HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Roof View Place

3 star Hotel | 90/1 Samsean Rd Soi 6, Banpanthom, Pranakorn, Bangkok, Thailand 10200

83.9% Overall Rating

421 out of 438 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/08/2014)

"Clean. Great location. Great breakfast. All the staff, except the ladyboy at the late shift."

Read all Roof View Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Dry cleaning
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Trang Hotel
20.93 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.8% 9 reviews
Born Free Hostel
8.00 USD

Hostel 97.3% 215 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
10.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.1% 56 reviews
Smile Buri House
12.49 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Back Home Backpackers
9.37 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.93 USD

Hostel 92.7% 68 reviews
Nouvo City Hotel
29.14 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
20.82 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 02/09/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

421 out of 438 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Roof View Place'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 376 of 410 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

26 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the breakfast was awesome!!! you will enjoy it really much!

Disliked: unfortunatelly we had some problems with the trip to siem reap to cross the border, which we booked at the hostel. it was easy to get there but the guide tried to get your money...like.... tells you that you need to do the visa with him because on the border it suppose to take much time...but it was not!\ also he said that we need to change some baht to riel (exchange rates were very high) because in siem reap the atm is not working....but it was working! still the trip was pretty convenient, but you pay a lot of comission of everything...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Annie Cornu

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

24 October 2011 Annie would recommend this property

Liked: The perfect hostel stay! Everything you need, clean, in a quiet little street. Very helpful staff and nice breakfast included (perhaps some juice too?). No lift but elevator for your luggage. We booked 2 excursions from them and bth were perfectly organized and very reasonably priced considering you hadn't anything to think about from the hotel pick-up until you are back. We also bought a fair price bus ticket to Cambodia and everything great! Even booked one night more as it was a perfect stay. Tks for all as they really deserve their HB award!

Disliked: Nothing really. Not any public transportation nearby but cheap taxi or tuk-tuk organized by the hostel if you want or 5 minutes away on foot in a big street,

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

19 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Well located for me as I wanted to keep away from the noise of Kao San Road, and still within walking distance of the Grand Palace and other attractions. Friendly staff. Nice breakfast that can keep you full for the whole day. Clean.

Disliked: The rude guests who would talk loudly in the corridor at night time and didn't care about other people sleeping. Was woken up in the middle of the night each night I spent there. Bad luck I guess.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

17 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: the property's very good. altough it's a hostel but it has facilities like hotel

Disliked: the location's not on backpacker area but still near. you can walk for 20 minute to backpaker area. Because I'm moslem, it's a little difficult to get halal food. To get halal food you must walk to the backpacker area. But i still recommended this hostel to everyone especially who like to walk.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: a nice and simple stay (great for 1 or 2 night). its a little hidden among the neighbourhood. however, close enough to shops and eating places.

Disliked: a little walk into the back alley

60.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 60%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

09 October 2011

Liked: Nice and clean place, very close to Khoa San if that is what you are after without the constant noise!

Disliked: Ladyboy porter pretty rude! Not the most safest location for single travelling females, if want to go out at night as down back street but ok during day time.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

City break
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

08 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, friendly staff (even one German speaking), offers city maps and a short introduction of sightseeing places, breakfast

Disliked: i booked this hostel with a quite bad location on purpose since I preferred cleanliness to location. the location was not that bad, but there are def. some hostels around with less walking distance to Kaosan Road. However, Kaosan Rd itself is not really a sightseeing place, but the Hostel should maybe offer information about the bus and boat lines how to get where, this would be a great value added. Or at least, how to get to the tourist information office that is at the river very nearby.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: There wasn't anything we did not like.

Disliked: Nothing

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Anthony Larner

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

06 October 2011 Anthony would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, WiFi, safe In room, close to khao san road

Disliked: Although not a fault of the hostel itself, in the Bangkok heat it is too far to walk to grand palace etc

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Visiting friends or family

28 September 2011

Liked: Location and the breakfast!

Disliked: One particular staff member who was rude and unhelpful. Place is a bit tatty around the edges

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

26 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Super close to all the sights, about a 10 minute walk or 20baht tuk tuk ride to Khoa San rd, but far enough away to get a good nights sleep. Also close to the Grand Palace, Emerald Buddha, etc. Staff booked excursions for us, in which we were picked up at the hostel. Room was large and clean. 2 free bottles of water daily was nice and breakfast was great! We had a balcony on our room and the roof was also nice to set on at night time.

Disliked: wifi was slow and hard to pick up in the room and if anyone was on skype in the building it was impossible.

68.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Paul O'Hara

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

22 September 2011 Paul would recommend this property

Liked: Nice clean rooms, AC is much appreciated: great free breakfast- eat as much as you like and loads of fruit and eggs etc. Fresh brewed coffee at all times

Disliked: Too many stairs, roof terrace good view but deserted. Ladyboy night porter was very cold and unfriendly at the beginning but became friendlier and joked later on

77.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 40% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

20 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Cleanliness, good customer service by majority of the staff, good breakfast

Disliked: The mid-day shift staff who manned the reception

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Partying / nightlife
Sightseeing & culture

10 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The Staff were great very helpful with suggestions about travel and things to do. Free coffee and wi-fi was nice touch as well.

Disliked: Nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

David Brewerton

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

07 September 2011 David would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean, fridge is a bonus, a short walk to Khao San but far enough away!

Disliked: Bit noisy but it's Bangkok!!

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sabrina Fruhmann

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

07 September 2011 Sabrina would recommend this property

Liked: nice and very clean rooms with safe and fridge, very nice staff, good located, absolutely recommandable

Disliked: nothing

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Work / volunteering

05 September 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: good it is just a bit of a walk to get places and didnt feel so safe around the area at night!! but the rooms where great clean and big beds.. breakfast was worth it and plenty to choose from...

Disliked: just it was to far to get to places.. but after traveling asia you learn how to barter down the taxi driver!!!

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Amy Rushton

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

04 September 2011 Amy would recommend this property

Liked: The rooms were excellent - ensuite, air conditioning and TV so very good! Simple and very clean!

Disliked: The staff arent really very friendly or approachable.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Claudia Adriana Nita

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

01 September 2011 Claudia Adriana would recommend this property

Liked: The stuff are very nice except for the ladyboy in the evening. The free breakfast is the best we had in Thailand, mixed with thai food and western food, and every day different. The shower and AC work great and the room is clean and comes with a folder with all the information you need to get around Thailand and Bangkok plus main trips one must do in Bangkok and trips to other cities with prices, schedules etc and they can book it for you, some for a very small fee. Location is good 10min walk to the main action street but not too close so you can enjoy your night sleep.

Disliked: The ladyboy at the reception is only during the evenings, but enough to annoy one as it's arrogant and barely answers when asked about information for taxi, places to see, fees for train etc. However I don't recommend the trip to Ayutthaya sold through them as I found it a waste of time as you don't get to see much of the main things plus our 2 groups got tired of waiting. We went on to 4 temples (wat) that needed no more then maximum 30 min to see and we stayed there for over an hour on the side of the road waiting for our guide to show up to take us to the next temple.. the lunch is pretty small but enough to get you through the day and the guide barely speaks English so we couldn't understand anything he said or he couldn't understand us.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicola Thomson

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

01 September 2011 Nicola would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean. I felt safe and scure. The staff were lovely and the breakfasts were really good. Can't ask for more!!!! Also got a really good massage just around the corner.

Disliked: Nothing.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Jessica Frazier

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

28 August 2011 Jessica would recommend this property

Liked: It was a thoroughly pleasant hotel, lovely, clean, pretty, and perfectly restful while being only 5-10 minutes from the centre of things. If I could afford it, this would be my chill out hotel Everytime I came to Bangkok.

Disliked: It really is a lovely place, I just wish its price were a little more firmly in the budget category - cheaper places (if not so nice) can be found on Nambutri.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ewa Sokolowska

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Ewa would recommend this property

Liked: delicious breakfast

Disliked: nothing

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean place. Friendly staff. Only a 10 minute-walk to backpackersarea. The only 'negative' thing is that the rooms are noisy. Will definitely stay in this hostel again!

Disliked: Rooms can be a bit noisy

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Fab breakfast, well worth staying just for this! Rooms are good, safe and secure.

Disliked: Quite far away from the skytrain which can make it more difficult to get around.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 August 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, super clean, quiet and safe location within easy walking distance of the tourist area.

Disliked: Corridors were a bit echoey so if you were unlucky you might hear inconsiderate neighbours...but it didn't seem to attract that type of crowd.