HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of Roof View Place

3 star Hotel | 90/1 Samsean Rd Soi 6, Banpanthom, Pranakorn, Bangkok, Thailand 10200

85.1% Overall Rating

417 out of 433 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (16/12/2013)

"good breakfast (included in the price of the room), free water in the room, good location, roof top"

Read all Roof View Place reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • Credit cards accepted
  • No curfew
  • Lounge area
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Tours/Travel Desk
  • Dry cleaning
  • Laundry service
  • Internet access in public areas
  • Newspapers

Purchasable Extras

  • Luggage Room USD 0.31

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Bangkok?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Bangkok

Trang Hotel
18.59 USD

Hotel 3 star 69.8% 9 reviews
Born Free Hostel
7.93 USD

Hostel 96.7% 196 reviews
Sam Sen Sam Place
9.92 USD

Guesthouse 89.7% 48 reviews
Smile Buri House
13.94 USD

Hotel 2 star Not yet rated
Khaosan Immjai
10.85 USD

Hostel 94.1% 45 reviews
Nouvo City Hotel
42.35 USD

Hotel 4 star Not yet rated
New World City Hotel
21.69 USD

Hotel 3 star 83.2% 58 reviews
Penpark Place
8.52 USD

Guesthouse 85.1% 171 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 21/04/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
85.1%

Overall Rating

417 out of 433 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'Roof View Place'

Atmosphere
74.4%
Location
83.2%
Facilities
84.0%
Cleanliness
94.4%
Staff
83.2%
Value
84.0%
Safety
92.8%
Refine your results Showing 371 of 405 reviews Previous   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | … | 14 | 15   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 October 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Delicious Thai food breakfast and Western style food offered as well. Clean floor, 2bottle of free welcome water. The most of stuffs are friendly.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julia Taylor

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

02 July 2012 Julia would recommend this property

Liked: I decided to treat myself and booked an upgraded room that has a balcony, the room was fine, pretty basic but perfectly adequate and very clean. The wall in the room could have done with a lick of paint to remove the marks but the bathroom seemed very new. The immediate area feels not too touristy and if you sit and watch you get to see a little bit of life in proper Bangkok. Only about 15 mins walk to Soi Rambuttri which I prefer to Khao San Rd. Would certainly stay here again but would book a standard room.

Disliked: Julia left no negative feedback.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

16 June 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Nice and close to Kao San. They gave me a free upgrade to a room with a bigger bed which was cool too.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 60%

Julie Tarrancle

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

05 June 2012 Julie would recommend this property

Liked: Very good location. Rooms are very clean. Nice place to stay in BKK

Disliked: WiFi didn't work the half stay.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Mariana Fraga

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

04 June 2012 Mariana would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, clean, location was ok, it has an elevator for luggage (amazing when you get the top floors)

Disliked: Mariana left no negative feedback.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 40% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

28 May 2012

Liked: The location was fairly good - about a 10 minute walk to Khao San Rd., so far enough away from the chaos. The rooftop is a beautiful spot to read in the evening.

Disliked: The front desk staff were unfriendly and rude. The mattresses were very uncomfortable, and the bathroom wasn't totally clean.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

27 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: location at old city is nearby to main tourist attraction (Grand Palace, Dusit Mansion), easy access to main subway Hua Lhampong - as our access to the new city. Good value of money, clean, window view and peacefull, best place to stay after loong full day of exploring the city of Bangkok, great breakfast!

Disliked: everything is just PERFECT except the unfriendly ladyboy reception. who ever his name is, He/She is very grumpy. Not like the others shift reception which is very nice and kind. i think having a job in service industry is not for her, he is just not happy answering questions, asked for help and even a single smile seems very pricey. Even never say hello back...He/she is just the only minus as part of this hotel.

80.0%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

16 May 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: We have stayed here before and like the location and they make good breakfast

Disliked: Sometimes the locals near are quite noisy at night also this time was so hot and the aircon wasnt very cold so we were still quite warm in the room

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

25 April 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Located on a quiet back street within walking distance of lots of restaurants and bars. Close to khaoson rd. Room was very clean. Great breakfast included with room and the menu changes daily. Helpful and honest staff.

Disliked: Far away from metro and skytrain. My room was on the fifth floor and there is not an elevator. This may seem like I'm whining, but when its 100 degrees outside and you've been walking all day, you Will understand. The old lady who I think owns the place is hard to deal with. I was told VIA email I would receive a refund for a booking I didn't need, and I had to battle with her about it. Her daughter ended up having to step in and fix the problem. Lastly, its a really nice place, but I'm sure there are cheaper options with the same amenities.

62.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 40% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 60%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

11 April 2012

Liked: Good breakfast area in the morning - free which was rare

Disliked: Incredibly basic and out dated room. Our bed was covered in bugs - tiny ones like mini roaches/wood louse. We had to strip the pillows and bedding and leave outside our room. Slept in our own sheet sleepers. No elevator except for bags.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture
Visiting friends or family

30 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: I loved the food and the location. Khao San Road is in walking distance and you can take a bus to Wat Po which was very easy. It is very clean and you get 2 free water bottles every day. Free internet.

Disliked: Nothing, everything was great!

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Visiting friends or family

18 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: It was clean with a nice friendly atmosphere and helpful staff, I've stayed there a number of times and would recommend it to others. The free breakfast each morning is lovely.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Miklos Csego

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

18 March 2012 Miklos would recommend this property

Liked: The value for money was really very good.The place is in a little streat so you better carrie a thi map with you /whitch the properti send you/ for taxi drivers.

Disliked: Miklos left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The room was big and very clean. The bed was comfortable, the AC worked well and the shower had lots of hot water. It was also pretty quiet despite being so close to Khao San. We were able to get a late checkout which was very convenient considering our flight out of Bangkok was at midnight.

Disliked: The person working at the front desk when we were there wasn't all that friendly or helpful.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Mark Vayngrib

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway

09 March 2012 Mark would recommend this property

Liked: free (excellent) breakfast

Disliked: Mark left no negative feedback.

71.4%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 60% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

28 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Basic rooms, offering just what you need to sleep over and get ready for the next stop.

Disliked: Lack of an elevator.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Chris Brennan

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

20 February 2012 Chris would recommend this property

Liked: The free breakfast was all-you-can eat and different every day. It was always very filling. The staff were very helpful and room was very clean. I really liked our balcony overlooking a quite street in Bangkok. Great location that is just far enough away from Khao San so that you can still go there and rage, but then come back and sleep in a quiet place.

Disliked: Didn't really have a social atmosphere or common area except during breakfast. Wifi was bad in the rooms, but ok in the lobby

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Judy Sabnani

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

20 February 2012 Judy would recommend this property

Liked: Great location--near to Chao Prahya River ferries, temples, Chinatown and the Grand Palace. Excellent breakfast, also.

Disliked: Judy left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Nicholas Obomsawin

Alone

Sightseeing & culture

19 February 2012 Nicholas would recommend this property

Liked: I've been coming here for years now and it never disappoints.

Disliked: Nothing

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Julian Hickman

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Partying / nightlife
Relaxation/spa
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

15 February 2012 Julian would recommend this property

Liked: Great location, friendly staff and good free breakfast. Perfect location for a few nights while transiting through Bangkok.

Disliked: Julian left no negative feedback.

85.7%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

12 February 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff was friendly, breakfast tasty and various, free tea and coffee all the time

Disliked: Very basic standard, and the duvet hasn't been changed after prevoius guests, you could smell it and there were hair on the sheet, disgusting. The rooms located from the street side wery noisy, it woke me up few times during the night

91.4%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Hanna Trundley

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

26 January 2012 Hanna would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were helpful which was nice as I arrived early at 6am on a night bus and they let me shower and use the downstairs facilites even though I couldn't check in till slightly later. They also gave me free breakfast on arrival as a goodwill gesture as normally it's 100 baht ( but free for each night you stay there) . Also the tv had a couple of english channels which was good if you want to chill out for a bit in the room.

Disliked: The shower wasn't hot at all depsite being described as 'hot water'.

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Sightseeing & culture

22 January 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Great breakfast, safe and tv in room, very clean, peaceful location

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

88.6%
Atmosphere - 60% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

giles edgar

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

20 January 2012 giles would recommend this property

Liked: the rooms were very clean and everything in the room worked. There was a balcony and fridge . we also watched TV a bit which i was surprised about but it was so hot outside and the a/c made me want to stay indoors. the breakfast was very good. first morning was a thai curry with rice/padthai as well as fruit and the usual stuff / toast / good filter coffee/ buffet / eat all you want. the local lady in charge of the breakfast was very nice in the usual thai way . the second morning it was more western / ham and eggs we didnt book any tours or use the staff for help. They seemed slightly distant. It wasnt a problem for us.

Disliked: giles left no negative feedback.

94.3%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Helen Jeffery

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

19 January 2012 Helen would recommend this property

Liked: Excellent location just a few roads down from Khao San Road. Close to bus stops, shops and restaurants. Free breakfast every morning. Large rooms which were cleaned daily, with free drinking water. Bathroom large and clean, cable tv in room and a/c. Staff were helpful in booking tours for us, and advising us which buses we need. Quiet location. Would recommend.

Disliked: Helen left no negative feedback.