HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Deniz Houses

3 star Hotel | Cayiroglu Sok. No:14, Istanbul, Turkey 34400

85.8% Overall Rating

46 out of 53 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (20/07/2014)

"t was quite cheap, comfortable and in an excellent location for tourism in Istanbul."

Read all Deniz Houses reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 31.63

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Istanbul?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Istanbul

Maritime Hotel Istanbul
118.60 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Sultan's Inn
25.78 USD

Hotel 3 star 86.4% 88 reviews
Seatanbul Guest House
12.65 USD

Guesthouse 84.0% 17 reviews
Antique House Istanbul
22.82 USD

Hotel 91.8% 8 reviews
Cheers Lighthouse
22.38 USD

Hostel 92.1% 33 reviews
Nova Roma Hotel Istanbul
32.91 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Golden Palace Istanbul
25.30 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
City Guest House Istanbul
15.18 USD

Hotel 2 star 81.4% 10 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 24/10/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.8%

Overall Rating

46 out of 53 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Deniz Houses'

Atmosphere
82.4%
Location
92.0%
Facilities
78.4%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
80.8%
Value
88.0%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 34 of 48 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Daniel Sierra

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 August 2014 Daniel would recommend this property

Liked: The location

Disliked: Expensive taxi service

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: t was quite cheap, comfortable and in an excellent location for tourism in Istanbul.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Emzar Sekhniashvili

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Emzar would recommend this property

Liked: The location is amazing! Near the most beautiful places to visit.

Disliked: Everything was good

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sandor Szucs

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2014 Sandor would recommend this property

Liked: We got a free upgrade to the nicest room. Polite, friendly staff. Great breakfast, great location. Clean and our room was excellent. "Turkish bath" bathroom, stylish furniture, seaview (noisy a bit), airconditioner.

Disliked: Sandor left no negative feedback.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

LE BORGNE Philippe

With my spouse / partner

Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

23 April 2014

Liked: For the price, Nothing... I left the hotel on the next day to find easily another better one.

Disliked: The personnel is gibbergerishing English leading to misunderstanding. They faked the morning breakfast room picture. The too commercial approach (they proposed you tours) as soon as you arrived.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Djenaba Sow

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 April 2014 Djenaba would recommend this property

Liked: Me and my husband we are regular visitors to istanbul and we both believed this hotel to have been the best so far! The staff are very friendly, cleaners always smile when they see you though they dont speak english and staff at reception was very friendly, kind and helpful. The rooms were very clean and sound proof. The sizes were good aswell and overall modern and welcoming.

Disliked: There wasnt really anything we disliked about the place, overall we could say that maybe the breakfast felt a bit repetitive as it was everyday the same and if you not used to turkish breakfast its tiring.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Antonio Goncalves

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 February 2014 Antonio would recommend this property

Liked: nice place in a good area of istanbul

Disliked: small rooms; some noisy

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

UMAR BIN MAT YAACOB

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 January 2014 UMAR would recommend this property

Liked: everything is great while i was staying there. I won't hesitate to stay here again.

Disliked: UMAR left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michail Chatzis

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2013 Michail would recommend this property

Liked: Exceptional sea view from many rooms. Friendly staff. Great location. Reasonably priced. 24h reception.

Disliked: Airport transfer they offer costs way more than a taxi from the airport, which is insane. Breakfast was OK but got a bit boring after a few days, as it was identical everyday. Rooms are kind of small.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Srikanth Udayashankar

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

29 September 2013 Srikanth would recommend this property

Liked: Small and cozy place.. best for travellers who are looking for only a good night sleep.. very helpful and customer friendly staff.. safe and secure.. good breakfast.

Disliked: No restaurant

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It's in a great location near all of the main tourist sites.

Disliked: The Internet didn't work in the room.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A truly nice place and very cooperative staff.

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

JEFF LANEY

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

02 January 2013 JEFF would recommend this property

Liked: We love the view of the sea from our windows and balcony. It is comfortable, clean and reasonably priced.

Disliked: ?

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location and great view if you get the Ocean view room. You can have a pretty peaceful breakfast on the rooftop terrace savouring the traditional Turkish breakfast. Highly recommended place to stay in Istanbul.

Disliked: Nothing!

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2012

Liked: Good value for the money I paid.

Disliked: One of the staff members was too rude. He tried to rip me off by attempting to sell me some weed and he swore.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 20% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

13 August 2012

Liked: The hotel was incredibly good value for money, we havent stayed in such a nice room since we got to Turkey. The breakfast was served on a lovely balcony and had lots to offer and the cleaning staff were obviously doing a lot of work.

Disliked: The service was truely appalling! We arrived very early at 7am due to an overnight coach and when we returned to the hotel at 1pm (exhausted) when we told the room would be ready we were ignored for over ten minutes despite being desperate to get in. We were again ignored by the next person we were passed on to, who just typed into his computer and talked to his colleage in Turkish, worrying us that there was a mix up, where upon another couple walked in and he showed them straight up the room and didnt come back for so long a young girl saw our frustration and kindly checked us in. Worse of all! We gave all of our laurdry to the hotel because there were very clear signs that it would take 3-4 hours. When we went to check on it 5 hours later we were told theyd go and check on it. By 9pm we were desperate as we had nothing appropriate to leave the hotel in for dinner. The next morning we went and asked for it and were rudely told we must have given it to them far too late in the evening (we had handed it to them at 2pm). 24 hours later we received our clothes back. We were still made to pay the 16 euros for it. I sincerly hope that the owner of the hotel reads this and makes his staff understand that such sheer rudeness will do much damage to the establishment in the long run.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Maxine Smith

With my spouse / partner

City break

08 August 2012 Maxine would recommend this property

Liked: The location was superb - minutes from the Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia and the metro line. And the roof top terrace for breakfast was a wonderful start to the day

Disliked: The air con remote was in reception and we boiled before we realized! All sorted within moments though and air con was free too which I thought was fab.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Annette Evans

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

06 August 2012 Annette would recommend this property

Liked: Charming old world atmosphere, freindly, alert and helpful staff. Comfortable room with intersting view.. Air con good. Breakfast good. Excellent location for exploriing Istanbul by foot or transport. Will definitely stay there again if opportunity arises.

Disliked: Nothing at all!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Shih-wei Hsing

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 April 2012 Shih-wei would recommend this property

Liked: The staffs are really helpful and informative. And it is a cozy place for people to stay.

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

City break
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has extraordinarily friendly and helpful staff, is an excellent location for strolling to the sites and they organised taxis both too and from the airport to meet our needs.

Disliked: The room was very small. Comfortable, but small.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Donata Duseviciute

With my spouse / partner

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

28 January 2011

Liked: I liked the room, the breakfast choice was great and the staff was really nice.

Disliked: I didnt like that in the middle of my stay i was told not to come back to the room from10 am-6pm because they had to do some repairs in my room, cause it was damaged due to the rain. I didnt like that in the breakfast area there were massive rain leaks every morning and the water was dripping on the food.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

18 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was very helpful, location was great, and room was pretty clean. Bed was super comfortable.

Disliked: Room was very small, and there's no common area when you enter.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Amin Younes

With my spouse / partner

City break
Events / festivals
Sightseeing & culture
Family Holiday

12 September 2010 Amin would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliness of the Satff and the willingness to please clients

Disliked: Breakfast: could be better and more variable

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Richard THESSIN

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Romantic getaway
Shopping

30 August 2010

Liked: The room was clean and modern with a very suitable bathroom and working air conditioner. Staff was friendly and helpful, but basically just tried to steer us towards their "sister company" a travel agency. Pretty good location near Sultanameht but a bit down the hill from the real center of the quarter.

Disliked: The fancy "sea view" rooms do have a sea view, they also are directly above the train tracks and a busy highway, so very noisy. I probably would have preferred the other side of the building, and I definately would have preferred the lower prices of these rooms. I get the sense from the other hotel/hostels I stayed in in Turkey that there are probably cheaper rooms of comparable quality to be found, perhaps even wit a better location. Basically there is little interest to have a sea view from this area of the city, it would be better to be closer to the action and to have views of teh blue mosque...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Jeff Laney

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

06 July 2010 Jeff would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful view. Great location. Low price.

Disliked: Jeff left no negative feedback.