We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of ART Hotel

2.5 star Hotel | 155/36 Moo 2, Koh Samui, Thailand 84320

76.7% Overall Rating

23 out of 29 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/07/2014)

Emily Hall thinks…

"It was very cheap, so decent for backpackers who just need somewhere to sleep. It was close to restaurants, bars and the beach. I have stayed in more expensive places that have been a lot worse.…"

Read all ART Hotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Late check-out
  • Laundry service
  • Café

What's Included

  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Samui?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Samui

Laem Din Hotel
11.56 USD

Hotel 2.5 star Not yet rated
Seascape Beach Resort
21.57 USD

Hostel 80.7% 32 reviews
Samui Kangaroo Homestay
7.70 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Backpacker Hostel
10.79 USD

Hostel 84.5% 16 reviews
Samui Verticolor
27.73 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Chaweng Cove Beach Resort
38.52 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Nids Bungalows
16.02 USD

Hostel 82.6% 109 reviews
Chaweng Budget Hotel
23.11 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
76.7%

Overall Rating

23 out of 29 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ART Hotel'

Atmosphere
64.0%
Location
87.2%
Facilities
73.6%
Cleanliness
72.8%
Staff
78.4%
Value
81.6%
Safety
79.2%
Refine your results Showing 28 of 29 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Emily Hall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

17 July 2014 Emily would recommend this property

Liked: It was very cheap, so decent for backpackers who just need somewhere to sleep. It was close to restaurants, bars and the beach. I have stayed in more expensive places that have been a lot worse. Definitely good value for an air con room.

Disliked: There was no daily maid service. It lacked character as the rooms where plain white. The bathroom had a strange smell.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

24 May 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Air con was great. Really near the beach.

Disliked: Electricity cut out sometimes. We didn't have running water a lot of the time. The bathroom stunk due to no water for drainage. Couldn't use the toilet.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ilona van Son

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 April 2014 Ilona would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, nice room. I loved the look of the room, with warm and serene colors, nice bathroom and everything looked new and in a very good state. The room also has a small fridge, T.V. and closet, which was very convenient. Although the hotel is in a shopping street, my room at the back of the hotel was super quiet. Ideal location to choose if you have a flight to catch, because the hotel is only a short distance to the airport (max. 30 minutes by taxi). The hotel provides airport pickup.

Disliked: I would personally not book a hotel in this touristic and busy area for a long holiday (but it depends on what you are looking for). For me it was a very convenient location to get to the airport. The taxi that I booked in the hotel did not show up in the morning. This was not a big problem, because they gave me the money back and in the shopping street many taxi's passed by anyway (for a cheaper price even).

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

peter andrew

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2014 peter would recommend this property

Liked: Staff very friendly and helpful, great location close to beach

Disliked: There was nothing to dislike

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lorenzo Lombardi

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

03 January 2014 Lorenzo would recommend this property

Liked: Location Staff

Disliked: Lorenzo left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Literally a 5minute walk to the beach. 2min walk to the amazing market which is on every day apart from a Friday. The rooms are modern and very clean, good shower too. Wifi is all over which is ideal. Lots of shops for water and food next door as well as Thai massages and shops.

Disliked: No criticisms. Couldn't fault it.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Owen Jones

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 June 2013 Owen would recommend this property

Liked: Nice, spacious rooms, friendly staff with good English.

Disliked: Location is OK, but a bit away from the main restaurants and nightlife in Koh Samui. But it's easy to get around by shared taxi. Not a great deal of character, and probably not the best place to go as a solo traveller.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

dicky mott

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 March 2013 dicky would recommend this property

Liked: close to beach and bars,friendly owner

Disliked: nothing

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Kane Henderson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 March 2013 Kane would recommend this property

Liked: Good Value For money, A clean Tidy hotel in the Heart of Chawang with AC and WIFI for a good price

Disliked: Nothing major, but the locks on the doors were a bit flimsy and no safe in room. IN saying that we had no problem with security.

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 40%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 February 2013

Liked: Location. The room was pretty big

Disliked: It was advertised as budget so we know what to expect for that. At first it looked good for budget - aircon, tv etc. but it turned out not to be. The bathroom floor wasn't laid properly so pools of water gathered. Plus we had a leak from the toilet, the sink tap did not work and the toilet didn't flush. We complained so the tap was fixed but nothing else.no one cleaned the stagnant pools of water on the floor. This remained for both our nights -depsite complaining 4 times it wasn't fixed. Also the lights didn't work properly nor did the tv. Staff were nice but unable to fix. When we checked out a different person was on reception. We asked for a reduction in price and tried to tell them about the other problems in the room. We got a slight reduction in cost but I've never see a hotel staff member be so rude. It's budget we were told, what do you expect? Clearly not a working toilet nor an unflooded bathroom! He did not want to know either about what else was broken. When we went to reception other people were there, making complaints. . Goodness knows what would have happened if I'd told them about one of the public computers you can use for a price. When I opened Google Chrome, the home page was set to a really specialist porn page -only nice to look at if you are into copraphilia!!!"

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great price, staff were lovely and is was a good location

Disliked: Nothing

54.3%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

09 February 2013

Liked: Travel desk. Free wifi

Disliked: Unclean room & bathroom, dirty linen & towels. Dripping pipes in the corridors.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

23 January 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: About 2 minutes to the beach and 10 minutes to the bars and clubs

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Shiloh Hodges

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

02 January 2013 Shiloh would recommend this property

Liked: Close acess to public beach entrance. Rooms had character.

Disliked: Shiloh left no negative feedback.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 40%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 December 2012

Liked: Good aircon and fridge in each room supplied with complementary water

Disliked: They are in the process of reconstructing the property. Seriously loud construction noise from 8am

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Partying / nightlife
Shopping

08 July 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Facility in room was good

Disliked: Staff was not friendly

The property's response is...

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Nikita Kochhar

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

10 June 2012

Liked: Not much. Its cheap and has a hot shower.

Disliked: Its definitely not value for money for koh samui!

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Had a TV, ensuite, air con and fridge so was great value for money

Disliked: Booked to stay here on 2 occasions within the same fortnight. On both occasions there was some confusion on arrival for each booking. The first occasion they luckily had a spare room, the second occasion they moved us to a room in the hostel next door but this was very similar to their rooms so there were no complaints

The property's response is...

40.0%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 40%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

10 April 2012

Liked: It was cheap

Disliked: It was very dirty and location not so great. Need a taxi to get to Green Mango

The property's response is...

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Matthew Janssen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 March 2012 Matthew would recommend this property

Liked: About as good as it gets for the money. The stairs are a little scary ;) But the bathrooms were clean, the AC cold, and a mini fridge a great convenience. Wi-fi was fast, too.

Disliked: Matthew left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Samantha Cripps

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 February 2012 Samantha would recommend this property

Liked: We arrived at the hotel with the intention to stay for 2 nights but ended up staying here for over 2 weeks as we loved Samui and Z hotel. The hotel was clean and the maids visited our room everyday to make the beds and provide clean towels and fresh bottled water in the fridge. The location of this hotel is excellent as it was a 30 second walk to the beach and surrounded by many restaurants, bars and shops. Green Mangos and the surrounding area which is the main place to party in Chaweng was only a 10 minute walk away or 100 baht in a tuk tuk. The staff were very friendly and helpful and we booked a number of tours with them for a very reasonable price including muay Thai boxing, tour of the island and the full moon party. Free wifi was available in all rooms with an excellent connection. We have been travelling Thailand for a number of weeks and stayed in many budget hotels and this was by far the most value for money on the islands so far and a cheaper rate was negotiated as we decided to stay longer. Chaweng is the best place in Samui.

Disliked: In total we stayed for over 2 weeks but we extended our stay for only 2/3 days at a time as we didn't have any set plans. Having been at Z hotel for 10 days, my friend and I had forgotten to extend our stay the night before and our twin room was booked out that night. The hotel gave us the option to move to a double room which we happily did and booked for a further 6 nights. The room was on the ground floor and not nearly as nice as our previous room on the 3rd floor. It was quite noisy and on the 2nd night we noticed a number of bedbugs. We asked to change rooms and wasnt able to until the next day and even then it wasn't until we had spoken to the English owner the next evening that we were moved. We have no doubts that the 1st and 3rd room had no bedbugs as we meticulously checked and I wouldn't let this deter you from staying here but I would recommend to request a room not on the ground floor. This is no reflection on the hotel as it is very easy for bedbugs to spread with people travelling a lot and it wasn't a great problem for the whole hotel but it wouldn't be a true review if I didn't mention it. Overall, it was a great place to stay and would recommend to others.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

25 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location

Disliked: Dirty

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Jeffery

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 January 2012 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Fantastic location on a small street just off the main Chaweng road. Walking distance to everything but far enough away to avoid the noise. Friendly helpful staff who booked an island tour for us. Free wifi in all rooms with good signal and connection. Hot showers, cable TV and fridge in the room. The rooms are cleaned and towels changed every day, and new bottles of water left in the fridge. A perfect base for exploring Koh Samui. Nice massage/beauty salon right next door, and walking distance to Chaweng Stadium and Chaweng Plaza night market. Would highly recommend!

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

The property's response is...

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 40%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 January 2012

Liked: Ok

Disliked: Location

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sophie sanders

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

11 January 2012 sophie would recommend this property

Liked: We very much liked the place!! Friendly and very helpful staff, they make you feel at home immidiately. Next to the beach entrance and in the middle of the centre. Rooms are big and comfortable, we liked the design of the bathroom. Towels are provided and everyday you receive complimentary bottles of water in the small fridge in your room.

Disliked: You can open de windows, although there are no screens to keep the mosquitoes outside.. Since no mosquito net is covering the bed, please make sure to put on musquito spray to avoid sleepless nights! There is wifi, however, the connection is very bad. 9 Out of 10 times you won't get a connection, we went to an internet cafe.

The property's response is...