HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Roof View Place

3 star Hotel | 90/1 Samsean Rd Soi 6, Banpanthom, Pranakorn, Bangkok, Thailand 10200

83.9% Overall Rating

421 out of 438 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/08/2014)

"Clean. Great location. Great breakfast. All the staff, except the ladyboy at the late shift."

Read all Roof View Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Dry cleaning
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Trang Hotel
20.86 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.8% 9 reviews
Born Free Hostel
7.97 USD

Hostel 97.3% 216 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.96 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 56 reviews
Smile Buri House
12.45 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Back Home Backpackers
9.34 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.90 USD

Hostel 92.7% 68 reviews
Nouvo City Hotel
29.06 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
20.76 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 03/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

421 out of 438 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Roof View Place'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 376 of 410 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

23 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: near grand palace

Disliked: no

62.9%
Atmosphere - 20% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

21 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean well equipped rooms. Excellent breakfast. Good location, walking distance from Khao San Road.

Disliked: Some staff were very unfriendly and surly. Place felt rather soulless and lacked atmosphere. 500 BAHT KEY DEPOSIT!!!!!! RIDICULOUS!!!!!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly and helpful staff!

Disliked: Nothing!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

17 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great location. Great breakfast. Clean room with hot water. Friendly receptionist during the day.

Disliked: Nothing.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Alex Dawkins

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

15 August 2011

Liked: The location is great and the site is very safe. The breakfast is also above average, with fresh fruit and a hot entree every morning.

Disliked: Several things annoyed us: there were no curtains on the windows (bright in the morning), the hostel charges for internet use, the TV only had four channels, and the street-side rooms are noisy. We stayed at Sivarin Guesthouse earlier in our trip and thought it was better, for the same price.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

14 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I like breakfast.

Disliked: no chang sheet

77.1%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 August 2011

Liked: A lot of services and tour are organized. Clean and safe.

Disliked: short choice possible for the breakfast. Location, i understood it was close to the grand oalace but it was not. No elevetor, especially when we are on the 4th and 5th floor.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: nice and clean rooms; friendly staff at the reception; good breakfast; quite place in the centre of Bangkok.

Disliked: WiFi in the room was not working well-

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

10 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good value, clean, safe, friendly, helpful

Disliked: wifi is not good. just able to access at midnight in room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

09 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: it was very clean and the breakfast was very good

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Family Holiday

08 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: everything

Disliked: nothing

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Edgardo Jr Malveda

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

08 August 2011 Edgardo Jr would recommend this property

Liked: rooms are very clean, room has a vault for valuable things, very good breakfast and coffee is free anytime.. I would definitely come back and book here again when I come back in Bangkok!

Disliked: one staff is not so friendly, easily get iritated whenever we ask questions about the place.. otherwise everything was OK.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anna Sokolowska

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

07 August 2011 Anna would recommend this property

Liked: Location, cleanliness, bathroom, breakfasts, 24 hour cofee/tea self service, nice and helpfull staff, laguage lift, and the roof.

Disliked: None.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

05 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent hostel, very friendly people that are serving the breakfast, delicious breakfast, great clean room, free bottled water every day in the room, free tea and coffee daily, quiet neighbourhood

Disliked: bad or no wi-fi connection in our room, directions listed to get to the hostel from the airport are not correct anymore as the Airport Bus Express does no longer run from June 2011

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

04 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Rooms were small but very clean and well eqiupped. AC, tv, in-room safe, and an excellent shower and bathroom for thai standards. Nice roof terrace to enjoy a coffee in the morning or just relax. Buffet style breakfast that is inclusive of the price was very good as well. 5 min taxi to khosan rd(30baht) and not far from sights such as grand palace and wat po. good value for money.

Disliked: some may have a problem if they are on the 5th floor due to the fact that there is no elevator, but i didnt see it as much of a problem, they have a small luggage elevator which makes it easier for your luggage.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

31 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was a good size with a nice balcony. There was a small fridge and safe in the room as well as some hanging space which was all handy. The bathroom was "wetroom" style and was clean with a good shower. Breakfast was quite good. Cereal, toast, fruit and the lady made us fresh fried eggs. The location was very handy as it was a 10min walk approx to Khao San road.

Disliked: The night receptionist was not that friendly or helpful. The staff during the day however were very pleasant.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

30 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I stayed at this hostel with my boyfriend and we thought it was really nice and good value for money. The room was basic (not much furniture etc..) but it was what you would expect for the money and was comfortable and spotlessly clean, which is what matters. Warning if you have mobility problems I would avoid this hotel, they have a luggage lift but our room was up 5 flights of stairs. Fine for us but not so good if you are disabled. The location is great, only about a 10 minute walk from Khao San Road, however it's far enough away that you can come back and have a quiet nights sleep. Also we really liked that it's in a more traditional Thai area so you get a more genuine Thai atmosphere than in some areas of Bangkok. Although it is possible to walk to them (maybe 20minutes) it is a little further from some of the main sights e.g. the grand palace, though we found a taxi from just down the road from the hotel was only about 50/60 baht (little more that a pound) so this was not a problem for us. On the most part the staff were very helpful, the lady on the desk in the morning is particularly lovely. She was so helpful, we had left booking a night train to Chiang Mai till the last minute and it was fully booked. However she advised us really well to wait another day and actually managed to get us a cancellation and 2 sleeper tickets...which she came to our room to tell us about. Do not ask the ladyboy who works in the evening for help though, s/he is really unhelpful and quite rude...wait for the lady in the morning. All in all I would highly recommed this hotel and would stay here again myself in the future.

Disliked: Nothing much. The ladyboy on reception in the evening is rude if you want help with anything more than buying a drink.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Francois Maraud

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

29 July 2011 Francois would recommend this property

Liked: Nice room. Hotel at 10 min walking from Kao San, in the touristic area. Very good breakfast.

Disliked: Nothing.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Aleksandra Grkovic

With friends / other travellers

Business / conference
Family Holiday
Partying / nightlife
Shopping

28 July 2011 Aleksandra would recommend this property

Liked: Everything was great! Clean, good location, nice staff, nice breakfast.. I would go there again and I recommend it to everyone!

Disliked: Bad Wi-Fi

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities
Visiting friends or family

24 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean room, good bathroom & shower. Safety box in room. BREAKFAST, buffet style. Free coffee on the lobby. Free internet. Helpful staff, including the ladyboy.

Disliked: Dirty towels, dirty linen.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

olivia sembiring

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

18 July 2011 olivia would recommend this property

Liked: I like all, staffs were very friendly. Speak english very well. Clean and safe. Feel like home. Breakfast was really yummy. Double thumb!

Disliked: None.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

18 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: - the breakfast was awsome - taxi-service

Disliked: nothing

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

mary rabadi

As a family with children

Family Holiday

17 July 2011 mary would recommend this property

Liked: every one working there was very nice and helpfull love them all. :)

Disliked: far away from the most tourist thing to seeneed a taxe.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

15 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Good location close to Koasan road and main temples, free Wi-Fi in a room, good breakfast, clean and neat; you can seat on the roof and it is a great view from there. Good value for money.

Disliked: it's a bit hard to climb to 5th floor each time, internet connection broke for short periods of times a few times

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

12 July 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The property is in a central location, close to good shopping markets. Rooms are really clean all have safety deposit boxes. Very affordable for backpackers. Also staff are very friendly and helpful. Plus you get a good breakfast in the morning.

Disliked: Not really anything I disliked,