HostelBookers Logo
Website feedback

Warere Town House Hotel

Stone Town, Zanzibar, Zanzibar, Tanzania

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 81%

Location 78%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 86%

What's Included

  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Luggage Room
  • Towel

Facilities

  • Air conditioning
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • 24 Hour Reception
  • 24 Hour Security
  • Adaptors
  • Airport Transfers
  • Bar
  • Book Exchange
  • Ceiling fan
  • Cots available
  • Free City Maps
  • Free Internet Access
  • Hot Showers
  • Housekeeping
  • Internet Access
  • Laundry Facilities
  • Luggage Storage
  • Outdoor Terrace
  • Postal Service
  • Safe Deposit Box
  • Tours/Travel Desk

Purchasable Extras

  • Airport Pickup 10.00USD

Check-in / Check-out

Earliest check-in: 00:00

Latest Check-out: 10:00

Policies

  • Child Friendly
  • Credit Cards Accepted
  • No Curfew
  • Taxes Included

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zanzibar?

Contact us directly

Atmosphere 89%

Cleanliness 87%

Facilities 81%

Location 78%

Safety 92%

Staff 96%

Value 86%

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews

77% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 60%
77% Overall Rating

Anonymous
16 Feb 2015

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Walking distance to the DAR ferry in a quiet location.Old historic house with some boutique features.Nice restaurant rooftop terrace.

Customer would recommend this property

94% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
94% Overall Rating

Anonymous
29 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
City break, Sightseeing & culture, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Very charming building, great staff and great views from the roof restaurant.

Disliked: It was next to a dingy street that was quite remote at night.

Customer would recommend this property

91% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
91% Overall Rating

Anonymous
04 Aug 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Romantic getaway, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Excellent staff, good breakfast, very clean and friendly

Disliked: Very short bed with footboard, weirdly complex shower.

Customer would recommend this property

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jul 2014

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Relaxation / spa, Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Staff are absolutely lovely; so friendly and helpful. And the property is fabulous value for money and well located. Very, very much enjoyed our stay.

Disliked: Nothing.

Customer would recommend this property

69% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 20%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
69% Overall Rating

Anonymous
18 Apr 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Beach / sunbathing

Liked: Good room, helpful staff.

Disliked: Getting to and from the rest of Stone Town after dark means walking along a badly lit road next to the port. I felt unsafe and was followed and/or hassled on multiple occasions (single european male).


The property's response is

Dear Etienne,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Warere. I am glad you liked the room and found our staff helpful. I am sorry you gave us a bad rating due to being hassled on the road. This can and does happen all over Stone Town, indeed Shangani/Kenyatta Roads have more husslers than our area of town. We always suggest that to minimise the chance of hassle guests take a taxi from town after dark for only $1.5-2.

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 100%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Feb 2014

Travel Type:
Alone

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Sightseeing & culture, Work / volunteering

Liked: The atmosphere was lovely! Patrick, the assistant manager was very welcoming and very helpful! Everyone was very accommodating and I felt safe leaving my bags at the hotel the day after my stay (after check out).

Disliked: The showers could have been a little bit more clean.

Customer would recommend this property

86% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 80%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
86% Overall Rating

Anonymous
07 Jan 2014

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year

Liked: It's a bit creepy outside, especially for the first time, but it's ok. We didn't hear the noise of the port in the rooms, so it was ok. It's very nice and clean inside, the staff is really friendly and helping. They can arrange any tours or taxis or whatever you might need. They also provide a map of the city together with some advice and suggestions. They do serve their breakfast on the roof and we enjoyed it.Btw, everything here comes with ginger, the welcoming lemon juice, the tea, even the soap in the shower. So if you don't like ginger that might be a problem!

Disliked: Wi-fi wasn't working very good.

Customer would recommend this property

71% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 60%
  • Cleanliness - 60%
  • Facilities - 60%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 80%
  • Staff - 80%
  • Value - 80%
71% Overall Rating

Anonymous
11 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With friends / other travellers

Trip Type:
Sightseeing & culture

Liked: Fairly good location, just ignore the entrance to the property when you arrive. Once you get past the main docks area you very close to the main heart of Stone town. Simple rooms, if you are after a cheap place to crash this is great. Nice friendly staff. The roof terrace is ok for having a few beers and a nice place for breakfast too.

Disliked: The single rooms are small and quite dark, so don't expect to spend much time there!We had trouble paying by credit card. The machine would not connect.

Customer would recommend this property


The property's response is

Hi Alice,

Thank you for your comments. Unfortunately a new building has been built just behind the Warere in recent months, so yes, the room you stayed in is very dark. Since this happened we have taken this room offline and we have dropped the price of that room to $25 per night. I do apologise for this.

The mobile phone network in Zanzibar is usually good but occasionally there are problems with the network for the machine. Apologies for the inconvenience.

97% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 100%
  • Facilities - 100%
  • Location - 100%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
97% Overall Rating

Anonymous
06 Oct 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, City break

Liked: lovely building in a good location

Disliked: nothing

Customer would recommend this property

89% Overall Rating
  • Atmosphere - 100%
  • Cleanliness - 80%
  • Facilities - 80%
  • Location - 80%
  • Safety - 100%
  • Staff - 100%
  • Value - 80%
89% Overall Rating

Anonymous
15 Aug 2013

Travel Type:
With my spouse / partner

Trip Type:
Backpacking / gap year, Beach / sunbathing, Family Holiday, Romantic getaway, Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

Liked: Nice, Simple and well managed

Disliked: Bathroom too little

Customer would recommend this property

Check Availability