Where do I begin...The location is impossible to find and in a sketchy back street. My taxi driver had to ask several other taxi drivers and locals until one knew of the "hotel". When I was shown my room the staff person couldn't get the pornography off of the television so he just turned the television off; I couldn't figure out how to turn the channel either. Air conditioning didn't work well and gave off a very sickening smell.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: They were all very nice, showed me how everything worked, offered tea and coffee, told me where to go to catch the train for Selcuk. Warm bed. NIce spread for breakfast. Slightly better than basic accomodations (TV in room...) Very close to the metro station and train station and downtown.

Disliked: I couldn't get any hot water. I was too tired for travelling to inquire about it though, so it could have just been me. Also- could only get one channel on the TV. I think the 1000 channels are on the tv in the restaurant. Certainly not an issue since I don't speak Turkish anyway... Directions a little difficult to follow. I arrived at night and it seemed I was going down a back alley.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family
Work / volunteering

24 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great ambience, friendly helpful staff, free coffee and tea, nice parrot and fish.

Disliked: Not a double bed, shower leaked on bathroom floor, windowless room/poor ventilation.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alfredo Sellitti

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

16 February 2012 Alfredo would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, staff friendly and polite

Disliked: It does not really compile with a 3star hotel according to European Standards, but the comparison offer-price is ok.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

28 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's an inexpensive option located close to Konak pier and within walking distance of the Basmane train station and the service buses that will take you to the main bus station. WiFi worked very well. The staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly.

Disliked: Furniture and such is a little dated, but the lounge is comfortable.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Yat-Ho Lai

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 December 2011 Yat-Ho would recommend this property

Liked: location is excellent close to metro station. Easy access.

Disliked: But dirty in the room and i was bitten by some bed bugs...

48.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

ellis plata

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

07 December 2011

Liked: Nothing

Disliked: Bfast starts at 8 and at 9.30 when i came they had no more food!! Showers struggle to get hot water and when it does work its not for long. Tv has only 2 English channels that i could find and my tv didn't even work on my first night. Internet is super slow and regularly goes down. No city maps are avail or no suggestions offered on what to see or do in Izmir.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Mohammad Nadir Haider

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

26 November 2011 Mohammad Nadir would recommend this property

Liked: The property was very nice compared to the other hotel I stayed at in Izmir. It was clean but a bit more expensive than the others but had breakfast and free tea and coffee which made up for it. The place is right behind the Algora.

Disliked: A bit hard to find using the directions.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very nice place, even if we had some problem to have hot water... Friendly staff. Good location.

Disliked: Nothing except we had to ask for hot water (not a big problem...)

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011

Liked: Quiet room in the middle of Izmir.

Disliked: The hotel was a little ostentatious for our tastes. The floor of the room had a slope. Just enough that we had to wake up and crawl back up to our pillows.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

11 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: free internet, staff

Disliked: cold water :(

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Benjamin Hinton

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 November 2011 Benjamin would recommend this property

Liked: Get a room on the 2nd floor! They are the best! Hotel is great overall though. Good value for the money. GREAT STAFF!

Disliked: Neighborhood is a bit rough but quite central.


See all Izmir hostels