We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of J.B Hut

4 star Hotel | 54/2 M.8 Haad Yao, Koh Pha Ngan, Thailand 84280

88.2% Overall Rating

123 out of 129 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (04/06/2015)

Seb Holton thinks…

"The main appeal to this place is the lovely Bella who runs the place.. Helping you out with everything and just being lovely for a chat whenever she is around! Second time there around full moon…"

Read all J.B Hut reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Car Parking
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Tours/Travel Desk

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

Only cash is accepted on arrival. minimum requirement must be for 3 nights

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Pha Ngan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Pha Ngan

Haad Chao Phao Resort
5.32 USD

Hotel Not yet rated
Ling Sabai Bungalows
7.39 USD

Guesthouse 91.3% 37 reviews
Haad Yao Bay View Resort & Spa
13.30 USD

Hotel 3.5 star Not yet rated
Mickey Hostel
21.28 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Rin Bay View
13.01 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Lucky Resort
11.82 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Smile Beach Resort
5.03 USD

Hostel 68.6% 128 reviews
Haad Lad Prestige Resort & Spa
19.21 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 81.3% 41 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/07/2016
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
88.2%

Overall Rating

123 out of 129 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'J.B Hut'

Atmosphere
94.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
79.2%
Cleanliness
88.0%
Staff
94.4%
Value
92.8%
Safety
85.6%
Refine your results Showing 117 of 127 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5   Next
Reset filter
97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rheanna Underwood

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011 Rheanna would recommend this property

Liked: Bella was so lovely and helpful and there was a great family-run atmosphere that made J.B huts a real home away from home. We stayed here for the full moon party in december and bella organised cheap transport and we had a great pre party with all the other guests going. It was quite far from haad rin (where the party action is) but a much nicer part of the island - the beach nearby was really nice

Disliked: For some the distance from haad rin might be an issue

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Luke de Gouw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 December 2011 Luke would recommend this property

Liked: One of the best atmosphere places we have been to. Bella was fantastic, took us to the full moon party, organised our ferry trips and bus tickets. The bungalows were very spacious and clean, with a really good working shower. Nice view from the hammock from the balconies. Food was fantastic, and great value. Cheapest beers on the island. Hired a scooter through J.B for cheaper than you find at most places. Location is on the prettier side of the island, and less touristy with beautiful uncrowded beaches and plenty of good restaurants. Short walk from the hut's to the beach and 7,11. Overall one of the best places we have stayed, due largely to Bella and her family making our stay a very pleasant one. Highly recommended

Disliked: Umm... It rained a couple of times

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

siniša mikec

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

19 November 2011 siniša would recommend this property

Liked: good place and location,Bella and her family are amazing and the best eating ever for good price.Beaches is very close,amaizing place.Thanks Bella for everithing and i definitely back in j.b.hut

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Laine Birnbaum

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 November 2011 Laine would recommend this property

Liked: Having stayed in many hostels around the globe, JB Hut is definitely one of those places you don't want to leave. This is obvious by the amount of return visitors, and the number of people staying in low season when most other places are empty. Bella and her family are amazing, they will go out of their way to assist with getting around the island or to the next leg of the trip, sort you out tickets and taxis at very fair prices and the food is amazing and cheap. They operate on an honesty policy where the kitchen and bar are at your disposal and you simply pay for what you consume at the end of the trip. The location is ideal for those looking to some of the real phangan not just get drunk every night in hat rin. The beaches are considerably better around the other end of the island as are the calibre of travellers. Bear in mind it's about a 30minute ride into hat rin which is fine if you just want to do the full moon party, JB also drove us in on the family truck for a fraction of what taxis were charging. To top it off really clean rooms with an amazing ocean view to wake up to.

Disliked: not a great deal, I know it gave us high expectations for the remainder of our trip!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lisa Dickinson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

14 November 2011 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Really quiet setting but only a 3min walk to beach and bars. Bella the owner was amazing! She can't do enough for you. On full moon night Bella organises transport to the party at only 150bhat. The best host we've had by far! Well done Bella and family! There should be an excellent box as bella would have received all excellents.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: atmosphere was amazing, the owner was like a mother to us, organised all our taxis to full moon and anywhere else we wanted to go. Such cute dogs (especially tiger) and really good food.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Joseph Lovell

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 November 2011 Joseph would recommend this property

Liked: Bella, the hostess, is brilliant. She makes the property feel like home from home. She can't do enough for you and is just generally fantastic. The bungalows are awesome, everything you could ever need, with wonderful views. Food is fab and simply don't have a bad thing to say about the place! Will be back again for sure!!

Disliked: Nothing

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Joseph Ormrod

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

10 November 2011

Liked: Had planned on staying for 5 days but managed to do a cancellation on the day and just paid for 1. Probably fine if you want to relax and not party too much!

Disliked: We had originally planned to stay here for the september full moon party, but when we got to JB Hut we decided we didn't want to stay - it's just too far out! It is more than half an hour in a taxi to Haad Rin, which is where the best beach, the full moon party, and almost all of the bars and clubs are. Getting a taxi each way at night would definitely add up - at least 200 baht each way, plus you actually have to find one - they don't come through this area very often. So my advice would be that if you are going for the full moon party and the rest of the nightlife, just go straight to Haad Rin a few days beforehand, have a walk around and see what takes your fancy. There is so much more accommodation available than what is listed online!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very relaxed and great views. only 2 minute walk from the beach, clean and comfortable, most of all the owner Bella is amazing and can't do enough for you! I highly reccomend JB hut :)

Disliked: A bit far from the main areas, like haad rin (full moon party beach) but not to much hassle if you have a scooter, which you can rent from JB hut for 150 THB a day!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Our stay at JB Huts was great. The rooms are basic but clean. The best reason to stay here is Bella the owner. She is amazing. She is so friendly, she can arrange anything and her cooking is fab! Also, Haad Yao beach is beautiful, and it is just down the hill!

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

carminati flavien

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

07 October 2011 carminati would recommend this property

Liked: It was amazing, Bella took car of us like her own family. Everything available here,motorbike, boat tickets and really great and cheap food.Quiet place, good to relax and spend time at the beach. I will come back again here.

Disliked: nothing!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Fiona Macleod

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2011 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Bella (the owner) was so friendly and caring. She organised taxis to the other side of the island and dropped us off at the boat when we were leaving. She always made sure we were happy and took great care of us!

Disliked: The location is a bit far away from the full moon party but it is nice to be able to escape from the party scene, as the property is located on a beautiful beach.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

04 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cheap meals :) really really friendly staff... Loved them! Really quiet location; we were away from the main party area which suited us perfectly!

Disliked: No wifi in the rooms... A bit annoying but nothing we couldn't cope with!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Philip Steadman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 September 2011 Philip would recommend this property

Liked: Bella, the owner is the friendliest, most helpful host you could ask for, as are the rest of her family. The huts are a bargain, basic but comfortable with gorgeous sea views. For what you pay you couldn't ask for more. We rented a bike from her for only 200tbh for 24 hours and she even put on a cheap taxi for a group of us going to half mOon. Plus, her cooking is soooo good. We loved our stay here and we were a little but sad to leave!!

Disliked: At first we felt a little far away from everything, as Haad Yao is about 20 mins from thong sala and 40 mins from Haad Rin (where the full moon party happens). But the area is much much nicer and the beach oaths best we have been to so far. We met plenty of people after a few days so we were quite happy. Just don't go expecting to be in the heart of the action and you will love it.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Catriona Monaghan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

27 September 2011 Catriona would recommend this property

Liked: Could not praise this place enough, its such a relaxed place, belle the owner was like a mother to us, she couldnt do anymore for us, she runs a tab system so you help yourself to drink etc and just write it in your book, she trusts you alot, its close to the beach and about 40min drive to Haad Rin for the full moon party but this was the best part of the full moon for me cause everyone there is travelling down as well and atmosphere is great and you no your belongings will be safe with belle, the next day after the full moon everyone just sat there on beanbags and watched dvds .. 100% recommend this place, il defo be back, my favourite place in the whole of Thailand

Disliked: Not enough lighting on the steep walk to the huts at night

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

14 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bella is lovely and looks after you. The chill out area is good for socialising and the food is nice and cheap.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Tommy Verrall

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife

13 September 2011 Tommy would recommend this property

Liked: everything - ranging from the brillant host bella and her husband to the beautiful beaches just further north!!! brilliant place! sincerely recommend this place to everyone!

Disliked: Nothing!!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Lukasz Wojnar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 August 2011 Lukasz would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful view on the bay, several restaurants and shops around (including 7eleven).

Disliked: Distance from the beach (aprox.400 - 500m), but the hill up.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Bella was amazing, the best host! Loved the arriving to JB Hut sorting out the rooms could wait we were hot and tired, Bella insisted we sit down and relax in her homely dinning/lounging area. Sitting on cushions ordered some brilliant beverages and food - all made by Bella ...instant relaxation.

Disliked: Bathroom could have been cleaner (Rubbish wasn't emptied during three day stay)

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Peter McElholum

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing

17 August 2011 Peter would recommend this property

Liked: The owners were lovely, very friendly and extreemly good value. Not to mention the spectacular views from the balconies of the bungalows. Would definately recommend to everyone!

Disliked: Nothing to disike. Maybe the distance from the fullmoon party, but plenty of taxis avilable

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Sehr nette Familie und ein sehr schöner Strand in der nähe. Für das Geld ist okay! Bungalow war bisschen klein und hätte bisschen sauberer sein können. War aber alles ganz okay:-).

Disliked: Eingentlich nichts....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

gary peters

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

15 August 2011 gary would recommend this property

Liked: Bella, the owner, is great. Really helpful and friendly. Chilled place. Location is just up the hill and 2 mins from the beach, making it really quiet at night. Stayed for 6 nights. Try the banana pancakes.

Disliked: Nothing really. Rooms could be a little cleaner. But for 700bht a night, see views, quiet and good place, no worries!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean place, great food, very friendly staff!

Disliked: the beach was ok, but not very special... so the location and the view from bungalows could be better :)

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sarah Lindsay

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

01 August 2011 Sarah would recommend this property

Liked: I loved staying at JB hut. We stayed in the best type of bungalow available with aircon and a fan. It had a lovely area to sit out with a hammock. It was quite simply furnished but I think this just added character. We usually ate at the JB hut restaurant which had a wide menu, excellent food and reasonable prices. The tomato soup is particulary good! We also got our laundry done and hired a bike for two days. Bike was great for seeing the island and was in very good condition. Its a family run business and the service is excellent. Everyone was very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived to when we left. Location is good. Its on a hill up from the beach but its only about 5mins walk away and there's a 7/11 and a few shops a 2 min walk down the hill.

Disliked: Nothing! Perhaps in a perfect world it would have been nice to have a small table/dresser/wardrobe in the room just to put things on and a mirror. But this is just being fussy!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Mark Phelan

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

22 July 2011 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: Owner was friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble! Let me pay for accommodation when I checked out. All valuables could be kept in the safe.

Disliked: Quite far from Haad Rin Beach, but plenty of taxis were around. About 45 minute journey.