HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Hotel Esen

3 star Hotel | Hocapasa mah., Orhaniye cad. No:40, Sirkeci Istanbul, Turkey Istanbul

72.9% Overall Rating

21 out of 31 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (12/07/2012)

TETIANA KUSHNAROVA thinks…

"Location, staff, a wide bed, a shower with cold and hot water, transfer to the airport; and water, soft drinks, tea all day long, breakfast."

Read all Hotel Esen reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Self-catering Facilities
  • Currency Exchange
  • Free city tour
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Wheelchair accessible

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 41.41

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Sultan Hotel
34.51 USD

Hotel 2 star 73.7% 101 reviews
Ipek Palace Hotel
77.72 USD

Hotel 4 star 78.2% 13 reviews
Second Home hostel
22.09 USD

Hostel 93.7% 548 reviews
BEST NOBEL HOTEL
42.30 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Kafkas Hotel Istanbul
35.89 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Agan
45.55 USD

Hotel 3 star 89.0% 116 reviews
Erbil Hotel
48.45 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Hotel Akcinar
37.27 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.3% 9 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
72.9%

Overall Rating

21 out of 31 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Hotel Esen'

Atmosphere
63.2%
Location
92.8%
Facilities
61.6%
Cleanliness
69.6%
Staff
77.6%
Value
67.2%
Safety
78.4%
Refine your results Showing 22 of 27 reviews
Reset filter
42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 40%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Marius van Broekhuizen

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture

23 September 2013

Liked: Location

Disliked: Twice they tried to force us to stay at "the other building" (One that I did not book). Once we fell for it, the other time we demanded to stay in the correct hotel.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Included breakfast, low price, location, helpful staff

Disliked: Cleanliness, room at the top has too low ceiling, unable to walk normally

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Tihomir Car

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

31 January 2013

Liked: The hotel is situated near the center of the old city.

Disliked: We booked one double deluxe room for six nights, what we got was a tiny claustrophobic room in the attic with two separate beds (in the building across the hotel!) We were promised original room on the next day. It didn't happen. On the third day they moved us to another room,this time in yet another building! On the fourth night we finally got our „double deluxe“ room which was so small that two people couldn't be in it at the same time. After we protested about the way we were treated, the cleaning lady stopped coming to our room! The breakfast room in the lobby was so small that we once had to wait for 20 minutes until one table got available. The reception is next to the breakfast room and nobody from the reception came to us to apologize. They left us standing there like idiots. The personnel don' t speak ANY foreign language. When we finally got home (and believe me, I normally always want to extend my holidays)we saw that the hotel billed our credit card with additional 50 euros! We payed everything on site and have a receipt as confirmation. They never responded to our e-mail in which we demanded explanation for those imaginary costs. Please, avoid this hotel like the plague. It will ruin your vacation.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

TETIANA KUSHNAROVA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 July 2012 TETIANA would recommend this property

Liked: Location, staff, a wide bed, a shower with cold and hot water, transfer to the airport; and water, soft drinks, tea all day long, breakfast.

Disliked: The tough fifth floor for getting up without the lift especially after walking about this beautiful city for a day long. The staff helped to carry my bag up to the room on arriving - it's OK,but I had to take it down myself before leaving. Wall paper in the room.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nothing special

Disliked: Tiny single rooms

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Marcia Stoesz

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

31 August 2011 Marcia would recommend this property

Liked: We had a large room on the top floor with a great view of the Bosphorus, in the after noon we opened the windows and enjoyed the refreshing sea breeze. Very easy walking distance to all the attractions in Istanbul old city!

Disliked: The street construction outside the front door.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
City break

12 July 2011

Liked: nothing in particular

Disliked: rooms too small, shower not working in best conditions, they changed our room without announcing us

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

PIK WA ADA CHENG

With my spouse / partner

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2011 PIK WA ADA would recommend this property

Liked: The hotel is close to tram & train station, it's in between Sultanahmet and Galata Koprusu, very convenient. If you do not mind walking, just 10-15 mins walk, thus, not so crowded in Sultanahmet. I stayed in the 5/F and with very beautiful seaview! The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Disliked: Yet, if you're not sportive enough, please watch out for lower level room as no elevator.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

10 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It had a very nice style, and very good location.

Disliked: it was nothing to complain about

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

12 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location, beautiful view, bed.

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff good value for money

Disliked: breakfast a bit limited choice

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 September 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is good. it is probably worth noting that the star rating in Istanbul is lower than in Western Europe. Their 3 star probably equals the average 2 star in W Europe.

Disliked: Cleaning of rooms not always up to standard.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aleksandar Darakchiev

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

18 September 2010 Aleksandar would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, if you use GPS Navigation, look the map first and do not turn left at the first time, the navi tells you. Skip that left turn as it goes straight to Topkapi palace. Go toawrds Galata bridge, using the shore boulevard and turn left when you have view of the bridge. The stuff is helpful. If you come by car and there is no space in front of the hotel(which will happen almost for sure), they take care of your car and park it nearby at a paid parksite for free.

Disliked: We have booked a large room for 4/5 people with separate beds,which was supposed to be on the top of the hotel. Instead of that we were given 2 separate small rooms. Be aware of this and insist to receive EXACTLY what you've paid for. We were in a bit of a rush and did not have any time to complaint. And were staying 1 night only. No elevator, though! Be aware if you are staying on top floors. Wi-fi is available only at the lobby and first 1-2 floors.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa

30 August 2010

Liked: The location of the hotel is easy to find, the young staff who maily serves our breakfast is very kind and helpful, the sheet is clean.

Disliked: But the room is small and the air conditioner is not work.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast and the location are ok. The room was air conditioned.

Disliked: The bathroom was clean but the room was very very small and not so clean. Small pieces of roof falling down over the bed.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

29 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very small rooms and showers. Excellent location but it was a bit difficult to find the hotel.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

As a family with children

Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday
Shopping

05 July 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice viewlocationhelpful staff

Disliked: small diningroom broken tap and tiles in the bathroom

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Carolina Haber

05 June 2010 Carolina would recommend this property

Liked: It's clean, it has a good staff and a very good location, in the center. The view of the city in the upper floor is amazing.

Disliked: Carolina left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 April 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I was transferred to another building which was a little far from the actual one. There was no internet, sadly. But new building was clean and all accessories inside the room were more than good for the value I paid. Place is OK to stay a few nights, considering the amount you will pay.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 September 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location & verry friendly. The rooms may be small

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

gökhan aslan

29 July 2009 gökhan would recommend this property

Liked: really good place to stay.Breakfast was rich enough .good sleep.

Disliked: gökhan left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

06 May 2009 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good staff and location and good breakfast

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.