We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Roof View Place

3 star Hotel | 90/1 Samsean Rd Soi 6, Banpanthom, Pranakorn, Bangkok, Thailand 10200

83.9% Overall Rating

421 out of 438 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (10/08/2014)

"Clean. Great location. Great breakfast. All the staff, except the ladyboy at the late shift."

Read all Roof View Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Dry cleaning
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Trang Hotel
20.65 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.8% 9 reviews
Born Free Hostel
7.89 USD

Hostel 97.4% 227 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.86 USD

Guesthouse 87.0% 57 reviews
Smile Buri House
12.33 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Back Home Backpackers
10.48 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.79 USD

Hostel 94.6% 70 reviews
Nouvo City Hotel
28.76 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
22.60 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 29/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
83.9%

Overall Rating

421 out of 438 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Roof View Place'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
84.0%
Facilities
83.2%
Cleanliness
92.0%
Staff
80.0%
Value
83.2%
Safety
90.4%
Refine your results Showing 376 of 410 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 15 | 16   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly, breakfast tasty and various, free tea and coffee all the time

Disliked: Very basic standard, and the duvet hasn't been changed after prevoius guests, you could smell it and there were hair on the sheet, disgusting. The rooms located from the street side wery noisy, it woke me up few times during the night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hanna Trundley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful which was nice as I arrived early at 6am on a night bus and they let me shower and use the downstairs facilites even though I couldn't check in till slightly later. They also gave me free breakfast on arrival as a goodwill gesture as normally it's 100 baht ( but free for each night you stay there) . Also the tv had a couple of english channels which was good if you want to chill out for a bit in the room.

Disliked: The shower wasn't hot at all depsite being described as 'hot water'.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, safe and tv in room, very clean, peaceful location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

giles edgar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2012 giles would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were very clean and everything in the room worked. There was a balcony and fridge . we also watched TV a bit which i was surprised about but it was so hot outside and the a/c made me want to stay indoors. the breakfast was very good. first morning was a thai curry with rice/padthai as well as fruit and the usual stuff / toast / good filter coffee/ buffet / eat all you want. the local lady in charge of the breakfast was very nice in the usual thai way . the second morning it was more western / ham and eggs we didnt book any tours or use the staff for help. They seemed slightly distant. It wasnt a problem for us.

Disliked: giles left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Jeffery

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2012 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location just a few roads down from Khao San Road. Close to bus stops, shops and restaurants. Free breakfast every morning. Large rooms which were cleaned daily, with free drinking water. Bathroom large and clean, cable tv in room and a/c. Staff were helpful in booking tours for us, and advising us which buses we need. Quiet location. Would recommend.

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

John Harrington

With my spouse / partner

Family Holiday

10 January 2012 John would recommend this property

Liked: Virtually everything except the piped music at breakfast (if I never hear Whitney Houston again it will be too soon!). Brilliant stay.

Disliked: See above!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Katelyn Delaney

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

09 January 2012 Katelyn would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast was lovely. Nice quiet area but still close to everything

Disliked: Katelyn left no negative feedback.

74.3%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 60%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

09 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great staff, clean and good place to aclimate.

Disliked: Safe for valubles did not work.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Cornelia Cazan

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

07 January 2012 Cornelia would recommend this property

Liked: The location is excellent; the staff is very helpful & efficient; the tours they offer are good prices (some tourists that had booked the tour directly at the tourism agency paid more than the deal our hostel offered). It's very very clean and a small plus: their free breakfast is excelelnt!

Disliked: nothing

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

01 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Location was perfect!! 10 minute walk from Khaosan Road which meant easy access to nightlife and all taxi drivers knew the area.. but not so close that you can't sleep at night! Only 20 minute walk from the Grand Palace. Rooms were cleaned every day and the personal bathrooms a big plus. Breakfast was varied and delicious! Highly recommend it.

Disliked: Nothing!

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Partying / nightlife
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

22 December 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Second time staying here and still as good as I remembered! Clean rooms, helpful staff, nice breakfast included. Variety of trips can be booked for you. Transport to next destination easily arranged. Excellent location, walking distance to khao san rd and to river taxi for visits to temples. Would come back and will reccomend to others.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Arron Barrett

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

19 December 2011 Arron would recommend this property

Liked: Nice property about 15-20 minutes from Khao San Road which was a nice walk, and also gave a bit of piece and quiet late at night. The free breakfast was fantastic and was an added bonus to an already good value for money hostel. The staff were friendly enough, I can't say I had very long conversations with them, but I felt that if I needed anything that they would be more than happy to help. If I was to return to Bangkok then I would certainly stay here again.

Disliked: None really, other than there wasn't much of an atmosphere with other people staying at the hostel? Maybe this was just because that was a language barrier as I seemed to be the only English guest at the time, but this didn't take anything away from my stay.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

IGNATIOS SYMEONIDIS

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

13 December 2011 IGNATIOS would recommend this property

Liked: Clean, safe, good location, nice people.

Disliked: A little bit expensive, afternoon desk shift not helpfull at all.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

SU ZUN MON

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

12 December 2011 SU ZUN would recommend this property

Liked: The room is clean and tidy.

Disliked: The room seems to be a bit small

80.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Bogumil Weglinski

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

11 December 2011 Bogumil would recommend this property

Liked: Average

Disliked: Average

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Michael Duwe

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

11 December 2011 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Big breakfast with fruits, egg, bacon and rice. Friendly staff.

Disliked: n/a

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nans Ravidat

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

04 December 2011 Nans would recommend this property

Liked: Free breakfast, ideal location, friendly staff, free wifi, mini fridge with 2 complimentary bottles of water. No lift but kind of a mini lift for carrying your bags upstairs.

Disliked: Nothing. This is just one of the best hostels I ve seen in Thailand.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location and lovely views from the roof. Staff were very helpful and rooms were nice. Good value for money and would stay again.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture

24 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Having just arrived in Bankok this hostel was in the perfect location for us to find our feet. Near to all the bustling reas but also still shows genuine Thailand. we loved the breakfast and the view. And despite what others have said the Ladyboy night porter was an absolute delight- nice to have a joke with and just a genuinly friendy face.

Disliked: Lack of informtion provided for example bus and boat times and routes.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

13 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very calm, clean and good location.

Disliked: Not very helpfull staff.

65.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 40%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

12 November 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The breakfast was good and it was clean.

Disliked: It is maybe to expensive

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

niels rasmussen

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

31 October 2011 niels would recommend this property

Liked: The rooftop is wonderful. Great views of the city and neighboring temples. The free breakfast was amazing.

Disliked: Not much to dislike nice and clean.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

29 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice breakfast; clean and safe; friendly staff; reliable taxi service

Disliked: Weak internet access in room; far away from MRT and BTS

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Aaron Sullivan

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

29 October 2011 Aaron would recommend this property

Liked: Everybody was super nice, close to Khao San (great tourist road), safe part of town, clean rooms, great room service, free water, excellent deal with internet, breakfast, private showers etc. All around excellent stay. Will stay here again when I come back.

Disliked: Not much... It's not a 5 star hotel so that could change.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Natalia Prostakova

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

26 October 2011 Natalia would recommend this property

Liked: Very clean and nice place. Quite and the same time good located. Internet works fine. Breakfasts were great! But, you are kindly asked to clean the dishes yourself. Coffee is free all day. Stuff is really helpful and nice. They even let us to check in early in the morning with no extra fee. Thanks.

Disliked: Probably nothing