HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees
See all Koh Tao hostels

Reviews of Wind Beach Resort

1 star Hotel | 17 Moo1 Haad Sai Ree, Koh Tao, Thailand 84360

73.3% Overall Rating

18 out of 25 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (22/12/2012)

"Great location right on Sairee Beach. Cute basic bungalows. Nice bar/restaurant overlooking the beach, best Pad Thai I've ever eaten!"

Read all Wind Beach Resort reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • 24 hour reception
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup USD 9.37

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Tao?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Tao

Dusit Buncha Resort
83.16 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Nomads Coral Grand, Koh Tao
20.31 USD

Hostel 72.4% 12 reviews
taco shack hostel
10.93 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Spicytao Bacpackers
7.00 USD

Hostel 72.1% 72 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 01/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
73.3%

Overall Rating

18 out of 25 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Wind Beach Resort'

Atmosphere
80.0%
Location
88.8%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
63.2%
Staff
68.0%
Value
60.0%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 24 of 25 reviews
Reset filter
68.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 20% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location right on Sairee Beach. Cute basic bungalows. Nice bar/restaurant overlooking the beach, best Pad Thai I've ever eaten!

Disliked: The staff were unfriendly and unhelpful. The key deposit was 500 baht which is way too much! And our deposit was not returned to us when we checked out! I realise that this was our fault for not remembering to collect it but the member of staff who checked us out should have automatically returned it. I feel like he forgot on purpose...

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping

09 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent! The beach is on your doorstep as are the restaurants, bars, shops. Free wifi.

Disliked: We stayed for 4 nights and had no housekeeping. The reception didnt tell us anything on check in so we had to find out about the place ourselves. We had an upstairs room which was very noisey from the bar behind us and no air conditioning. Request a bottom level room and you wont get the noise.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

18 December 2011

Liked: Location was good.

Disliked: Room was dirty, right next to bar so it was very loud at night till 1-2 am.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice wooden bungalow on the beach. Comes with a mosquito net (very much appreciated).

Disliked: Staff was a bit rude.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

03 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: A bungalow 10 meters from the sand is hard to beat!

Disliked: The bar played very loud music late into the night, despite not seeming to actually ever have many people there drinking/dancing/listening to it.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Florent LE CARPENTIER

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

24 August 2011 Florent would recommend this property

Liked: Free wifi, very near from the beach, staff is nice and speak english. Our bungalow was very clean

Disliked: Cold water for shower. In comparaison with other Hostel on Hostelbooker, it's a good value for money but you can find on the island same kind of accomodation or guest house for cheaper (bungalow with private bathroom, free wifi...).

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

02 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location - fantastic to be able to sip a cold drink, while looking at the beautiful beach and sea.

Disliked: Too expensive compared to what you get. We would definitely choose a bungalow with air-con next time.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Niels Kraemmer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 July 2011 Niels would recommend this property

Liked: Helpfull staff.. good location.. huge menu card.

Disliked: the standard bungalow rooms... bad smell.. no aircondition.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was in a good location, had a nice atmosphere and our room was quite big.

Disliked: We were origninally shown a tiny bungalow which was certainly not worth the price and we were expecting more when we booked it. Thankfully we were then given a bigger room but to be honest it could have been a bit better value for money. We got a lot more for our money in different locations.

20.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 20% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 July 2011

Liked: nothing

Disliked: not clean,bad food

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: close to the beach, good to meet people

Disliked: facilities

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

karen cusack

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 June 2011 karen would recommend this property

Liked: It is located right on the beach with a spectacular view! The room was fine not what we booked and there was a mixup when we checked in. The bar closes at ten so there is no night life there. All in all the hostel is good, maybe a bit overpriced as there are more like it for less.

Disliked: Only that it was closed at ten and our room backed onto the simple life bar so we couldn't sleep until after four when it close.

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 April 2011

Liked: I didnt stay long enough to find out

Disliked: Opposite a building site, stench of toilets, tiny dark room with broken fan, staff who forgot about me after 5 minutes. Good job I walked away.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Katie McGinn

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 March 2011 Katie would recommend this property

Liked: Good location - right on the beach, also had great bar restaurant area. And amazing breakfast included!

Disliked: Our room was only cleaned once over our 4 day stay, and sometimes the staff you need aren't really around.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

22 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really nice staff, great breakfasts included in room price, right on the beach!

Disliked: A little pricey but worth it!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 January 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved the location and in the evening sat on sairee beach was amazing. Staff were friendly and food in the restaurant was really nice and good value.

Disliked: Nothing

42.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Greer Laing

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 January 2011

Liked: The restaurant and reception area is a cool place to hang out.

Disliked: Booked and paid for a bungalow, and were given the number and told to come back in a few hours once it was cleaned. Came back and were told that the room was broken so were instead but into into a rubbish room with a broken air conditioner and a 8 inch centipede in the bed.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

09 January 2011

Liked: On beach.

Disliked: poor value for money. No Air Con. No Tv. No view. Found accomodation with all of the afore for exactly the same money.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Holly melling

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 January 2011 Holly would recommend this property

Liked: It is right on the beach at sairee and close to lots of shops and restaurants and bars. You can book snorkling trips here which are really good value for money. There is air con in the rooms and hot showers and working toilets. The staff were quite helpful and friendly.

Disliked: There was a bit of a mix up with our booking and someone elses so we had to stay in a smaller beach hut for 1 night but they moved us the next day so wasnt too bad. If you cannot sleep with music on be warned.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Right on the beach next to the beach bars, but rooms are back just enough to be out the way of the noise if you fancy a quiet one.

Disliked: The water from the tap and shower smelt a bit funky.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Timothy Kim

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

21 December 2010 Timothy would recommend this property

Liked: Location is good. Staff was nice and friendly. You definitely need a scooter to get around the little island. 2-3 minute walk to any restaurant, bar, or internet cafe. I came to this island to see Nangyuan Island. I kayaked over there with my girlfriend and it was worth the trip. Beautiful island. Take the kayak if the waves are low instead of the long boat.

Disliked: It was still under construction, but it really didn't bother us. When you rent a scooter, do not put in 100 baht worth of fuel for you will not use it all. You will get a full tank with it and i didn't even use a quarter of it and i tried hard to use as much as i can, but the dang island is really small. 30 baht should cover it for 2-3 days worth of travel.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

25 October 2010

Liked: Right on the beach, beautiful scenery surrounding you. They picked us up from the ferry port, which was only about 5-10 minutes driving. It is located right next to many different styles of restaurant and night life areas.

Disliked: When we arrived, we were put in a different room than the one that we booked. When we discussed this with staff, they seemed unaware of our reservation online, and placed us in another room. They then informed us that they were going to charge us almost double the price for that room, after we had already initially paid. After we discussed that this was not okay and talked with the manager, they then put us in a different room: the one we originally booked. This room had only STEAMING hot water, and the toilet didn't work. We then had to talk to management again, and instead of just giving us one of the dozen open rooms or upgrading us because of the inconvenience, we waited in the room for 15 minutes as they came with plungers to fix the bathroom. We then had to ask them to mop up the floor and clean after they left.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Mark Rentschler

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

23 October 2010 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Right next to the beach, nice restaurant, free wifi, if you're lucky even in your room.

Disliked: You might pay less for similar accomodation on Koh Tao if you book directly when getting there (off season that is).

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Antonia Chiarella

With my spouse / partner

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

09 September 2010 Anna Antonia would recommend this property

Liked: There we're alot of young guys that wanted to party and also the beach is amazing!!!

Disliked: no showers on the beach


See all Koh Tao hostels