HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Meddusa Hotel

3 star Hotel | Nuruosmaniye caddesi, No 7 Sultaahmet, Sultanhmet Istanbul, Turkey 34400

78.3% Overall Rating

35 out of 42 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (13/03/2012)

"Excellent location,3 minutes from the tram and all the great monuments,great shops and food at the area,very delicious restaurant right next to the hostel,very safe,nice bathroom and very friendly staff."

Read all Meddusa Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Currency Exchange
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Fax
  • Photocopying
  • Express check-in / out
  • Late check-out
  • Bar(s)
  • Newspapers
  • Television room

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 33.66

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Old City Hostel
20.20 USD

Hostel 89.3% 15 reviews
Ottoman Cagaloglu Butik
1,346.44 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
istiklal hostel
16.68 USD

Hostel 89.7% 162 reviews
Istanbul Hostel
15.48 USD

Hostel 79.0% 370 reviews
Boutiqu Dedem Hotel
121.18 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
AAE Istanbul Aquarium Hotel
14.30 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.7% 28 reviews
Istanbul Violet Apart
21.72 USD

Apartment 85.7% 3 reviews
Akdeniz hotel
23.83 USD

Hotel 2 star 71.2% 13 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.3%

Overall Rating

35 out of 42 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Meddusa Hotel'

Atmosphere
64.8%
Location
97.6%
Facilities
69.6%
Cleanliness
71.2%
Staff
85.6%
Value
79.2%
Safety
80.0%
Refine your results Showing 38 of 41 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break

11 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff

Disliked: Room was far from spacious

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

13 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location,3 minutes from the tram and all the great monuments,great shops and food at the area,very delicious restaurant right next to the hostel,very safe,nice bathroom and very friendly staff.

Disliked: It could be a little cleaner..

80.0%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

10 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great little hotel in a great location in Istanbul! Breakfast was fantastic and it was great value for money! I would definitely stay there again and recommend this hotel to others. The young guy who works there was excellent and very friendly, always helpful and made us loads of tea! Our room was also cleaned every day which was great. The restaurant next door was amazing as well and would highly recommend it!

Disliked: The bathroom did have a funny smell to it and the foyers through out the hotel smelt of cigarettes, I think this was mainly because of the older guys smoking downstairs in the reception foyer.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good and good for value.

Disliked: Eventough I asked for a non smoking room when we entered the room you could feel the smell all over the sheets pillows. there is no non smoker room. even the common areas are smelly. they smoke 24 hours.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

30 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff spoke very little English - you really need to have your trip figured out and not expect help from them. They are pretty friendly and kind. The cleaning lady always did an excellent job and we never had anything taken. Though our suitcases would be moved so she could sweep and mop and our things put away. The free breakfast that comes with the room consisted of: nice cheese, similar to fetta, other sliced cheese, bologna type meat, hard boiled eggs, tomatoes, cucumbers, 2 kinds of olives, yogurt, fruit, bread, butter, jam, chocolate spread, tang type juice, water, tea, coffee. We got a bit bored with it after a 2 week stay, but it was filling. The rooms are tiny! But if you are going to Istanbul to see the city, not to sit in your hotel room all day! The bathrooms were clean, but some bathrooms had no shower curtains, and the floor would be wet. I noticed a bit of mold on the celing of the bathroom, there is no fan, so it's to be expected. It wasn't a lot or of any concern to us. This is not a luxury hotel, it's pretty basic, but safe. The area is safe and as two females traveling alone, we felt safe. Though we carried mace (you can legally in Turkey if it's under 4 oz.) Fresh towels every day. No bed bugs that I could see. European style sheets, so really not necessary a top sheet. But we had our hostel covers. The location is awesome, the top tourist sights are only a few blocks away as are the trams and two nearby Hammam's (Cagaloglu Hamam, 1 block away, 45 Euros, ouch! and Cemberlitas, 45 lira, way better deal, several blocks away on the tramline next to the burnt colomn) A little store next door for water and juice, and a small grocery store a block down the street, Greens. Starbucks up the street. But don't expect the coffee, or chocolate to be of the US quality. They were both weak.

Disliked: The neighborhood doesn't seem to have that many restaurants to choose from. No local bar or lounge in the immediate area, though you could find a decent bar 5 blocks away. Things just seemed to shut down at night. The neighborhood tourists seemed to consist mostly of adults between the ages of 35-50, not a lot of "young" people, not a party place.

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Afroza Ahmed

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference

11 May 2011 Afroza would recommend this property

Liked: it is good. One can stay in this hotel, but tarriff is little high than expectation.

Disliked: language problem faced a lot.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Family Holiday
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

20 April 2011

Liked: it was cheap

Disliked: the rooms are small

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Scott Sinclair

With friends / other travellers

City break
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2010 Scott would recommend this property

Liked: We highly recommend Meddusa Hotel, if you are looking for nice quiet hotel (it’s not for party people). Great location- Aya Sofya, the Blue Mosque & reasonably priced restaurants all within a ten-minute walk down the street (Yerebatan Cadessi). Deniz, the owner, is friendly & helpful, breakfast is good & plentiful, the hotel & our room, was clean (the room was cleaned daily – very rare in budget places). This is a great place for the price (remember it is a 2 star hotel). Having travelled extensively & being a former guide book researcher, I can only think that the people who have complained have possibly not travelled extensively & were expecting 3-4 star facilities on a 2 star budget! (No shower curtain is common place in budget hotels in Asia, Africa, etc). Our room at backside of the hotel had no noise-unsure about front rooms. Would definitely stay here again!

Disliked: Scott left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Shopping

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: relaxed atmosphere and friendly staff make staying here easy and comfortable. Travelling to and from the hostel was easy and affordable and very convenient with the trams so close and also many restaurants and food shops close by made choosing places for dinner much easier

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Shopping

01 August 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location to visit all places in istanbul, as close to trams and shops and kebap shops. The staff were very welcoming and wanted to help wherever they could.

Disliked: everything was more than welcomed

57.1%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
City break
Family Holiday

11 July 2010

Liked: I did not like it, I will not recommend it.

Disliked: Air conditioner

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

27 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like the good position, prices and Deniz who is the perfect hotel manager.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 60%

Customer review

25 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Hotel is nice, staff is friendful, but the charwoman is very strange. She didn't clean the carpet all the time we stayed there, and she threw out our museum tickets we wanted to keep and our empty botle for water we needed.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Madelia Bergeroo

23 June 2010 Madelia would recommend this property

Liked: The staff is really nice, although not all of them speack english, the owner in fluent and often there so you won't have to mant problem with any inquieries... It's also very clean and they put some kind of promontory under the bathroom door so the wather doesn't fload anymore the bedroom. Also very well located in the heart of sultanamet, 5 minutes up form the tramway station of the same name, though a bit off from the very very touristic place behing the blue mosque so it not so noisy at night... I will highly recommend any body to stay there!!

Disliked: Madelia left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

04 June 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome location, friendly staff

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ralitsa Atanasova

16 April 2010 Ralitsa would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and clean room, good breakfast, friendly staff. Located on a quiet yet central steert close to many of the major attractions and not far from the tram stop. The bathroom needed some repairs but was ok. Very good value for money.

Disliked: Ralitsa left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

annie wong

27 March 2010 annie would recommend this property

Liked: The owner is really nice and genuine nice. it has a really cute lift which is tiny. it has a lovely roof terrace with views overlooking the sea and good breakfast. great price for a double ensuite. >>Rooms are basic but so close to everything and Buhara restaurant next door is cheap and does nice food

Disliked: annie left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

22 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast on the terrace and friendliness of staff, and also location in old town

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

12 March 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Could not have a better location. Good breakfast.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

16 February 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location - close to many places of interest and lots of restaurants. Basic but clean, and the staff were friendly and helpful. We'd go back.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

14 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Don´t take a room on the 3rd floor, since the upstairs breakfast room and terrace is right above the rooms and there are people drinking, watching tv and talking at night. Ear plugs are necessary! The staff are loud, also at night. The staff was polite and nice, but there were some problems with language barriers. But the place was quite clean, safe and most of all, the location is excellent.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

10 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's more of a hotel than a hostel, but it was great for us.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

06 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Only the manager speaks english, what is a huge problem to those who don't speak any turkish. Specialy when he is not there...

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

02 January 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very very good location. Small, basic rooms, but clean. No everyone spoke english, but they were very helpful.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

01 January 2010

Liked: The hotel was walking distance to the major attractions. The breakfast was good. The restaurant just by the hotel was good and the price for a meal was good. The room was quite small - beds were OK. The bathroom was a bit odd. It was a small bathroom with stool and sink and a shower hose coming from the wall, so the water went all over the bathroom and eventually spilling into the bedroom. It was an adequate hotel. No complaints - If I were to go to Istanbul again - I'd try another place, but The Medussa was good for a first time.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.