We use cookies to give you the best possible experience on our site. By continuing to browse our site you are agreeing to our Cookies Policy and use of cookies technology. Find out more »

X
HostelBookers Logo
WEBSITE FEEDBACK
No booking fees

Reviews of ZenjiHotel

2 star Hotel | Malindi, Opposite Cine Afrique, nearby harbour, Stone Town Zanzibar, Tanzania P.O. Box 661

90.6% Overall Rating

46 out of 49 customers would recommend this property

Recent review (27/10/2014)

"Staff were very friendly. The rooms were large and comfortable. Good location close to the ferry port and sea front. Breakfast was average, they could have provided more choice, but overall a nice hotel in Stone Town."

Read all ZenjiHotel reviews

Facilities

  • Air Conditioning
  • No curfew
  • Internet / Wi-Fi
  • 24 hour reception
  • Safety deposit
  • 24 hour hot showers
  • Washing machines

What's Included

  • Luggage Room
  • Breakfast
  • Linen
  • Towel

Important Information

- Free of charge if you cancel 60 days prior arrival. - Cancellation less than 60 days prior arrival :20% of the accommodation stated on the invoice - Cancellation 2 weeks before date of arrival: 50% of the accommodation stated on the invoice - Cancellation 1 week before date of arrival: 75% of the accommodation stated on the invoice - Cancellation 48 hours before date of arrival: full charge of the amount mentioned on the invoice

Group booking?

Group of 15 or more traveling to Zanzibar?

Contact us directly

See other properties in Zanzibar

Princess Salme Inn B&B Hotel
22.00 USD

Guesthouse 87.8% 97 reviews
Fairytale Guesthouse
35.00 USD

Guesthouse 98.3% 5 reviews
Mbuyuni Beach Village
23.00 USD

Hotel 2 star 88.2% 66 reviews
Amaan Bungalows
40.00 USD

Apartment 79.6% 20 reviews
Cristal Resort Hotel and Suites
44.28 USD

Hotel 3 star 80.2% 36 reviews
Visitors Inn Hotel
38.00 USD

Hostel Not yet rated
Crazy Mzungo's, on the beach in Zanzibar
32.00 USD

Hostel 80.7% 4 reviews
Zanzibar lodge
15.00 USD

Guesthouse 73.1% 19 reviews

Enter dates to check prices


  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015

  •  
    Invalid date
     
    Invalid Date - Cannot be in the past
     
    Invalid Date - Check-Out cannot be beyond 25/11/2015
     
    Your check-out date is before your check-in date. Please check your dates and try again.
     
    Bookings can only be made for a maximum period of 31 days. Please enter alternative dates and try again.

processing
90.6%

Overall Rating

46 out of 49 HostelBookers customers said that they would recommend 'ZenjiHotel'

Atmosphere
93.6%
Location
86.4%
Facilities
88.8%
Cleanliness
88.8%
Staff
96.0%
Value
87.2%
Safety
93.6%
Refine your results Showing 44 of 49 reviews 1 | 2   Next
Reset filter
85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year

27 October 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff were very friendly. The rooms were large and comfortable. Good location close to the ferry port and sea front. Breakfast was average, they could have provided more choice, but overall a nice hotel in Stone Town.

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

helen burns

With friends / other travellers

Visiting friends or family

04 September 2014 helen would recommend this property

Liked: Coming back to Zenji again is like coming back to stay with friends, stayed many times now and always receive a warm welcome. Beautiful little hotel with such care taken over small details like flowers on the bed and their own soap. Great hot showers too. Delicious bread and home made jam, eggs and plenty of good coffee and fresh juice for breakfast.

Disliked: N/A

97.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

REINHARDT JONKER

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 April 2014 REINHARDT would recommend this property

Liked: Good value for money.

Disliked: No alcohol :(

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Laura Galinyte

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing

06 February 2014 Laura would recommend this property

Liked: Good location, friendly and helpful staff.

Disliked: No toilet amenities, bed feels (sounds) as it's going to break.

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture

04 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Staff, breakfast, safe box

Disliked: Everything was ok

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture

01 February 2014 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: In the middle of town and easy to access all areas on stone town

Disliked: Customer left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Brenda Bedford

As a family with children

Family Holiday
Sightseeing & culture

04 January 2014 Brenda would recommend this property

Liked: Helpful staff and close to the city marketplace

Disliked: Busy outside could be noisy at times

94.3%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

sandra hunziker

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

17 November 2013 sandra would recommend this property

Liked: it smells all the time nice.

Disliked: sandra left no negative feedback.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

10 March 2013 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: lovely helpful staff

Disliked: nothing

77.1%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 80% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Marie-Hélène Baye

With friends / other travellers

Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

21 January 2013 Marie-Hélène would recommend this property

Liked: Endroit très bien situé tout près du marché et de la station d'Autobus. Boutique et resto dans l'hôtel. Très bon petit-dèj buffet sur le toit (cake marbré, jus frais, pain toast, ... )

Disliked: Excursions proposées assez chères

88.6%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year

21 December 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Very helpful staff. Located near the port.

Disliked: None.

45.7%
Atmosphere - 40% Staff - 60% Facilities - 40% Safety - 60%
Location - 60% Cleanliness - 40% Value - 20%

Erin Basler

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

23 September 2012

Liked: the breakfast was fine, the waiter was very nice. Housekeeper was very nice. There is hot water but the showerhead dribbles so water pressure is terrible. Air con works. More bad: The shower sprays water in the middle if the bathroom, making everything wet. The excursions are overpriced. The hotel itself is overpriced and a similar place directly across the street is $25 cheaper pee night! We went to other hotels to get price quotes and most hotels of the same caliber were $20-30 pwr night cheaper! Zenji is a rip off!! We stayed an additional night at a different hotel. We could not wait to leave. Also, there is an issue with the bill. We brought cash/dollars to pay the remainder after the hostel bookers deposit, but were told our credit card was already being charged. This created a lot of confusion with reception. I didn't want to pay cash AND have my card charged, but I didn't intend to be billed via credit card since I brought cash. Credit seemed the better option so I didn't get a double charge. I had a poor enough experience with the manager and reception that I would like a refund for this dreadful hotel experience!!! Undoubtably the Worst stay in Tanzania!

Disliked: See all previous comments: Receptionist, manager, room cleanliness...

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

helen burns

With friends / other travellers

Backpacking / gap year

28 August 2012 helen would recommend this property

Liked: I really love this hotel and return time and time again. The staff are the best, they are friendly, helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. Mannie and Annelose run a great hotel and are always ready to help their guests with any problems. The rooms are lovely with flowers on the beds when you arrive. Food is really nice, with the fresh bread and gorgeous home made jam at breakfast. I will return!!!!!!!

Disliked: n/a

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Rowan Bell

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

27 August 2012 Rowan would recommend this property

Liked: We loved Zenji. The staff are so friendly and helpful, helped us with everything when we first arrived in Tanzania. Spotlessly clean, lovely rooms with folded towels and flower petals on the beds. Really nice touches. Nice rooftop terrace, breakfast is decent with real coffee. No booze but you can take your own in. Went back and stayed another 3 nights here later in our tri and would definitely go back again!

Disliked: Not a problem but the location is slightly out of the centre near the ferry terminal. Stonetown is so small though it's only 5 or 10 mins walk to centre

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Sonia bouslah el aissaoui

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
City break
Sightseeing & culture

09 April 2012 Sonia would recommend this property

Liked: Very good stay. We enjoyed it. Good services for its price:-)

Disliked: Sonia left no negative feedback.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 60% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
Romantic getaway
Sightseeing & culture

11 March 2012 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: sweet, chris was lovely

Disliked: ?blood on the floor

85.7%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 80%

Tim Roberts

With my spouse / partner

Beach / sunbathing
City break
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

10 January 2012 Tim would recommend this property

Liked: Classic Zanzibar property with extremely friendly and helpful staff. Good breakfast.

Disliked: 'Wet room' style bathroom - a personal dislike.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 80% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

Customer review

Alone

Backpacking / gap year
Relaxation/spa
Sightseeing & culture
Work / volunteering

28 October 2011 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: clean, atmospheric and helpful staff - who are always smiling! a pleasant stay.

Disliked: the bathroom was separate to the room, and shared with another guest, who spent a VERY long time in there both days (over 2 hours!). I booked a 'private single' room on hostel bookers and wasn't expecting this.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Ying Gu

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture

20 July 2011 Ying would recommend this property

Liked: Great helpful staff, wholesome breakfast, good wifi, clean beautiful rooms. Will stay again!

Disliked: Shared bathroom needs a fan n some mozzie repellant is only criticism!

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 80%

kenji saruwatari

With friends / other travellers

Beach / sunbathing
Events / festivals
Relaxation/spa
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

11 February 2011 kenji would recommend this property

Liked: Very friendly people and atmosphere. Great location near the harbor.

Disliked: My room did not have a private bath and I had to go downstairs to take a shower.

100.0%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

sharon khAN

With my spouse / partner

Sightseeing & culture

28 December 2010 sharon would recommend this property

Liked: cleanliness and staff hospitality

Disliked: no mat in bathroom.....

97.1%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 100% Value - 100%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Romantic getaway
Shopping
Sightseeing & culture

16 December 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: The staff were very helpful and pleasant.

Disliked: Nothing in particular.

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: internet, breakfast, location, staff

Disliked: old, small room (spirits of nature) and bathroom

91.4%
Atmosphere - 100% Staff - 100% Facilities - 100% Safety - 100%
Location - 100% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 60%

Customer review

With my spouse / partner

Backpacking / gap year
Beach / sunbathing
Sightseeing & culture
Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

24 October 2010 Customer would recommend this property

Liked: Breakfast was good, small selection but good quality. Small, cosy atmosphere, staff were friendly and helpful. Free wifi connection, PC and bookshelf on rooftop. Air-conditioning in room, mosquito net, towels, soap, tea and hot water.

Disliked: Old room (spirits of nature with ensuite bathroom), dark and small. Walls were painted a dark orange pattern, wardrobes and chair were old. Facing road and noisy even with all windows closed. Bed took up most of space with not room left to move around. Room was clean but due to age and decoration does not feel that way. Old bathroom with just a shower curtain as a door, very poor water pressure, takes ages for a shower. Wear flipflops. Near to a mosque and were woken up before 05:00 am with very clear loud broadcasted calls for prayer.

82.9%
Atmosphere - 80% Staff - 100% Facilities - 60% Safety - 80%
Location - 80% Cleanliness - 80% Value - 100%

Michael Epstein

Alone

Sports, adventure or outdoor activities

27 September 2010 Michael would recommend this property

Liked: Zenji is great value for money, clean and fairly well located.

Disliked: The shower