We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Roof View Place

3 star Hotel | 90/1 Samsean Rd Soi 6, Banpanthom, Pranakorn, Bangkok, Thailand 10200

83.9% Overall Rating

421 out of 438 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/08/2014)

"Clean. Great location. Great breakfast. All the staff, except the ladyboy at the late shift."

Read all Roof View Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Dry cleaning
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Trang Hotel
20.65 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.8% 9 reviews
Born Free Hostel
7.89 USD

Hostel 97.4% 227 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.86 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 57 reviews
Smile Buri House
12.33 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Back Home Backpackers
10.48 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.79 USD

Hostel 94.6% 70 reviews
Nouvo City Hotel
28.76 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
22.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 20/12/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

421 out of 438 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Roof View Place'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 376 of 410 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | … | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The location and cleanliness are the best things about this hotel. The free breakfast is also very good! There is also free drinking water provided for the rooms, and they will order taxis for you to the airport if necessary.

Disliked: The staff were not particularly friendly, but they were helpful if pressed. They let us leave our luggage for the day (albeit just behind the desk) but they would not book a taxi for us to the train station, instead just told us where to get one (after telling us that they had booked one for us). Also the internet facilities are quite expensive and not secure.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

04 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It has a convenient location to Khao San road and some of the tourist areas, although we did have trouble with one taxi driver not being able to find it using the map provided on their website. Good enough facilities, and the breakfast was awesome.

Disliked: The night front desk worker was incredibly uninviting. One of the most unwelcoming people I've ever met at a hostel/hotel. Quite remarkable, really.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

03 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: breakfeast was great and staff was great. only the ladyboy was a bit too grumpy at all times. not far from khaosan and still quiet. wifi was also very good inside room.

Disliked: don't really have anything bad to say

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

karsten suess

Alone

City break

01 April 2011 karsten would recommend this property

Liked: great breakfast

Disliked: safety box didnt work

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

30 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location.Walking distance to Khao San Road but in a quiet soi.Friendly helpful staff.Very good varied breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great location: in a quiet area but in walking distance to everything. we really liked the tour to the floating markets. room was rather basic but had everything we needed, was very clean and felt like home

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Valeria Cavazos

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

26 March 2011 Valeria would recommend this property

Liked: Keycard access after 8pm was great. Made me feel a lot more secure. There's an elevator for bags but not for people. Our 5th floor walk up was a nice workout ;) The room was clean and tidy with a balcony and a view of the Wat nearby. Lots of sunlight and the air conditioning was very cool. The shower never got quite hot enough for me but it was doable. The double bed we slept in was covered with some kinda mat that was separated in 3 and we could feel the divisions when we slept. No big deal tho. Although a bit surly at first, the staff at the front desk helped us book some bus tickets to Phuket. There were plenty of great food stalls nearby. Didnt have to go to Khao San Road for good food. But if you need to its about a 10 minute walk.

Disliked: The bed was a bit stiff and the walk up to the fifth floor might be tough for some but those are really the only complaints I can come up with. Good for the money

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

24 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the free breakfast - but they could offer more fruit I believe. I myself bought some banana for everyone :o) Room size of for one single.

Disliked: They are offering some escursion but more expensive than other hotel once I did two and compared price with other traveller from other hostel nearby.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Close to plenty of good places to eat. The lady who works each morning is very helpful with bus routes, tours etc. There is a free breakfast with a variety of dishes available as well as fruit and cereal. Tea and coffee is free, day and night. The rooms are cleaned daily, are spacious and have a fridge, tv, lots of shelving and hanging space and the shower is good and hot. There is a 'dumb-waiter' so you don't have to carry your bags upstairs. The roof area is very nice.

Disliked: The noise level makes it difficult to sleep. Most of the noise is from the street but some of it is caused by other guests who slam doors, talk loudly at all hours of the night and one night there were even guests who were running up and down the hallway at 3am!! (it was good to hear the manager talk to them about the noise at breakfast time). The rooms are very bright at night and the frosted windows have no curtains. The only other 'dislike' is the Ladyboy who works each evening and was rude and most unpleasant.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

MARIYA STOYANOVA

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

21 March 2011 MARIYA would recommend this property

Liked: The location is OK. really 10min walk to Khao san road. about 40min walk to Grand Palace. Bangkok i enormous city, so nothing is close to another thing. exellent breakfast. 24h free coffee, tea and hot chocolate. the single room I had was big enough, with AC, TV, minibar (they give you every day dringable water for free), own bathroom & WC. It was clean. a really wonderfull roof view :) It would be perfect if they build a little swimming pool on the roof. I used also the laundry service (40 bath = 1 eur per kilo). I bought 2 tours and one train ticket on the reception and everything with the travel agency they use was organized very quickly.

Disliked: the staff could improve their english.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Fiona Davidson

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 March 2011 Fiona would recommend this property

Liked: Location was pretty good, could walk to Khao San. Room was nice, bed was SUPER comfy! Place was clean, free breakfast was good.

Disliked: the lady/boy on reception was quite unhelpful and rude but apart from that!

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the roof top, went up there for a couple of drinks. it was really relaxing! only a 15 min walk to khao son road but far enough out to not be in the hussle of it all.

Disliked: reception staff werent that nice!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: great place with very friendly and helpful staff

Disliked: -

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing

10 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room is quite nice and very clean, with enough space for your stuff. The bed is very comfortable. The wifi is very fast, but sometimes it drops out. The location is nice too, in a quiet street, but close to the buses and the backpackers area, with lots of restaurants and shops. The breakfast is ok, free buffet, and it changes a bit each day. Very happy with the room and hostel in general.

Disliked: Nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

08 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, Friendly staff, Nice breakfast, Nice rooms

Disliked: Not the best place to meet travellers, Ladyboy at front is not the most helpful and welcoming, No lift.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Emma Cole

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 March 2011 Emma would recommend this property

Liked: Set away from the madness of town but still close enough to good food and bars. Comfy big bed and clean room.

Disliked: Alleyway to get there was maybe a bit suss, but never had any problems. Ladyboy at the front desk rather non-interested!! but hey ho!

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 March 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very affordable tour rates to make up for any possible costs over other hostels as well as a different breakfast every morning. They organize all the tours for you so it's minimal effort and very easy and they can assist in any tickets needed for trains and most likely boats (uncertain of the latter).

Disliked: Having to say I disliked anything.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Colin Breedon

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

25 February 2011 Colin would recommend this property

Liked: Clean. Well designed bathroom.

Disliked: No dislikes.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

24 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location is very good good facilities it serves good and various breakfast every morning

Disliked: none

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Roof View is an absolute gem! Very charming, clean, well equipt rooms and in an excellent location. Close enough to Khoasan to be convinient, but still nicely away from the noise and hussle. The staff were very friendly and kindly helped us to confirm our ferry tickets with the Thai travel company over the phone. As an added bonus a fantastic breakfast was included in the price, and there are some lovely massage parlours located just around the corner. Will definetaly stay there if ever in Bangkok again.

Disliked: Nothing! Couldn't have asked for more!

68.6%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

18 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Room was basic but clean and large, the location is good and staff were friendly and very helpful.

Disliked: No lift, was on top floor so had to climb up stairs everyday!

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

17 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Roof View has a great location that's very close to Khao San. Their breakfasts were also delicious!

Disliked: There wasn't anything I disliked.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Aimee Chan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

15 February 2011 Aimee would recommend this property

Liked: Amazing free breakfast. Helpful staff. Clean rooms. Near to Koh San but ffar enough out so its not too noisy!

Disliked: Nothing.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

12 February 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice breakfast was included in the price

Disliked: can be a bit tricky to find as the signs we saw were not that clear

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Lee Habbershaw

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

06 February 2011 Lee would recommend this property

Liked: It was a really nice place, staff were nice and helpful and a nice place to start our backpacking trip. Bit of a hike to the main spots but was a good experience walking around the streets. Would definately stay here again if I ever went back to Bangkok

Disliked: Nothing really