We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Phangan Beach Resort

3.5 star Hotel | 112/1 Moo 1, Ban Tai, Koh Pha Ngan, Thailand 84280

78.7% Overall Rating

157 out of 189 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (18/07/2012)

"Phangan Resort is located directly on the beach and has a swimming pool. The staff who worked in the bar/restaurant were always smiling and pleasant."

Read all Phangan Beach Resort reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Games room
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Pool table(s)
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Laundry service
  • Bar(s)

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

IMPORTANT: Please reconfirm your booking no later than 5 days before your arrival, we normally have a waiting list around full moon, as it gets very very busy around these dates, so confirmation regarding your arrival time is very important, checking in on full moon day itself is not recommended, and all customers should be advised that, if there is no re confirmation or have not checked in by 1pm (full moon day only) the room will be released

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Pha Ngan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Pha Ngan

Majestic Hostel
3.09 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Milky Bay Resort
15.45 USD

Hotel 3 star 94.3% 10 reviews
Power Beach Resort
7.73 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Bantai Resort
10.82 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
Hard road villa
3.09 USD

Hostel 82.9% 4 reviews
The Beach Village Backpackers
7.73 USD

Hostel 71.3% 43 reviews
Guesthouse Red Cat
7.73 USD

Guesthouse Not yet rated
Le Divine Comedie
68.03 USD

Hotel Not yet rated

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 19/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
78.7%

Overall Rating

157 out of 189 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Phangan Beach Resort'

Atmosphere
77.6%
Location
75.2%
Facilities
80.0%
Cleanliness
86.4%
Staff
74.4%
Value
76.8%
Safety
80.8%
Refine your results Showing 145 of 148 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Alejandro Ferrandis del Valle

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2014 Alejandro would recommend this property

Liked: The loca tino and the people

Disliked: Nothing un particular, maybe the location given that there was nothing near the hotel

68.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 September 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good bbq and transfer service for the full moon party

Disliked: No safety deposit boxes in the room

42.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 40% Safety - 20%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

marco zilocchi

Alone

Events / festivals

05 September 2012

Liked: near the beach

Disliked: you can`t stay in a room without air-con from 9 am to 9pm, about 40c" when is sun.

37.1%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 20% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

18 July 2012

Liked: Phangan Resort is located directly on the beach and has a swimming pool. The staff who worked in the bar/restaurant were always smiling and pleasant.

Disliked: When paying for the room be wary of exchange rates we were ripped off by over 400baht by the manager when we arrived. We stayed here for 5 nights and each night and day in our bungalow was a living hell. Where the resort is located is at least a 15minute car journey away from Haad Rin that cost 100baht each way per person. Unless you are prepared to make the journey all the way there your only options for food/drinks are the resort bar which is extremely over priced for the food and service that is provided. As it was our first stop in Thailand we decided to go for the fan room option as there is such a large price difference at this resort. This was a terrible decision. Unless you are accustomed to sleeping in a fan oven that blows 40degree heat at you do not under any circumstances stay in the fan equipped bungalow. It was cooler during the midday sun on our porch than it was in our room. If you are staying there for the full moon party this is not a place to stay with a hangover of any kind. After our third night we asked if we could upgrade to a air-con room and we were told that we had to pay the full price for the room on top of what we had already paid.

The property's response is...

57.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

11 July 2012

Liked: The restaurant was good, its easy to get to Haadrin beach and a good get away from the noise and partying in the morning.

Disliked: The tide was so low that it is impossible to swim, which is sad because the beach is nice. The bungalows with fan are horrible since we could not open the windows at night, we therefore had difficulty to fall asleep or breath. THe bathroom are half outdoors meaning that many bugs (cockroaches) come in when its dark.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

nathan spencer

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 March 2012 nathan would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing location, the pool sits just of the private beach front. Bungalow rooms are cosy and clean, perfect for relaxing after too much partying.

Disliked: nathan left no negative feedback.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly and sweet thai staff in the restaurant. nice clean beach.

Disliked: the restaurant was a bit expensive.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

29 December 2011

Liked: Close to the Beach. Near from the City. Nice Bungalows. Very Clean. Good Food but expensive.

Disliked: Far away from Haad Rin. You hear every noise in the Bungalows. The Bungalows are very basic for the price that we had to pay. Staff did not hold people quiet who were to drunk.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kate chambers

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa

18 December 2011 kate would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent stay.. Pay extra for air con! If u want chilled and good food and lovely massage then this is the one. Clean lovely beach and good bar!! Very nice would defo stay here again!

Disliked: kate left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 20%

Robyn Peary

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 December 2011 Robyn would recommend this property

Liked: Large room, spotless, very clean. Nice sheets! Brand new clean swimming pool Beautiful gardens Beach area was kept very tidy, some nice seating on the beach Nice dining room area - comfortable seating Tranquil and isolated from all of the hustle and bustle of the towns Very warm welcome on arrival A great place for coffee and breakfast 100 island coffe bar within walking distance, and Mims place also within walking distance for great meals, all 50THB!!

Disliked: We paid more than double than everywhere else we have stayed in Thailand and didnt really get anything more for our money. Poor value for money. The food in the restaurant was average, overpriced, with small portions. A sneaky 7% "tax" service charge added to the menu prices too - the only place in thailand we have found to do this. Also the staff portions were more generous than the guests, not very good. The location was good only if you liked peace and quiet, it is 100THB for a taxi per person anywhere... this was the same for everywhere in the south, no bargaining - it was close to the half moon party, but the taxi cost the same as it would if we were miles away so that isnt really a plus to the location. Apart from the wonderful welcome, the service from the hosts was as if we were staying with someone we didnt know for free - kind of falsely polite, and as if they would prefer if we werent there. Wierd, hard to describe, not warm at all. The bathroom needed a little attention, it was spotless but the shower hose kept coming out of the shower and the sink looked as though if you put weight on it it might fall off... we didnt mention these things to the hosts as we got the impression we might be charged for damages. When we left, we were given bills for food we didnt order, they apologised, i would recommend signing your invoices as you go to avoid any confusion. All in all it was a very peaceful stay, we had an awesome half moon party and fully relaxed here. Value for money was lacking though and the service was wierd, but all in all a good place to stay.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hannah Emmerson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 November 2011 Hannah would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing! The most beautiful resort you could ask for. The people are lovely and welcoming, they do everything for you! The bungalows are beautiful, sat right on the beach, gorgeous pool, great food, great location, JUST FANTASTIC! Didn't want to leave :(

Disliked: NOTHING AT ALL!!!

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Georgina Hopkins

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

28 October 2011 Georgina would recommend this property

Liked: Everything! It was amazing. The staff are lovely and helpful and dealt with our problem effectively.

Disliked: That wifi was only avaiable at the restaurant which shut at 9pm.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The nice quiet beach and pretty little bungalows

Disliked: The only thing about staying in a bungalow is the noise at night, people talking outside sound like they are sitting on the side of your bed!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

20 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Really good atmosphere, the owners and staff were really friendly...

Disliked: The rooms were too hot... not enough fans...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

luke davis

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 October 2011 luke would recommend this property

Liked: The hole place !

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife

16 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful area, the huts, gardens and beach were kept extremely clean all the time, very helpful and friendly staff, good selection of nice food and had a good atmosphere!

Disliked: Nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything's very clean food's tasty nice location

Disliked: One waiter wanted us to pay for drinks we didn't order because he forgot to charge some people a couple of days before. When we left, we were given our passports by a girl without saying a word to us. No goodbye or anything like that.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Kirsten van Stenis

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

26 August 2011 Kirsten would recommend this property

Liked: The beauty of the property, the wonderfull massages, the pool, the restaurant.

Disliked: Not all staff spoke good english and the waiting time at the restaurant is way to long.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Robin Arnold

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

28 July 2011 Robin would recommend this property

Liked: On a secluded beach and very nice surroundings.

Disliked: The bungalows did not have AC and were extremely hot.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Steven Potter

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

19 July 2011 Steven would recommend this property

Liked: Great atmosphere amongst customers an staff. Very good full moon ore party.

Disliked: Having to leave

31.4%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 20%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

29 June 2011

Liked: Relatively clean and quiet. Thai staff are very friendly

Disliked: The complex itself is nothing special, but our stay was ruined by the rude and obnoxious couple that run the place. On the full moon BBQ night, the intoxicated owner decided to have a fight with one of the other guests that we knew; screaming obscenities and generally ruining the mood. Never have I stayed at a resort where the owners have such disregard for the guests. On the upside, the Thai staff were excellent. Unfortunately, that was of little consolation when the owners were so disgraceful.

The property's response is...

71.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Beach front rooms were great; good food at the restaurant.

Disliked: 1. Can't swim in the water here - too shallow. 2. No other restaurants around so pretty much ate at the hotel. I would likely stay at this place again once they have a pool.

The property's response is...

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

24 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location as we could relax but still be not too far away from the Full Moon Party. Friendly atmosphere, amazing food and drinks, great place for meeting people, great value for money - definitely more of a resort than a hostel!

Disliked: The barman 'O' was by far the best barman around and the boss fired him right in front of us! The managers really need to get an office, doing all their hiring/firing and business deals at the restaurant/bar was kinda uncomfortable, especially when they were all shouting at each other.

The property's response is...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sian williams

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

12 May 2011 sian would recommend this property

Liked: the location - right on the beach! the staff - friendly safe, informative, good sense of humor, make you feel very welcome

Disliked: the fact it was so popular that we could only book one night not two!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Geoffrey Stephenson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 April 2011 Geoffrey would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was so great here Andy and Dasha made us feel like we were at home. The whole place was spotless. Great food and fun BBQ on the night of the full moon party. Always a warm friendly atmosphere we would have ended up staying here our whole holiday if it was possible.

Disliked: Nothing and Nothing