HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Tashkonak

3 star Hotel | Kucuk Ayasofya caddesi., Tomurcuk Sokak. No 5, Sultanahmet Istanbul, Turkey 34400

90.9% Overall Rating

31 out of 32 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (01/08/2011)

"Decent place, central. Has a rooftop terrace which is nice though there are nicer ones."

Read all Hotel Tashkonak reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Concierge
  • Express check-in / out
  • Laundry service
  • Wake-up calls
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Cot / crib

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IMPORTANT NOTICE FROM HOTEL TASHKONAK In order to secure your booking you need to email us after you book and provide us with the 3 digits sec code of your card. Without this your booking may be invalid.

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Sarnic Hotel
316.26 USD

Hotel 4 star 86.5% 7 reviews
Sunrise Hotel
101.20 USD

Hotel 3 star 75.7% 4 reviews
Istanbul Holiday Hotel
40.48 USD

Hotel 3 star 84.3% 42 reviews
Yunus Emre Hotel
19.75 USD

Hotel 2 star 79.0% 59 reviews
Naz Wooden House Inn
28.44 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.0% 14 reviews
Stanpoli Hotel
33.52 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
piya hotel/hostel
12.65 USD

Hostel 91.1% 72 reviews
Nakkas Apart
31.63 USD

Apartment Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.9%

Overall Rating

31 out of 32 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Tashkonak'

Atmosphere
90.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
85.6%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
96.8%
Value
88.8%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 24 of 26 reviews
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Novri Asmi

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 June 2014 Novri would recommend this property

Liked: It is cozy and hommy.

Disliked: Novri left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

30 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good. The room was very clean and comfortable.

Disliked: The sounds were so clear outside the rooms or upper.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Decent place, central. Has a rooftop terrace which is nice though there are nicer ones.

Disliked: Calls itself boutique hotel which is definitely overstepping itself. OK place I found it too expensive for the quality - but then Istanbul is expensive. Independently of the hotel, I wouldn,t recommend Sultanahmet for your entire Istanbul stay. Convenient area but you have to constantly beat off the carpet salesmen, who although nice are annoyingly persistent.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

08 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We were greeted so warmly after a long journey. The location is awesome. Having a safe and access to the computer are huge plusses. Also, the breakfast was awesome.

Disliked: Little difficult to find. However, many places in istanbul are tricky to find.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We choosed the hotel mostly because of the location, but we found much more than that... it is a cute and warm hotel, with a very friendly staff that helped to take good advance of the short time we had to know the city... nice and clean rooms... delicious breakfast. We are really delighted with the hotel.

Disliked: didnt have any problem.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was perfect - location, cleanliness, advice from staff (went out of their way to be helpful), garden to sit in, roof-top breakfast room (amazing view in great surroundings). Our twin room was just perfect for our needs (comfortable beds, roomy and we could open the window for fresh air (air con also in room if required). The staff were very obliging, nothing was too much trouble (they were always helpful and usually went that 'extra mile')

Disliked: Our room was facing the street and did tend to be a little noisy during the night (and early hours of the morning). There was a Mosque directly across the street and the 'call to prayer' was rather load (especailly at sunrise!)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Visiting friends or family

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast is great with a nice panoramic view on the see.

Disliked: Thought there was a bathtub.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We stayed there for 3 nights and just left there. The room is clean and quiet with hot shower! The bed is very comfortable for us to take rest after 10 days in rest Turkey. Their buffet breakfast offers the most variety choice among all hotels or hostels that we stayed in Turkey. We have got further 10% discount when we checked out and paid in cash! This is a very value for money hotel! International airport transfer service can be arranged at 20Euro!

Disliked: It is located in a quiet place. If you are a female traveller alone, you need to take caution. But we like this quiet place!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rachael Boland

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2010 Rachael would recommend this property

Liked: This place was fabulous!! It's a simple, family run Turkish Hotel. Amazing value for money. I stayed in an en-suite double bedroom with aircon. It was really clean, fridge, excellent shower, towels, even the hotel slippers and toiletries that were replaced each day. These are simple things that make a difference. The buffet breakfast, as much as you can eat out on the wonderful terrace with great views of the Bosphorous and the Blue Mosque, what more could you ask for. The staff were lovely and very helpful. It wasn't noisey, a good place for a couple or family. I would definitely stay there again, great location to all the major attractions. Fab!

Disliked: The only downfall was their very, very slow non working internet, but thats nothing serious.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

13 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: size of rooms and bathrooms

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joyce Fok

22 February 2010 Joyce would recommend this property

Liked: We went there in Feb which was real cold in Istanbul. But we are very satisfied with the central heating and hot water facilities of the hotel. We stayed there for 2 nights between 5-7 Feb and we booked another night on 14 Feb. When we came back on 14 Feb we were told the hotel was full and we were sent to their Tashkonak Suites which is just round the corner. The room was great and spacious! Their staff were being very very helpful and nice to us. Highly recommend!

Disliked: Joyce left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

06 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money. The room is clean and quite well-decorated, and the hotel staffs are friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

14 December 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice location, view, very friendly staff, private garden, terrace, free tea and nice lobby to meet people.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

21 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Honesty and very friendly and concerned staff.nice cozy rooms with all required emenities.excellent breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

08 November 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The guys at this hotel were amazing. They could not have been more helpful, accomodating, kind and thoughtful. My friend lost her bag after we had checked out - having really enjoyed our stay at the hotel, being comfortable, clean and very well located for all the sights we crammed into our few days in Istanbul. So, without passport, cash, tickets and cards we ended up back at the hotel where they spent hours helping us contact police, consulate, credit card companies etc. We had to stay for two further days and the hotel refused to charge us. The staff and owners were brilliant and just couldn't have been more helpful, the whole situation really would have been far more difficult if it weren't for them. I'd have recommended staying here if this hadn't happened but since it did, I truly can't rate them high enough.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

07 April 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 April 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeena Patel

31 March 2008 Jeena would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent staff. beautiful environment. worth every penny

Disliked: Jeena left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

25 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It`s a really pleasent hotel with a great view from the terrasse to the Blue Mosque and the See. The people are very friendly and helpfull. The room was small, but enough for sleeping in to the night.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

02 March 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was manned 24 hours and the staff were so very helpful, it's safe the location is excellent the buffet breakfast was a marvel to see!

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

28 January 2008 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: its a very nice and great hostel, the staff were very nice and help full, specially helping you to find the ways to the airport and actually took us to the airport themself for a very cheep price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

13 December 2007 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: terrace

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katy Maier

10 October 2007 Katy would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very friendly, the rooms were beautiful, location is excellent, really couldn't ask for much more!

Disliked: Katy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

02 January 2007 would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and friendly staff, great location in Sultanahmet.

Disliked: left no negative feedback.