We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Roof View Place

3 star Hotel | 90/1 Samsean Rd Soi 6, Banpanthom, Pranakorn, Bangkok, Thailand 10200

83.9% Overall Rating

421 out of 438 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/08/2014)

"Clean. Great location. Great breakfast. All the staff, except the ladyboy at the late shift."

Read all Roof View Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Dry cleaning
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Trang Hotel
20.67 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.8% 9 reviews
Born Free Hostel
7.90 USD

Hostel 97.3% 223 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.87 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 56 reviews
Smile Buri House
12.34 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Back Home Backpackers
9.26 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
9.26 USD

Hostel 92.7% 68 reviews
Nouvo City Hotel
28.80 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
20.57 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 30/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

421 out of 438 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Roof View Place'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 376 of 410 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Roberta Jorge

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

10 July 2011 Roberta would recommend this property

Liked: Cheaper place with a excellent breakfast.

Disliked: Bad location, not so near for koh san road.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

09 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice place, clean, yummie breakfast, not to far from khao san.

Disliked: Owl good!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Lisa Firth

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 July 2011 Lisa would recommend this property

Liked: Lovely choice of breakfast, good location.

Disliked: Wifi didn't work in the room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Christopher Batts

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

29 June 2011 Christopher would recommend this property

Liked: Very very good, definitely worth the slight increase in price over the local alternatives. Very central within an older-type area of Bangkok, this property is opposite a great value local shop and has some great views from the roof. The breakfast was superb. 10/10

Disliked: No complaints.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Izabela Rzeznik

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

28 June 2011 Izabela would recommend this property

Liked: this is 2 star hotel with 4 star service.I will recommend it to everyone who looks for a cheap accomodation. Clean rooms, nice and helpful staff, near to Kaosan Rd (15 min walk) very good breakfast. Towels replaced every morning, free tea or cofee all the time, the Best hotel in the area of Khaosan Rd.

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good value

Disliked: small room

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Business / conference
Relaxation/spa

27 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everythin! its amazing, the hospitality, the breakfast... I highly recommend this place...

Disliked: Nothing...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

OLIVIA ROSSIGNOL

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

15 June 2011 OLIVIA would recommend this property

Liked: everything! Breakfast ( cerals, bread, rice, coffee...),very clean, fresh towel everyday. free bottles of water, fridge, air con, the room, amazing staff, location... just perfect!!!

Disliked: nothing

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 June 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was amazing!!

Disliked: The unfriendly reception staff - most were lovely but one in particular was very moody and disinterested in being helpful!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

30 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Extremely clean, nice rooms, good wifi connection, helpful ladies, very good breakfast

Disliked: Nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

29 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Loved staying here. Just far enough outside the full backpacker hustle but a decent walk to many sites, food markets,restaurants,wat, riverfront,etc. Great little neighborhood with some street food and lots of daily life to watch from your wonderful little balcony. So ask for a balcony room. Pristine cleanliness, simple furnishings and a very comfortable bed. Free wifi in rooms for your laptop. Varied and well made breakfasts everyday,real coffee. I found all the staff friendly and helpful , even the night desk manager , who seems to be a complaint magnet,was just fine. All floors are walk up so if you don't climb stairs ask for a lower floor.Highly recommended. Just a reminder to tip the housekeeping staff wherever you stay but the Roof View women do a great job so please leave some baht per day for their hard work.

Disliked: Sorry, not a thing.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

18 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: friendly staff, not too far from khaosan rd

Disliked: nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Family Holiday
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast ist amazing for a hostel!

Disliked: All great

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Leandro Arana

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

14 May 2011 Leandro would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, nice and spacious rooms with window, elevator for the luggage (although you have to go up the stairs) and very good breakfast.

Disliked: The recepcionist at afternoon/night is really unhelpful and rude, it seems she doesn't like tourists. Internet isn't included

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Agathe Lurati

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 May 2011 Agathe would recommend this property

Liked: Very good hotel, good location in Bangkok, excellent breakfast, welcoming and helpful staff !! \We will come back at the end of our trip !!

Disliked: I liked everything

74.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

08 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent place to stay in the busy part of Bangkok :)

Disliked: nothing comes to mind

82.9%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 40% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

01 May 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfst - the best one we got in Thailand

Disliked: Staff is not very friendly. Organised trips do not offer what they promise.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

robert mckimm

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

01 May 2011 robert would recommend this property

Liked: good location, about ten mins walk from kho sahn road, but quiet at night. room very clean, fresh towel each day, good hot shower and air con worked well.

Disliked: tough to find the first time, but thai language map supplied helped. not mu7ch atmosphere tho.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

29 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: central but quiet. great breakfast. perfect place to start in thailand.

Disliked: nothing

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Shopping

27 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness of bathrooms

Disliked: Really rude staff

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 20% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

24 April 2011

Liked: breakfast, the staff let me make a call for free and the room has plenty information about tours

Disliked: out of khao san road to reach other interesting places cultural and not cultural I needed to take a taxi, the staff itself adviced me that. the location is a bit hidden, one of the guy on the reception i think is a lady-boy and he was asking me where im going and with whom, smiling to me more than enough

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway

09 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: This has to be one of the best hostels we've stayed in so far. It was so clean and had a luggage lift. It's located about a 10 minute walk from kohsahn rd. Every day they came in and cleaned our room made the bed, changed the sheets and gave us fresh linen and water. The lady who worked reception on the morning was very helpful and nothing was to much trouble for her. The free breakfast that was on offer is definatly worth getting up early for, It's traditional and different every day and very nice. Oh and they also have a laundry service. Pretty good wi-fi connection as well. The only thing to be warned about is the lady boy on reception, usually works late afternoon and night, I have never come accross anyone so unhelpful in my life is him or her. we asked about a taxi to the market and was advised that because we wern't local the drivers will rip us off and there is nothing we can do about it. So if you wanna enquire about travel, then speak to the kind lady who works reception in the mornings and not the lady boy.

Disliked: The night shift ladyboy very grumpy and very rude

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

kristina Isabel Marie Labayen

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 April 2011 kristina Isabel Marie would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were very nice! i had a nice balcony and hot and cold shower. the bed was very comfortable! it was an amazing value for my money.

Disliked: it was a tad far from khao san but still walkable

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 April 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room we stayed in was quite small but really nice and clean with a little balcony. The location was good..not too far from the main backpacker street (5-10 mins) but far enough so you can get a good night sleep. The breakfast was really good with something different every morning. We did get the impression there was some kindof bar on the roof but turns out its just a few benches..but the hotel does sell beer/drinks at the reception so we took those up to the roof with us..really nice view..esp at night as you can see the temple on the mt lit up :)

Disliked: some of the staff at this hostel were quite pleasant but a few were really rude..one receptionist in particular just ignored us completely when they didn't understand what we were trying to say and didn't even try to help us. We had a shirt being delivered to the hotel at 5 oclock and when we ask them if it had been delivered they just looked at us and said no without looking...we were worried because we were leaving the next day and had already paid for the shirt and didnt know if it was going to be delivered in time. When we asked later on they just handed us a bag that had been on the counter when we asked the first time..and didn't say anything and acted as if we were an inconvenience! nice place apart from that.

51.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 20% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 20%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Events / festivals
Shopping

04 April 2011

Liked: the place was clean and located on a quite calm street.

Disliked: the stuff was the unfriendliest I have seen in whole Asia so far. The rooms were totally fine, but too pricy for what we´ve got.