HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Utopia Resort Koh Phangan

3 star Hotel | Moo 7, Baan 85/2, Chaloklum, Koh Pha Ngan, Thailand 84260

91.0% Overall Rating

90 out of 99 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (17/02/2014)

samantha smith thinks…

"Beautiful scenery, nice breakfast. helpful staff. free shuttle to nearby beaches."

Read all Utopia Resort Koh Phangan reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Bar
  • Credit cards accepted
  • Car Parking
  • No curfew
  • Secure lockers
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • Restaurant
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Swimming Pool
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Washing machines
  • Laundry service
  • Reception (limited hours)
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Internet café

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Koh Pha Ngan?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Koh Pha Ngan

Pinks Bungalows
5.96 USD

Guesthouse 55.0% 16 reviews
Malibu Beach Bungalows
36.63 USD

Hostel 82.1% 4 reviews
Haad Lad Prestige Resort & Spa
20.40 USD

Hotel 3.5 star 79.4% 40 reviews
Smile Beach Resort
5.34 USD

Hostel 69.5% 127 reviews
Lucky Resort
12.55 USD

Hotel 3 star Not yet rated
Mickey Hostel
22.60 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Peach Guesthouse
12.24 USD

Guesthouse 81.9% 3 reviews
Ling Sabai Bungalows
5.49 USD

Guesthouse 91.0% 30 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/07/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
91.0%

Overall Rating

90 out of 99 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Utopia Resort Koh Phangan'

Atmosphere
95.2%
Location
78.4%
Facilities
92.0%
Cleanliness
87.2%
Staff
98.4%
Value
94.4%
Safety
91.2%
Refine your results Showing 82 of 89 reviews 1 | 2 | 3 | 4   Next
Reset filter
100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

17 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Awesome view

Disliked: secluded location

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

samantha smith

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

17 February 2014 samantha would recommend this property

Liked: Beautiful scenery, nice breakfast. helpful staff. free shuttle to nearby beaches.

Disliked: it was a little far from everything, but they do arrange taxi's to the full moon etc.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great hotel with amazing view of the sea from the swimming pool. Friendly staff and great food :)

Disliked: Far from the party areas of the island. Need to rent scooter from hotel.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Events / festivals

26 June 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff here is AMAZING! It may be far from the full moon party, but they provide shuttle service and accommodate you to the fullest! Was way better to stay further away from all the noise. It is also by Phanagn's best beach. It feels like you are at a resort, the views and pool are just spectacular.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break

19 February 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: magnificent view and a great place to stay. To hire a motobike is about 200 baht and you can discover the island and the beautiful beaches. breakfast was included and very good. The restaurant creates delicious Thai food for a good price.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Romantic getaway

30 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we enjoyed our every minute there! This resort has a breathtaking sea view, gorgeous swimming pool,clean and spaceous room and the Very helpful and nice stuffs! they are very polite,always with smile.30 minutes before the ferry leave, we found that we left our passports at the reception, we are already at the pier,we called them, they sent the passports to us just in time! So that we didn't miss our ferry and flight. Much appreciate for such efficient service! Million thanks! We had a great time there! Strongly recommend this place!

Disliked: Not really complain, but if the room with water boiler, more sockets and wifi will be more convenient. my girlfriend is a typical Asian home girl, likes to stay in the room for keeping her fare-skin, lying on the bed as drinking her own black tea as using her iPad.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

02 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The friendliest staff I've met whilst travelling. They are incredibly helpful, and have good knowledge of things to do on the island, and create a great atmosphere at the hotel. Lots of nice touches, like free drink on arrival, to make you feel at home. Restaurant/swimming pool with view overlooking the coast is fantastic. Restaurant food is also really good. Great place to be if you want somewhere away from the noise, but equally had no problems getting to and back from the Full Moon Party. Highly recommended.

Disliked: 5 mins drive to nearby Chaloklum, which is fine if you have a scooter, which you rent from reception. A free shuttle into town twice a day is available if you're happy to plan around that.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

08 August 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice pool view and friendly staff... good value for the price

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Helen Scarr

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

19 June 2012 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were extremely friendly and nice. Bungalow was nice and bathroom outside lovely. Amazing view from restaurant. Free shuttle to beaches very useful.

Disliked: There are quite a few mosquitoes around this area.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Bo den Hollander

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife

15 June 2012 Bo would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice place to stay alone with a girl. I wouldn't recommend it if you would like to party or whatever. If you want to relax and enjoy beautiful views, then this is the place!

Disliked: Bo left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great staff

Disliked: far away

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

21 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were probably the friendliest we came across in all of South East Asia. They were great. There was a dvd player in the room and loads of dvds available at reception for you to choose from. The pool is great and the views are stunning. Whilst it is about a 20 minute walk to the nearest town, the walk is fine. If you want to be in the heart of the action, this may not be for you. But if you want peace, amazing views, great food (in their restaurant) and brilliant staff, we can't recommend this enough. Much preferred it to the second place we stayed on Ko Phagnan on the south of the island.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Naresh Meena

With my spouse / partner

Events / festivals

18 April 2012

Liked: It's a nice laid back place from the hustle bustle of the popular beaches.I wanted to stay away from the Haad Rin or thangsala as they are very commercialized and crowded. This place was good in that sense.The staff was very polite and helpful throughout our stay. A basic restaurant is there that serves decent food.

Disliked: The location though very nice as it'sfar from the crowd has the issue ofconnectivity.If you dont have a vehicle travelling to other places on the island is very difficult. There are no taxis around. But if you hire a vehicle it's a good place to stay provided you are looking at some peaceful time for your self. If you are there to party this is not the place.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Jason Saggo

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 March 2012 Jason would recommend this property

Liked: Absolutely Amazing Views!

Disliked: 30 min from the full moon party

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Mathias Møller Jespersen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 March 2012 Mathias Møller would recommend this property

Liked: The lokation is beutiful, and the Staff Are so kind

Disliked: The lokation, if you Are here because of the full moon Then the lokation is not good.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

14 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The views, value for money, staff, service

Disliked: Bit out the way only because of a huge hill to get up.

The property's response is...

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

07 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: we stumbled across this gem for the full moon party and it was a perfect get away from all the noise in haad rin after a big night out. Its about a 40 min drive from haad rin but so worth it. the staff especially Lin were so helpful and friendly and made us feel at home! absolutley breathtaking views of green mountains and endless ocean, very tranquil. I would reccomend this place to anyone plus free breakfast!

Disliked: The only thing i can fault is the distance to haad rin.

The property's response is...

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife

02 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice location, quite cheap...

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

07 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean,safe,nice staff

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

23 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The swimming pool that overlooks the sea.

Disliked: There was nothing I disliked about this property.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were really lovely and very helpful, always smiling! Swimming pool was great and the views were fantastic. Very fast wifi and computers.

Disliked: The property is a bit far away from everything, it's in the perfect location to just relax, go to the beach etc but to go into town you have to rely on taxis or scooters which is fine if you can afford it.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Vanessa Lee

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 May 2011 Vanessa would recommend this property

Liked: I went out on a whimp with this hotel but I could not have made a better decision. I only went to Koh Phangan for the full moon party and after hearing horror stories of staying on the beach I opted to stay away from Hat Rin. Utopia is gorgeous, the staff are EXTREMELY helpful, pool, jacuzzi, bar and room all clean and gorgeous. They arranged a shuttle bus to town, to the beach and to the full moon party for a good price. They arrange a free bus to the port to pick you up. They couldn't have done more for you. The location may put some people off as it is far away but after the full moon it cost 200baht to get back to Utopia and like I said the staff couldn't do enough for you. I honestly can not recommend a better place to stay in the whole of thailand!

Disliked: Nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

ruth moss

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa

22 March 2011 ruth would recommend this property

Liked: It has great views and lovely pool. We stayed here during the full moon party and were worried it was really far away from Had Rin. It is quite a distance but the lovely staff organised taxis especially for full moon and there were a load of us that went that stayed there. Good facilities too. Reasonably priced even during full moon.

Disliked: Shower was a bit dodgy. Also it is a little out of the way, we didnt go to the beach but it was a taxi ride away, although again the lovely staff organised for taxis that I think were free but only at certain times. Other than that, lovely place and lovely staff

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I rated the location as average - it has beautful views, and is quite remote. The staff were very friendly and welcoming. The food served was good, and there were decent options for breakfast.

Disliked: Quite far away from everywhere else, but taxis are not expensive. The hotel can arrange a taxi for you, including to attend Full Moon Party. There are plenty of taxis available all over the island, and the view makes up for the travel time. (which is 45 min to the full moon party - the furthest point away from the hotel on the island.)

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Josh Mcintyre

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 January 2011 Josh would recommend this property

Liked: The place is fantastic value for money. You can sit everynight and look out over the Indian Ocean whilst sipping cold beers and watching all the little Gekkos run around. The staff are fantastic, very friendly and relaxed enough to be on first name terms with guests and even go way out of their way to be helpful. A very good place to stay for a simply fantastic price!

Disliked: The place could have been a little cleaner.....but really thats just me being fussy.